MKO Abiola Stadium Abuja Ready For Use

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 8:22 pm

Re: MKO Abiola Stadium Abuja Ready For Use

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 10:52 pm
by ohenhen1
Next match

Invite only tickets. The different ministries will distribute the tickets lol.

This is a 60 K seater stadium. When was the last time Nigeria had full capacity at this stadium in Abuja when the Eagles are playing?

Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 2:43 am
by Benedict Iroha
Imagine 300 million dollars to build this eyesore.

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:39 am
by jette1
Benedict Iroha wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 2:43 am Imagine 300 million dollars to build this eyesore.
The 300 was for the entire complex which includes 4 different other arenas so it’s not just the football stadium

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 11:24 am
Benedict Iroha wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 2:43 am Imagine 300 million dollars to build this eyesore.
That wasn't for just the stadium. It included a lot of other infrastructure for sports event. Remember we hosted the All African games

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 12:12 pm
by Celebrity

Uncle Quantity Surveyor, so how much should the ENTIRE Complex have cost?

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:00 pm
by Damunk
Celebrity wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 12:12 pm

Uncle Quantity Surveyor, so how much should the ENTIRE Complex have cost?
Ben Iroha, dem dey ax you say how much e for cost?
Abeg, answer am. :taunt:

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:04 pm
by ohenhen1
The 300 million dollars was a good investment at the time. The same stadium if they want to build it today will be north of 600 million dollars. The problem like every thing Nigeria government is stupid administration. They built the stadium in the wrong location. That stadium should be in Lagos. And they should have handed it over to a privae organization to manage it. Treat it like a private entity. Tickets sold on the open market. Businesses allowed to spring up around the stadium. But they fail to maintain it. No one goes to the stadium.

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:35 pm
by Enugu II
ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:04 pm The 300 million dollars was a good investment at the time. The same stadium if they want to build it today will be north of 600 million dollars. The problem like every thing Nigeria government is stupid administration. They built the stadium in the wrong location. That stadium should be in Lagos. And they should have handed it over to a privae organization to manage it. Treat it like a private entity. Tickets sold on the open market. Businesses allowed to spring up around the stadium. But they fail to maintain it. No one goes to the stadium.
Ohenhen1

I do not see a problem with a worthy stadium being built in a capital city of Nigeria with rapidly growing population. Plans involve estimating the future, thinking ahead. You should not be limited to the present or else you will soon become obsolete -- that is why things are planned for the future.

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 4:40 pm
by ohenhen1
Enugu II wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:35 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:04 pm The 300 million dollars was a good investment at the time. The same stadium if they want to build it today will be north of 600 million dollars. The problem like every thing Nigeria government is stupid administration. They built the stadium in the wrong location. That stadium should be in Lagos. And they should have handed it over to a privae organization to manage it. Treat it like a private entity. Tickets sold on the open market. Businesses allowed to spring up around the stadium. But they fail to maintain it. No one goes to the stadium.
Ohenhen1

I do not see a problem with a worthy stadium being built in a capital city of Nigeria with rapidly growing population. Plans involve estimating the future, thinking ahead. You should not be limited to the present or else you will soon become obsolete -- that is why things are planned for the future.
I think the problem is I look at everything from the private sector point of view. I am not a politician or government official. How do we make money from the stadium or generate the most money from the investment?

My solutino is let the private sector manage everything to do with the stadium. Build the stadium in a population center of over 20 million people not 900K. Build good surrounding transportation infrastructure.

Government need to learn from the success of NLNG. That is the future model for government.

Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2021 2:04 am
by Enugu II
ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 4:40 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:35 pm
Ohenhen1

I think the problem is I look at everything from the private sector point of view. I am not a politician or government official. How do we make money from the stadium or generate the most money from the investment?

My solutino is let the private sector manage everything to do with the stadium. Build the stadium in a population center of over 20 million people not 900K. Build good surrounding transportation infrastructure.

Government need to learn from the success of NLNG. That is the future model for government.
I respect that view and it does make sense but only if the stadium was built with private funds and set tip as a money making venture. However, that isn't the case here.

Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2021 3:15 am
by ohenhen1
Public funds should also make money. the money will be used to maintain the facility.

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:08 am
by DIMKA76
I read somewhere the pitch wouldn't be ready for use until around February - March next year. Something to do with the kind of grass used. The photo you're viewing appears to be photoshopped. I've see a few Naija newspapers parading the same photo. Which make it even more suspicious. The real state of the pitch is nowhere as lush as the photo portrays.