Salisu Yusuf is back as Assistant coach

Re: Salisu Yusuf is back as Assistant coach

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:15 am This is normal for Nigerians (bribes and fraudulence)only if someone has lived in a fully functioning society would they understand that this man shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near the sport.
Indeed

danfo driver wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 2:13 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:32 am
Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:33 am I would have preferred he is left to concentrate on club football rather than national assignments. Coaches who collect bribes to feature players or throw matches should be given life bans.
so you choose not to forgive, but you want our creator of the world to forgive you? maybe you should say the Lord's prayer in your head and then listen to every word .Once you do then pay attention to this part :"and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us"

Bro this is not about forgiveness. You Nigerians act like you know God pass everybody else.

The crime this guy committed has made it impossible for anything he (or any team he is affiliated with) does to be seen as clean. He brought the game into disrepute in the worst way that there is absolutely no way one can look at his decisions and give him the benefit of the doubt moving forward. What other things was he doing, aside from collecting bribes from players? Selling games as well?

The problem is that most Nigerians are corrupt and thieves, so they are unlikely to understand the gravity of this guys crimes and how that taints everything we do with him.

Anyway, good luck to you people.
yes i get you, but can we go lower than what **** is giving us? We lost to CAR in Lagos

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:15 am This is normal for Nigerians (bribes and fraudulence)only if someone has lived in a fully functioning society would they understand that this man shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near the sport.
Like when top players (cricket) from Australia, England, India took money in exchange of pitch information.

fabio wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:14 am
Like when top players (cricket) from Australia, England, India took money in exchange of pitch information.
But that will not get them a top coaching job with the media reminding everyone at the least.

Sunset wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:45 am
Indeed

Big Sam lost his job as England coach the following morning.

...I wonder how effective he will be returning to SE coaching since the bribe won't be coming in.
He will be watched closely, and that will make him handicapped.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:56 am But that will not get them a top coaching job with the media reminding everyone at the least.

Shane Warne.
In early December 1998, the Australian Cricket Board revealed that three years earlier it had fined Warne and Mark Waugh for accepting money from a bookmaker (allegedly a man named John who was Sri Lankan, according to Shane Warne in one of his autobiographies) for giving information about pitch and weather conditions.
He played in the first four seasons (2008–2011) of the Indian Premier League for the Rajasthan Royals, where he played the roles of both captain and coach. He led his team to victory against the Chennai Super Kings in the final of the 2008 season. In February 2018, the Rajasthan Royals appointed Warne as their team mentor for the IPL 2018.[13]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Warne#Controversies

Damunk wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:45 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:04 pm Id say this is a welcome development.
In what way?

Because Keshi was more corrupt? Abi Vancity?

1naija wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:48 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:04 pm Id say this is a welcome development.
In what way?

Why speak for him. On this particular case, perhaps do you intend for the coach to be punished in perpetuity? He has served his time and it is time to move on. Was he banned for life? Does he deserve a life ban? It makes little sense to close the door on someone forever for a crime for which he has served the punishment.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

fabio wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:34 am
Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:56 am But that will not get them a top coaching job with the media reminding everyone at the least.

Shane Warne.
In early December 1998, the Australian Cricket Board revealed that three years earlier it had fined Warne and Mark Waugh for accepting money from a bookmaker (allegedly a man named John who was Sri Lankan, according to Shane Warne in one of his autobiographies) for giving information about pitch and weather conditions.
He played in the first four seasons (2008–2011) of the Indian Premier League for the Rajasthan Royals, where he played the roles of both captain and coach. He led his team to victory against the Chennai Super Kings in the final of the 2008 season. In February 2018, the Rajasthan Royals appointed Warne as their team mentor for the IPL 2018.[13]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Warne#Controversies
Rajistan ok, we’ll I’m sure the standards in India regarding such acts are not much different from Nigeria,I did mention “in fully functioning societies” it’ll be a little harder to just carry on.

I have nor commented either way on the man. To be frank, I don't even know who the guy is or what he does for for the SE. Neither do I care. None of them will improve the team one bit. They are just there for the check and the little gifts they can get.
Enugu II wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:00 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:48 pm
In what way?

Why speak for him. On this particular case, perhaps do you intend for the coach to be punished in perpetuity? He has served his time and it is time to move on. Was he banned for life? Does he deserve a life ban? It makes little sense to close the door on someone forever for a crime for which he has served the punishment.

Sunset wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:08 am
Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:33 am I would have preferred he is left to concentrate on club football rather than national assignments. Coaches who collect bribes to feature players or throw matches should be given life bans.
Well that's the main difference, match fixing is a whole different issue which is why Siasia for example is serving a hefty Fifa ban despite even rejecting the offer.
Salisu's case still remains questionable IMO, mainly because the said players (Rabiu Ali & Osas Okoro) were already core figures in that team anyway, but him accepting the money was a horrible look that he was rightly punished for.
If he can be bribed to select players, I can't trust him not to throw a match. They are both financial inducements. And I know he has served his punishment hence the NFF should allow him continue his coaching career, but they shouldn't be employing him.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

so you choose not to forgive, but you want our creator of the world to forgive you? maybe you should say the Lord's prayer in your head and then listen to every word .Once you do then pay attention to this part :"and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us"
You talk a lot of trash. There are consequences for all actions. Facing the consequences of your actions does not mean you have not been forgiven. In this instance, it just means that he can't be relied on to be honest or truthful. Simple.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

That will be my view BUT the position of the 'law' is different.

You cannot be punished for a crime twice. He was found guilty and served the punishment. It will be UNFAIR to now say that because of the crime he should not be allowed to work again.

Having served the punishment he should be 'integrated' back into the 'community' while undergoing observations.

Indeed

I can bet Allardyce would never smell any English FA job again. That's the right thing to do, not what we do in Nigeria.

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:35 pm

You cannot be punished for a crime twice. He was found guilty and served the punishment. It will be UNFAIR to now say that because of the crime he should not be allowed to work again.

Having served the punishment he should be 'integrated' back into the 'community' while undergoing observations.
Nobody is saying he should not be allowed to work again. He is free to take up job offers with Private football clubs or organizations. But it is wrong for him to be given a government paying job.

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:38 pm

Nobody is saying he should not be allowed to work again. He is free to take up job offers with Private football clubs or organizations. But it is wrong for him to be given a government paying job.
Please what makes it wrong to get a government paying job BUT right to take on private jobs? Thanks

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:59 am
Indeed

Why do you bother. Fraud, bribe and criminality is imbeded in their blood and they will murder, if thats what is necessary to defend it. :lol:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I dont think you know what double jeopardy means. :lol: :lol:

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:59 am
Indeed

And has gone on to coach several PL clubs since.

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:36 pm
Indeed

I can bet Allardyce would never smell any English FA job again. That's the right thing to do, not what we do in Nigeria.
BUT Allardyce was not even SANCTIONED! No punishment at all!

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:33 pm
You talk a lot of trash. There are consequences for all actions. Facing the consequences of your actions does not mean you have not been forgiven. In this instance, it just means that he can't be relied on to be honest or truthful. Simple.
so you know what is in a man's heart, or you are sinless and should be condemned regardless... I do recall how Jesus told the other guy he would be in paradise today with him. Now because a naija man made a boo, he should be banned from his livelihood after serving a punishment? Why punish someone twice for one offense?

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:41 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:38 pm

Please what makes it wrong to get a government paying job BUT right to take on private jobs? Thanks
If you’re government doesn’t have standards let alone screening then you’re basically fached,it probably explains why most Nigerian Presidents have either been to prison or prove to be tyrants!