Page 1 of 2
Your voice, Your Arsenal
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:42 am
by Coach
This is by no means defeatist talk, but rather an invitation for Arsenal fans and those more able-minded debators, to throw in your tuppence'....
Its been bickered and bantered that change is needed in the home of London's pride, but what type of change...the rational to the irrational (change of management) has been speculated, but for the less adolescent, in terms of opinion, how would you address the matter?
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:05 pm
by Ziontrain
Change of management is not the issue. The real is issue is too many players with no belly for a fight.
I can think of too mnay key games where this team has not been ready to fight. I dont mean playing gra-gra only, but actually traking back, challenging the player with the ball and stopping danger early.
That whole Rooney penalty at old Trafford was one example: nobody was really taking intiative to get up and stop the ball. They ust let the dude wander into the penaltly box with the ball.
If I had to name names, I'd be putting Pires, Lauren, Ljunberg on the chopping block. Pires is not hungry as he used to be. Ditto for Ljunberg. They have their little moments, but when the battle is tough these two turn into girls on defense. Its a shame because Pires used play very good defense, positioning, effort very good OPTA stats on tackling totals and succes rate for a winger. Not any more. Lauren tryies but he has no dam defensive focus.
I'd get a real competitor for Lehmann, not Almunia (who may actually become a good goalie), but a guy who can legitimately threaten for that jersey.
Toure to RB and insert a 100% legit CD beside Sol, one who can actually be a defensive organizer like Rio does. Plus a back up type. Give Cygan a gold watch.
Get a legit backup #9 for a plan be in attack. Someone good in the air.
Honestly that's all that is needed. Nobody in the league can score like this team. Look at the starts - this season we are scoring even MORE than last. So the attack is not the problem. Even that # 9 will be a backup. Henry/ DB 12/Reyes/Van P is more than enough.
Its defense that has let us down, both in CL and Premiership. Last season we had the best defense and that is what kept us from losing ie why so many possible defeats turned to draws. In CL last year it was defense that failed us.
So really that's it. There is no need for panic. That doesn't mean its easy though. These are simple moves but they require balls and intent. Being anice guy will not cut it.
In fact if you really had balls, wait and see if Gilberto will be fine. If he is, flog Viera to highest bidder and pay Edu a better salary to stay.
Done and dusted. Even Abramovic's millions will not beat that team if these simple things are is done.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:18 pm
by mastermind
Ziontrain wrote:Change of management is not the issue. The real is issue is too many players with no belly for a fight.
I can think of too mnay key games where this team has not been ready to fight. I dont mean playing gra-gra only, but actually traking back, challenging the player with the ball and stopping danger early.
That whole Rooney penalty at old Trafford was one example: nobody was really taking intiative to get up and stop the ball. They ust let the dude wander into the penaltly box with the ball.
If I had to name names, I'd be putting Pires, Lauren, Ljunberg on the chopping block. Pires is not hungry as he used to be. Ditto for Ljunberg. They have their little moments, but when the battle is tough these two turn into girls on defense. Its a shame because Pires used play very good defense, positioning, effort very good OPTA stats on tackling totals and succes rate for a winger. Not any more. Lauren tryies but he has no dam defensive focus.
I'd get a real competitor for Lehmann, not Almunia (who may actually become a good goalie), but a guy who can legitimately threaten for that jersey.
Toure to RB and insert a 100% legit CD beside Sol, one who can actually be a defensive organizer like Rio does. Plus a back up type. Give Cygan a gold watch.
Get a legit backup #9 for a plan be in attack. Someone good in the air.
Honestly that's all that is needed. Nobody in the league can score like this team. Look at the starts - this season we are scoring even MORE than last. So the attack is not the problem. Even that # 9 will be a backup. Henry/ DB 12/Reyes/Van P is more than enough.
Its defense that has let us down, both in CL and Premiership. Last season we had the best defense and that is what kept us from losing ie why so many possible defeats turned to draws. In CL last year it was defense that failed us.
So really that's it. There is no need for panic. That doesn't mean its easy though. These are simple moves but they require balls and intent. Being anice guy will not cut it.
