OSIMHEN INJURED.

Paveman
Re: OSIMHEN INJURED.

Post by Paveman »

Another update: Victor left Niguarda hospital in Milan this morning and is travelling to Naples. The intention is to operate on him tomorrow although the doctors in Naples will have the final say. Post-op, the recovery times will be clearer.

Paveman wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 2:06 pm Another update: Victor left Niguarda hospital in Milan this morning and is travelling to Naples. The intention is to operate on him tomorrow although the doctors in Naples will have the final say. Post-op, the recovery times will be clearer.
Thanks for the update.

Damn get well soon Osimhen.

Igugu

Post by Igugu »

return2k2 wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 1:42 pm Rohr should apologize to Awoniyi for dropping him for Ighalo and he should invite him back.
Victor is going to be out for at least a month and a half. Iheanacho and
Ighalo need to step their game up
Ighalo should do the honorable thing. Opt-out and remain retired from International engagements.

Paveman wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 2:06 pm Another update: Victor left Niguarda hospital in Milan this morning and is travelling to Naples. The intention is to operate on him tomorrow although the doctors in Naples will have the final say. Post-op, the recovery times will be clearer.
Thanks. All good news so far.

Wbat Emenike and Okocha did was rare in Nigeria football. Nigeria players have to draggedout of the national team. Even if they are no longer good, they will honor the callup. Look at Ahmed Musa, he thinks what he is doing is patriotic.

return2k2

Post by return2k2 »

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... kbone.html

Victor Osimhen is ruled out for THREE MONTHS with fractured eye socket and cheekbone in huge blow for Serie A leaders Napoli... and Nigeria star will also miss the African Cup of Nations

. Nigeria striker Victor Osimhen will miss the African Cup of Nations with an injury
. The Napoli star suffered a fractured cheekbone and eye socket on Sunday
. Osimhen, 22, underwent surgery on Tuesday and will be out for three months
. He scored five goals in qualifying for Nigeria and his absence is a huge blow

Napoli have suffered a huge blow in their chase for the Serie A title with star striker Victor Osimhen ruled out for three months with a facial injury, meaning he will miss the African Cup of Nations with Nigeria as well.

Osimhen, 22, sustained fractures to his cheekbone and eye socket during Sunday's 3-2 defeat by Inter Milan after clashing heads with defender Milan Skriniar.

The Italian side said on Tuesday that the centre forward has undergone surgery on the injury, and will be out for three months as a result.

Osimhen has scored nine goals in 14 appearances for Napoli this season, and his injury serves as a devastating blow for the Serie A leaders, who top the table by goal difference after 13 games.

'On Tuesday morning, Victor Osimhen was operated on his cheekbone and eye socket by Gianpaolo Tartaro, who was assisted by Dr Mario Santagata with Dr Raffaele Canonico also present,' the club announced.

'Titanium plates and screws were used in the operation. The player is doing well and will remain under observation for the next few days.

'Osimhen is expected to return to action in three months.'

The 22-year-old was the joint top scorer in qualifying for the delayed AFCON tournament with five goals, and has been linked with a switch to the Premier League in recent years.

Arsenal and Chelsea were strongly linked with a move for the striker before Napoli landed their man in a deal worth £74million from French side Lille in 2020.

3 months, end of January .. Get well soon Vic

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 8:20 am Wbat Emenike and Okocha did was rare in Nigeria football. Nigeria players have to draggedout of the national team. Even if they are no longer good, they will honor the callup. Look at Ahmed Musa, he thinks what he is doing is patriotic.
Dude,

Why are you always making completely unhinged comments that have absolutely nothing to do with the thread? Na wa oo

3 months is surprising. Should be able to play if he can tolerate the pain nd wear protective gear to allow the wound to hea. He can come back sooner, should ask for a 2nd opinoin. Maybe part of the 3 months is getting back his physical fitness. I hae had surgery personally. 3 moonths is surprising to me. Took me a month to heal up to a point where I can use protective gear.

Napoli star Victor Osimhen underwent successful surgery today and Luciano Spalletti hopes to have him available for the match against Milan on December 19.

Osimhen was diagnosed with multiple displaced facial fractures after a clash of heads with Inter defender Milan Skriniar on Sunday.

According to La Gazzetta dello Sport, Osimhen had a successful surgery and he is expected to return to action in less than a month.

At least, that’s what Napoli coach Luciano Spalletti hopes. The Tuscan tactician delivered an injury update in an interview with Sky Sport Italia.

“I hope he will return against Milan, the doctors told me that the surgery won’t prevent him from being available in three or four games,” Spalletti said.

Napoli face Spartak Moscow in Europa League tomorrow and Spalletti must cope without Osimhen, Zambo Anguissa and Lorenzo Insigne, who hasn’t trained with the team due to knee problems
https://football-italia.net/osimhen-has ... turn-date/

Napoli did not want him to go to AFCON. The injury has given them a convenient reason
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

So, a further update.
This is directly from the surgeon’s mouth (gianpaolo tartaro)

vic’s face was worse than expected. The operation took 3 and a half hours! Rather than an injury caused by a hit, this is considered an injury caused by compression, basically the impact with Skriniar was of such force that it felt like Vic’s face was squashed by a press. There were around 20 fractures in the cheek and eye area.
Six plates and 18 screws were implanted!
Operation was completely successful and it is still too early to talk about recovery time. However, the 90 day recovery period is possible.

Unfortunately the current masks we use for footballers for these type of injuries cannot be used in this case. The mask’ pressure points would impact part of the problematic area, including a nerve area, so probably a new mask would have to be created, something which requires time and understanding. I CAN DEFINITELY SAY THAT VIC WILL NOT PLAY THE AFRICAN NATIONS CUP. Please understand the seriousness of the impact, his eye dislodged from the socket so we must move forward very cautiously. I’m also a fan so I want him to play, but we must wait for the complete healing and be patient.

Dammy wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 10:54 pm Napoli did not want him to go to AFCON. The injury has given them a convenient reason
KPOM

But they can't play him before or else he will have to go.

He may even be ready to play for Napoli and they will withold him just so he doesn't go to AFCON.

Only thing is that Osimehn is very patriotic when it comes to SE, and it will be hard to stop him.
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 10:14 pm 3 months is surprising. Should be able to play if he can tolerate the pain nd wear protective gear to allow the wound to hea. He can come back sooner, should ask for a 2nd opinoin. Maybe part of the 3 months is getting back his physical fitness. I hae had surgery personally. 3 moonths is surprising to me. Took me a month to heal up to a point where I can use protective gear.
In this case, doctor said that no current protective gear is available due to the nature of the injury.

Paveman wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 12:09 am So, a further update.
This is directly from the surgeon’s mouth (gianpaolo tartaro)

vic’s face was worse than expected. The operation took 3 and a half hours! Rather than an injury caused by a hit, this is considered an injury caused by compression, basically the impact with Skriniar was of such force that it felt like Vic’s face was squashed by a press. There were around 20 fractures in the cheek and eye area.
Six plates and 18 screws were implanted!
Operation was completely successful and it is still too early to talk about recovery time. However, the 90 day recovery period is possible.

Unfortunately the current masks we use for footballers for these type of injuries cannot be used in this case. The mask’ pressure points would impact part of the problematic area, including a nerve area, so probably a new mask would have to be created, something which requires time and understanding. I CAN DEFINITELY SAY THAT VIC WILL NOT PLAY THE AFRICAN NATIONS CUP. Please understand the seriousness of the impact, his eye dislodged from the socket so we must move forward very cautiously. I’m also a fan so I want him to play, but we must wait for the complete healing and be patient.
Wow this is what I feared seeing how he really went all out for that header. It’s all about his recovery that he heals and has no issues with his vision. Thank God the surgery was successful.

This is actually horrible. And seeing that injury I knew it looked really bad.

People can talk crap all they want but I stand by what I said.

Osimehn needs to BE MORE CAREFUL. There is something about the way he plays that is overly aggressive and reckless. There is a reason he keeps getting these kind of injuries and none of our other players do.

His aggressiveness is a big part of his play, but it often is reckless.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:55 am This is actually horrible. And seeing that injury I knew it looked really bad.

Osimehn needs to BE MORE CAREFUL. There is something about the way he plays that is overly aggressive and reckless. There is a reason he keeps getting these kind of injuries and none of our other players do.

Can you list the injuries he’s been having as a result of his aggressiveness?

maceo4 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:59 am
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:55 am This is actually horrible. And seeing that injury I knew it looked really bad.

Are u serious ?

The game against Sierra Leone where he messed up his shoulder and had to be escorted to hospital

He had a concussion playing for Napoli

Then this eye socket injury.

I believe there is even more. In fact he even had another head injury in that same match before the eye socket one.

How many of our players have been injured this many times based on aggressive play ?

I was spot vic will be back training in 2 weeks or 3.... however he will be wearing a face mask, similar to Rudiger during the last season. Then Another additional 2 weeks to be match fit. Hopefully by Christmas he should be 100%.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:03 am
maceo4 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:59 am

Are u serious ?

The game against Sierra Leone where he messed up his shoulder and had to be escorted to hospital

He had a concussion playing for Napoli

Then this eye socket injury.

I believe there is even more. In fact he even had another head injury in that same match before the eye socket one.

How many of our players have been injured this many times based on aggressive play ?
And how exactly do you attribute these injuries to aggressive play? His shoulder injury he just fell awkwardly. Wasn’t anything to do with aggressiveness.

For the concussion he hit his head on the ground after a tackle, nothing to do with being overly aggressive.

Again this eye socket injury also has nothing to do with aggression it was an unfortunate clash and there was a similar one later in the same game, did you blame those two players for being overly aggressive?

Injuries are unfortunately part of the game whether Vic is aggressive or not he will still get injuries.

And you are asking how many of our players get injured? Didn’t we just have an injury crisis with Etebo, Ndidi etc out? Wasn’t your favorite Alhassan injured for a bit? Isn’t Michael currently out? Is that because they are overly aggressive?

Maceo Etebo tore a hamstring, Ndidi I believe had knee issues. Not the same as all these impact injuries Osimehn is having.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 5:28 pm Maceo Etebo tore a hamstring, Ndidi I believe had knee issues. Not the same as all these impact injuries Osimehn is having.
Impact with what? The ground lol? Well Etebo tore a hamstring running too aggressively, he needs to stop running in such an aggressive way, it’s always him getting muscle injuries the last few seasons, that his aggressive running needs to stop :lol: