Rohr and D'Tigers

doctorollie
Rohr and D'Tigers

Post by doctorollie »

Rohr needs to learn a lesson or two from the D'Tigers recent victories over world No 1 (USA) and No 5 (Argentina).

Had Rohr coached this team, all we would hear is we are not good enough to compete with the world best. He would tell us how we need to learn from them and stay humble.

Rohr would have fed with us with his usual gibberish about how these two nations' players play in the top NBA clubs and how we dont stand a chance against them. He would have told us how we should just be happy to participate and stand in the same court as them and how we shouldn't expect to win because USA and Argentina.

He would have told us about the track record of these two teams and about their excellent outcomes in the past, and how we can only dream of these outcomes.

I listened to Mike Brown during the Half time yesterday. He is the coach of the D'Tigers and he said he is the No 1 motivator of his players and will hype them so much that they will go out there and beat anyone. He likened his players to body builders who were in the gym training and how as their instructor, he needs to urge them on to lift that extra weight. And the whole world can see how his confidence in his players is translating to victories on the court.

Rohr has some lessons to learn here. He shouldnt feed us with his rubbish drivel about staying humble when we play teams like Sierra Leone, Burundi, Liberia etc. or when we go up against super powers in world football. We are Nigerians, our indomitable spirit makes us achieve against all odds.

Someone please tell Rohr that Naija no dey carry last o.
Re: Rohr and D'Tigers

doctorollie wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:01 am Rohr needs to learn a lesson or two from the D'Tigers recent victories over world No 1 (USA) and No 5 (Argentina).

Had Rohr coached this team, all we would hear is we are not good enough to compete with the world best. He would tell us how we need to learn from them and stay humble.

Rohr would have fed with us with his usual gibberish about how these two nations' players play in the top NBA clubs and how we dont stand a chance against them. He would have told us how we should just be happy to participate and stand in the same court as them and how we shouldn't expect to win because USA and Argentina.

He would have told us about the track record of these two teams and about their excellent outcomes in the past, and how we can only dream of these outcomes.

I listened to Mike Brown during the Half time yesterday. He is the coach of the D'Tigers and he said he is the No 1 motivator of his players and will hype them so much that they will go out there and beat anyone. He likened his players to body builders who were in the gym training and how as their instructor, he needs to urge them on to lift that extra weight. And the whole world can see how his confidence in his players is translating to victories on the court.

Rohr has some lessons to learn here. He shouldnt feed us with his rubbish drivel about staying humble when we play teams like Sierra Leone, Burundi, Liberia etc. or when we go up against super powers in world football. We are Nigerians, our indomitable spirit makes us achieve against all odds.

So what was your view on Pinnick telling the HB players they “could go out and beat anyone” 4-0?

It’s “different” abi?
:tic: :tic: :tic:

I think **** looks at our SE as inferior probably because of the notion of how the old days they viewed African football. In his head we are black so he puts zero effort. It is a big disgrace that 7 years and counting this dude is still coaching us. The Dtigers are coached by a better setup. We've been failing and falling

...some D'Tiger players play in top league, how many Rohr's players play in a top league or top club?
You play with for the best, with best, you will become the best.

Mike Brown is an NBA coach coaching mostly NBA players. The players know him and know he is a quality coach. He coached Lebron James to the NBA Finals. He has coached the Lakers and was the assitant coach to the Golden state warriors that won several NBA titles. It's like bringing Pep to coach the SE! There is no comparison.
doctorollie wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:01 am Rohr needs to learn a lesson or two from the D'Tigers recent victories over world No 1 (USA) and No 5 (Argentina).

Last edited by 1naija on Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Usual Niaja unintelligent Niaja gibberish! What has Brown don that Rohr hasn't done before? D'Tigers beat the US in a meaningless friendly game just like SE thrashed Argentina in a meaningless friendly 4-1. When Brown beats the US at a competitive came then you can start opening threads boasting about an actual accomplishment. Until then I suggest you chill and let the games begin before you start tabbing about Brown. Results before praise!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 2:31 pm

Usual Niaja unintelligent Niaja gibberish! What has Brown don that Rohr hasn't done before? D'Tigers beat the US in a meaningless friendly game just like SE thrashed Argentina in a meaningless friendly 4-1. When Brown beats the US at a competitive came then you can start opening threads boasting about an actual accomplishment. Until then I suggest you chill and let the games begin before you start tabbing about Brown. Results before praise!
defender of anything white hmmmm.. look at how he came out supporting his massa

Damunk wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 9:50 am

So what was your view on Pinnick telling the HB players they “could go out and beat anyone” 4-0?

It’s “different” abi?
Doc, you know there are different ways of motivating people without delving into hyperbole in outright lying.

Some people are just not good at it and should not be doing it.

Pinnick is one of those.

It’s “different” abi?
I know your response was in jest, but I will treat it seriously,

Yes, It is different.

The D'Tigers that faced Argentina are not from the Nigerian Basketball league that has not held in 3 years (I think they are finally restarting at the moment).

They are however ranked 22nd, and only have 1 NBA starter, with reserves and players from Europe forming the bulk. The exact parallel to the SE actually. The obvious and biggest difference is an incompetent coach with the wrong mindset.

As an extra, the HB policy was doomed to fail from the start and we said it here. Half of those players would not be in Nigeria next year, so what exactly are you building towards? If you wanted to give the Team A a break, there are marginal players that would have been excited to answer the call and would have been a legit Team B, and put up a good game. That is what an engaged and responsible coach would have advocated for, but not Count PatoRanking Rohr.

...even a top notch football coach can not coach our SE with shambolic administration.

BTW, when are we going to start hyping junk players for Brown to select like we've been doing for Rohr? :D

1naija wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 6:34 pm BTW, when are we going to start hyping junk players for Brown to select like we've been doing for Rohr? :D

http://soonerstats.com/basketball/men/p ... ayerid=433
We are not taking players from low end college programs anymore.

Your point is exactly what I challenged the NFF VP Seyi Akinwunmi on, during the CE conference call we had with him in May.
It made absolutely no sense using a bunch of NPFL misfits that will not add value to Nigeria's WC and AFCON campaign. Most of them are looking for a 'get out of jail' card that would enable them leave Nigeria.

My disagreement with you is your rub on Rohr. In fairness to him, he suggested repeatedly that the match be canceled when it was initially announced, because he rightly stated that most of the A team players were on holidays and would decline (we saw what happened with the Cameroon friendlies, where 60% of the first teamers opted out). I believe Rohr got rail-roaded into being a part of this team of misfits by the likes of Pinnick and Seyi Akinwunmi, because they wanted to placate the 'Home Based advocates and agitators, specifically that imbecile and hypocrite of a sports minister we currently have.

Ideally, this would have been a PERFECT opportunity to test out the true team 'B'ers, who would jump at an opportunity to make the A team. The likes of Paul Mukairu, Chidera Ejuke, Alhassan Yusuf, Frank Onyeka, Kelechi Nwakali, Taiwo Awoniyi, Ike Ugbo, Sheyi Ojo, Chuba Akpom, Valentine Ozornwafor (FEN), Obinna Nwobodo, Ayomide Marcus, Calvin Bassey, Akinwunmi Amoo, Adewale Oladoye (KAA Gent), David Babajide (Hatayaspor) and a TON of others currently on jostling to being considered for Team A's WC and AFCON qualifiers, would have used this match to prove that they belong.

It was an incredibly DUMB idea to have used the HB to prosecute this match, as there was zero benefit to the country by using them. None of them were good enough and all of them will be out of the country to 4th tier Eastern European countries when the opportunity presents itself.
Hopefully, the poor result will cause the HB agitators to hit the pause button and let the rest of us breath a little.
truetalk wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 5:04 pm ...As an extra, the HB policy was doomed to fail from the start and we said it here. Half of those players would not be in Nigeria next year, so what exactly are you building towards? If you wanted to give the Team A a break, there are marginal players that would have been excited to answer the call and would have been a legit Team B, and put up a good game. That is what an engaged and responsible coach would have advocated for, but not Count PatoRanking Rohr.

Rohr is not the problem. In fact, I encourage him to make as much money as possible. He is 2 yrs away from 70yrs. He needs to make enough money for his retirement. Which continent is the best bet with poor leaders and the most money? Nigeria! Trust me, he grew in up in an era where his ideas maybe different from today. In addition, his ideas are already fossilized. There is nothing we can do about that. The blame should go solely to Pinnick and his enablers in CE eg( Vancity). Calling some of these folks Uncle Rukus isn't far-fetched. No wonder it was so easy to invade Africa. Nevertheless, I still think Rohr shouldn't be fired until after the World Cup.

1naija wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 6:34 pm BTW, when are we going to start hyping junk players for Brown to select like we've been doing for Rohr? :D

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 9:01 pm Your point is exactly what I challenged the NFF VP Seyi Akinwunmi on, during the CE conference call we had with him in May.
It made absolutely no sense using a bunch of NPFL misfits that will not add value to Nigeria's WC and AFCON campaign. Most of them are looking for a 'get out of jail' card that would enable them leave Nigeria.

My disagreement with you is your rub on Rohr. In fairness to him, he suggested repeatedly that the match be canceled when it was initially announced, because he rightly stated that most of the A team players were on holidays and would decline (we saw what happened with the Cameroon friendlies, where 60% of the first teamers opted out). I believe Rohr got rail-roaded into being a part of this team of misfits by the likes of Pinnick and Seyi Akinwunmi, because they wanted to placate the 'Home Based advocates and agitators, specifically that imbecile and hypocrite of a sports minister we currently have.

Ideally, this would have been a PERFECT opportunity to test out the true team 'B'ers, who would jump at an opportunity to make the A team. The likes of Paul Mukairu, Chidera Ejuke, Alhassan Yusuf, Frank Onyeka, Kelechi Nwakali, Taiwo Awoniyi, Ike Ugbo, Sheyi Ojo, Chuba Akpom, Valentine Ozornwafor (FEN), Obinna Nwobodo, Ayomide Marcus, Calvin Bassey, Akinwunmi Amoo, Adewale Oladoye (KAA Gent), David Babajide (Hatayaspor) and a TON of others currently on jostling to being considered for Team A's WC and AFCON qualifiers, would have used this match to prove that they belong.

It was an incredibly DUMB idea to have used the HB to prosecute this match, as there was zero benefit to the country by using them. None of them were good enough and all of them will be out of the country to 4th tier Eastern European countries when the opportunity presents itself.
Hopefully, the poor result will cause the HB agitators to hit the pause button and let the rest of us breath a little.
truetalk wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 5:04 pm ...As an extra, the HB policy was doomed to fail from the start and we said it here. Half of those players would not be in Nigeria next year, so what exactly are you building towards? If you wanted to give the Team A a break, there are marginal players that would have been excited to answer the call and would have been a legit Team B, and put up a good game. That is what an engaged and responsible coach would have advocated for, but not Count PatoRanking Rohr.
Well said bro :clap: :clap: .

It’s “different” abi?
Na this one dem dey call "E shock am" response... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Some pipul here are like a child that finds a new toy and throw the old one away.
Where was the comparison when D'Tigers were chopping record score in 2012?

Lets enjoy our Tigers recent upturn in profile without denigrating our beloved SE.

...by the way, taste of pudding is in the eating. make Olympic come, hope they win and win, and bring back medal.

pajimoh wrote: Thu Jul 15, 2021 8:06 pm Some pipul here are like a child that finds a new toy and throw the old one away.

Lets enjoy our Tigers recent upturn in profile without denigrating our beloved SE.
Glad you have a timestamp.

You can't teach an expired dog new tricks.

Goodluck with Rihr learning anything new.

That was a local coach then.

Cellular wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:31 pm
pajimoh wrote: Thu Jul 15, 2021 8:06 pm Some pipul here are like a child that finds a new toy and throw the old one away.

Glad you have a timestamp.

truetalk wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 5:04 pm

It’s “different” abi?
I know your response was in jest, but I will treat it seriously,

Yes, It is different.

The D'Tigers that faced Argentina are not from the Nigerian Basketball league that has not held in 3 years (I think they are finally restarting at the moment).

They are however ranked 22nd, and only have 1 NBA starter, with reserves and players from Europe forming the bulk. The exact parallel to the SE actually. The obvious and biggest difference is an incompetent coach with the wrong mindset.

As an extra, the HB policy was doomed to fail from the start and we said it here. Half of those players would not be in Nigeria next year, so what exactly are you building towards? If you wanted to give the Team A a break, there are marginal players that would have been excited to answer the call and would have been a legit Team B, and put up a good game. That is what an engaged and responsible coach would have advocated for, but not Count PatoRanking Rohr.
Listen to this coach and compare with Rohr!