Page 1 of 2

Samson Siasia Appeals for Funds as CAS Gives Date.......

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:48 pm
by Enugu II
ONLY $200 RAISED AS SIASIA SEEKS ‘GoFundMe’ HELP FOR CAS APPEAL
9 HOURS AGO
https://www.sportsvillagesquare.com/202 ... as-appeal/
Twitter Facebook Google + Linkedin Comments
BY KUNLE SOLAJA.

As at Monday morning, only $200 have been raised in a target of $250,000 that former Nigeria player and coach, Samson Siasia is seeking to pursue at the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS).

Sports Village Square recalls that Siasia had on Saturday approached an American for profit crown funding platform, ‘GoFundMe’ to raise money to fight his legal battle.

GoFundMe, Sports Village Square reports, allows people to raise money for events ranging from life events such as celebrations and graduations to challenging circumstances like accidents and illnesses. From 2010 to 2017, over $5 billion was raised on the platform from 50 million donors.

The platform under an appeal code ‘Help Samson Siasia clear his name at FIFA’ reports that

Siasia has been alleged “to agree to collect bribe” in relation to a football match.

He was subsequently banned for life from all footballing activities, without the benefit of defending himself.

The Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) has now accepted an appeal from Samson on FIFA’s ruling.

His legal cost of defending himself is needed for him to clear his name. Siasia, the organizer, is reportedly based at Hatfield, East of England, United Kingdom.

When Sports Village Square checked the platform on Monday morning, the only donor was one Benson Ejindu who donated $200 of the targeted $250,000.

Before the appeal was launched on ‘GoFundMe’, former Nigerian international, Kingsley Onye had in a telephone interview told Sports Village Square that he would like current and former international Nigerian footballers to come to aid of the embattled Siasia.

Onye and Siasia were members of the Nigerian Under-20 team that won the third place in the then Soviet Union at the 1985 World Youth Championship, a competition that has since been renamed FIFA U20 World Cup.

Re: Samson Siasia Appeals for Funds as CAS Gives Date.......

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:50 pm
by Enugu II
SAMSON SIASIA GETS CAS DATE
4 HOURS AGO
https://www.sportsvillagesquare.com/202 ... -cas-date/

A date has been fixed for the hearing of appeal filed by former Nigeria footballer and coach, Samson Siasia at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

According to adantesport.com.ng, a panel of jurists that will hear the appeal has been set up.

SportingLife further reports that that the CAS hearing will take place at the CAS Court Office, Avenue de Beaumont 2, 1012, Lausanne, Switzerland on March 19, 2020.

CAS wrote Siasia on December 27, 2019 inviting him and FIFA representatives and their witnesses to appear at the hearing which will hold at 9.30 hours Swiss time.

The Arbitral panel is called upon to resolve the dispute between Samson Siasia and FIFA.

The embattled former Eagles Coach has once again solicited for financial support from all and sundry, friends and eminent Nigerians to help him raise funds to be able to attend the CAS hearing in order to clear his name concerning the FIFA allegations.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:52 pm
by Damunk
Sorry, but why would he need a quarter of a million dollars to defend himself in front of a panel?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:37 am
by Odas
Damunk wrote:Sorry, but why would he need a quarter of a million dollars to defend himself in front of a panel?
Chief Damunk: Though I am NOT an attorney, but your choice of word (panel) is confusing. A PANEL could be, or comprises of Lawyers/Judges - sometimes.

In this case, maybe such amount (estimated) might be needed because HIGH PROFILE attorneys are required to present the case and to appeal to the next level if necessary.

Oya, CE membas, make evribodi bring him smol moni make we helep Siasia, dats all

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:33 am
by Damunk
Damunk wrote:Sorry, but why would he need a quarter of a million dollars to defend himself in front of a panel?
Chief Damunk: Though I am NOT an attorney, but your choice of word (panel) is confusing. A PANEL could be, or comprises of Lawyers/Judges - sometimes.

In this case, maybe such amount (estimated) might be needed because HIGH PROFILE attorneys are required to present the case and to appeal to the next level if necessary.

Oya, CE membas, make evribodi bring him smol moni make we helep Siasia, dats all
Odas...yes I get all that but I still don't get why he needs $250,000.
For starters, he doesn't need a high profile 'Johnny Cochran'-type lawyer.

