Salisu Yusuf is back as Assistant coach

https://www.completesports.com/nff-rein ... ant-coach/

Will be reinstated as lead assistant coach on Nov 1. Good or bad? He's a good coach, might help in the attack but are they setting a good example?
Re: Salisu Yusuf is back as Assistant coach

He worked very well with Rohr, definitely better than Yobo.

Id say this is a welcome development.

Thief! Criminal! Will never get my support. Nigeria, the country where a thief is rewarded. Tufiakwa!

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:04 pm Id say this is a welcome development.
In what way?

Damunk wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:45 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:04 pm Id say this is a welcome development.
In what way?
Salisu's few games in charge of SE were pretty good. I think Nacho got his first goal in a friendly vs Mali and Luxembourg under Salisu.

Rohr's record seems to be better with Salisu at the helm.

Also the squad Salisu chose in his few matches at SE helm were not controversial at all, but basically the best players available.

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 7:54 pm He worked very well with Rohr, definitely better than Yobo.
Which Yobo? Our ball boy you mean?

It is hard to fault going back to Salisu,when a system that claims to be trying to do the right thing decides an inexperienced Yobo should be the assistant coach ,in a country where the likes of better qualified personnel like Finidi,the chap who won the league in Albania are not given a look. Such a system create the room to go back to Salisu.

...they have no option but to take back a corrupt individual, whom I hope has learned his lessons. No more pay to play.

https://punchng.com/breaking-three-year ... ant-coach/
The Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation has approved the reinstatement of Coach Salisu Yusuf to his position as Assistant Coach of the Super Eagles and Head Coach of the Super Eagles B team, with effect from 1st November 2021.

The NFF made this known in a press statement by its spokesperson, Ademola Olajire, on Thursday.

The statement quoted the General Secretary of the NFF, Dr Mohammed Sanusi, as annuncing the re-instatement of the former Kano Pillars, Enyimba FC and Rangers International FC gaffer by the NFF Board was on the recommendation of the NFF Technical Department.

The statement added, “Highly respected for his match–reading ability, calm demeanour and proficiency in talent discovery and development, Yusuf, in his playing days featured for Rancher Bees of Kaduna and El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri, among others.

“Yusuf’s return to the three-time African champions coincides with the closing stages of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 qualifying second round phase and the commencement of preparations for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations finals taking place in Cameroon early next year.”

Salisu was in August 2018 caught on camera accepting cash from men who posed as football agents to select two players for his Morocco 2018 African Nations Championship squad.

He was ordered to pay a fine of $5,000 by the federation after the NFF Ethics and Fair Play Committee ruled that the coach received $1,000 from the men.

The NFF had earlier reinstated the coach in 2019.

Announcing Salisu’s return in 2019, NFF said, “The federation has noted that the Chief Coach of the Super Eagles, Salisu Yusuf, has now fully served the one-year suspension clamped on him last year.”

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Just imagine the distraction when team lists or game lists are released? We start thinking which player has paid to start games :lol: :lol: Forget the speculation before! Now we know that we have a proven crook on the team who is well known to be an egunje thief! Any dodgy call up and we will have questions.

Then you have players who have performed well and are in form, yet, they are dropped from match day team list. They have heard that the thief has been collecting egunje in the past. They will look at him and wonder how much he collected from their team mate who has benched them. :rotf: :rotf:

Chaos!

The man served the punishment meted out by the disciplinary committee of the country's governing body.
Agree that some might not be satisfied, but we need to understand that this punishment was fully sanctioned by CAF and FIFA and was deemed fair and equitable for the misdemeanor.
He has done the crime and served his time (was out of the set up since 2018 - 2 more years than his punishment called for) and now, he should be allowed to live the rest of his life.
mcal wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:04 pm ...they have no option but to take back a corrupt individual, whom I hope has learned his lessons. No more pay to play.

The Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation has approved the reinstatement of Coach Salisu Yusuf to his position as Assistant Coach of the Super Eagles and Head Coach of the Super Eagles B team, with effect from 1st November 2021.

The NFF made this known in a press statement by its spokesperson, Ademola Olajire, on Thursday.

The statement quoted the General Secretary of the NFF, Dr Mohammed Sanusi, as annuncing the re-instatement of the former Kano Pillars, Enyimba FC and Rangers International FC gaffer by the NFF Board was on the recommendation of the NFF Technical Department.

