Ahmed Musa over Emmanuel Dennis is grave injustice!!

Re: Ahmed Musa over Emmanuel Dennis is grave injustice!!

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:47 am
highbury wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 11:54 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 9:16 pm An interesting rebuttal to the 'Musa must go' herd.
Enjoy...
Vancity can learn from this. Van city you are older than the man in the video but you can certainly learn from it
Yes Musa has served Nigeria well but so has Sunday Mba I mean he scored the only goal that last won a Afcon for Nigeria why wasn’t he allowed to play 101 games for Nigeria?
Na joke you dey joke, right? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

bushboy wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:16 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:04 pm
bushboy wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:44 pm I am watching Watford v Liverpool. Even though Watford is losing 4-0, you can see the quality in Dennis whenever he gets the ball. The fact that Rohr chooses to call Musa ahead of this guy is just mind boggling.
Dennis must be playing on a different level if his team is losing by 4 unreplied goals yet you're hyping him up like this...
I don't know what you mean by "hype" but if you think Musa is more worthy of a national team call than Dennis, then no yawa.
Exaggeration is in your nature. I could pull up your posts on Buhari as an example 😜

maceo4 wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 9:38 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 9:16 pm An interesting rebuttal to the 'Musa must go' herd.
Enjoy...
Disagree with this rebuttal, it’s has nothing to do with where Musa is from, this is a player that has benefited from preferential treatment. He had been called up even when he was clubless, while playing in the wilderness that is Saudi Arabia, taking up a spot that could have been used to try more inform players. They want to lie to us that he played well vs CAR when he clearly didn’t. In the second game he misplaced way more passes than he completed. It was the same thing all last ANC, his speed is no longer there and he’s never been a cerebral player and his lack of proper basics like ball control and passing are becoming much more obvious. There’s no world where he deserves to be on this team, and I think even he himself knows that and is just enjoying his preferential treatment for as long as it lasts.
I am not a fan of Musa’s continued invitation to the SE, but you will have to do better than just disagree without backing up your claims on things like his poor pass completion rate, his poor ball control, his lack of speed etc
There is always the possibility of confirmation bias and so you might find that the references to Eguavon, Mba, Keshi and Yobo have gone right over your head simply because they are strong counterpoints to your argument.

The issue of anti-northern sentiment has also been brought up right here on CE several times but the denial is always fast and furious. :lol:
It doesn’t change the facts though, in my opinion.
The guy described Musa as “the most vilified Super Eagle” which we all know dates back to his early years in the national team. Why is that? We know the derogatory names he has been called and the way he has been disrespected more often than not. Nonetheless he goes about his business with a smile and has served us humble pie on several occasions

It’s interesting that Elegbete’s commentary sounded like it was informed by the opinions on Eagles Nest which are often out of tune with what fans on the streets are saying.

