Fire Rohr ....

... and hire Finidi ASAP. It's not like we are going anywhere with Rohr.
Re: Fire Rohr ....

1naija wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:18 am ... and hire Finidi ASAP. It's not like we are going anywhere with Rohr.
I've been saying this for eons, I would rather we take a chance with and risk failure with a Amunike and Finidi than see us sink lower with this clown... The useless NFF buffoons have dug themselves into a cul-de-sac here by owing this man for months, now we have to stick with his garbage till his contract runs out its course... I'm not wasting my time by placing any high expectations on this team any more.

I doubt Rohr will get a job in the second division in Europe's top leagues. We always hire these come from nowhere oyibos to coach simply because we have low self-esteem. We are quick to fire the likes of Keshi or Amodu (both Rip), while the likes of Rohr get 5 years to develop a team. Rohr said this team will be ready by 2022, it's 2021 now, and still nothing to show for it.

If it's Finidi or Amuneke or any black coach from Europe (They don't get chances) let's give them a chance.

1naija wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:18 am ... and hire Finidi ASAP. It's not like we are going anywhere with Rohr.
We should have fired him AFTER the last WC! He failed then BUT we allowed him to repeat the class by renewing his contract later

He has not failed in his second attempt so no need to sack him now.

Yes I agree that we cannot do worse with any coach at this time. What is worse than losing to the likes of CAR and Madagascar :)

Benedict Iroha wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:11 am I doubt Rohr will get a job in the second division in Europe's top leagues. We always hire these come from nowhere oyibos to coach simply because we have low self-esteem. We are quick to fire the likes of Keshi or Amodu (both Rip), while the likes of Rohr get 5 years to develop a team. Rohr said this team will be ready by 2022, it's 2021 now, and still nothing to show for it.

If it's Finidi or Amuneke or any black coach from Europe (They don't get chances) let's give them a chance.
Quick to fire Keshi ?

Who failed to qualify for a common nationas cup finishing third in his group.

You can make a case for Amodu, but Keshis sack was well deserved.
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 8:12 am
Benedict Iroha wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:11 am I doubt Rohr will get a job in the second division in Europe's top leagues. We always hire these come from nowhere oyibos to coach simply because we have low self-esteem. We are quick to fire the likes of Keshi or Amodu (both Rip), while the likes of Rohr get 5 years to develop a team. Rohr said this team will be ready by 2022, it's 2021 now, and still nothing to show for it.

Quick to fire Keshi ?

Who failed to qualify for a common nationas cup finishing third in his group.

You can make a case for Amodu, but Keshis sack was well deserved.
You talk a lot of shameful rubbish - full of bile and ignorance.

The man is owed eight to nine months salary and you expect commitment?

Midfield was the problem. With no replacements for the injured core players.

We have been promised players who will make miraculous impact in the team, forgetting developing players (HB) as plan B.

Rohr should stay and complete his contract.

If he loses against CAR on Sunday, then he deserves to be sacked. No excuses.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

what has Findi done to warrant the job?

I gave up on that manager after just two matches at Russia 2018 - you hardly see me post on Super Eagles after that world cup and with that man still in charge. It's a waste of time.

YemiBrazil wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:34 pm I gave up on that manager after just two matches at Russia 2018 - you hardly see me post on Super Eagles after that world cup and with that man still in charge. It's a waste of time.
We were very underwhelmed at the stadium. Sometimes you can lose a game and have something to hold on to but against Croatia in 2018 it was very flat.

YemiBrazil wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:34 pm I gave up on that manager after just two matches at Russia 2018 - you hardly see me post on Super Eagles after that world cup and with that man still in charge. It's a waste of time.
I removed him from any considerations after losing to SA at home.

You know a chick that will turn into a cockerel early enough...

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:22 am If he loses against CAR on Sunday, then he deserves to be sacked. No excuses.
No.

Anything less than a win he should be sacked on the spot.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 1:24 pm what has Findi done to warrant the job?
He is Nigerian.

That is all that matters for many.

aruako1 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:38 pm
We were very underwhelmed at the stadium. Sometimes you can lose a game and have something to hold on to but against Croatia in 2018 it was very flat.
that is a lie.

The game was very even.

We were very unlucky we conceeded a fluke own goal, and then Ekong gave away a stupid penalty. Other than that the match was even.

Both teams played like they respected each other. Remember Croatia finished 2nd.

