Page 1 of 2

2022 FIFA World Cup qualification – CAF Third Round Seeding Permutations

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:52 am
by iworo
The third round will see the 10 group winners from the second round drawn into five home-and-away ties. The winners of each tie will advance to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar. For seeding in the third round draws, the most recent FIFA Rankings prior to those draws will be used. It looks as if the draw date for these third round playoffs is unknown yet, as is the seeding FIFA ranking to be used in the draw.

Good question, when is the draw for third round? Are the top 5 playoff participants seeded based on the November 2021 ranking? Or is the third round draw taking place after AFCON? If it's after AFCON, then Egypt is getting too close for comfort. NFF definitely needs to be very careful and calculative when picking opponents for our grade A international friendly soccer matches before AFCON. We've got to pick weak opponents to ensure that Nigeria is seeded among the top five in Africa.

http://www.insideworldfootball.com/app/ ... 68x807.png

Re: 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification – CAF Third Round Seeding Permutations

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 1:14 am
by Synopsis
Algeria or Tunisia will not make it.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 1:16 am
by Enugu II
Synopsis wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 1:14 am Algeria or Tunisia will not make it.

Why? Please explain.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:10 am
by vancity eagle
the draw will take place at the Arab Cup in Qatar. They will use the Dec 16 rankings which will be after the semi finals of the Arab Cup.

Egypt did us a favour by drawing against Angola. We need to beat Cape Verde and we will be OK, currently Egypt is 20 points behind us, should we win against Cape Verde we will likely gain another 8 or 9 points on them.

The Arab cup will count as friendlies, meaning instead of a multiplier of x25 for world cup qualifiers they will be x10 or x5 depending on whether or not the games are counted as FIFA window friendlies or non FIFA window friendlies.

Egypt is grouped with Algeria, Lebanon, and Sudan. Algeria is sending a registered B team, so I dont think that match will even be counted at all. They will not gain many points from beating Lebanon and Sudan in a friendly.

Quarterfinals they will likely either meet Morocco or Saudi Arabia. Morocco is also sending a registered B team with homebased players, and Saudi Arabia will have a full squad who I doubt Egypt can beat without their european players like Salah and El Neny.

In short it seems almost impossible for Egypt to catch us, unless we somehow messup against Cape Verde.

The likely seeds

Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Algeria, Nigeria.

However I see Tunisia failing to qualify.

E. Guniea will likely be pumped and beat Mauritania on the road.

Zambia with their full compliment of players (Daka and Sakala) are also alive and will die on the pitch to beat Tunisia. In the end I see a tie or a slim Zambia victory, coupled with an E. Guinea victory putting them through.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:10 am
by vancity eagle
Algeria will make it.

Tunisia are in trouble.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:17 am
by Undertaker
Tunisia will qualify for the 3rd round easily!

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:35 am
by iworo
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:10 am the draw will take place at the Arab Cup in Qatar. They will use the Dec 16 rankings which will be after the semi finals of the Arab Cup.

Egypt did us a favour by drawing against Angola. We need to beat Cape Verde and we will be OK, currently Egypt is 20 points behind us, should we win against Cape Verde we will likely gain another 8 or 9 points on them.

The Arab cup will count as friendlies, meaning instead of a multiplier of x25 for world cup qualifiers they will be x10 or x5 depending on whether or not the games are counted as FIFA window friendlies or non FIFA window friendlies.

Egypt is grouped with Algeria, Lebanon, and Sudan. Algeria is sending a registered B team, so I dont think that match will even be counted at all. They will not gain many points from beating Lebanon and Sudan in a friendly.

Quarterfinals they will likely either meet Morocco or Saudi Arabia. Morocco is also sending a registered B team with homebased players, and Saudi Arabia will have a full squad who I doubt Egypt can beat without their european players like Salah and El Neny.

In short it seems almost impossible for Egypt to catch us, unless we somehow messup against Cape Verde.

The likely seeds

Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Algeria, Nigeria.

However I see Tunisia failing to qualify.

E. Guniea will likely be pumped and beat Mauritania on the road.

Zambia with their full compliment of players (Daka and Sakala) are also alive and will die on the pitch to beat Tunisia. In the end I see a tie or a slim Zambia victory, coupled with an E. Guinea victory putting them through.
Thanks for breaking it down. I still don't understand why FIFA will use the Dec rankings instead of Nov rankings. That doesn't make any sense to me.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:38 am
by Enugu II
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:10 am
Algeria will make it.

Tunisia are in trouble.
Both Algeria and Tunisia should make it. They are in the driver's seat.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:41 am
by Tobi17
Why's nobody talking about the final game between Ivory Coast vs Cameroon? that game will be WAR.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:50 am
IFA, pls let E Guinea qualify and get SE for the final rd. Ashe!

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:54 am
by iworo
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:50 am IFA, pls let E Guinea qualify and get SE for the final rd. Ashe!
Be careful what you wish for bro :smile:.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:57 am
by Enugu II
iworo wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:54 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:50 am IFA, pls let E Guinea qualify and get SE for the final rd. Ashe!
Iworo,

Bia!! Na you be Ifa? How you come read my mind via cyber? LOL.

My worry really is not about who we get to face among the second group of teams (unranked) but whether we get the LUCK of hosting the second leg or not. Make una no make we begin dey count our chicks bifor....... It is dangerous oooo (LOL). Make we fes qualify.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 5:22 am
by vancity eagle
Undertaker wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:17 am Tunisia will qualify for the 3rd round easily!
do you wanna bet ?

I see Daka and Sakala issuing them bitterness on that day. They have everything to play for. It could very well even be a draw which could knock Tunisia out.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 5:23 am
by vancity eagle
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:41 am Why's nobody talking about the final game between Ivory Coast vs Cameroon? that game will be WAR.
That will be the game of the entire 2nd round of African qualifying.

I think CIV will pull through, I cannot see Cameroon beating them. CIV may even beat them in their own backyard.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:48 am
by Adisboy
Undertaker wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:17 am Tunisia will qualify for the 3rd round easily!
Not easily ooo. It is a 3-horse race in their group. Tunisia 10pts, Equatorial Guinea 10pts, Zambia 7pts. Tunisia is playing Zambia at home and have a +7 GD against Zambia's +1. Equatorial Guniea go away to whipping boys Mauritania in the last game. Zambia have been without their 3 most lethal players (Sakala, Mwepu & Daka) since the qualifiers till the last game against Mauritania due to Covid restrictions. With these guys back they thrashed Mauritania 4-0, Sakala hattrick and one from Daka. In the reverse fixture against Tunisia in Lusaka, Tunisia won 2-0, but that was one of the greatest smash and grab games ever as Tunisia were completely outplayed. Zambia missed FOUR one-on-ones with the Tunisian keeper. If these three were available there's no way Zambia would not have won that game. So I can guarantee you Tunisia in trouble. A draw in Tunis and EG wins, they are out.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:53 am
by Adisboy
Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:38 am
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:10 am
Algeria will make it.

Tunisia are in trouble.
Both Algeria and Tunisia should make it. They are in the driver's seat.
Prof, I can't see Tunisia beating Zambia now with the return of Sakala, Mwepu & Daka. Go watch the first leg. Tunisia's win was completely flattering as they were so outplayed and Zambia criminally missing tons of chances without these three. Their absence was due to covid restrictions. Tunisia are in for a hell of a game and Equatorial Guniea can sneek in with a win over Mauritania.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:01 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 1:16 am

Why? Please explain.
Tunisia lost to EQ , tied on points ... Tunisia host Zambia who needs a win to qualify. EQ plays Mauritania. Any 3 other than Mauritania can qualify

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:05 pm
I think they should use the rankings after Afcon

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 5:29 pm
by vancity eagle
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:05 pm I think they should use the rankings after Afcon
they should but they wont.

they are even trying to use the rankings after arab cup in order to try and help Egypt. There is absolutely no reason to do this. I hope it backfires and Egypt loses points.

Corrupt mofos.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 8:33 pm
by Odas
:lol: :lol: :lol: kai, you dey fear Equatorial Guinea?

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 8:43 pm
by Odas
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:01 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 1:16 am
Why? Please explain.
Tunisia lost to EQ , tied on points ... Tunisia host Zambia who needs a win to qualify. EQ plays Mauritania. Any 3 other than Mauritania can qualify
From the above results, my take is, if EQ is playing at home, they will win and it will be over for Tunisia

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 8:50 pm
by Robbynice
Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:57 am
Iworo,

Bia!! Na you be Ifa? How you come read my mind via cyber? LOL.

My worry really is not about who we get to face among the second group of teams (unranked) but whether we get the LUCK of hosting the second leg or not. Make una no make we begin dey count our chicks bifor....... It is dangerous oooo (LOL). Make we fes qualify.
Getting to host the first or second leg at home is not based on the seeded teams?

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:30 pm
by Synopsis
The real question should be whether away goals rule will be used in the playoff.