Lookman dumps Nigeria
Source : http://owngoalnigeria.com/2018/11/20/en ... o-england/
Everton wing forward Ademola Lookman has made a dramatic u-turn from his stance of wanting to switch allegiance to Nigeria by committing his international future to England.
Two months ago Lookman verbally agreed to a switch of allegiance to the senior national team of Nigeria and the coach of the senior national team of Nigeria, Gernot Rohr even confirmed telling the Nigeria Football Federation ( NFF) to begin the documentation of his switch.
However the England youth international has had a change of mind regarding the switch with coach of the U-21s of England, Aidy Boothroyd confirming that he has assured him that his international future lies with England.
The coach even said he uses the interest from Nigeria to mock the forward during trainings as they are all aware of Nigeria’s push to have him commit his future to the Super Eagles.
‘Every time I see him I have a little joke with him about it,’ said Boothroyd, whose side face Denmark in a friendly on Tuesday evening. ‘I say: “Why would you want to leave us?”
‘But he’s very focused on England – that’s what he tells me. He says he wants to play international football for England.’
Everton wing forward Ademola Lookman has made a dramatic u-turn from his stance of wanting to switch allegiance to Nigeria by committing his international future to England.
Two months ago Lookman verbally agreed to a switch of allegiance to the senior national team of Nigeria and the coach of the senior national team of Nigeria, Gernot Rohr even confirmed telling the Nigeria Football Federation ( NFF) to begin the documentation of his switch.
However the England youth international has had a change of mind regarding the switch with coach of the U-21s of England, Aidy Boothroyd confirming that he has assured him that his international future lies with England.
The coach even said he uses the interest from Nigeria to mock the forward during trainings as they are all aware of Nigeria’s push to have him commit his future to the Super Eagles.
‘Every time I see him I have a little joke with him about it,’ said Boothroyd, whose side face Denmark in a friendly on Tuesday evening. ‘I say: “Why would you want to leave us?”
‘But he’s very focused on England – that’s what he tells me. He says he wants to play international football for England.’
Re: Lookman dumps Nigeria
Wise guy.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He'll be back in a ur or so begging us.
He's keeping his options wide open.
I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
What I will say though is that this turns out to be true. Lookman should never be contacted regarding Nigeria again. Personally, I would see this as the utmost disrespect. The fact he may want to play for England doesn't bother me one bit but to possibly waste the time and energy (verbally agreeing with Rohr) of the NFF which could have been better spent elsewhere...SMH
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
We have Onyekuru, S Kalu, Chuchuwuze, S Moses and etc.
Good luck to him.
He will get capped and parked by southgate soon. Btw, where is Tammy boy Abraham? I'm glad we dodged that bullet. 

To be honest, of the 6 Naija boys in the England U-20 winning side, I think we need 3, and should forget about 3.
We need Onomah, Ejiarah & Tomori.
Solanke & Lookman can take a hike. The Ojo of Liverpool was not good enough for Nigeria. A couple of folks here have said he is having a good season in France. I have not seen him this season, so I don't know. He does have a good left foot though.
Tell us about him.truetalk wrote:To be honest, of the 6 Naija boys in the England U-20 winning side, I think we need 3, and should forget about 3.
I thought he had dropped out of reckoning, much like that other Tottenham youth player that played for us in the Olympics and then sank without trace.
Spurs have loaned him to Sheffield Wednesday & he is playing in the Championship.Damunk wrote:Tell us about him.truetalk wrote:To be honest, of the 6 Naija boys in the England U-20 winning side, I think we need 3, and should forget about 3.
I thought he had dropped out of reckoning, much like that other Tottenham youth player that played for us in the Olympics and then sank without trace.
It is an area of need for the Eagles, if we assume Joel Obi is done. We sometimes list 3 or 4 midfielders in a 23 man list.
He and Ejaria will definitely deepen our midfield pool if we can get them.
- Cristao II
Onomah is a bit of a dilemma for Spurs. He was being touted as the heir to Dembele and was hailed to be the next big thing ahead of Winks. However that has stalled. His loan to Aston Villa was queer and his current loan is bizarre. He is a CM and Wednesday keep playing him as AM or the wings. Oh well perhaps Pochettino wants to see how he deals with adversity because the young man does need to show some passion on the pitch. He is a bit too laid back. Some Spurs fans think he is a bust - others think he is being developed well.
PS Nathan Oduwa made a mistake leaving Spurs and not listening to the coaches - whoever gave him that advice.. bad idea.
- The YeyeMan
Headline doesn't match the content of the article.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Not sure why fans are sweating over this lad. Just like Tammy Abraham, he has already pitched his tent with England and his agent is probably trying to leverage the commotion to fast track him to the senior team.