I dont like Rohr, but you guys dont have to LIE to make your point.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 8:11 pm
that is a lie.

The game was very even.

We were very unlucky we conceeded a fluke own goal, and then Ekong gave away a stupid penalty. Other than that the match was even.

Both teams played like they respected each other. Remember Croatia finished 2nd.

The game was flat and underwhelming, that is the absolute truth we all watched that match and came away with that feeling. Not saying it was uneven, but it was flat and boring from both sides, but when they attacked they definitely created more credible chances than we did. The commentators were questioning where our so called speed was, why was our team so pedestrian.

maceo4 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 8:55 pm
that is a lie.

The game was very even.

The game was flat and underwhelming, that is the absolute truth we all watched that match and came away with that feeling. Not saying it was uneven, but it was flat and boring from both sides, but when they attacked they definitely created more credible chances than we did. The commentators were questioning where our so called speed was, why was our team so pedestrian.
Tbf CAR had only two fluke chances all game that came from two random and speculative long balls from deep (one of which led to a goal) ...no thanks to Ekong and Balogun that somehow forgot the basics of defending simple long balls, otherwise Uzoho might as well have taken a nap in goal... it's not as if they constantly sliced us open with superb football like you make it seem, the misses from Osimhen and Awoniyi were more gilt-edged and unpardonable... but we move on to Sunday I guess.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:28 pm
that is a lie.

The game was very even.

Tbf CAR had only two fluke chances all game that came from two random and speculative long balls from deep (one of which led to a goal) ...no thanks to Ekong and Balogun that somehow forgot the basics of defending simple long balls, otherwise Uzoho might as well have taken a nap in goal... it's not as if they constantly sliced us open with superb football like you make it seem, the misses from Osimhen and Awoniyi were more gilt-edged and unpardonable... but we move on to Sunday I guess.
Oh I was talking about the Croatia game that van city is trying to rewrite the history for…

maceo4 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:53 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:28 pm
that is a lie.

The game was very even.

Oh I was talking about the Croatia game that van city is trying to rewrite the history for…
Tobi is very upset at the moment so please forgive him.

that is a lie.

The game was very even.

What is a lie? That we were underwhelmed at the stadium? Were you at the stadium? I was at the stadium with Robbynice. Larry was there too. Even being the optimist that he is, he will tell you that it was very flat. The game did not seem even at all.

But let us humour you and see what the news outlets thought -

Maybe BBC was lying too -
By and large, Gernot Rohr's inexperienced team were every bit as subdued as their shirts
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44422185

Or those liars at Sky https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... p-d-opener
Croatia sit top of World Cup Group D after a comfortable 2-0 win over Nigeria in Kaliningrad on Saturday evening.
The lying was even more blatant from the Evening Standard https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/footba ... 64801.html
Croatia - pegged by many as dark horses for the tournament - were in control for much of the game, and took a deserved lead into the interval before Luka Modric tucked home a second-half penalty to wrap up three crucial early points in the tournament.
There may have been an element of fortune about the opening goal as Mario Mandzukic's header was deflected into his own net by Oghenekaro Etebo after 32 minutes, but it was the least Croatia deserved as Nigeria failed to rise to the occasion.
The Super Eagles offered little of note going forward, with Chelsea's Victor Moses resorting to a number of theatrical falls while Alex Iwobi was taken off after a quiet hour of football for the Arsenal playmaker.

Did you check Rohr's record before making the emboldened statement? Maybe his best years are gone by but he managed a few clubs in top leagues in Europe in the past and even led Bordeaux to the UEFA Cup final.

Meanwhile, his target is to guide the team to win the 2021 Africa Nation's Cup and qualification to the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sat Oct 09, 2021 9:29 am

Did you check Rohr's record before making the emboldened statement? Maybe his best years are gone by but he managed a few clubs in top leagues in Europe in the past and even led Bordeaux to the UEFA Cup final.

Meanwhile, his target is to guide the team to win the 2021 Africa Nation's Cup and qualification to the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.
That was 25 years ago, so what exactly is your point?

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:22 am If he loses against CAR on Sunday, then he deserves to be sacked. No excuses.

Even without a manager, Nigeria will NOT lose in Cameroon to CAR. The target is not a simple 1-0 win but a dominating performance and annihilation of CAR. Anything less will not rescue an ounce of worth for Rohr.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics