The Nigerian National Team Jersey

What exactly is the reason for changing the Nigerian Jersey every year? Why can't be keep one jersey like Brazil or Italy or Germany or France. Whenever any of these teams play, there is no doubt about their identity. Anytime Brazil steps on the pitch, you can expet to see the yellow jersey. But you will be dizzy following the Nigerian jersey from year to year..
Re: The Nigerian National Team Jersey

1naija wrote:What exactly is the reason for changing the Nigerian Jersey every year? Why can't be keep one jersey like Brazil or Italy or Germany or France. Whenever any of these teams play, there is no doubt about their identity. Anytime Brazil steps on the pitch, you can expet to see the yellow jersey. But you will be dizzy following the Nigerian jersey from year to year..

flossers like you, usually do not complain.

ANC wrote:
1naija wrote:What exactly is the reason for changing the Nigerian Jersey every year? Why can't be keep one jersey like Brazil or Italy or Germany or France. Whenever any of these teams play, there is no doubt about their identity. Anytime Brazil steps on the pitch, you can expet to see the yellow jersey. But you will be dizzy following the Nigerian jersey from year to year..

To be honest, he has a point. Everything is epileptic in that country

ANC wrote:

Uncle, anytime Brazil, Italy, Germany, or France enter field everybody knows who they are. When Naija enter field, you won't know unless someone tells you its Nigeria. No identity.

The reason? Money.

Nike can sell more jerseys if they change them every year. If they don’t change them, fans won’t see the need to replace the jersey they bought last year. One can possibly stop Nike from doing this via language in the sponsorship contract but I doubt the NFF cares

I have said many times that Nigeria could have an instantly recognizable jersey, like Croatia or Argentina.

Make it a plain white jersey with a green stripe in the middle for home and a green jersey with a white stripe in the middle for away(something similar to the Atlanta 96 jersey).

We can make snazzy designs from time to time, but the basic design must stay the same. For example the green chevrons from WC 2018 can stay strictly inside the middle green stripe. We can put snazzy designs around the collar etc.

Scipio Africanus wrote:I have said many times that Nigeria could have an instantly recognizable jersey, like Croatia or Argentina.

Make it a plain white jersey with a green stripe in the middle for home and a green jersey with a white stripe in the middle for away(something similar to the Atlanta 96 jersey).

We can make snazzy designs from time to time, but the basic design must stay the same. For example the green chevrons from WC 2018 can stay strictly inside the middle green stripe. We can put snazzy designs around the collar etc.
If the business model works and Nigeria sell a good amount of shirts Nike will keep it up and to be fair Adidas didn’t care how Nigeria’s shirts looked and I remember fans complained so at least Nike are paying attention to that side of affairs!

Uncle all these countries (except Brazil) change their jersey designs regularly.

All countries including Brazil change their Jersey designs.
OJI

Post by OJI »

The real issue, the big elephant in the room not being discussed, is simply the nature of contracts signed with a federation and the ecosystem involved in marketing and distributing of each federation's jerseys for all teams - youth/women/men. Is the sponsor able to recoup sunk costs? Are the people negotiating on behalf of the Federation savvy about their worth? Are the people negotiating on behalf of the Federation knowledgeable of the off-field revenue generating potential of their teams? In the case of Nigeria, those "agents" masquerading as administrators only understanding of the football sphere is simply getting govt allocation. TV revenue? Stadium branding? Corporate co-sponsorship of teams?. The list goes on. What incentive is in place for them to go out of their normal BS?

England. £400m over 12 yrs.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... tball-team

Brazil: $160 million over 10 yrs.
https://www.footballparadise.com/how-br ... the-devil/

Nigeria: unknown.
https://www.sportspromedia.com/news/nig ... -extension
Previous contract $975,000.00 USD per year.
No one want to publicly tell us with a straight face what the "improved" offer is.

OJI wrote:The real issue, the big elephant in the room not being discussed, is simply the nature of contracts signed with a federation and the ecosystem involved in marketing and distributing of each federation's jerseys for all teams - youth/women/men. Is the sponsor able to recoup sunk costs? Are the people negotiating on behalf of the Federation savvy about their worth? Are the people negotiating on behalf of the Federation knowledgeable of the off-field revenue generating potential of their teams? In the case of Nigeria, those "agents" masquerading as administrators only understanding of the football sphere is simply getting govt allocation. TV revenue? Stadium branding? Corporate co-sponsorship of teams?. The list goes on. What incentive is in place for them to go out of their normal BS?

England. £400m over 12 yrs.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... tball-team

Brazil: $160 million over 10 yrs.
https://www.footballparadise.com/how-br ... the-devil/

Nigeria: unknown.
https://www.sportspromedia.com/news/nig ... -extension
Previous contract $975,000.00 USD per year.
No one want to publicly tell us with a straight face what the "improved" offer is.
You can never expect Nigeria with its lack of understanding of a professional environment to have made a competent decision concerning the NFF.

KPOM. In this age, not to change the design even if it is slight makes no sense. Changing it ensures continual revenue stream.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

KPOM. In this age, not to change the design even if it is slight makes no sense. Changing it ensures continual revenue stream.
When did Brazil change their yellow Jersey? When did Argentina change their white and lite blue stripe Jersey? What is the Nigerian jesey? Is it the 1994 jersey, the 1998 jersey, the 2002 jersey, the myriads of colors we've worn over the years between then and now, or the 2018 jersey, or this new agbada jersey we are wearing now? Changing the logo design or changing from V neck to crew neck is not true change. Please post the change to the Brazilian or Argentina jersey you are talking about.

1naija,

Although Brazil predominantly uses the yellow shirts, the reality is that Brazil also has used and still uses green, blue, and white shirts from time to time but not as often as the yellow. Then even the yellow features some design changes.

Even Argentina varies its sky-blue stripes periodically and goes also to all dark blue shirts and predominantly white shirts at times.

The point is that most national teams make changes to their uniforms to accommodate marketing needs. Though, I do agree that Nigeria's changes may be more radical than some countries but make no mistake most countries make changes to their uniforms to accommodate marketing dictates.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

1naija,

Although Brazil predominantly uses the yellow shirts, the reality is that Brazil also has used and still uses green, blue, and white shirts from time to time but not as often as the yellow. Then even the yellow features some design changes.

Even Argentina varies its sky-blue stripes periodically and goes also to all dark blue shirts and predominantly white shirts at times.

The point is that most national teams make changes to their uniforms to accommodate marketing needs. Though, I do agree that Nigeria's changes may be more radical than some countries but make no mistake most countries make changes to their uniforms to accommodate marketing dictates.
EII, you are missing my point. That brazil or Argentina sometimes use different color Jersey does not me they completely abandoned their signature yellow or blue/white stripe Jersey. There is difference between wearing a different colored away jersey and changing the national team Jersey. What's the signature Nigerian jersey?

1naija,

EII, you are missing my point. That brazil or Argentina sometimes use different color Jersey does not me they completely abandoned their signature yellow or blue/white stripe Jersey. There is difference between wearing a different colored away jersey and changing the national team Jersey. What's the signature Nigerian jersey?
It should be this (without the "Nigeria" and the Eagle)

Brazil, Argentina and the rest of South America more or less keep it the same. European countries experiment a lot.

must be a slow news day

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Yet some citizens think the jersey is not worthy.