In fact if you really had balls, wait and see if Gilberto will be fine. If he is, flog Viera to highest bidder and pay Edu a better salary to stay.
Done and dusted. Even Abramovic's millions will not beat that team if these simple things are is done.
u raised alot of good point, but their boss wenger does not see things like that.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:34 pm
by mke1010
What is starting to worry me is that Wenger may be the problem. This guy does not buy world class players becos he prefers to buy them young/cheap and then hav them blossom. While this philosophy is undoubtedly the right one and the foundation of Arsenal's success, any plan without flexibility is destined for failure. I am not saying Arsenal should immediately start spending like MAnu or Chelsea becos that in itself is not a solution to winning. Arsenal's current dilema is that the players who hav already blossomed are aging or no longer hav the fire in the belly and need to be replaced. UNfortunately the new set of youngster are still too green to make an immediate impact thus Arsenal is caught in a catch 22. Do they wait for the youngsters to mature while losing their elite standing of the last several years or do they buy world class players to help bridge the transition process.
If Wenger commits to buying a a couple gritty midfileders starting with Essien, a world class CD and a true deadly foward then Arsenal will be better off next season. However, I really do not see Wenger bringing himself to buy ready-made world class players. He has built his reputaton on doing the exact opposite and this is what worries me the most.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:51 pm
by ardile
PERSONALLY, I think Wenger should reign in on his players attitude and discipline!!!!!
All his "We are sinned agianst more" story is long past its best buy date ...... ARSENAL's opponents DON'T get as many red cards as does ARSENAL!!!
Now the team is left with ONLY Henry as the striker, even he seems to be bereft of ideas now, his body language says it all ... "I am KNACKERED"!!!!
Kolo on the right with Sendourous(sp) and Cygan in the middle????
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked , if this is our current best, NO need to show up against Bayern, even Sheff. Utd will tear us to shreads .....
Its time Arsene gives Stuart Taylor his own time btw the sticks .... Lehman should be given his P45 and a one-way 1st Class ticket to wherever next he wants to go, same Cygan.
Today was a tale of 2 GKs,, while the Saints' GK saved his team with TOP Class saves, the GUNNERS' GK lost the points with ONE moment of MADNESS..... I am sure on current form, Baruwa is better than Lehman ....... Klinsmann is better off with calling Shummacher back as germany's #2 GK or better stiil lif the position void.....
Waffi, I have read ur praises of Van Persie, I was NEVER sold on him, but I bidded my time after ur numerous reports of his talents after watching him live .... but I will have to DISAGREE with u, he will NEVER grow to be as EFFECTIVE as Robben, if he continues to play like a THUG ..... he just commits fouls for NOTHING's sake, why throw up an elbow when u are already btw ur opponent and the ball .. WITHOUT ANY provocation, WORST still, u are on a Yellow, and u jump into a tackle like Bruce Lee executing a sweeping kick?
Van Persie's petulance is unbelievable!! He does NOT want to be tackled or even touched Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked He will do well to lif football and pick up curling or Horse-shoe throwing, if he wants to play a non-contact sport.
With the way things are going, we will be LUCKY to even finish in a UEFA Cup position in the EPL Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
Vieira, Flamini, Ljunberg and Cole were the ONLY players who showed they wanted the game today, the others might as well be in Aruba on a holiday Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad
TiTi needs a decoy, see how Crouch and Camara played off each other? Arsene should please release Layman and Aluminium, get PROVEN personnels in the defence, and put Taylor btw the sticks ..... we have wasted a nuff money on BASKET GKs .... Shabban, Aluminium, Layman ... its A NUFF!!! who even scouts these GKs sef???

Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:03 pm
by mke1010
People say Henry is a killer of small teams and disappears in big games. To be sure if you put RVN in Henry's postion he would probably be worse.
Henry has no one to take a bit of pressure off him mentally and physically. If he had a player like RVN up fornt with him game in game out, other teams will pay dearly, big or small.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:24 pm
by Cristao
what a bunch of whiners u arsenal fans are .. instead of sticking for ur players and having faith .. u r complaining.. what is more laffable is that u are calling for Wenger's head .. GEEEEEEEEZZZZZZZZ .. where were arsenal before he arrived .. Waffiman now u see why i say ur club doesnt have the strength in support Spurs have .. if Arsenal do not perform i seriously wonder how they will fill Ashburton ..
all teams go thru a bad patch .. did u see me and IAG or any spurs fans calling for Jol or Santini's head or any of the players when spurs lost 6 in a row .. y'all should go and learn how to be true fans ..
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:33 pm
by mke1010
Cristao- far from the truth. Arsenal fans love thier club and lively debate as to what is needed to fix the club only shows this. I don't see many jumping off the band wagaon as you are suggesting. Merely expressing dissapointment at defeat and questioning club moves does not mean a loss of faith. We are not blind followers. Win or lose I am an Arsenal fan. However that does not mean i cannot criticize. I don't see anyone calling for Wneger's head either. He is not above criticism or mistake. He is human. The man is a genius and I would not want him to leave Arsenal however he should be criticized when he makes questionable decisons or mistakes.
We are not like MANU fans who sit there with thier hands folded leaving everything to Fergie's better judgement without discourse. We have intellect for the game bro.
In response ot ur remark about sticking up for players- if a player no longer has the passion for the game or starts to lose form permanetly then some changes need to be made. This is professional football and not table soccer where you stick with your bottle cover no matter what.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:43 pm
by Cristao
mke1010 wrote:Cristao- far from the truth. Arsenal fans love thier club and lively debate as to what is needed to fix the club only shows this. I don't see many jumping off the band wagaon as you are suggesting. Merely expressing dissapointment at defeat and questioning club moves does not mean a loss of faith. We are not blind followers. Win or lose I am an Arsenal fan. However that does not mean i cannot criticize. I don't see anyone calling for Wneger's head either. He is not above criticism or mistake. He is human. The man is a genius and I would not want him to leave Arsenal however he should be criticized when he makes questionable decisons or mistakes.
We are not like MANU fans who sit there with thier hands folded leaving everything to Fergie's better judgement without discourse. We have intellect for the game bro.
In response ot ur remark about sticking up for players- if a player no longer has the passion for the game or starts to lose form permanetly then some changes need to be made. This is professional football and not table soccer where you stick with your bottle cover no matter what.
mke1010 .. it is not u .. it is a lot of arsenal supporters on this board and elsewhere ..
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:47 pm
by Ziontrain
mke1010 wrote:What is starting to worry me is that Wenger may be the problem. This guy does not buy world class players becos he prefers to buy them young/cheap and then hav them blossom.
Huh? If he had the
budget, he would spend it!
- When he had £12MM he bought Henry. ANy complaints there?
- He spent £7MM and £10MM on Pires and Wiltord, players who won the WC and Euro 200 with France ie proven pros. Pires went on to be player of the year in the premiership and continues to pour in goals. Even now in his worst ever season, he is still one of the highest socring midfielders in Europe.
Wenger buys young players becuase often they are the best value in the market. If you know you can only spend £10mm and you need 3 players, well you're gonna have to spread it out.
Was anybody complaining when Wenger picked Veira off the scrap heap at Milan? Anelka for peanuts? Kanu for peanuts? Fabregas for peanuts? Toure the same?
The dude just does what he has to do. Its not a matter of preference.
So what is this to say "Wenger only wants to buy young players"? He is operating within the budget that he is given. If anything, you can bet that he and Arsenal board probably have hellish arguments in private about investment in player assets.
At the same time, Wenger is a professionally business-educated man, not your typical football manager. He's not gonna
knowingly invest in overvauled assets.
Besides, he is keeping the team in a very healthy position with good young players ready to come in or be sold for some money to lesser teams. If the guy dies today, you know what he leaves Arsenal in a very solid, healthy long term position. This is a crime?
Leave the man alone. My only beef with him is holding faith with certain players too long. e.g. Cygan. But then again, if you know your board will not give you real moolah to spend, I guess you'd be wise to forge a strong bond of mutual loyalty with the players you
do have in your hand! That is expectable.
Still, the time has come for him to call some of these guys to order. Pires in particular needs an ultimatum: play every game like it could be your last - or it WILL be your last! The dude is capable of
way too much, for him simple keep going out there and playing like a dog week in- week out.
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:48 pm
by mke1010
Cristao-Be honest here, are you saying that you hav seen, read or heard more Arsenal fans leaving the club than those who are true fans?
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:51 pm
by Cristao
mke1010 wrote:Cristao-Be honest here, are you saying that you hav seen, read or heard more Arsenal fans leaving the club than those who are true fans?
yup .. going the other way to Chelsea ..
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:57 pm
by mke1010
Ziontrain
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:59 pm
by mke1010
Ziontrain-I hope u r right. me thinks initially it was by circumstance that he bought young players but over time he has shown disdain for buying establsihed players.
He feels they are over valued and would rather mould his own players. otherwise, why would he buy Reyes for 17 million when the were numerous immediate impact players that could hav been had for less or slighlty higher.
While I am not an Owen fan nor am i suggesting we should hav bought him, his impact would be more at 10 million (100 goals plus in the epl) than Reyes currently is. How much more was Ronadinho(again not to say he would hav come) Whta of Ballack? There are numerous better examples of well established players that Wenger could buy. He even admited he had money to spend this January but decieded not to. Are you saying there was no world class player that could hav been had? Again I am only speculating but I think Wenger has become the type of Mangaer who would rather spend on emerging stars or young players than a well established star. When was the last time Arsenal bought a renowned star. Campbell was tussed on to his lap. Henry was hardly a star when he was bought neither was VIera. He even refuses to pay 7 million for a keeper. i think he has actually been quoted admiting that. Whts wrong with paying top dollars for a keeper if he is one of the best in the world. I would hav paid 7 million for Khan or Scmichael in thier prime.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 12:55 am
by mastermind
Ziontrain wrote:mke1010 wrote:What is starting to worry me is that Wenger may be the problem. This guy does not buy world class players becos he prefers to buy them young/cheap and then hav them blossom.
Huh? If he had the
budget, he would spend it!
- When he had £12MM he bought Henry. ANy complaints there?
- He spent £7MM and £10MM on Pires and Wiltord, players who won the WC and Euro 200 with France ie proven pros. Pires went on to be player of the year in the premiership and continues to pour in goals. Even now in his worst ever season, he is still one of the highest socring midfielders in Europe.
Wenger buys young players becuase often they are the best value in the market. If you know you can only spend £10mm and you need 3 players, well you're gonna have to spread it out.
Was anybody complaining when Wenger picked Veira off the scrap heap at Milan? Anelka for peanuts? Kanu for peanuts? Fabregas for peanuts? Toure the same?
The dude just does what he has to do. Its not a matter of preference.
So what is this to say "Wenger only wants to buy young players"? He is operating within the budget that he is given. If anything, you can bet that he and Arsenal board probably have hellish arguments in private about investment in player assets.
At the same time, Wenger is a professionally business-educated man, not your typical football manager. He's not gonna
knowingly invest in overvauled assets.
Besides, he is keeping the team in a very healthy position with good young players ready to come in or be sold for some money to lesser teams. If the guy dies today, you know what he leaves Arsenal in a very solid, healthy long term position. This is a crime?
Leave the man alone. My only beef with him is holding faith with certain players too long. e.g. Cygan. But then again, if you know your board will not give you real moolah to spend, I guess you'd be wise to forge a strong bond of mutual loyalty with the players you
do have in your hand! That is expectable.
Still, the time has come for him to call some of these guys to order. Pires in particular needs an ultimatum: play every game like it could be your last - or it WILL be your last! The dude is capable of
way too much, for him simple keep going out there and playing like a dog week in- week out.
what about him spent 17 mm for a no-name Reyes, he wasn't even good enough to make spanish squad in euro 2004.

Adriano and kaka cost 10 million and 4 million respectively. He need to start buying cheap quality players if he doesn't want to spent lots of money.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:42 am
by Ziontrain
mke1010 wrote:why would he buy Reyes for 17 million when the were numerous immediate impact players that could hav been had for less or slighlty higher.
I've said time and time again that you all need to quit it with the tablod numbers. Reyes cost £7 + a possible £10 from various clauses, including Arsenal winning the Champions League.
Needless to say so far the price tag for Reyes is NOT £17MM, since we haven't won no damn CL title. If we do, then I dont see how anyone would complain about value. And we dont, £7MM is peanuts for a 19 year old Spanish intl striker/winger. Hell at that age Defoe alone was £10MM, let alone Rooney for £27MM.
So please, spare us the tabloid numbers. Any way you count it, Reyes is a steal. And we will make a profit when he inevitably goes back to and joins Real Madrid.
mke1010 wrote:
= He even admited he had money to spend this January but decieded not to. Are you saying there was no world class player that could have been had?
Yep. Only Morientes was available in a position that we needed (Striker or CD) and Morientes went o join a Spanish manager.
mke1010 wrote:
Campbell was tussed on to his lap.
Nope the way the story unfolded, it is pretty much clear that it was whispered in Campbell's ear that he would get big money from us if he saw out his contract and came on a free. And he did reap the benefit, to the tune of £100K per week - the biggest footballing salary of any ENglish player at the time.
That aint "tossed in his lap"? Clearly they planned that one and just didn't sign the contract till it went into effect, so as to avoid any paper trail - or prosecution.
mke1010 wrote:
Whats wrong with paying top dollars for a keeper if he is one of the best in the world. I would have paid 7 million for Khan or Scmichael in thier prime.
Hey, I'm all for it. If you can see world class goalie in his prime in the premiership for £7MM, let the Arsenal scouts know. I'm sure they'd be happy for the tip.
But the truth is that the only bonafide world-class goalie available in the premiership today is Cudicini - and he will not ever sign with Arsenal. They would pay him 100K per just to keep him away.
You can ask questions about why we didn't sign Van der Saar. That one I dont understand. He seemed to me to be there for the taking, especially as he clearly wants to go back to playing a top team - wouldn't have had uproot his family, just stay in same town.
But curiously enough, Man U didn't get him either - and they are clearly wanting a goalie too. So there is probably something to that story which is not publically revealed...
But otherwise, there aren't any goalies who are proven in the premiership
and world class.
Guys like Niemi, Kiraly, Jusskalaien would be 100% great in the premieiship, but it IS an open question as to how they would fare at the CL level.
And THAT is the dilemna. Its not that easy as it looks.
The main thing we could fault Wenger for is not signing a CD, because legit ones HAVE been available both in summer and in winter transfer windows....
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 3:26 am
by mke1010
Ziontrain-When I faulted Wenger for not buying world class players I was not limiting that to strikers. Could he not hav gone after Essien or another DM especially with the Edu impasse and Gilberto injury? What about CD? With what is going on back there, Wenger's statement that there was no need to buy in the January seems ludicrous at best. I am not a scout but I think Wenger could hav found a solid keeper in Europe for a reasonable price. Admitedly getting the right players for the right amount of money is not as easy as it looks. However, that is his job. Lehman, for instance, came for less than 2 million. I actually thought Van Der sar was the best option also.
Finally, I do understand that there were incentives and clauses in the sale of Reyes but you are being too generous in implying that 7 million is the only guaranteed portion of that deal. No way was Reyes purchased for 7 million and I am not as optimistic that in future a profit will be returned on this investment. It is too early and there is too much uncertainity. Reyes may yet turn out to be a great performer . At the moment he is lacking mental tuffness and it is quite evident that, at least for now, he is not a good fit. The boy is clearly homesick and unlike Ronaldo at Manu may not be as committed to the EPL.
To be honest I actually beleive that with all the incentives and clauses you are talking about the total amount is even more than 17 million. Some of the payment was also structured instalmentally. If we can get the full disclosure of the deal I guarantee you that Arsenal has a lot more than 7 million committed even if we never win CL with Reyes in the team.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:04 am
by Ziontrain
I agree with you 100% that the kid is lacking toughness at the moment, but hell he is 19 or 20. The same was said of Pires and even Henry when they arrived in the premiership at even older ages.
