Nigerian Professional Football League 2021

Re: Nigerian Professional Football League 2021

The real league don start.

The great Shooting Stars SC 3 Calabar Rovers 0 :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Gafar Olafimihan with a hat-trick :clap:

5th straight win for Enyimba

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Bigpokey24 wrote:5th straight win for Enyimba
In all competitions as today’s game was CAF confed cup.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Toxicarrow wrote:Amidst many travails, 3SC seeks return to NPFL again
By Olanrewaju Agiri, Ibadan
13 February 2021 | 3:22 am

As the 2021 Nigeria National League (NNL) season kicks off today, one club that will be the focus of many Nigerian football lovers is Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan.

3SC were relegated from the top flight Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) four years ago, and all efforts to bring it back to the elite class have come to naught due to several reasons.

Today, the Ibadan warlords will begin another journey for promotion this afternoon with a home game against Rovers of Calabar in a Group B1 Match-day one clash at the Dipo Dina Stadium, Ijebu-Ode. Millions of the club’s followers, including 3SC General Manager, Rasheed Balogun, are expectant of a good outing.
x

Balogun believes the Oluyole Warriors will go for maximum points in all their matches, beginning with today’s clash against Calabar Rovers. He notes that the Ibadan soccer lords would restart from where they stopped in the botched 2019/20 season.

“In the season that was cancelled, we played five matches, won four and drew one. That is exactly the form we are taking into the new season,” Balogun told The Guardian. “We will not underrate any team, but we will approach all our matches with our eyes on the three points. I am 99.9 percent sure 3SC will get the promotion ticket to the NPFL this time.”

Shooting Stars was Nigeria’s first club to win the FA Cup in 1971. It was also the first Nigerian club to win an African title, the 1976 African Cup Winners Cup. The Oluyole Warriors was also the first Nigerian club to win the CAF Cup donated by late Chief MKO Abiola in 1992.

For many years, Shooting Stars, which metamorphosed from the famous WNDC Ibadan, have produced players who later became national and international heroes. Some of Nigeria’s household names like Segun ‘Mathematical’ Odegbami, Muda Lawal, Best Ogedegbe, Felix Owolabi, Rashidi Yekini, Kunle Awesu, Folorunsho Gambari, Nath Adewole, Sam Ojebode, Taiwo Ogunjobi, Mutiu Adepoju, Dimeji Lawal, Sola Akinwale, Duke Udi, David Aigbovo, Ademola Bankole, Ogbein Fawole, Friday Christopher, Isiaka Awoyemi, Ken Ugorji, Ben James, Dotun Alatise and Golden Ajeboh, thrilled fans with their God-given football skills at different times. They won several laurels including continental trophies. But Ibadan fans have been denied topflight action since 2016.
x

Balogun is confident that 3SC will be the club to beat this season based on the level of their preparation for the 2021 season. “We have been preparing for a very long time and our boys have been in close camping in Ijebu-Ode for the past weeks.”

3SC picked Ojebu-Ode as its temporary ground because all the stadia in Ibadan are currently undergoing renovation. Balogun revealed that the club is enjoying the full support of Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde and the people.

3SC, which has won the league title five times and four FA Cup, was relegated to the lower league in 2006, but regained top flight status three years later. The club suffered another relegation from the elite division at the end of the 2016/2017 season and failed to gain an instant promotion after falling short at the Super Eight tournament played in Aba.

The pressure is on the General Manager, Balogun, to ensure 3SC regained its lost glory soon. 3SC were among top favourites to win a ticket to rejoin the elite league in 2019 season, but a 3-0 defeat to Akwa Starlets in the promotion match decided at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba, shattered the dream. It was the second time in a row 3SC failed at the last step to snatch the promotion ticket.

The Guardian’s investigation has revealed that 3SC suffered many disappointments in the past due to animosity among the people, including coaches, players and managers, who are being owed various wages.

Past administrators of the club such as Chief Adegboye Onigbinde, late Elder Bode Oyewole, late Jossy Lad, Niyi Akande, Franklin Howard, Festus Allen and late Ajibade Babalade are said to be owed various amount in wages while serving the club. Some former players of the club are also owed bonuses, salaries and sign-on fees.

Former Captain of 3SC, Shakiru Lawal, in his speech at a public forum in 2011, said the players had no gratuity and pension, adding that their sign-on fees and other allowances served as their gratuity and pension, yet they are not paid.

“Any 3SC player who complains of unpaid allowances are usually laid off, and it is sad that a former player of the club was found engaged in menial jobs instead of living a fulfilled life after retiring,” Lawal said.

Another case was that of members of the glorious set of 3SC that won double titles in 1998. Last year, they appealed to Governor Seyi Makinde to fulfill the promise made to them after their excellent performance in 1998 via a letter written by the then Chairman of the team, Elder Bode Oyewole.
x

The Guardian recalls that the State’s Military Governor in 1998, Com-Pol. Amen Oyakhire promised to reward the team for winning the double titles. The team won the domestic league title and the West African Football Union (WAFU) Cup in 1998, which was the last time the Oluyole Warriors won any laurel in the domestic scenes.

