Ighalo to Partner Osimhen in attack 3-5-2

Rohr must play 3-5-2 if he does this

Re: Ighalo to Partner Osimhen in attack 3-5-2

I disagree. Nacho is still Osimhen's best partner. They are both aggressive in the box and can cause damage at anytime. I like Ighalo and think he still can be effective for the SE, but I don't think he compliments Osimhen well.

1naija wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 1:21 pm I disagree. Nacho is still Osimhen's best partner. They are both aggressive in the box and can cause damage at anytime. I like Ighalo and think he still can be effective for the SE, but I don't think he compliments Osimhen well.
This will be a monumental LEAP for Rohr if he ever uses it. He is as ultra conservative as they come. He would he comfortably use 2 out-and-out strikers? Yea, that is a 3-5-2 but how many times has Nigeria under Rohr truly used a 3-5-2? He was able to use Iheanacho because Iheanacho could play a bit deeper but we have not seen either Ighalo or Osimhen do that. Rohr has only used two out-and-out strikers, as far as I can recall, when he paired Osimhen and Awoniyi in a desperation move. Well, lets see how this will happen under Rohr.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

You never know, it could work, because he's more of a support striker for his current club right now. Looking at the below game, he did very playing this new role. Even though, he's not in his prime anymore. He's still very intelligent, strong enough to be effective in the air but also has the pace and instincts to spin in behind. Honestly, I think he will ease the goalscoring burden on Osimhen. He has done everything and doesn't really have much to prove like selfish Kelechi. So, expect Osimhen to get better ball service from him.

if i played in the Saudi league, nah constant hat-tricks i go dey score at my current age.. the fact iworo , used this to bring down Kele is shocking and pathetic at the same time.. one plays in the EPL, the other plays in Saudi

I love Iggy but these highlights are a bit embarrassing; the level of play is so low.

Let’s hope Ighalo doesn’t turn up……people got their wish and Onauchu did not play against CAR, Oshimen played 90min, Awoniyi played 45 min none of them could score against the mighty CAR at home. Now a striker even in his prime was rubbish so much so fans dubbed him Mrs Ighalo. That Peak has to be the most useless NFF chairman force this crap on the nation!!!

The fact that some people here can contemplate Ighalo starting for the SE in this day and age is disgraceful….

Ighalo has no business in the SE and when he played for SE, he wasn’t setting the place son fire. He was top scorer at the last AFCON and that wasn’t because he was excellent….he was still poor then.

Let’s not make it out that Ighalo was the shiiiiit before he retired and he surely has no business in the team right now…

Oshimen plays better on the quick counter behind defenders, Ighalo puts a block on that. If the ball has to go thru Ighalo who drops out? Chukwueze? Iwobi?

Playing 3-5-2 for Rohr is playing 5-3-2 really.

This looks bad and just before the upcoming AFCON, the coward part of Rohr turns up.

Feels like Deja Vu….

It's a shame that some people are now clamouring for Ighalo to partner Osimhen at the expense of Iheanacho.. smh

Ighalo should stay retired from the Eagles. Go with the young boys. Rohr needs to call up Olise.

iworo wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 4:59 pm You never know, it could work, because he's more of a support striker for his current club right now. Looking at the below game, he did very playing this new role. Even though, he's not in his prime anymore. He's still very intelligent, strong enough to be effective in the air but also has the pace and instincts to spin in behind. Honestly, I think he will ease the goalscoring burden on Osimhen. He has done everything and doesn't really have much to prove like selfish Kelechi. So, expect Osimhen to get better ball service from him.
:shock:
Why would you describe Kelechi as selfish?
He provides on a regular basis and it has always been a key aspect of his game since U17 level.

Enugu II wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 2:18 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 1:21 pm I disagree. Nacho is still Osimhen's best partner. They are both aggressive in the box and can cause damage at anytime. I like Ighalo and think he still can be effective for the SE, but I don't think he compliments Osimhen well.
This will be a monumental LEAP for Rohr if he ever uses it. He is as ultra conservative as they come. He would he comfortably use 2 out-and-out strikers? Yea, that is a 3-5-2 but how many times has Nigeria under Rohr truly used a 3-5-2? He was able to use Iheanacho because Iheanacho could play a bit deeper but we have not seen either Ighalo or Osimhen do that. Rohr has only used two out-and-out strikers, as far as I can recall, when he paired Osimhen and Awoniyi in a desperation move. Well, lets see how this will happen under Rohr.
He used it a few times prior to the last WC.

Probably the only way to keep Musa off the pitch.

BRo,
so ive been involved with alot of coaching this year and mingled with alot of coaches, NIS< CAF< UEFA license, etc.

