I am hearing rumours about Rohr

Re: I am hearing rumours about Rohr

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:53 am How are Nigeria going to win a two-legged knockout if they’re struggling to win home games against Central African Republic and Cape Verde. Are you guys stupid here or what? You think suddenly a miracle will happen and they will beat any of the other teams left? Typical lazy Nigerians praying for God to solve their problems. The coach clearly sucks! Now is the time to change.Waiting till AFCON will be way too late. Some supposedly grown adults here are so stupid.
...stop blaming the coach, he is not on the pitch playing.
Blame your bloated foreign based players.
Tell the truth and shame the devil.
Top select local based players can't do this bad.

mcal wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:28 am
Goalgetter wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:53 am How are Nigeria going to win a two-legged knockout if they’re struggling to win home games against Central African Republic and Cape Verde. Are you guys stupid here or what? You think suddenly a miracle will happen and they will beat any of the other teams left? Typical lazy Nigerians praying for God to solve their problems. The coach clearly sucks! Now is the time to change.Waiting till AFCON will be way too late. Some supposedly grown adults here are so stupid.
the same ones that were raped against Mexico

the same ones that cannot qualify for a CHAN

abeg go find transformer.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:35 am
mcal wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:28 am
the same ones that were raped against Mexico

the same ones that cannot qualify for a CHAN

abeg go find transformer.
...if they put in same effort they give the foreign guys, the local lads will be world beaters. Mexico is not CAR or Cape Verde.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

SIDON wait mode activated. [goes to the wine room and pulls out a long-necked Champaign bottle to be chilled] ... waiting for the good news ..
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:17 pm
tedder89 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:08 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:57 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:55 pm he is a goner
The big boys are not happy at all. If he survives tonight, he would be a goner if he doesn’t win AFCON.
What are they going to pay his salary arrears with....?
Unhappiness.....??

Abeg they can be annoyed all they want.....Pinnick/NFF created this situation

What would be the reason for sacking? He has qualified for the 3rd round......aesthetics wasn't written in the contract
Football terrorism, that should definitely count for something
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

The fact of the matter is that it isn't just the egg heads at the NFF but top Sports officials. As you well know there is pressure everywhere today after the game and there will be more tomorrow. But sometimes I feel these are just hot smoke.

In the end, the team is still on course. Not that being on-course guarantees Rohr anything. Note that even when Bonfrere was fired after the loss to Sierra Leone in a WC qualifier, he mathematical had a chance to salvage the qualifiers. Amodu took over and did get the team to Nirvana. Thus, the fact that the team is oncourse does not guarantee Rohr the job. To me, his guarantee is the albatross of a contract that he has. The eggheads will only fire him if the NFF can be assured that the FGN will pay the severance fee. But doing that guarantees that the Ministry will definitely dictate who is the next coach.

My view, is that they will not have the liver to pull the rug from under Rohr and money will be the key hindrance. There are not any happy faces out there, make no mistake about it. The team qualified but it feels that it limped through and is badly injured with little hope of healing.

Those wondering what happens if Rohr is let go? Well, not the way the officials see it. Remember, Rohr's key staff led by Salisu is still intact along with Eguavoen. Moreover, Salisu has proven his mettle not only with Rohr but in some top friendlies in the absence of Rohr and with B National and Rohr had identified him as highly valuable. Thus, the issue of transition in absence of Rohr is not considered big deal.

The big deal is the money, folks.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 4:52 am The fact of the matter is that it isn't just the egg heads at the NFF but top Sports officials. As you well know there is pressure everywhere today after the game and there will be more tomorrow. But sometimes I feel these are just hot smoke.

In the end, the team is still on course. Not that being on-course guarantees Rohr anything. Note that even when Bonfrere was fired after the loss to Sierra Leone in a WC qualifier, he mathematical had a chance to salvage the qualifiers. Amodu took over and did get the team to Nirvana. Thus, the fact that the team is oncourse does not guarantee Rohr the job. To me, his guarantee is the albatross of a contract that he has. The eggheads will only fire him if the NFF can be assured that the FGN will pay the severance fee. But doing that guarantees that the Ministry will definitely dictate who is the next coach.

My view, is that they will not have the liver to pull the rug from under Rohr and money will be the key hindrance. There are not any happy faces out there, make no mistake about it. The team qualified but it feels that it limped through and is badly injured with little hope of healing.

Those wondering what happens if Rohr is let go? Well, not the way the officials see it. Remember, Rohr's key staff led by Salisu is still intact along with Eguavoen. Moreover, Salisu has proven his mettle not only with Rohr but in some top friendlies in the absence of Rohr and with B National and Rohr had identified him as highly valuable. Thus, the issue of transition in absence of Rohr is not considered big deal.

The big deal is the money, folks.
Sali what!!! The bribe taker is gonna be the National team coach?? That’ll be the day I stop supporting or following the team.

fabio wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:34 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:54 pm I am at Eko Hotel with some officials and there are rumours. Something might happen by midnight.
I beg, make them, keep Rohr! Make Rohr go AfCON and WC please.
Even though I agree because of the timing, Naija nor be retirement home.

He has done absolutely nothing worthy that a local coach hasn't managed in the past.

Nigerian football has stagnated like Rohr.

Oyinbo na onyinbo.

You guys are day dreaming. Someone hears rumours from a "Lagos big boy (fake)" with no association with the NFF and you all are going bonkers over it? Did the rumour say how they will pay off Rohrs contract? I am sure Rohr will happily leave if someone can pay him what he is owed.
cchinukw wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:33 am
fabio wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:34 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:54 pm I am at Eko Hotel with some officials and there are rumours. Something might happen by midnight.
I beg, make them, keep Rohr! Make Rohr go AfCON and WC please.
Even though I agree because of the timing, Naija nor be retirement home.

He has done absolutely nothing worthy that a local coach hasn't managed in the past.

Nigerian football has stagnated like Rohr.

Oyinbo na onyinbo.

If this turns out to be fake news,propaganda or disinformation, I will post a thread calling for Lolly to be sanctioned. We simply cannot allow this kind of thread be posted here without evidence other some guy in a hotel.

"OFFICIALS " meeting and agreeing to terminate a formally appointed coach's contract is not beer parlor talk. Unless this turns out to be true, there should be severe sanctions on Lolly to prevent this kind of propaganda from taking over the forum.

Nobody is getting fired, let’s be real, they can’t afford to fire him…

maceo4 wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:06 am Nobody is getting fired, let’s be real, they can’t afford to fire him…
Well then let him finish out his contract as "team manager" or "team scout" "advisor" "fitness consultant" "power point specialist" "massage therapist" "team cook" "spiritual handler" or whatever title they want to give him. Heck make him the most expensive ball boy in history, while somebody takes over the business that clearly Rohr is not capable of doing.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Yeah, I just learnt that one obtuse but loaded money bag had offered to pay off Rohr,
and engage the services of Mourinho albeit as a virtual coach. He was overheard loudly
boasting about how Mourinho will pack the bus and let Osimhen, Onuachu, and Ighalo
take turns harassing the opposition. :roll: :wink:

I am sure say if this thing pans out, other qualifying teams go hear wen come AFCOn o! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:55 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:48 pm
Can they pay the man first before talking about firing him?

He has covered their shame for too long. No one deserves such treatment.

Pay him then address his performance or expectations.
His main supporter has also agreed its time for him to go. He has lost the battle. The only thing that will keep him beyond tonight is if he refuses the offer on the table and they would need more time to figure out how to do it without paying him the full compensation. In fact, they are meeting right now.
How reliable would you rate your source on a 1 to 10, with 10 being impeccable?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 6:56 am If this turns out to be fake news,propaganda or disinformation, I will post a thread calling for Lolly to be sanctioned. We simply cannot allow this kind of thread be posted here without evidence other some guy in a hotel.

"OFFICIALS " meeting and agreeing to terminate a formally appointed coach's contract is not beer parlor talk. Unless this turns out to be true, there should be severe sanctions on Lolly to prevent this kind of propaganda from taking over the forum.
Go ahead and sanction me. Olodo

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:36 am
Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:55 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:48 pm
Can they pay the man first before talking about firing him?

He has covered their shame for too long. No one deserves such treatment.

Pay him then address his performance or expectations.
His main supporter has also agreed its time for him to go. He has lost the battle. The only thing that will keep him beyond tonight is if he refuses the offer on the table and they would need more time to figure out how to do it without paying him the full compensation. In fact, they are meeting right now.
How reliable would you rate your source on a 1 to 10, with 10 being impeccable?
Doc, you should know I don’t make such statements and not publicly if not true. Check your inbox.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:19 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:15 am
Orion wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:09 am I hope they put things in perspective before doing anything drastic. Yes, we're not playing as well as some of the other top 10 teams. But before Keshi, we needed must-win, heart attack, home games against our main rivals to win our group, and we often didn't get the required win.... CCC, Amodu, Siasia etc.

Now we needed just a draw and people are complaining. People are acting as if we had it so much better before. Minus the very short successful Keshi spell, it’s not like we had it much better in the last 2 decades or so.
You are absolutely right but all the home truths are completely thrown out the window in the heat of the moment.
The problem is we are fans and rational debate is in short supply.
Right now, the 'consensus' is that Rohr is "the worst coach ever".

We hear the loud chorus "he has to go!", but true to type, there is no contingency plan. :!:
Last 4 home games with your boss ****

Nigeria 4 SAlone 4
Nigeria 0 CAR 1
Nigeria 2 Liberia 0
Nigeria 1 Cabo Verde 1

that is 1 win in 4 home matches ...let that sink in .. we have conceded 6 goals at home
I tire oh! This should be a very logical action. What is it with Nigerians and supporting wrong people in power? This angel* should have been sacked after the world cup.

Lolly wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:37 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 6:56 am If this turns out to be fake news,propaganda or disinformation, I will post a thread calling for Lolly to be sanctioned. We simply cannot allow this kind of thread be posted here without evidence other some guy in a hotel.

Go ahead and sanction me. Olodo
You said something would happen by midnight now it's tomorrow.

There's no evidence that what you're saying is true and if we go by your previous touting for Buhari and APC you're clearly a propagandist.

You're not gonna get away with this.

maceo4 wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:06 am Nobody is getting fired, let’s be real, they can’t afford to fire him…
Guy, you are old enough to know by now that there is always far more going on than what is known to you and I.
You are almost sounding as if you are against him being fired.
Is this you managing your expectations or what? :taunt:

I’ve noticed in the last few days that a growing number of Rohr’s fierce critics are wobbling, in the sense that they are insisting he should ‘finish what he started’ so to speak.
What’s with that?
It’s double speak, but underneath that I feel it’s an indication that they realise it’s not as straightforward as they have always made it out to be.

I don’t know how true this story is, but I do know that at least some in the much-maligned NFF aren’t disconnected from your feelings or my feelings on what is going on. They are fans before they are administrators.

But what they can do about those feelings is anybody’s guess. :idea:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:19 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:15 am
Orion wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:09 am I hope they put things in perspective before doing anything drastic. Yes, we're not playing as well as some of the other top 10 teams. But before Keshi, we needed must-win, heart attack, home games against our main rivals to win our group, and we often didn't get the required win.... CCC, Amodu, Siasia etc.

Now we needed just a draw and people are complaining. People are acting as if we had it so much better before. Minus the very short successful Keshi spell, it’s not like we had it much better in the last 2 decades or so.
You are absolutely right but all the home truths are completely thrown out the window in the heat of the moment.
The problem is we are fans and rational debate is in short supply.
Right now, the 'consensus' is that Rohr is "the worst coach ever".

We hear the loud chorus "he has to go!", but true to type, there is no contingency plan. :!:
Last 4 home games with your boss ****

Nigeria 4 SAlone 4
Nigeria 0 CAR 1
Nigeria 2 Liberia 0
Nigeria 1 Cabo Verde 1

that is 1 win in 4 home matches ...let that sink in .. we have conceded 6 goals at home
You conveniently ignored the following matches...

Mar 2021: Nigeria 3 Lesotho 0
Sept 2021: Nigeria 2 Liberia 0

And the match against Sierra Leone was in November 2020

Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:59 pm Apparently, some of our boys have also been misbehaving of recent and it affecting their performance. I even hear say Rohr self don catch the Nigeria man bug :lol: .

If I say 2 players were caught “misbehaving” last night well past midnight, can anyone guess who those players are judging by the performance on the pitch today?
One name has been mentioned.

Anyone who watched the match closely would have noticed a particular player who gets good raves here whose performance last night was below par especially the 1st half.

Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 8:01 am
Guy, you are old enough to know by now that there is always far more going on than what is known to you and I.
You are almost sounding as if you are against him being fired.
Is this you managing your expectations or what? :taunt:

I’ve noticed in the last few days that a growing number of Rohr’s fierce critics are wobbling, in the sense that they are insisting he should ‘finish what he started’ so to speak.
What’s with that?
It’s double speak, but underneath that I feel it’s an indication that they realise it’s not as straightforward as they have always made it out to be.

I don’t know how true this story is, but I do know that at least some in the much-maligned NFF aren’t disconnected from your feelings or my feelings on what is going on.
What they can do about it is anybody’s guess.
Bros, I haven’t changed my stance, when they had a chance to fire him after the WC, I said then if you not gonna fire him then you gotta let him ride out his contract. And you live with what you got rather than risking rocking the boat at the wrong time. You only fire him if he doesn’t meet his targets as stated in his contract. It’s Vancity that has inexplicably changed tune when nothing has changed other than **** being ****. But NFF knew this when they renewed that contract, so deal with it and stop b1tchin…some of us can’t see the early warning signs and check engine lights and end up getting stuck with a lemon…oh well

Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:09 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:02 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:53 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:48 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:43 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:11 am Kai....see hatefest in full swing. If it's true then this is evidence of how dumb Nigerians are, the night of a game that qualified you is not the time to make major decisions on the future of the team. They're certain to make a decision they will regret for sure. Idiots! I'm sure Rohr is also talking to his lawyers we speak. Football is a heavy regulated sport. It's not Nepa, customs or niaja police where pot bellied loud mouth shout at everybody.
It’s not a hate fest. I think it’s real.
I said the same thing in a post earlier this evening…some officials are not happy at all.
That’s all I know.
What are they mad about? That he's not blowing teams out? The right thing to do if they're not happy would be for them to resign and let somebody else make the decision. At what point do they hold themselves accountable?
I don’t know for sure but my guess is that it’s for the same reasons most fans are angry.
Even you, I’m sure you are not happy with what you are seeing even though you are delighted we are through to the final WC qualifying round.

unless there's an emergency technical committee meeting going on, this so called meeting is just between scared crooks making emotional decisions.
Man mi, it doesn't have to be a formal meeting.

We had a game tonight.
All the main officials are probably in town, even staying in the same hotel.
They're probably hanging out together and discussing the game informally.

They will express their displeasure.

They are not mythical figures.
Whether we like to admit it or not, they are fans like you and I...they just don't have the luxury of freely expressing their feelings in public.
And formally. And they are all staying on the same floor and don't have to walk far.