Another problem that is rocking the fortune of 3SC is the appointment of board chairman, which is always done to appease the political allies of the serving governor.

A mixed reaction followed the appointment of Chief Samson Olayiwola Lakondoro along with two others, Mrs. Bayo Beckley and Hon. O Peter, as the Chairman and board members of the club respectively in July 2014 by late Governor Abiola Ajimobi. “People who do not have the wherewithal to manage a big club like 3SC are always given priority by the government, and it is doing more damage to the club,” a source said.

Gbolagade Busari, who succeeded Chief Lakondoro as 3SC board chairman, was allegedly afflicted by a strange illness that led to his death on November 29, 2020, a development that was linked to the power struggle in the Oluyole Warriors.

Some club officials and some acclaimed members of the supporters club have been threatened at various times. In truth, too many people have become parasites on the club and are not in a hurry to go.

“Before now, the taxi driver could give a visitor to Ibadan a discount if he identifies the person as fan of Shooting Stars. The meat seller would give you an extra chunk of meat if you identify yourself as a fan of 3SC. And the referees, almost all of them fear blowing against the Stars. All these are fast fading and the team is fast becoming ordinary,” a member of 3SC Supporters Club told The Guardian.
x

For over 50 years, the late Alhaji Ganiyu Elekuru, popularly known as Baba Eleran, devoted his life to Shooting Stars at the expense of his children. Now his family members are said to be unhappy with the club because the management did not show enough concern for him.

“Our father valued Shooting Stars more than his children during his lifetime. He was unable to train us in school, but rather channeled all his resources to 3SC. Unfortunately, when Baba Eleran fell sick and became incapacitated, people managing the club did not show commensurable concern to his plight until he died on November 5, 2005.

“For the club to do well and return to the NPFL, the management of 3SC will have to visit the grave of our father and appease his spirit because I dreamt and saw him crying because of Shooting Stars,” one of the sons of the Baba Eleran revealed to The Guardian.
xhttps://guardian.ng/sport/amidst-many-travails-3sc-seeks-return-to-npfl-again/
Irrefutable confirmation of ‘Tactical’ :huh:. The NPFL has been spared this for four years and we pray it never returns :taunt: :taunt:

Kano Pillars goalkeeper and captain, Thomas Afelokhai said that he ensured that the club signed Ahmed Musa when he was unknown. He said he gave Musa one of the four slots he was given as club captain!
When some of us say that Nigerian club football is a joke, people defending it will come and attack us.
How can a player decide who the club should sign? How many others have slots, coach? Team manager? Kit manager? GM? So sad

Dammy wrote:Kano Pillars goalkeeper and captain, Thomas Afelokhai said that he ensured that the club signed Ahmed Musa when he was unknown. He said he gave Musa one of the four slots he was given as club captain!
When some of us say that Nigerian club football is a joke, people defending it will come and attack us.
How can a player decide who the club should sign? How many others have slots, coach? Team manager? Kit manager? GM? So sad
the NFL/NBA allows franchise players to help their clubs pick prospects etc players, Barca, Milan etc all do these stuff, get with the program, you are not well informed

Dammy wrote:Kano Pillars goalkeeper and captain, Thomas Afelokhai said that he ensured that the club signed Ahmed Musa when he was unknown. He said he gave Musa one of the four slots he was given as club captain!
the NFL/NBA allows franchise players to help their clubs pick prospects etc players, Barca, Milan etc all do these stuff, get with the program, you are not well informed
Your response is extremely lame! Read again and try to comprehend properly before responding.

YemiBrazil wrote:The real league don start.

YemiBrazil,

Is dat you? I think say dem don disband Sooting sef? Na waaao.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

YemiBrazil,

Uncle Prof, which kind disband be dat? We resemble Vasco da Gama? As the ogbonge elders of Nigerian football, we are just taking our usual vacation for NNL. We are 'storming' NPFL in style next season and all the pretenders there go hia wen! :lol: :lol: :thumbs: :clap:

YemiBrazil,

Im be like say dem no inform you say Vasco level don pass NPFL oooo. Awaa level na oversea. We jus dey come wen Naija wan import opponent for Eagus. We go jus come play Eagus. Dats all ooo. Wetin concern us with NPFL? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
YemiBrazil wrote:

YemiBrazil,

Uncle Prof, which kind disband be dat? We resemble Vasco da Gama? As the ogbonge elders of Nigerian football, we are just taking our usual vacation for NNL. We are 'storming' NPFL in style next season and all the pretenders there go hia wen! :lol: :lol: :thumbs: :clap:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:YemiBrazil,

Im be like say dem no inform you say Vasco level don pass NPFL oooo. Awaa level na oversea. We jus dey come wen Naija wan import opponent for Eagus. We go jus come play Eagus. Dats all ooo. Wetin concern us with NPFL? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
EII,

Let me rib you a little. Did you just say that oversea level pass NPFL level? :tic: :tic: . This despite your vigorous defence of NPFL? Don't let your friends catch you o! :lol: :lol: :lol: .
Anyway I take it that talk of Sooting made you mix up the amateur league with NPFL :taunt: :taunt:

ukwala wrote:

EII,

Let me rib you a little. Did you just say that oversea level pass NPFL level? :tic: :tic: . This despite your vigorous defence of NPFL? Don't let your friends catch you o! :lol: :lol: :lol: .
Anyway I take it that talk of Sooting made you mix up the amateur league with NPFL :taunt: :taunt:
Aha! Dat was the plan. Oversea pass local. No be so? Nna, na so man don de read. No be so Arsenal, Man U etceteras echetaram full for Naija? No be our news be Ronaldo dis, Messi dis? Abi I lie? Abi no be say Eagus no fit get local? So therefore Vas co no de play local ooo! :rotf:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

ukwala wrote:

EII,

Aha! Dat was the plan. Oversea pass local. No be so? Nna, na so man don de read. No be so Arsenal, Man U etceteras echetaram full for Naija? No be our news be Ronaldo dis, Messi dis? Abi I lie? Abi no be say Eagus no fit get local? So therefore Vas co no de play local ooo! :rotf:
:rotf: I catch your drift. But wait o, this thread is for senior boys. As I don't have the liver to confront him, please help me tell your friend YemiB that amateur football should be discussed elsewhere :taunt: :taunt:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Wikki Tourists bus caught fire on its way to Uyo yesterday morning. Plateau United provided them their bus to convey them back to Bauchi. Thank God no life was lost and thanks to Plateau United for the kind gesture.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

ukwala wrote:Wikki Tourists bus caught fire on its way to Uyo yesterday morning. Plateau United provided them their bus to convey them back to Bauchi. Thank God no life was lost and thanks to Plateau United for the kind gesture.
Saw this earlier, this could have gone very very wrong, thankfully no life was lost. Hopefully an investigation would commence soon by Wikki Tourist Management as to how this happened to their property to avoid a repeat,
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

BREAKING! NPFL: Adamawa United Players, Officials Robbed At At Gun Point, Driver Abducted
Players and officials of ADAMAWA UNITED FC were robbed at gun point around Benin- Ore expressway last night at about 11.45pm on their way to their week 11 NPFL fixture against MFM FC in Lagos.

According to report, their phones,
feeding monies and other valuables were taken away by the criminals.

The team driver was also abducted in the process and as at press time, no one knows his whereabout.

According to journalist, Tony Ademodi, who broke the news this morning, he said some of the players had this season slept in the team bus because there were no accommodation for them.

“For a team that find it difficult to even feed the players, poor salary structure. Players of Adamawa united earn less than 100k per month, some even earn as low as N30,000.

“Most of their games away from home this season, players have slept inside the team bus, as there is no money to pay for hotel bills. Adamawa united have good players, but their problem is poor management and even the Adamawa state governor doesn’t care and is paying deaf ears to the issues bedeviling the club.” He concluded.

This week, Wikki Tourists bus got burnt to ashes when travelling to Uyo, Akwa Ibom for their matchday tie with Dakkada FC. Also, Kano Pillars’ bus was involved in an inferno on Friday.
https://bsnsports.com.ng/breaking-npfl- ... -abducted/

Terrible news! Best wishes to the affected teams - Pillars, Wikki and Adamawa.

ukwala wrote:

EII,

:rotf: I catch your drift. But wait o, this thread is for senior boys. As I don't have the liver to confront him, please help me tell your friend YemiB that amateur football should be discussed elsewhere :taunt: :taunt:
Hmmm ok Uncle Ukwala, I will reserve my comment on this until we wire you 3 kondo next season 8-)

Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: Wahala dey for this world. This na the kind of yabbis-yabbis that persin go dey spin when your team dey torment yama-yama club with suffix "Internationals" in the village competition..You go dey think sey your team na correct team wey dey play in "the moon" because yama-yama club with suffix "internationals" na your wife.

YemiBrazil wrote:

YemiBrazil,

Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

YemiBrazil wrote:Terrible news! Best wishes to the affected teams - Pillars, Wikki and Adamawa.
I echo your thought ! Time for better welfare and sponsorship package for teams.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

YemiBrazil wrote:
ukwala wrote:

EII,

Hmmm ok Uncle Ukwala, I will reserve my comment on this until we wire you 3 kondo next season 8-)
Comrade Ukwala - did you get to see Sooting in action today in Enugu? Another 3 points in the bag. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Shooting!!!!! :taunt: :taunt: :thumbs: