Super Falcons deserve same pay as Super Eagles - Desire Opar

mastermind
Re: Super Falcons deserve same pay as Super Eagles - Desire

Post by mastermind »

mastermind wrote:women team can't beat U17 men's team, they'll even struggle with U-15 men's team.

Serena william is one of the richest in sport, she ain't begging for equal pay the chick is packing the stadium with great performance.
wnba and the whole crew makes less than $13 million...lol. You can't compare the product to NBA hence no equal pay.

We live in a capitalist world, Leonard was offered everything in toronto based on his performance not because they love him. Performance matters, if the girls want more money they need to make more money....
Chai!
You are obviously totally clueless on this one.
You couldn't have chosen a worse example to make your case.
Serena is at the forefront of the fight for equal gender pay in sport and has been for many years!

Anywhere you go on the internet, she is campaigning for equal pay. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ofcourse she's doing all that, but she's not making all the money because of her activism. She makes all her money based on her performance on the court. stadium is full when she plays and she's making alot of money hence her wealth. She also make alot from endorsement from puma, nike etc. Why can't these girls go for the same kinda endorsement as serena? why is Nike not lining up to give them millions of dollars?

These girls should look for endorsement and hustle, I don't like the way they're turning to beggers. Market yourself, start socccer shoe only for women and market it. They need to do something about the airtime and fame they're getting and leverage that in business.

National team money is chicken change really. Soccer players make all their money in their clubs, are they also going to demand for equal pay in their club when they're not packing the stadiums?

Tickets for NBA finals was going for 10k, how are they going to demand for same money when they're not raking in the same kinda money. Female boxers can't make same as mayweather not because they're not good, but because they're not making enough.

it's business, no emotions in business, this is a capitalist economy.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

But she is fighting for equal pay sha.
Abi? :taunt:
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Damunk wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
But she is fighting for equal pay sha.
Abi? :taunt:
Wnba also want equal pay, female boxers also want mayweather money...lol. At this rate sport is going to be destroyed. Why should kawhi make the same money as some chick with elementary level skillset? Why should C Ronaldo make the same as some wack chick that can't even compete with U-14? It doesn't make sense to me because I don't know where to draw the line.

Are u telling me that Messi is now equal to these chicks @ the world cup? Sport is business and everybody knows this. Teams are owned by mostly businesses now and they're in it for profit. If female league is not a big draw they ain't making shiat.

Juventus had only 8.1m followers on Instagram before 13 months ago, before Ronaldo joined them. But now they have over 30m followers. Star power cannot denied. I can't even name one player from the winning female world cup team. None of them stand out to even remember...lol.

The female player should focus on revenue split. If they're getting less revenue split as men then they need to fight to increase their revenue split, but not equal pay as men. What they're fighting for is equal revenue split. If soccer team generated 200 million, the players should get $100 million on 50/50 revenue split, but if men team generated 800 million dollar men should be $400 million based on 50/50 revenue split. That is true equal pay!!
Last edited by mastermind on Fri Aug 09, 2019 1:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

WNBA Players Are Simply Asking For A Greater Share Of WNBA Revenues
David Berri
David Berri Contributor
SportsMoney

Washington Mystics forward Elena Delle Donne watches form the bench during the second half of Game 3 of a WNBA semifinals basketball playoff game against the Atlanta Dream, Friday, Aug. 31, 2018, in Washington. The Dream won 81-76. (AP Photo/Nick Wass)
"To put it really simple: If you don’t respect women’s basketball, you’re a joke.

You’re a joke, man."

Isaiah Thomas -- NBA All-Star and guard for the Denver Nuggets -- said this on Monday. And he is not the only NBA player to make such an argument.

Despite support from NBA players, though, there remain people who clearly do not respect the WNBA. This past week, some of these people went so far as to invent quotes from WNBA players regarding the issue of pay in the WNBA. As Matt Ellentuck argued, such quotes appear intended to create divisions between WNBA and NBA players. These quotes also obscure the argument the WNBA players are making.

In the past few weeks, a collection of WNBA stars have spoken out about pay in the WNBA. An incomplete list would include Liz Cambage, Kelsey Plum, Skyler Diggins-Smith, A'ja Wilson, Seimone Augustus, Kia Nurse, and Brittney Griner. According to High Post Hoops, none of these players are paid more than $115,500 by the WNBA. Meanwhile, according to ESPN, the eight lowest paid players in the NBA in 2018-19 will be paid $838,464. And none of these players have even played in the NBA yet.

Despite this disparity, the WNBA players are not being asked to be paid the same amount as an NBA player. What WNBA players keep emphasizing is that they want the WNBA to change the way the WNBA revenues are shared with its players.

Currently, the NBA pays about 50% of its revenue to its players. The WNBA -- as I previously calculated (and also as noted by The New York Times, The Philadelphia Inquirer, ESPN, The Minnesota Star Tribune and The Washington Post) pays less than 25% of its revenue to its players. The players of the WNBA -- as A'ja Wilson specifically noted -- would like this revenue split to be changed.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidberri ... ed184a33eb
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Oguleftie wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:Look who the messenger is!
Oparanozie of all people.
Oparanozie that has not improved her football for years should not be a messenger.
Oparanozie that plays crap should not be a messenger.
That does not help, even if help is needed.
Rubbish.
Even if she is retired, she is more than qualified to make the case.
She has captained the NATIONAL FEMALE TEAM and has reached the peak of her chosen career.
She didn't bribe or sleep her way to the top and we have all seen her career progression from a young age.

As fickle fans we can insult them without consequence but they have earned the right to agitate for better conditions of service.
An employee that cannot do her work should not be the one agitating for higher pay.
If she couldn't do her work she wouldn't be in the national team and def wouldn't be made captain of it.
She should not have been in the 2015 WWC, not to talk of 2019. Shows how bad players they are.

This thread is still going ? Strippers are among the most athletic entertainers you ever saw. Just try dancing horizontally on those poles and you would find out. They don’t get equal pay :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

That damunk should contribute his salary and amala towards oparanozie's request for equal pay

Bigpokey24 wrote:That damunk should contribute his salary and amala towards oparanozie's request for equal pay
I'd much rather contribute towards getting you some much-needed adult education. :idea:

Bigpokey24 wrote:That damunk should contribute his salary and amala towards oparanozie's request for equal pay
I'd much rather contribute towards getting you some much-needed adult education. :idea:

I think you need more financial education than anyone here, this is an example that u can not manage a firm based on profitability. Your views are emotional,sentimental and unlogical.

osita wrote:

I think you need more financial education than anyone here, this is an example that u can not manage a firm based on profitability. Your views are emotional, sentimental and unlogical.
Don't allow your bruised ego to get in the way of simple logic.
Keep your financial 'education' to yourself.
Your illustration was completely wack.
The simple point is that comparing Nigerian doctors' pay with American doctors' pay can in no way, shape or form be used as a way to make a case for or even against Nigerian Super Falcons' pay vs Nigerian Super Eagles' pay.

The doctors are operating in two completely different 'corporations', Mr Financial.
If you can't figure that one out then the financial 'education' you assume you have acquired is not worth the paper it is written on :idea:

osita wrote:

I think you need more financial education than anyone here, this is an example that u can not manage a firm based on profitability. Your views are emotional,sentimental and unlogical.
Dayumnnnnnnnn :rotf: chei, this wan nah real Ether....

Re: Super Falcons deserve same pay as Super Eagles - Desire Opar

Ṣo tan o..... ṣo tan?
So much for men's vs women's game revenue generation. :taunt:
U.S. women’s and men’s national soccer teams close pay gap with ‘game-changing’ deal
By Steven Goff and Molly Hensley-Clancy
May 18, 2022 at 7:34 a.m. EDT

The U.S. men’s and women’s national soccer teams struck a labor deal that closes the contentious pay gap between the squads, an unprecedented step that will equalize both salaries and bonuses, providing a substantial boost to the decorated women’s team.

