Good weekend for Ejuke and Oshimen

I let you say!
Re: Good weekend for Ejuke and Oshimen

Add Ola Aina to the list. We don't pay enough attention to defenders unless they score which they rarely do but put in a good shift today.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 6:50 pm Add Ola Aina to the list. We don't pay enough attention to defenders unless they score which they rarely do but put in a good shift today.
He tried, he played a good cross into the area and even found himself in front of goal with a chance but Oshimen is a beast and Ejuke is gaining confidence although I can see he was always confident to do what he does.

Alhassan Yusuf started for Antwerp and played 69 minutes.

Chuks on the bench for Villareal. 2 injuries back which is great.

Nwobodo played 67 minutes and made 5 tackles.

He leads the Turkish league in tackles for 3rd year in a row.

Awaziem is #12 in tackles per Match.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Chuks coming on at 77th minute

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:04 pm Nwobodo played 67 minutes and made 5 tackles.

I thought Nwibodo was an attacking mf but seems they've turned him into a DM in Turkey.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:00 pm Alhassan Yusuf started for Antwerp and played 69 minutes.

Great news. I pray they both stay fit for the rest of the season and beyond. Samu is an important player for us while Yusuf is potentially one for the future.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:36 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:04 pm Nwobodo played 67 minutes and made 5 tackles.

I thought Nwibodo was an attacking mf but seems they've turned him into a DM in Turkey.
That's what these Europeans do to African midfielders.

Lolly wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 8:13 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:00 pm Alhassan Yusuf started for Antwerp and played 69 minutes.

Great news. I pray they both stay fit for the rest of the season and beyond. Samu is an important player for us while Yusuf is potentially one for the future.
Yusuf is Vancity's new obsession for some reason, I dont think the boy is SE material even 3yrs from now.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 7:36 pm

One of the things I LOVE is the statistic -- tackles won. In the past people only focused on when their team had the ball asnd guys like Ndidi were overlooked. No one does that any more. It has become clear that winning the ball is just as critical!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Thats a bunch of BS. The boy is ready NOW. To bad you and the lazy bum coach of ours cant see that. :roll: :roll: :roll:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:00 pm

Yusuf is Vancity's new obsession for some reason, I dont think the boy is SE material even 3yrs from now.

Of course you dont think. Olodo rabata :rotf:

bret- hart wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:50 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:00 pm

Of course you dont think. Olodo rabata :rotf:

No love for Taiwo Awoniyi...
Scored against Wolfsburg for his 6th Bundesliga goal

Otitokoro wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:03 pm No love for Taiwo Awoniyi...
Taiwo is now No 4 on the Bundesliga scorers list. Unfortunately It might not be good enough for a SE call up if everyone is healthy.

Kai.... we've come a long way sha. I remember the days the likes of Anthony Ujah was considered for a WC spot. Chaii.. we too don suffer in the past sha. :laugh:
return2k2

Post by return2k2 »

Oh, you evil man🙂, I know where you’re trying to go with that dig at Awaziem but you’ve misfired. Awaziem wouldn’t be a good defender if he’s amongst the leaders in tackling. Do you know how many red cards he would have received and how many penalties he would have conceded by now? Good defenders ought to be very reserved in their tackling. Tackling is a job for midfielders, which is exactly what Nwobodo is❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 7:50 pm

Oh, you evil man🙂, I know where you’re trying to go with that dig at Awaziem but you’ve misfired. Awaziem wouldn’t be a good defender if he’s amongst the leaders in tackling. Do you know how many red cards he would have received and how many penalties he would have conceded by now? Good defenders ought to be very reserved in their tackling. Tackling is a job for midfielders, which is exactly what Nwobodo is❗️

what the heck are you on about ?

It wasn't a dig at Awaziem. Why would I even compare the 2 when one is a midfielder and the other is a defender ?

Just noting that Awaziem also has a high tackle per game in the same league.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:26 pm
Taiwo is now No 4 on the Bundesliga scorers list. Unfortunately It might not be good enough for a SE call up if everyone is healthy.

Kai.... we've come a long way sha. I remember the days the likes of Anthony Ujah was considered for a WC spot. Chaii.. we too don suffer in the past sha. :laugh:
Anthony Ujah? That wan still good. At least he is still on the books of Union Berlin.
You no mention Michael Uchebo and Uche Nwofor.
All roughly the same age. Not seen for at least two years.
Disappeared into oblivion. :atc:
Goosebumps!! Osimhen

This so so beautiful. Can’t remember the last time a Nigerian player was so adored in a big league in Europe since the days of JJ.
Last edited by naijaguy on Mon Oct 18, 2021 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Baii
Re: Goosebumps!! Osimhen

Post by Baii »

Destiny
“A fanatic is one who entrenches himself in invincible ignorance.”

― OSWALD CHAMBERS, Baffled to Fight Better

Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 8:31 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:26 pm

Anthony Ujah? That wan still good. At least he is still on the books of Union Berlin.
You no mention Michael Uchebo and Uche Nwofor.
All roughly the same age. Not seen for at least two years.
Disappeared into oblivion. :atc:
Both of the men you mentioned are 31 and 30. They’ve both probably played their last competitive games. Uchebo last played for Enugu Rangers International in 2019. Nevertheless, they both had productive carriers for club and country.

As for Anthony Ujah, he is 30 and we should be looking at younger players otherwise he’s probably a good squad fit, at least for friendlies and qualifiers❗️