Lookman is good but nothing special. With Osimhen, Isaac Success, Awoniyi, Onyekuru on upward trajectories, we are covered in this department. Goal keepers, Center backs and holding m/f's are what we need right now..
The youth team, u-21 squad for Euro qualifiers, he has been training with them this national break before he picked up an injury.Damunk wrote:Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
- theYemster
What happened to Jordan Ibe?
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Thats the guy!Cristao II wrote:Onomah is a bit of a dilemma for Spurs. He was being touted as the heir to Dembele and was hailed to be the next big thing ahead of Winks. However that has stalled. His loan to Aston Villa was queer and his current loan is bizarre. He is a CM and Wednesday keep playing him as AM or the wings. Oh well perhaps Pochettino wants to see how he deals with adversity because the young man does need to show some passion on the pitch. He is a bit too laid back. Some Spurs fans think he is a bust - others think he is being developed well.
Weytin happen to the guy sef?
I recall he was a bit of a headache for his club managers.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
being in that camp, and playing for that squad does not make him ineligible to represent Nigeria in the future.Zelex wrote:The youth team, u-21 squad for Euro qualifiers, he has been training with them this national break before he picked up an injury.Damunk wrote:Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
Indeed. My point was actually that there have been reports that he has verbally agreed to play for Nigeria and that process to switch nationality was taking place. However if this was indeed true, no way would England u-21 waste a spot on someone who has committed to another country in the near future. My conclusion is that he never decided to commit to Nigeria in the first place.metalalloy wrote:being in that camp, and playing for that squad does not make him ineligible to represent Nigeria in the future.Zelex wrote:The youth team, u-21 squad for Euro qualifiers, he has been training with them this national break before he picked up an injury.Damunk wrote:Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
There were also reports that he turned us down earlier in the year. If he truly committed to play for us, and he was seriously in our plans, he could have been capped before he turned 21 last month. He wasnt. Now, we still have a window as long as he doesn't play for the senior side.Zelex wrote:Indeed. My point was actually that there have been reports that he has verbally agreed to play for Nigeria and that process to switch nationality was taking place. However if this was indeed true, no way would England u-21 waste a spot on someone who has committed to another country in the near future. My conclusion is that he never decided to commit to Nigeria in the first place.metalalloy wrote:being in that camp, and playing for that squad does not make him ineligible to represent Nigeria in the future.Zelex wrote:The youth team, u-21 squad for Euro qualifiers, he has been training with them this national break before he picked up an injury.Damunk wrote:Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
At the moment, an opportunity has arisen to play international football, without jeopardizing his chances with either country. I cant fault him for taking it.
Yeah, if it is NOT too late by then. Assuming the content of the article is REAL, I hope he plays the correct politics, else and has always been, "had I known" will be the lastEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He'll be back in a ur or so begging us.
Looking at it from the angle you have pictured then it is understandable. However I do think once you have committed to represent a country that doesn't necessarily mean a free/easy ticket into the national team. Nigeria were fighting a very dangerous situation as of last month to make the AFCON. You have show your worth through your performances and frankly (whilst my opinion), I don't think Lookman was good enough to make the team. If you are "committed" there is no such thing as keeping your options open. I doubt he ever committed to playing for Nigeria and as you say Nigeria probably never been seriously interested also, it could have been all false hearsay.metalalloy wrote:There were also reports that he turned us down earlier in the year. If he truly committed to play for us, and he was seriously in our plans, he could have been capped before he turned 21 last month. He wasnt. Now, we still have a window as long as he doesn't play for the senior side.Zelex wrote:Indeed. My point was actually that there have been reports that he has verbally agreed to play for Nigeria and that process to switch nationality was taking place. However if this was indeed true, no way would England u-21 waste a spot on someone who has committed to another country in the near future. My conclusion is that he never decided to commit to Nigeria in the first place.metalalloy wrote:being in that camp, and playing for that squad does not make him ineligible to represent Nigeria in the future.Zelex wrote:The youth team, u-21 squad for Euro qualifiers, he has been training with them this national break before he picked up an injury.Damunk wrote:Which camp is he in - the U23 camp or the full England camp?Zelex wrote:I think it is best to wait and see what happens over the upcoming months. He could be taking a diplomatic approach although it is a bit weird that he would still be in the England camp, if indeed he has agreed to play for the Super Eagles. England would have gotten word about this and most likely take him out of the national pool. It looks to me that he possibly still hasn't decided?
At the moment, an opportunity has arisen to play international football, without jeopardizing his chances with either country. I cant fault him for taking it.
Why do these guys keep toying with the great nation of Nigeria?
Good luck to him.
We do have S Kalu and Chuckwuze and other players coming up.