The statement added, “Highly respected for his match–reading ability, calm demeanour and proficiency in talent discovery and development, Yusuf, in his playing days featured for Rancher Bees of Kaduna and El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri, among others.

“Yusuf’s return to the three-time African champions coincides with the closing stages of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 qualifying second round phase and the commencement of preparations for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations finals taking place in Cameroon early next year.”

Salisu was in August 2018 caught on camera accepting cash from men who posed as football agents to select two players for his Morocco 2018 African Nations Championship squad.

He was ordered to pay a fine of $5,000 by the federation after the NFF Ethics and Fair Play Committee ruled that the coach received $1,000 from the men.

Announcing Salisu’s return in 2019, NFF said, “The federation has noted that the Chief Coach of the Super Eagles, Salisu Yusuf, has now fully served the one-year suspension clamped on him last year.”

Otitokoro wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:37 pm The man served the punishment meted out by the disciplinary committee of the country's governing body.
Agree that some might not be satisfied, but we need to understand that this punishment was fully sanctioned by CAF and FIFA and was deemed fair and equitable for the misdemeanor.
He has done the crime and served his time (was out of the set up since 2018 - 2 more years than his punishment called for) and now, he should be allowed to live the rest of his life.
mcal wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:04 pm ...they have no option but to take back a corrupt individual, whom I hope has learned his lessons. No more pay to play.

Can’t argue with this…

maceo4 wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 11:09 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:37 pm The man served the punishment meted out by the disciplinary committee of the country's governing body.

Can’t argue with this…
TBH, I cannot argue with this either. You should not punish in perpetuity. There should always be opportunity to redeem after serving time.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I would have preferred he is left to concentrate on club football rather than national assignments. Coaches who collect bribes to feature players or throw matches should be given life bans.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:33 am I would have preferred he is left to concentrate on club football rather than national assignments. Coaches who collect bribes to feature players or throw matches should be given life bans.
Well that's the main difference, match fixing is a whole different issue which is why Siasia for example is serving a hefty Fifa ban despite even rejecting the offer.
Salisu's case still remains questionable IMO, mainly because the said players (Rabiu Ali & Osas Okoro) were already core figures in that team anyway, but him accepting the money was a horrible look that he was rightly punished for.

Sunset wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:08 am
Lolly wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:33 am I would have preferred he is left to concentrate on club football rather than national assignments. Coaches who collect bribes to feature players or throw matches should be given life bans.
Well that's the main difference, match fixing is a whole different issue which is why Siasia for example is serving a hefty Fifa ban despite even rejecting the offer.
Salisu's case still remains questionable IMO, mainly because the said players (Rabiu Ali & Osas Okoro) were already core figures in that team anyway, but him accepting the money was a horrible look that he was rightly punished for.
Exactly.

People can say what they want but there was NOTHING funny with the few squads Salisu named when he was in charge of SE for a short period.

Are all crooks caught red handed ?

There have been far bigger culprits for corruption IMO

Yes Keshi and Oliseh come to mind.

this is how that **** wants to sneak in and then get all the credit... They should have just given the job to Salisu

so you choose not to forgive, but you want our creator of the world to forgive you? maybe you should say the Lord's prayer in your head and then listen to every word .Once you do then pay attention to this part :"and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us"

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:26 am
Exactly.

People can say what they want but there was NOTHING funny with the few squads Salisu named when he was in charge of SE for a short period.

Are all crooks caught red handed ?

There have been far bigger culprits for corruption IMO

Yes Keshi and Oliseh come to mind.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:32 am
so you choose not to forgive, but you want our creator of the world to forgive you? maybe you should say the Lord's prayer in your head and then listen to every word .Once you do then pay attention to this part :"and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us"

Bro this is not about forgiveness. You Nigerians act like you know God pass everybody else.

The crime this guy committed has made it impossible for anything he (or any team he is affiliated with) does to be seen as clean. He brought the game into disrepute in the worst way that there is absolutely no way one can look at his decisions and give him the benefit of the doubt moving forward. What other things was he doing, aside from collecting bribes from players? Selling games as well?

The problem is that most Nigerians are corrupt and thieves, so they are unlikely to understand the gravity of this guys crimes and how that taints everything we do with him.

Anyway, good luck to you people.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

This is normal for Nigerians (bribes and fraudulence)only if someone has lived in a fully functioning society would they understand that this man shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near the sport.