Page 1 of 6
NFF Offers Rohr New Contract With Tough Conditions
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:10 pm
by emjay
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered Super Eagles boss, Gernot Rohr a brand new contract, but under tough conditions.
Rohr on his own part is open to listening to offers from other football associations (FA) from January 1, 2020, but the NFF wants to retain the German until after the World Cup in 2022.
According to Complete Sports, the terms and conditions gathered will require that the former Bordeaux player and chief coach “must” live in the country (Lagos or Abuja).
He will also be allowed to travel on vacation only 3 times in a year. Also, the coach will not get an improved pay from his $55,000 per month deal.
The NFF will also ensure, unlike in the past three years where he earned wages tax free, that his income will be levied.
All his selections must be approved by the NFF Technical Committee.
Credit:
CompletesportsNigeria
With All these conditions, do you think Rohr will still remain with the eagles?
See more stories Here
Re: NFF Offers Rohr New Contract With Tough Conditions
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:56 pm
by ohenhen1
So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 1:38 pm
Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:09 pm
by walesvilla
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.
He must discuss and clarify the living in Nigeria issue - even NFF president so not live in Nigeria 24/7
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:17 pm
by deanotito
So they are in effect, cutting his salary. If you don't want the man, be honorable and tell him so.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:24 pm
by Purity
Not really.. It depends on how much increase he is being offered.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:27 pm
by Cellular
deanotito wrote:So they are in effect, cutting his salary. If you don't want the man, be honorable and tell him so.
Pretty much.
Don't understand why he has to live in Naijaria. It is not like he is scouting the Naijarian league. Aside from Ezenwa, all his players are based overseas.
Also don't like that some stinking Technical Committee will be overseeing his invites.
Resign the man and let him work.
Don't go handcuffing him.
Ps., I wonder the targets they set for him?
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:41 pm
by Damunk
Purity wrote:Not really.. It depends on how much increase he is being offered.
None, according to the article.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:43 pm
by john12
lol jokers
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 3:32 pm
by bushboy
Nothing "tough" about those conditions.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:20 pm
by fabio
ohenhen1 wrote:So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
You have to give it to Pinnick... He claims to 'talk a good game', but delivers piss poor results.
Rohr was probably paying income tax in Madagascar or France or Germany or had off shore tax agreement.
We have mumu in NFF.
He can't pay tax to FIRS, he will pay to the IRS of the state he resides or receives his salary. WanajO can clarify.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:24 pm
by Enugu II
If most of the SE are based in England, should he then reside in England? Better still, because his players are based all over, where should he reside? Or if the administrators who seek to meet him regularly are based in Nigeria, where should he reside? Just my tuppence.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:59 pm
by Cmoke
Which top teams does their coaches live abroad?
Westerhoff’s living in Naija allowed him to unearth gems like Amokashi.
Who Rohr don discover?
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 5:17 pm
by walesvilla
Cmoke wrote:Which top teams does their coaches live abroad?
Westerhoff’s living in Naija allowed him to unearth gems like Amokashi.
Who Rohr don discover?
you guys better stop wasting your time - sake Rohr and put Salisu assisted by Amakapabo abi HE will live 24/7 in Nigeria
No world class decent coach will never accept to live 24/7 in Nigeria as part of his contract. As if the local league runs on a structural scheduled timescale
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:08 pm
by deanotito
fabio wrote:ohenhen1 wrote:So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
You have to give it to Pinnick... He claims to 'talk a good game', but delivers piss poor results.
Rohr was probably paying income tax in Madagascar or France or Germany or had off shore tax agreement.
We have mumu in NFF.
He can't pay tax to FIRS, he will pay to the IRS of the state he resides or receives his salary. WanajO can clarify.
These no-tax arrangements are not as rare as they may sound. It just means that the NFF was probably covering his taxes, and has elected to stop doing that....translates into a salary reduction. And I don't see how anyone would accept such a condition
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:38 pm
We need a new manager..let him go
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:09 pm
by olu
Our best players are Europe. Makes no sense for him to live in Nigeria. Things are different now compared to Westerhof's time.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:23 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Nigeria doesn’t even have a league that produces players for it national team!
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:26 pm
by Odas
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.
Bros, why must he NOT live in Nigeria? Don't you live, or base in the city your employer is?
On the other hand, it's an offer tendered by the NFF. It's up to Rohr to negotiate, accept or decline
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:28 pm
by fabio
olu wrote:Our best players are Europe. Makes no sense for him to live in Nigeria. Things are different now compared to Westerhof's time.
So, why is he not living in Europe?
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:32 pm
by Odas
deanotito wrote:fabio wrote:ohenhen1 wrote:So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
We have mumu in NFF.
These no-tax arrangements are not as rare as they may sound. It just means that the NFF was probably covering his taxes, and has elected to stop doing that....translates into a salary reduction. And I don't see how anyone would accept such a condition
Agree! I think Rohr's income tax was paid by the NFF, perhaps as stipulated in the contract. Why the NFF is refusing to continue paying for it and yet, wants coach Rohr's salary to remain the same is suspicious. Maybe they want coach Rohr to leave.
Having said the above, it's ONLY an offer by the NFF. Rohr and his team will certainly counter.
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:36 pm
by Odas
Bigpokey24 wrote:We need a new manager..let him go
There you go again with your 'Rohr must go' song. When are you going to be realistic in the matter?
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:54 pm
by deanotito
Odas wrote:deanotito wrote:fabio wrote:ohenhen1 wrote:So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
We have mumu in NFF.
Agree! I think Rohr's income tax was paid by the NFF, perhaps as stipulated in the contract. Why the NFF is refusing to continue paying for it and yet, wants coach Rohr's salary to remain the same is suspicious. Maybe they want coach Rohr to leave.
Having said the above, it's ONLY an offer by the NFF. Rohr and his team will certainly counter.
But this cannot be considered a good faith offer. A reduction in salary is like pretty much telling him he isn't really wanted.