While it is clear that Musa is not the player he used to be, we have to realize that the Manager has his own reasons for calling him up. We hammer on Musa being called up when he is passed his prime. Let us note that this is not the first time we are seeing this. Musa is in fact far more serviceable compared to the state of Mutiu Adepoju when he was called up at the twilight of his career and taken to a major tournament. Although, the idea of taking Mutiu to the tournament at that time should not make it right now to do the same with Musa, there is more reason than we know for Musa's invitation. Building a squad is not simply about having the best skilled players. To think in those terms is to lack the understanding of group dynamics. After all, effectiveness of a football squad is about group dynamics. It is very clear that Manager Rohr has his own reason for having Musa in the squad -- group dynamics. I bet it isn't all about Musa's current form nor is it about the fact that Musa remains today our most effective player ever at the highest level of competition -- The World Cup. It is possible that Rohr believes Musa holds his team together in the dressing room and that is very important in team building and dynamics. This is not simply about the 11 players on the field of play. it is about the synergy of the ENTIRE SQUAD.
Enjoy...
Disagree with this rebuttal, it’s has nothing to do with where Musa is from, this is a player that has benefited from preferential treatment. He had been called up even when he was clubless, while playing in the wilderness that is Saudi Arabia, taking up a spot that could have been used to try more inform players. They want to lie to us that he played well vs CAR when he clearly didn’t. In the second game he misplaced way more passes than he completed. It was the same thing all last ANC, his speed is no longer there and he’s never been a cerebral player and his lack of proper basics like ball control and passing are becoming much more obvious. There’s no world where he deserves to be on this team, and I think even he himself knows that and is just enjoying his preferential treatment for as long as it lasts.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Thanks Prof.
The fact that leadership and team dynamics NEVER seem to enter the discussion simply indicates that the debate is primarily driven by emotion and sentiment with nobody willing to take a step back and consider a possible wider picture.
What you say is not new to anyone here, but few have any interest in factoring it in.
The love and respect for Musa in camp is clear for all to see just from Ekong’s video blog but people only see what they want to see.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:37 am While it is clear that Musa is not the player he used to be, we have to realize that the Manager has his own reasons for calling him up. We hammer on Musa being called up when he is passed his prime. Let us note that this is not the first time we are seeing this. Musa is in fact far more serviceable compared to the state of Mutiu Adepoju when he was called up at the twilight of his career and taken to a major tournament. Although, the idea of taking Mutiu to the tournament at that time should not make it right now to do the same with Musa, there is more reason than we know for Musa's invitation. Building a squad is not simply about having the best skilled players. To think in those terms is to lack the understanding of group dynamics. After all, effectiveness of a football squad is about group dynamics. It is very clear that Manager Rohr has his own reason for having Musa in the squad -- group dynamics. I bet it isn't all about Musa's current form nor is it about the fact that Musa remains today our most effective player ever at the highest level of competition -- The World Cup. It is possible that Rohr believes Musa holds his team together in the dressing room and that is very important in team building and dynamics. This is not simply about the 11 players on the field of play. it is about the synergy of the ENTIRE SQUAD.
Enjoy...

Enjoy...
The guy is talking trash! Didn't Ejuke provide two clear chances for Osimehn? One that hit the bar and the other that went over the bar? I can't believe this guy watched the game and picked out Collins and Musa as his standout players. Na wah!

Enugu II wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:37 am While it is clear that Musa is not the player he used to be, we have to realize that the Manager has his own reasons for calling him up. We hammer on Musa being called up when he is passed his prime. Let us note that this is not the first time we are seeing this. Musa is in fact far more serviceable compared to the state of Mutiu Adepoju when he was called up at the twilight of his career and taken to a major tournament. Although, the idea of taking Mutiu to the tournament at that time should not make it right now to do the same with Musa, there is more reason than we know for Musa's invitation. Building a squad is not simply about having the best skilled players. To think in those terms is to lack the understanding of group dynamics. After all, effectiveness of a football squad is about group dynamics. It is very clear that Manager Rohr has his own reason for having Musa in the squad -- group dynamics. I bet it isn't all about Musa's current form nor is it about the fact that Musa remains today our most effective player ever at the highest level of competition -- The World Cup. It is possible that Rohr believes Musa holds his team together in the dressing room and that is very important in team building and dynamics. This is not simply about the 11 players on the field of play. it is about the synergy of the ENTIRE SQUAD.
Enjoy...
It should only be about his current form! We don't really care if he has a smile on his face or good character. If that is so important, then he should be made a team ambassador or given a role that will enable him be part of the team without playing... Mutiu you referenced, didn't play a single game during the world cup but this one is holding unto the captain band and plays every single game at the expense of more inform players. Not cool!

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:57 am
Enjoy...
It should only be about his current form! We don't really care if he has a smile on his face or good character. If that is so important, then he should be made a team ambassador or given a role that will enable him be part of the team without playing... Mutiu you referenced, didn't play a single game during the world cup but this one is holding unto the captain band and plays every single game at the expense of more inform players. Not cool!
He definitely isn’t there because of a smile and good character. Let’s get that straight.
Maybe consider ‘leadership’ and ‘team dynamics’ as a possibility?
You are free to say they’re unimportant and therefore you don’t care about all that either.

