I don't care, I just have one question
Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:29 pm
Can someone tell me Nigeria's football philosophy under Rohr? It's now 4yrs with Rohr at the helm and I have no idea what it really is
The Undisputed Number One Home for All Super Eagles Fans
https://forum.cybereagles.com/
Rohr is building a team, so be patient!highbury wrote:Can someone tell me Nigeria's football philosophy under Rohr? It's now 4yrs with Rohr at the helm and I have no idea what it really is
Huh?!deanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.
The problem is to execute this soccer, you need good, technical players that have great ball control, and can either make split second decisions or know where to send the ball before they even get the ball. Nigeria does not seem to have those kinda players right now, so a lot of our plays die quick deaths....primarily due to a dearth of technical talent.
The easiest solution for Nigeria is to slow the play down with a gifted PLAYMAKER. Someone who has the technical skills to hold the ball and allow Nigerian players to make runs, which he can then service. This fast ball thing exposes our weaknesses IMO. Algeria wasn't that much better (a bit better technically), but they got in front early....
Or perhaps you meant Bolton (which is in the greater Manchester area)...deanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.
The problem is to execute this soccer, you need good, technical players that have great ball control, and can either make split second decisions or know where to send the ball before they even get the ball. Nigeria does not seem to have those kinda players right now, so a lot of our plays die quick deaths....primarily due to a dearth of technical talent.
The easiest solution for Nigeria is to slow the play down with a gifted PLAYMAKER. Someone who has the technical skills to hold the ball and allow Nigerian players to make runs, which he can then service. This fast ball thing exposes our weaknesses IMO. Algeria wasn't that much better (a bit better technically), but they got in front early....
If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
Our BEST team is now lacking technical talent??? So it is now that we LACK talent? Ok ooodeanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.
Tried to do what? Sabotage us with every touch?Gotti wrote:If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
You don’t put a LUMBERJACK upfront (with due respect to Onuachu, who actually tried).
WOWSERSGotti wrote:Or perhaps you meant Bolton (which is in the greater Manchester area)...deanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.
He embarrassed his basketball team today, no free-throws abi PK's for him to score like in Belgium...Gotti wrote:If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
You don’t put a LUMBERJACK upfront (with due respect to Onuachu, who actually tried).
Except on those occasions he plays Shehu at RB (and previous Echiejile at LB)?waka-man wrote:I think his philosophy is pretty clear.
A direct, often pressing side that wins the ball and swiftly gets the ball into dangerous areas. It’s perfect manifestation is the 3rd goal against Cameroon in the ANC.
He wants ball winning in the middle and full backs with pace and attacking ability to support a front four.
But he wants this done on a fairly rigid defensive platform and is happy to compromise attacking play to maintain that foundation even if that means relying on the counter.
So the philosophy is clear.
It’s implementation though, is WIP.
- He’s not settled on those full backs
- He’s doesn’t have any depth in DM/CM
- He’s sacrificing his most dangerous wide forward (Iwobi) due to the absence of a genuine attacking DM
But on the whole, it seems pretty clear to me what he is trying to do.
He definitely tried to HELP the team...truetalk wrote:Tried to do what? Sabotage us with every touch?Gotti wrote:If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lolGotti wrote:He definitely tried to HELP the team...truetalk wrote:Tried to do what? Sabotage us with every touch?Gotti wrote:If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
He won numerous headers, harried defenders, got back to defend, tried to prevent the Algerians bringing the ball out from defense, etc. Problem is with the formation (and thus the coaches), because if you play that sort of player (an old-fashioned classic CF), you have to put someone close to him. What's the point in punting the ball upfront (which we did repeatedly - seemingly every time Ekong touched the ball), and have Onuachu win the header and knock the ball down or onwards, only for none of the other forwards or Iwobi anywhere in sight to take advantage thereof?
If you are going to play such a player, you have to devise a formation or plan that takes optimal advantage of his skillsets (and simultaneously minimize any limitations). Not simply plunk him in place of Osimhen, who is a totally different sort of player.
maceo4 wrote:He embarrassed his basketball team today, no free-throws abi PK's for him to score like in Belgium...Gotti wrote:If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
Are you saying that if the defenders repeatedly hoof the ball upfield, he should not try to win headers?maceo4 wrote:I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lol
No he should, but it would be helpful if he actually wins the header and actually heads it towards one of his teammates, else its no different from letting the ball sail over your head to the keeperGotti wrote:Are you saying that if the defenders repeatedly hoof the ball upfield, he should not try to win headers?maceo4 wrote:I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lol
Perhaps just push out his stomach like Musa and Kelechi, or jog around like the latter, until the ball is be played to his feet?
He WON almost all the headers he contested...maceo4 wrote:No he should, but it would be helpful if he actually wins the header and actually heads it towards one of his teammates, else its no different from letting the ball sail over your head to the keeper
wanaj0 wrote:Our BEST team is now lacking technical talent??? So it is now that we LACK talent? Ok ooodeanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.