Emenalo set to join Newcastle

Eddie Howe named Newcastle head coach with Emenalo in line to join him
  • Former Bournemouth manager succeeds Steve Bruce
  • Michael Emenalo in line to be appointed as director of football
After finally confirming Howe’s appointment, Newcastle are keen to recruit a director of football and Emenalo, the former Nigeria international who previously filled that role at Chelsea and, more recently, at Monaco is now the front-runner after being interviewed by the club’s Saudi Arabian majority shareholders in Jeddah last week.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... ew-manager

Re: Emenalo set to join Newcastle

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Do you think he will recall Ighalo to the premier league?

Hope the deal goes through.

Enyi wrote: Mon Nov 08, 2021 8:26 pm Do you think he will recall Ighalo to the premier league?
Ell NO !!

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

I’d like to see him go for a high profile coaching position. That ought to help Nigeria and the NFF overcome our coaching shortcomings❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 7:14 pm I’d like to see him go for a high profile coaching position. That ought to help Nigeria and the NFF overcome our coaching shortcomings❗️

:rotf: You'd like someone who is responsible for supervising the coach at Chelsea and Monaco (two high profile clubs) and oversaw/sees the entire football affairs, to take a step down in his career to become a coach and be answering to someone who is in the role that he presently holds? How does that make sense?

The next step in his career is to become Chief Executive or President. Thats the role he reports to and thats a promotion. Its silly to ask him to take a demotion.

And I know Nigerians think coaching is easy! Once you have played, you can coach. :lol: But thats not how coaching works.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 7:36 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 7:14 pm I’d like to see him go for a high profile coaching position. That ought to help Nigeria and the NFF overcome our coaching shortcomings❗️

:rotf: You'd like someone who is responsible for supervising the coach at Chelsea and Monaco (two high profile clubs) and oversaw/sees the entire football affairs, to take a step down in his career to become a coach and be answering to someone who is in the role that he presently holds? How does that make sense?

The next step in his career is to become Chief Executive or President. Thats the role he reports to and thats a promotion. Its silly to ask him to take a demotion.

And I know Nigerians think coaching is easy! Once you have played, you can coach. :lol: But thats not how coaching works.
You’ve talked a lot but managed to say next to nothing. Technical DIrector and Manager are co-lateral positions which require the exact same skills set. A TD is superior only from an administrative point of view but a Manager is a much more high-profile position. Transitioning from TD to Manager is not a demotion. Many TDs have transitioned to Manager and vice versa.

The position of Chief Executive is not a technical position. It is at the apex of all the different occupations you might have in a football organization.

Wether coaching is easy or not, a successful TD has all the tools necessary to be a successful coach and I believe Mike Emenalo will make a great Manager or Technical Assistant❗️