Forum Aesthetics: New Look and Feel…

Re: Forum Aesthetics: New Look and Feel…

The colors too loud.
Re: The new site format looks cool

If it ain't broken, it doesn't need fixing. Please let's revert to our old format or have a vote about it. This new format is painful to the eyes!!

I am not feeling the new format. I take it thought was given to people with colorblindness etc.? either way the background is of very high contrast as opposed to the faded lime green. This is a harsh white background. Just honest feedback.

Looks like the bright colors are ruining it for those who sneak onto CE in the dark. :D
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

Try yellow instead of that red colour.

And change the black to orange.

Should be fine.
There'll be time enough for counting, when the dealing's done..

https://voca.ro/1dk47QJEvGY2

Needs to be a darker theme that is easy on the eye.
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

I don't think that it is the brightness of the green. It is the green itself! A bit too edgy.

Don’t like it. I think is will take some time to get use to it. I suppose we have to embrace change!!!
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

the color schemes are really really hard on the eyes. especially the contrast between the green and orange.
  • The orange works as highlight color when be used sparingly to focus the eyes on a few relevant things (e.g. hovering, threads with unread posts, etc)
  • But too much of the orange with the green, is really really hard on the eyes. perhaps instead of having the entire "unread thread" title in orange, only the "unread indicator" is orange. This will reduce the amount of orange, one sees on the homepage
  • The green might be a little too light for some folks too. Personally, I am fine with it.
  • the black text font is too black. if we are going to go with light green theme, making the text font, slightly less dark will be helpful, but not too much gray or it will become hard to read.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

Great feedback. The forum was running on pretty old SW all around. 1st step really was to get off that to something more current. That has now been done.
Next set of enhancements will be variation in themes to address some of the direct feedback provided.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

shaq

Post by shaq »

Great job guys. :clap:

One thing I've noted. You can no longer see the merged "World Football" threads and "Eagles Nest" threads by simply clicking on "Strictly Soccer" page.
It appears you now have to manually click on either one, and navigate back and click the other to see the threads in there.

Can we adjust the settings back ? I'd like to see all the threads from the "strictly soccer" page. Too lazy to be clicking on too many buttons :taunt:

Gracias

Amazing work guys. Never easy porting onto a new platform. Response times are so quick. Feels like a major upgrade.

I agree on the general challenges with the colours. I actually think the biggest issue from a VI perspective is the buttons are too dominant so you really struggle to focus the eye thus the sense of busyness. The UI should probably focus on highlighting key buttons and not have all of them “on” in bright green all the time.

But these are normal issues for a new release. Excited to see where you all take it with the feedback that’s been provided.

Thank you so much for your work.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

logged in today and liking the new look.

I like the look and I am definitely among the old guys here. This more clearly differentiates several things including old from new posts. In my view, changing periodically should be encouraged. Kudos for this change.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

i like it, especially wheni access CE on my cell phone

Flex Swift wrote: Sat Jun 19, 2021 1:17 pm Don’t like it. I think is will take some time to get use to it. I suppose we have to embrace change!!!
Yeah. Look what happened when we changed from Goodluck to Muhammadu :scared: ❗️

folem

Post by folem »

Will take sometime to adjust to. The orange/red topic headers no be am. black/green topic headers will be better IMHO.

There’s a silver option you can try in your preferences, I like that one a little more. The orange & red wasn’t working for me.

A darker shade of green would be fantastic.

Well done guys...
Celebrity

Post by Celebrity »

Switch to the silver background color/edition guys.it’s way better.
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:27 pm i like it, especially wheni access CE on my cell phone
Ah! That is an important factor!

The experience can be very different depending on your device. This does explain what looks like wild colours on a laptop. They will be deemphasized on a phone. Perhaps phpBB has moved to catering to mobile phones in the default configuration.

Anyway, an option seems to have appeared in the user control panel.

Kudos to the Murderator that accidentally discovered this modern look. It has significantly reduced the number of nonsensical posts on this forum. Notcie how Kongi and yemiwoodberrybrassiere have not posted anything since the new look. They are still trying to figure it out. I wish the accidental murderator would add "Jobs! Jobs!! Jobs!!!" to the main page to permanently keep them off the forum.

Even bigbelle pokey has reduced his number of posts to 5 posts a day. If this accident had happend few years ago, we probably would have been spared 50K of his 94000 posts.

Uncles Ohsee, Ghanaba, CIC very very old boy, and other great grandpas have backked off the forum with their hands up like that progressive Insurance commercial that asks homeowners that have turned into their dads .."who is ready to open a pdf?"

sinequanon wrote: Mon Jun 21, 2021 2:44 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:27 pm i like it, especially wheni access CE on my cell phone
Ah! That is an important factor!

The experience can be very different depending on your device. This does explain what looks like wild colours on a laptop. They will be deemphasized on a phone. Perhaps phpBB has moved to catering to mobile phones in the default configuration.

Anyway, an option seems to have appeared in the user control panel.
I don’t know what you mean by “deemphasozed”. It looks pretty bad on my iPhone. That means it must look really terrible on a laptop or desktop❗️