Both became Player of the Year in the Premiership! So I dont think
that can be used to call Reyes a write off.
Built indeed that is gonna be one of the keys to his sucess of faliure. no doubt. We can only wait and see.
Also I was slight off on the fee. It is £10MM with the rest contingent:
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:pp ... enal&hl=en
If we win a CL, No Arsenal fan will have a proble with the 17MM. And if he leaves, whoever boys him will pay the going rate for a young spanish intl striker - ie it aint cheap. No downside, really.
By the way, even as you keep calling for Wenger to splash speculative amounts of money, take a look at this list and calculate the rate of success, espcially on the most expensive deals:
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:2F ... enal&hl=en
When you look at that as a business man - which as I said Wenger is, its clear that those high-value deals do not pay off in proportion to the huge financial risk involved.
In other layman's terms, they are bad bets. That is true even for Arsenal. The hit rate on the most expensive purchases is not good.
In fact, Arsenal has done much better in terms of selling players at their peak value. Unless you are buying a commercial machine like Beckham or Rooney (who would come with a circus in tow, unfortunately) that is generally the side of bluckbuster deals that it actually pays to be on.
In other words splashing out on Mikel Essien is not exactly good business, as much as you might be panicing in the moment.
Kudos to Wenger for not blowing the wad of money in his pocket, just to satisfy people who dont care at all about the
business of football. He obviously cares that 100 years from now, Arsenal should still be a top club.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:25 am
by mastermind
Ziontrain wrote:I agree with you 100% that the kid is lacking toughness at the moment, but hell he is 19 or 20. The same was said of Pires and even Henry when they arrived in the premiership at even older ages.
Both became Player of the Year in the Premiership! So I dont think
that can be used to call Reyes a write off.
Built indeed that is gonna be one of the keys to his sucess of faliure. no doubt. We can only wait and see.
Also I was slight off on the fee. It is £10MM with the rest contingent:
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:pp ... enal&hl=en
If we win a CL, No Arsenal fan will have a proble with the 17MM. And if he leaves, whoever boys him will pay the going rate for a young spanish intl striker - ie it aint cheap. No downside, really.
By the way, even as you keep calling for Wenger to splash speculative amounts of money, take a look at this list and calculate the rate of success, espcially on the most expensive deals:
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:2F ... enal&hl=en
When you look at that as a business man - which as I said Wenger is, its clear that those high-value deals do not pay off in proportion to the huge financial risk involved.
In other layman's terms, they are bad bets. That is true even for Arsenal. The hit rate on the most expensive purchases is not good.
In fact, Arsenal has done much better in terms of selling players at their peak value. Unless you are buying a commercial machine like Beckham or Rooney (who would come with a circus in tow, unfortunately) that is generally the side of bluckbuster deals that it actually pays to be on.
In other words splashing out on Mikel Essien is not exactly good business, as much as you might be panicing in the moment.
Kudos to Wenger for not blowing the wad of money in his pocket, just to satisfy people who dont care at all about the
business of football. He obviously cares that 100 years from now, Arsenal should still be a top club.
Wenger is running Arsenal like a small club now, ajax, udinese etc are the kind of clubs that buy young talent and sell them at their peak, is that what arsenal is turning to ? to be the best u gatto buy the best players out there no matter the cost.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:00 am
by packerland
Are you guys even looking on the short term? there is no striker left to partner with henry for the next game couple with the fact pires might be done for the season.
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:16 am
by Coach
I long pondered the need for tactical change, perhaps changing the thrust of our attack from the wings to the middle of the park, thus affording more unpredictabilityto Henry's voyages down the left. Dropping 2 in behind Thierry and playing with a 3 man midfield is an option which could yet prove fruitful, given our favoured style of play.....
.....Undoubtely a change in personel is mich needed, im glad that the 'domestication' of some of our potential world beaters has been equally noted by yourselves, as i was beginning to feel like a dildo in Ricki Lakes bedroom (nobody feels my pain)
'Domestication' you say....hmmmmmm.......ever heard the one about the carnivorous pitbull terrier with canines-10s-11s and 12s? No, exactly, cos he was brought by some yuppy down the pet shop+now speaks fluent latin, and can iron a tuxedo in 10seconds flat whilst playin Beethovens 5th symphony! 'Domestication'!!!!!
Players are now just playing at a standard that is acceptible for the domestic scene+ to a larger extent, are just exploiting the pedigree of their team which ensures, 9 times out of 10, they'll be on the winning side and might get the odd opportunity to cement the 3 points with a nicely taken side-foot finish! (*kindpeople*)
Indeed the hunger us gone, and in that case some guys with the appetite of war torn refugees after a pound of chronic is needed! Guys with something to prove.......Wright-Phillips is a name that springs to mind, so too is Abdul Abdullahi, theres something poetic about it, anyway back to Shawn of the dead, if Monsiuer is serious he'll check this kid out, and then check him in. For all his van Perises and Owusu's he's got no more thana triple word score on a scrabble board, its time to get serious, enough of the eurotrash, which inevitably, i'll be calling gold in a season or 2...... its time we strolled past the big 'everything must sign' on the bargain basement window and mounted the stairs to the 'Big boys playing field'
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 8:29 am
by Ziontrain
mastermind wrote: Wenger is running Arsenal like a small club now, ajax, udinese etc are the kind of clubs that buy young talent and sell them at their peak, is that what arsenal is turning to ? to be the best u gatto buy the best players out there no matter the cost.
Lazio has been famous for buying players at their peak. Juve has famous till this day for selling players immediately they reached peak (Vialli, Inzaghi, Zidane etc).
Guess which one went bankrupt?
Like I said, its the story of transfers in football is NOT what fans think it is at all. Wenger is on the right track. Whether or not he personally wins the CL, Arsenal will win it - and will do so on this foundation of solidity and affordable talent he is building.
You all are on a 1 year time line, the dude is on a generational change program. I dont think he is sweating it. He knows he will leave Arsenal a legend no matter what.
- If we win CL when he is here, it goes without saying he is a legend
- If we win it when he is gone, everyone will rush to remember the foundation he built and the long term effect
He can't lose, really. And he is doing the right thing for the club's long term success - and on a net investment less than Birmingham & West Ham? IMO this is actually a
more unprecedented achievement than an undefeated season...
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:36 am
by mastermind
Ziontrain wrote:mastermind wrote: Wenger is running Arsenal like a small club now, ajax, udinese etc are the kind of clubs that buy young talent and sell them at their peak, is that what arsenal is turning to ? to be the best u gatto buy the best players out there no matter the cost.
Lazio has been famous for buying players at their peak. Juve has famous till this day for selling players immediately they reached peak (Vialli, Inzaghi, Zidane etc).
Guess which one went bankrupt?
Like I said, its the story of transfers in football is NOT what fans think it is at all. Wenger is on the right track. Whether or not he personally wins the CL, Arsenal will win it - and will do so on this foundation of solidity and affordable talent he is building.
You all are on a 1 year time line, the dude is on a generational change program. I dont think he is sweating it. He knows he will leave Arsenal a legend no matter what.
- If we win CL when he is here, it goes without saying he is a legend
- If we win it when he is gone, everyone will rush to remember the foundation he built and the long term effect
He can't lose, really. And he is doing the right thing for the club's long term success - and on a net investment less than Birmingham & West Ham? IMO this is actually a
more unprecedented achievement than an undefeated season...
Soccer fans have short memory, do u think Inter fans still think about Cuper anymore ? or do u think chelsea still losing sleep over Ranieri ? if a coach is fired or quit, nobody will give the sucess of the team to him after his departure. If chelsea win EPL, the credit will do to Mourinho. Wenger need to win CL league, fans don't care how he's going to get it done, they are not interested in knowing all these behind the scene trade stuff, the game is a result-oriented game. People will conclude that Wenger doesn't have the technical know how to win CL if he didn't win it period.
A so-called best team in europe should not be giving excuses why they can't get to semi finals in CL every year. I have conclude that Wenger is a local champion, he's not built for big leagues.