Just saying’… :D

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 6:46 am
gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:57 am
Enjoy...
He definitely isn’t there because of a smile and good character. Let’s get that straight.
Maybe consider ‘leadership’ and ‘team dynamics’ as a possibility?
You are free to say they’re unimportant and therefore you don’t care about all that either.

Just saying’… :D
Ekong is the leader on the field and I really doubt the dressing room will fall apart if he’s not there. Mikel was a way more influential presence and we’ve carried on after he took a much deserved bow. But trust and believe **** would still be inviting him even till today if he made himself available. The man can just be so stuck in his ways and slow to make changes. So, that said I really don’t see what Musa brings at this point in his career. But fully expect to see him at the ANC and WC as long as **** is there based on what he did against Iceland in 2018…

I don't even know why we are discussing this, Pinnick said boldly that he is forcing Musa on Rohr, so if he is such a "Good influence" as we are made to believe, then why does Pinnick need to convince the coach to select Musa? Also, what kind of dumb coach will allow himself to be pushed around, i tire for this set up, no wonder we struggle to make meaningful impacts in all competitions we go to.

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:16 am I don't even know why we are discussing this, Pinnick said boldly that he is forcing Musa on Rohr, so if he is such a "Good influence" as we are made to believe, then why does Pinnick need to convince the coach to select Musa? Also, what kind of dumb coach will allow himself to be pushed around, i tire for this set up, no wonder we struggle to make meaningfull impacts in all competitions we go to.
This is so funny.
Is this your interpretation of something actually said, or another ‘dem say’ situation?
It would be nice to hear or read those words as you’ve reported them, i.e. Pinnick claiming he was “forcing Musa on Rohr”..
I’m sure close followers of all Pinnick and Rohr goofs like maceo can confirm this. :rotf:

I get your frustration but not your recollection. That’s exactly why we are discussing it.
Our memories and interpretations obviously differ but I am more than happy to be corrected. :idea:

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:27 am
gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:16 am I don't even know why we are discussing this, Pinnick said boldly that he is forcing Musa on Rohr, so if he is such a "Good influence" as we are made to believe, then why does Pinnick need to convince the coach to select Musa? Also, what kind of dumb coach will allow himself to be pushed around, i tire for this set up, no wonder we struggle to make meaningfull impacts in all competitions we go to.
This is so funny.
Is this your interpretation of something actually said, or another ‘dem say’ situation?
It would be nice to hear or read those words as you’ve reported them, i.e. Pinnick claiming he was “forcing Musa on Rohr”..
I’m sure close followers of all Pinnick and Rohr goofs like maceo can confirm this. :rotf:

I get your frustration but not your recollection. That’s exactly why we are discussing it.
Our memories and interpretations obviously differ but I am more than happy to be corrected. :idea:
What?? Are you seriously telling me you did not see that interview with Pinnick? It was even posted here. This is not hear say, he said it clearly in an interview.

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:36 am
This is so funny.

What?? Are you seriously telling me you did not see that interview with Pinnick? It was even posted here. This is not hear say, he said it clearly in an interview.
I didn’t see it o.
If you can, kindly post.
No vex.

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:42 am
Enjoy...
The guy is talking trash! Didn't Ejuke provide two clear chances for Osimehn? One that hit the bar and the other that went over the bar? I can't believe this guy watched the game and picked out Collins and Musa as his standout players. Na wah!
Musa and Collins were literally the worst players along with Seniorman Kels.

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:16 am I don't even know why we are discussing this, Pinnick said boldly that he is forcing Musa on Rohr, so if he is such a "Good influence" as we are made to believe, then why does Pinnick need to convince the coach to select Musa? Also, what kind of dumb coach will allow himself to be pushed around, i tire for this set up, no wonder we struggle to make meaningful impacts in all competitions we go to.

No mind them.

All this nonsense talk of "leadership" "team dynamic" "holding the locker oomph together" is a bunch of BS.

Pinnick admitted proudly to forcing Musa on Rohr. Do people not remember that once upon a time Rohr actually dropped Musa for inactivity. Pinnick and his goons intervened. Same thing is definitely happening in regards to Shehu, who also was dropped by Rohr for a while, yet has now miraculously become a team mainstay after his power move to CYPRUS.

I tire for this nonsense and these clowns who think Nigeria can succeed with these kind of shenanigans.

This is so funny.

Yes he did, I remember it clearly.

I was shocked, but it all makes sense.

Enjoy...
...as usual, he will be vilified until he is completely done with the SE, that is the Nigerian football fans way.
Go look back at how all the other stars, say from the 90s, left the SE.
All I have to say is, let us qualify for both cups, and Musa will gently and humbly call it quits, whether him start, sub, play or not play.
We have to learn to appreciate our star players.
Ain't easy to play at the top level.

This is so funny.

YOU ARE RIGHT.
I’ve just found the article.
Just wanted to be sure it wasn’t hearsay.
Shocking.

I Imposed Musa On Rohr - Pinnick
https://www.brila.net/i-imposed-ahmed-m ... u-pinnick/

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:19 am
Enjoy...
Vancity can learn from this. Van city you are older than the man in the video but you can certainly learn from it
Yes Musa has served Nigeria well but so has Sunday Mba I mean he scored the only goal that last won a Afcon for Nigeria why wasn’t he allowed to play 101 games for Nigeria?
Well if a player should be continue to play for Nigeria based on past achievements and nothing else then the team would be full of players that are 40+ years old although I personally believe Musa is past it and as much as I respect Victor his points are not relevant about the fact that Musa at present can’t relive his glory days.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:51 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:19 am
Enjoy...
Well if a player should be continue to play for Nigeria based on past achievements and nothing else then the team would be full of players that are 40+ years old although I personally believe Musa is past it and as much as I respect Victor his points are not relevant about the fact that Musa at present can’t relive his glory days.
You continue to insist there is "nothing else" - an opinion you are perfectly entitled to. But clearly, there is "something else" which you and I may not find credible but which the coach clearly does.

I wouldn't have Musa in my team at the moment unless I discover something about him and his contribution to the team that I don't currently know.
I wouldn't sweat it though.

We've heard how Pinnick imposed Musa on the team for reasons best known to him when he (Musa) wasn't playing at a club. Now that he is playing, maybe Rohr feels he is still important enough to be part of the squad.
That's why he is the coach and you and I are fans from fansknowsbest.com :P

gochino wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:16 am I don't even know why we are discussing this, Pinnick said boldly that he is forcing Musa on Rohr, so if he is such a "Good influence" as we are made to believe, then why does Pinnick need to convince the coach to select Musa? Also, what kind of dumb coach will allow himself to be pushed around, i tire for this set up, no wonder we struggle to make meaningful impacts in all competitions we go to.
Gichino

Okay. Should that not tell you something. Have you considered that the coach bought into Pinnick's argument? Have you considered that ut has worked thus far for the NFF? Have we had the team biyc I thing a game inspired of being owed for months? Did you consider the possible role played by Musa in keeping the boys focused on the playing objective? Broswhile i personally do not like that, the fact is that it has worked for the NFF and it has kept the team focused. A football team is not just about what you see on television. It goes beyond that. Afterall it is a small group requiring on and off field synergy to be effective. There are those who provide the deal on the field and those who lead off it.

Just an addendum, even if someone else may provide that backroom glue in the near future, there is nothing at all to indicate that Musa has taken the place of Emmanuel Dennis. Dennis who? May I just ask? I can name my multiple other players as well that I can conjure that this or that player has taken their position. Makes little sense.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I’m not a fan of Musa in the team.
But if the price we’re paying is the exclusion of Dennis, it’s not such a big price. Dennis will not materially affect the fate of the SE.

waka-man wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:55 pm I’m not a fan of Musa in the team.
But if the price we’re paying is the exclusion of Dennis, it’s not such a big price. Dennis will not materially affect the fate of the SE.
Agreed.