Personally I'd recommend our very own Aruako1 or Gotti.
I'm sure they can give him an O ṣe'wọ price. :D

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:50 am
$250k :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: smh... I don’t blame him.

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 11:10 am
Why are you so concerned about the money? Did you contribute? Or you want some of it....what's your business with amount requested for? Did you click on the GoFundMe page to see the actual amount? Or you just went with the article and passed judgment?..smh

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 11:19 am
by Purity
He needs $100k not $250k.
Breakdown: $50k for fine
extra $50k to appeal

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:30 pm
by kalani JR
Purity wrote:He needs $100k not $250k.
Breakdown: $50k for fine
extra $50k to appeal
Extra 150 for chop?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:34 pm
by Odas
danfo driver wrote:$250k :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: smh... I don’t blame him.
Bros, you are a Lawyer, why don't you get few of your colleagues and volunteer to represent Siasia?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:45 pm
by Odas

Odas...yes I get all that but I still don't get why he needs $250,000.
For starters, he doesn't need a high profile 'Johnny Cochran'-type lawyer.

Personally I'd recommend our very own Aruako1 or Gotti.
I'm sure they can give him an O ṣe'wọ price. :D
Damunk: I agree the requested amount 'seems' high, but if he fails in the initial stage, will he put up another 'GoFundMe' campaign to request for more money?

On the other hand, isn't Siasia responsible for his flight fares, feeding and accommodation while the hearings or protocols and et al. are going on?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:26 pm
by mcal
...the hearing is in Europe, therefore he need travel money with his contingent of counselors.
Lodging for him and them.
How long they will stay, who knows.
Anyway, good luck to him.

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 10:35 pm
by felarey
What's the pretext to this? If I donate, what am I consenting to? Does it mean I believe he's innocent or plain just helping a brother out. Some people may not want to donate unless they know he's justified in defending himself. Like two friends in a fight and one is asking you to support him without proving why. They may just be testing his popularity, perhaps they should have started this right after the news came out when it was still fresh.

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 10:38 pm
by Cmoke
I always tell people that it costs plenty money to prove your innocence. That na why in this life so many people dey plead guilty just to get on with their life.

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 11:14 pm
by ANC
Cmoke wrote:I always tell people that it costs plenty money to prove your innocence. That na why in this life so many people dey plead guilty just to get on with their life.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you are so right

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:12 am
by Odas
Cmoke wrote:I always tell people that it costs plenty money to prove your innocence. That na why in this life so many people dey plead guilty just to get on with their life.
Cmoke, you are correct and hence many people are in prison for crimes they didn't commit. In fact, even in local communities, the village elders decide cases against those who doesn't grease their hands, periodically. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

In this case, what is Siasia guilty of? Without money, will he survive? Fingers are crossed!

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:27 am
by Damunk
felarey wrote:What's the pretext to this? If I donate, what am I consenting to? Does it mean I believe he's innocent or plain just helping a brother out. Some people may not want to donate unless they know he's justified in defending himself. Like two friends in a fight and one is asking you to support him without proving why. They may just be testing his popularity, perhaps they should have started this right after the news came out when it was still fresh.
Well said.
Or like a politician accused by the EFCC.

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:23 pm
by Lolly
Wow. He was on TV a few weeks ago appealing to his fans to come and support him. This is serious.

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:47 pm
by felarey
Lolly wrote:Wow. He was on TV a few weeks ago appealing to his fans to come and support him. This is serious.
Did he say anything? I'm one of his biggest fans but I think this fundraising isn't going through the roof cos people don't know what they're supporting. It's been a few months and the emotions and shock are now out of it.

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:22 am
Shame on CE and the likes of damunk and that uncle Tom Tom pajimoh...yall can't even help with the GoFundMe

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:33 am
by Damunk
Bigpokey24 wrote:Shame on CE and the likes of damunk and that uncle Tom Tom pajimoh...yall can't even help with the GoFundMe
Why should I help with the GoFundMe when I don't even believe his hands are clean.
Why you no contribute, instead of carrying shewens upandan? :idea:

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:35 am
Bigpokey24 wrote:Shame on CE and the likes of damunk and that uncle Tom Tom pajimoh...yall can't even help with the GoFundMe
Why should I help with the GoFundMe when I don't even believe his hands are clean.
So you've already convicted him?...smh

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:42 am
by maceo4
So you've already convicted him?...smh
BP, I checked, you haven't donated, abeg do the needful! :taunt: