SUPER EAGLES CAMP UPDATE

Re: SUPER EAGLES CAMP UPDATE

txj wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:59 pmThat statement is the classic definition of discrimination.
Of course, it is NOT...
Unless you are struggling with the definition of discrimination. Difference is DIVERSITY, not discrimination.

naijaguy wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:04 amOh yeah? Just like when a white person singles you out as "the black dude from Africa". It shouldn't rattle you since it's a fact. Like "Can that black dude from Africa sitting over there give us a vote of thanks". 8-)
Why should it "rattle" any SANE (emphasis added) black male person from Africa to be described as "the black dude from Africa"?
Are you ASHAMED of being black or being from Africa or both? Or just another manifestation of what might be a complex problem?

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:06 amStop been daft, lots of us here were born in the so called foreign countries... how do you want us to feel coming on here to see all the garbage you old farts keep spewing here? aren't there bigger issues affecting Nigeria than to worry about who is local or foreign born/based? Honestly your generation of Nigerians are a very weird bunch.
Dude, I ignore juvenile and uncouth personal insults...
They merely betray the lack of a substantive argument (and of course a CRUDE personal upbringing). Do better...SMH

Meanwhile, on the SUBSTANTIVE issue at hand...
I am foreign-born (NYC), but no one here on CE can claim to be any more NIGERIAN than I in the history of CE.

Being foreign-born is neither a disability nor an insult...
it is just one of the FACTUAL myriad differences that makes up the RICH tapestry of DIVERSITY that we are.

Lolly wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:52 pmThank God the authorities and players don't think like some of you. Wetin be foreign born v local born? I be foreign born but I am more Nigerian than some the local born Nigerians I come across. Nonsense and Ingredients.
Cito wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 2:04 pmThis is sad. Let it go. You were wrong in jest or not. :oops:
Damunk wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 4:40 pmMaybe the lesson here is that whatever you say, be prepared for a backlash.
It’s not necessarily about what you say and mean, but how it is received - and that often depends on what is said before you even open your mouth. :lol:

There has always been a very slight undertone of resentment and even racial misgivings (by some) for foreign-born players in the SE which you might have not picked up. It’s more obvious on the internet.
It’s not something those that harbour it are willing to come out and openly declare but maybe your statement, well-intentioned as it was, appeared to be yet another of such sentiments.

Just my take.
"Foreign-born" and "local born" are mere FACTUAL descriptions...
It is no more supposedly "discriminatory" than saying someone is Igbo, Yoruba, Ishan, Efik or Fulani.

The problem is NOT referring to someone who is foreign-born as such, but the CONTEXT thereto...
Thus, if/when someone makes a discriminatory or derogatory statement about foreign-born (or local-born btw) NIGERIANS, it deserves condemnation.

Conversely, Maceo's innocuous (or jocularly) FACTUAL observation should not have triggered all of the undue undie-twisting - unless of course the respondents had pre-existing predepositions.

2022 WCQ: Good news for the Super Eagles ahead of CAR return leg clash

The 2013 African champions have been handed a major boost as they aim to redeem their damaged reputation in their second leg clash against Les Fauves

Super Eagles have received good news on the injury front ahead of their 2022 World Cup qualifier second leg clash against the Central African Republic.

The three-time African champions will be able to call on the services of Kelechi Iheanacho and Paul Onuachu for the clash in Douala.

Both players were doubts for the encounter due to injuries, but they took part in the team’s training session on Friday before departing for Cameroon.

Iheanacho picked up a knock in the first leg of the game and had to be taken off at halftime, while Onuachu missed the match entirely.

However, the two players were part of the travelling party and are expected to play a part in the match. The Leicester City man is expected to keep his place in the starting lineup, while Onuachu’s aerial presence could be an option off the bench.

The availability of Onuachu is a big boost for Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr as the 27-year-old is the country’s leading scorer in Europe this season with 11 goals in 13 games.

Onuachu has also scored in three of his last four games for the Super Eagles and will hope he can continue in the same vein on Sunday.

https://soccernet.ng/2021/10/2022-wcq-g ... clash.html

iworo wrote: Sat Oct 09, 2021 4:52 pm 2022 WCQ: Good news for the Super Eagles ahead of CAR return leg clash

The 2013 African champions have been handed a major boost as they aim to redeem their damaged reputation in their second leg clash against Les Fauves

Super Eagles have received good news on the injury front ahead of their 2022 World Cup qualifier second leg clash against the Central African Republic.

The three-time African champions will be able to call on the services of Kelechi Iheanacho and Paul Onuachu for the clash in Douala.

Both players were doubts for the encounter due to injuries, but they took part in the team’s training session on Friday before departing for Cameroon.

Iheanacho picked up a knock in the first leg of the game and had to be taken off at halftime, while Onuachu missed the match entirely.

However, the two players were part of the travelling party and are expected to play a part in the match. The Leicester City man is expected to keep his place in the starting lineup, while Onuachu’s aerial presence could be an option off the bench.

The availability of Onuachu is a big boost for Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr as the 27-year-old is the country’s leading scorer in Europe this season with 11 goals in 13 games.

Onuachu has also scored in three of his last four games for the Super Eagles and will hope he can continue in the same vein on Sunday.

https://soccernet.ng/2021/10/2022-wcq-g ... clash.html

It is hard to see how Onuachu's presence would have made a difference in the home leg, when each time we crossed the ball we could never get it past the first man. Our wingers on each side naturally cut in to attack, rather than swing in the ball. When we had Ammunike and Finidi, we had both options in our arsenal with an arrowhead who could use either part of his anatomy to score.

What has been lacking in the SE is a creative m/f to dimension the attacking play. Ejuke is the closest we have in the team and when he drifted central, you always felt something was about to happen. Rohr is determined to have combative, sitting defensive m/f , leaving the wingers to do the attacking. However, having the fire power we do without a m/f that can service them is ultimately going to cost Rohr his job....