The deal was part of new collective bargaining agreements with the U.S. Soccer Federation that were announced Wednesday morning. It was the culmination of a long battle between the women’s team and the sport’s national governing body, which included a high-profile lawsuit that was settled this year.

The USSF said the agreement makes the United States the first country to achieve equal pay for its men’s and women’s soccer teams.
MORE
Like we said, Desire Oparanozie wasn't stupid just because Nigerian men said so.

Window dressing; Let’s see WNBA women even entertain such thought and see what happens

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 8:42 pm Window dressing; Let’s see WNBA women even entertain such thought and see what happens
Is this your way of living in denial of what just happened? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The Rooney Rule started with one small victory.
The Bosman Rule started with one small victory.
Na so e dey take start....

Damunk wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 8:59 pm
jette1 wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 8:42 pm Window dressing; Let’s see WNBA women even entertain such thought and see what happens
Is this your way of living in denial of what just happened? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Sometimes it becomes difficult for logic to triumph over long held practice. The argument of the women players was logical and simple enough that it is shocking that some cannot comprehend it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 9:14 pm

Sometimes it becomes difficult for logic to triumph over long held practice. The argument of the women players was logical and simple enough that it is shocking that some cannot comprehend it.
Well since demunk is talking about small gains let’s look forward to that day when women get to pay dowry in Nigeria as they already do in Nepal

jette1 wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 3:33 am

Well since demunk is talking about small gains let’s look forward to that day when women get to pay dowry in Nigeria as they already do in Nepal
Stick to the topic. Making ridiculous parallels is deliberate diversion.
What do you think about this latest development which many believe is groundbreaking for most sports, not just football?

This is a difficult topic because equal pay does not even exist in the men’s game. Messi and Ronaldo do not earn the same salary as the left back who sits beside them in the dressing room and plays alongside them every week.

The USA WNT totally deserve to be paid the same as their male counterparts. Football in USA is an outlier. In almost every other country on earth men’s football attracts bigger crowds, TV audiences, sponsorship, and are more successful than, their women’s team. It is inverted in the USA 🇺🇸 where the WNT are multiple time world and Olympic champions, whereas the male team’s biggest achievement in the last century is reaching the QF of the World Cup 20 years ago.

The problem is in the rest of the world where male footballers have 70-80,000 people turn up to watch them every week and have multi-billion pound TV contracts. eg. even with their worst team in over 41 years, almost 80,000 people still turn up to endure the punishment of watching Man Utd’s utterly horrid men’s team. In contrast their women’s team does not even play at the same stadium and the crowd consists of a few of their family members and younger siblings. It would be bizarre eg. to pay someone playing football that does not generate revenue or attention the same as Ronaldo or Pogba.

I personally think the women’s teams should disassociate themselves from the male run clubs and have standalone women’s teams.
Last edited by wiseone on Tue May 24, 2022 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Damunk wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 7:35 am

What do you think about this latest development which many believe is groundbreaking for most sports, not just football?
Anyone calling it groundbreaking know very well already it’s dishonest because it’s simply a disarming technique design to quell all the agitation into a cooler. This is a topic the US government hopes goes away for now. I mean how ground breaking could it possibly be. The number one sports in the US is the American style football which women can’t even play, basketball, soccer then baseball in that order. All these sports gross much money than their soccer. Are you getting the picture yet ? Highest paid WNBA player make about 250k per contract compared to 8 million average contract in NBA. Now you can see why they rather not fan this fire any further. Yea we are talking about national teams here but mind you the national teams pay does come from the US government either.

jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 6:00 am

Anyone calling it groundbreaking know very well already it’s dishonest because it’s simply a disarming technique design to quell all the agitation into a cooler. This is a topic the US government hopes goes away for now. I mean how ground breaking could it possibly be. The number one sports in the US is the American style football which women can’t even play, basketball, soccer then baseball in that order. All these sports gross much money than their soccer. Are you getting the picture yet ? Highest paid WNBA player make about 250k per contract compared to 8 million average contract in NBA. Now you can see why they rather not fan this fire any further. Yea we are talking about national teams here but mind you the national teams pay does come from the US government either.
Jette

Unfortunately, it appears you are missing the crux of this issue. This is just a small piece of a larger societal change that is evolving. It is not just about women football in the USA. It is bigger than that.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

wiseone wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 5:40 am This is a difficult topic because equal pay does not even exist in the men’s game. Messi and Ronaldo do not earn the same salary as the left back who sits beside them in the dressing room and plays alongside them every week.

The USA WNT totally deserve to be paid the same as their make counterparts. Football in USA is an outlier. In almost every other country on earth men’s football attracts bigger crowds, TV audiences, sponsorship, and are more successful than, their women’s team. It is inverted in the USA 🇺🇸 where the WNT are multiple time world and Olympic champions, whereas the male team’s biggest achievement in the last century is reaching the 2nd round of the World Cup.

The problem is in the rest of the world where male footballers have 70-80,000 people turn up to watch them every week and have multi-billion pound TV contracts. eg. even with their worst team in over 41 years, almost 80,000 people still turn up to endure the punishment of watching Man Utd’s utterly horrid men’s team. In contrast their women’s team does not even play at the same stadium and the crowd consists of a few of their family members and younger siblings. It would be bizarre eg. to pay someone playing football that does not generate revenue or attention the same as Ronaldo or Pogba.

I personally think the women’s teams should disassociate themselves from the male run clubs and have standalone women’s teams.
...correction, they reached the quarter final in 2002 Japan/Korea, losing to Germany 1-0.
Every other thing you mentioned is correct as per revenue and trophy haul vs their women counterpart.

Enugu II wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 11:51 am

Jette

Unfortunately, it appears you are missing the crux of this issue. This is just a small piece of a larger societal change that is evolving. It is not just about women football in the USA. It is bigger than that.
Pls what part of the crux am I missing; small increment in a much more bigger societal change ? I don’t think reparation style forced distribution of wealth applies here. Laissez-faire market theory would determine the proportions of earnings and where or whom it goes to in the long run. This is not a civil right issue. Nigeria has been playing football before American could even spell football. Not only has their market forced a successful MLS but also a thriving women league that would never match MLS even though women soccer was already thriving in the US before there was even a mens national team. There will be no further revolution to equalize womens earnings in US traditional major sports

jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 8:37 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 11:51 am
Damunk wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 8:59 pm Is this your way of living in denial of what just happened? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Jette

Pls what part of the crux am I missing; small increment in a much more bigger societal change ? I don’t think reparation style forced distribution of wealth applies here. Laissez-faire market theory would determine the proportions of earnings and where or whom it goes to in the long run. This is not a civil right issue. Nigeria has been playing football before American could even spell football. Not only has their market forced a successful MLS but also a thriving women league that would never match MLS even though women soccer was already thriving in the US before there was even a mens national team. There will be no further revolution to equalize womens earnings in US traditional major sports
Jette,

Never say never. This may be a bit far fetched: but I will still use it as an example here. I used to think that legalizing marijuana could never be possible in the USA. It was forcefully outlawed and prosecuted. What I failed to realize was that my generation was ageing and thinning and that we were rapidly becoming a voting minority. Lo and behold in one election marijuana was made legal to my astonishment. The lesson is simple, never discount the force of social evolution in thought and ideas. Nothing is ever concrete as long as they are humanly or socially constructed. They can be reversed. It is a lesson for the wise.