One thing i found out from the coaches and coaching literature is that when you have a 2 man strike force, in a 3-5-2, 442 or any front 2 structure, one striker covers the left and the other the right. One does not have to play off the other especially when you have a very good play maker making things work or 2 effective AMs/CMs (similar to Wjbaldum and Herderson for pool last season),

chief nfachairman wrote: Mon Nov 08, 2021 3:53 pm
BRo,
so ive been involved with alot of coaching this year and mingled with alot of coaches, NIS< CAF< UEFA license, etc.

One thing i found out from the coaches and coaching literature is that when you have a 2 man strike force, in a 3-5-2, 442 or any front 2 structure, one striker covers the left and the other the right. One does not have to play off the other especially when you have a very good play maker making things work or 2 effective AMs/CMs (similar to Wjbaldum and Herderson for pool last season),
Chief,

I am not so much worried about what they do when the SE has the ball. I am more concerned about what they do when the SE does not have the ball. If you watch Rohr closely, how his team sets up when the opponent has the ball is HIS primary worry and that informs often how he chooses to play. I believe that in spite of what many think, there are coaches (I suspect Rohr is one of them) who stick to a certain number of limited beliefs regardless of the personnel at his disposal. You ask yourself, has he changed much from his days at Niger Republic and other places?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 08, 2021 7:31 pm
chief nfachairman wrote: Mon Nov 08, 2021 3:53 pm
BRo,

Chief,

I am not so much worried about what they do when the SE has the ball. I am more concerned about what they do when the SE does not have the ball. If you watch Rohr closely, how his team sets up when the opponent has the ball is HIS primary worry and that informs often how he chooses to play. I believe that in spite of what many think, there are coaches (I suspect Rohr is one of them) who stick to a certain number of limited beliefs regardless of the personnel at his disposal. You ask yourself, has he changed much from his days at Niger Republic and other places?
352 is a much safer formation defensively. you almost have 8 players behind the ball once lost. and besides, Osimhen is very good with defending from the front.

I would have preferred Victor Moses be recalled over Ighalo. The former is still performing at a high level.

Robotnik wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 12:33 pm Rohr must play 3-5-2 if he does this

From everything I have seen about our team, I think the 3-5-2 is our most productive formation

waka-man wrote: Fri Nov 05, 2021 9:48 pm I love Iggy but these highlights are a bit embarrassing; the level of play is so low.
Yeah. Looks like he’s gonna struggle with decent opposition

Inviting Ighalo shows that Rohr has little confidence in Nacho. Let's face it, if we're playing 352 Nacho is the one player that should benefit the most, it was assumed by many that playing 2 strikers means nacho/Osihmen partnership.

Even though I don't want Ighalo back, I can certainly see an Ighalo/Osimhen being more productive in attack. The space created when defenses focus on Osihmen could be a gold mine for an experienced player like Ighalo. Nacho is perhaps more potent than Ighalo but he has struggled of late which might have prompted Rohr to look to Ighalo.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Nov 12, 2021 7:40 pm Inviting Ighalo shows that Rohr has little confidence in Nacho. Let's face it, if we're playing 352 Nacho is the one player that should benefit the most, it was assumed by many that playing 2 strikers means nacho/Osihmen partnership.

Even though I don't want Ighalo back, I can certainly see an Ighalo/Osimhen being more productive in attack. The space created when defenses focus on Osihmen could be a gold mine for an experienced player like Ighalo. Nacho is perhaps more potent than Ighalo but he has struggled of late which might have prompted Rohr to look to Ighalo.
Wake me up when Rohr actually starts with such a lineup in a competitive game.

I am willing to bet that Iheanacho's position is not at stake. What is more likely is that Rohr starts Osimhen and will feel that Osimhen does not finish games strongly, going by data of his goal scoring for Nigeria (BTW, I have yet to examine this but it is just a hunch) and, thus, Ighalo will likely be the guy off the bench to replace Osimhen.

Enugu II wrote: Fri Nov 12, 2021 8:45 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Nov 12, 2021 7:40 pm Inviting Ighalo shows that Rohr has little confidence in Nacho. Let's face it, if we're playing 352 Nacho is the one player that should benefit the most, it was assumed by many that playing 2 strikers means nacho/Osihmen partnership.

I am willing to bet that Iheanacho's position is not at stake. What is more likely is that Rohr starts Osimhen and will feel that Osimhen does not finish games strongly, going by data of his goal scoring for Nigeria (BTW, I have yet to examine this but it is just a hunch) and, thus, Ighalo will likely be the guy off the bench to replace Osimhen.
I just woke you up

Robotnik wrote: Sat Nov 13, 2021 4:52 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Nov 12, 2021 8:45 pm

I just woke you up
It’s not Ighalo and Osimhen upfront so prof was right…