Victor Osimhen likely to miss AFCON in CAMEROON.

Re: Victor Osimhen likely to miss AFCON in CAMEROON.

Well now we will have to rely on Air Onuachu and Misses Ighalo.

Thank you Rohr.

Bloody eeediot.

In all seriousness here are our options.

Nacho is not a main striker. He needs to figure out his place in the modern football game.

I rate them in this order.

Sadiq Umar
Taiwo Awoniyi
Emmanuel Dennis (also double as winger)
Terrem Moffi
Cyriel Dessers
Paul Onuachu

‘The conditions of the player’s face were very bad’-Surgeon says Osimhen’s surgery was complex
Joba Ogunwale by Joba Ogunwale 6 hours ago in News, NewsNow, Nigeria 0
https://soccernet.ng/2021/11/the-condit ... mplex.html

The Nigerian underwent a successful surgery, but the injuries he suffered in the game against the Nerazzurri left devastating damage on his face

Victor Osimhen’s surgery on his broken cheekbone and orbital was a complex one, according to the surgeon that operated on him.

Osimhen suffered two devastating injuries in Napoli’s Serie A encounter against Inter Milan on Sunday evening at the San Siro.

The Nigerian striker walked off with a swollen cheekbone and black eye after clashing with Milan Skriniar in Inter’s box.

Napoli then revealed after the game that Osimhen fractured his left cheekbone and orbit and would need surgery to fix the two injuries.

He underwent a successful surgery on Tuesday, but the surgeon Gianpaolo Tartaro has revealed it was a difficult operation as the clash damaged his face badly.

“Osimhen injury was not a simple cheekbone fracture but also affected several bones of the face, Tartaro told 1 Station Radio as per GIFN.

“It was not a shock trauma, but compression: the kinetic force generated by the crushing of Osimhen’s face against Skriniar’s created devastating damage.”

“It is still too early to talk about recovery times because the surgery was really complex: the conditions of the player’s face were very bad but I guarantee that the surgery was perfectly successful,” he added.

Napoli have already announced that Osimhen would be out for three months, which rules him out of Nigeria’s squad for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations.

SURGEON: ‘OSIMHEN NEEDED SIX PLAQUES AND 18 SCREWS TO STABILISE FRACTURE’
https://football-italia.net/surgeon-osi ... -fracture/
by Susy Campanale | Nov 23, 2021 18:08

The surgeon who operated on Victor Osimhen’s facial fractures reveals the Napoli and Nigeria striker required ‘six plaques and 18 screws’ to repair the ‘devastating’ damage.

It was an accidental clash of heads at San Siro with Inter defender Milan Skriniar, but one that did an extraordinary amount of damage to the centre-forward’s face.

It was immediately clear from the swelling that he had fractured his cheekbone, although tests later showed the extent of the injury resulted in multiple fractures to the cheekbone and orbital bone.

He will be out of action for circa 90 days – three months – ruling him out of the Africa Cup of Nations.

“Osimhen’s injury was not just a simple fracture to the cheekbone, as it involved many other bones in his face,” explained surgeon Gianpaolo Tartaro to 1 Stadion Radio.

“It wasn’t an impact injury, it was one of compression. The kinetic force generated by the crushing of Osimhen’s face against the back of Skriniar’s head did devastating damage.

“In order to repair the fractures, I had to insert six plaques and up to 18 screws.”

Although the figure given for a full recovery is 90 days, Osimhen’s surgeon warns it is still too early to tell the full effects of this injury.

“It really was a complex operation. The condition of his face was really bad, but I can guarantee the surgery was a complete success.”

Osimhen had scored five Serie A goals and four in the Europa League so far this season, easily the most prolific player for Napoli, and was also set to lead Nigeria out in the Africa Cup of Nations before this sudden setback.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 4:59 pm Well now we will have to rely on Air Onuachu and Misses Ighalo.

Thank you Rohr.

Bloody eeediot.
Nah. There are more than enough replacements.
Awoniyi for starters.
I also suspect a new coach will signal the end for Onuachu and let’s not sweat it for Ighalo.
He won’t be back.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:54 am
‘The conditions of the player’s face were very bad’-Surgeon says Osimhen’s surgery was complex

The Nigerian underwent a successful surgery, but the injuries he suffered in the game against the Nerazzurri left devastating damage on his face

Victor Osimhen’s surgery on his broken cheekbone and orbital was a complex one, according to the surgeon that operated on him.

Osimhen suffered two devastating injuries in Napoli’s Serie A encounter against Inter Milan on Sunday evening at the San Siro.

The Nigerian striker walked off with a swollen cheekbone and black eye after clashing with Milan Skriniar in Inter’s box.

Napoli then revealed after the game that Osimhen fractured his left cheekbone and orbit and would need surgery to fix the two injuries.

He underwent a successful surgery on Tuesday, but the surgeon Gianpaolo Tartaro has revealed it was a difficult operation as the clash damaged his face badly.

“Osimhen injury was not a simple cheekbone fracture but also affected several bones of the face, Tartaro told 1 Station Radio as per GIFN.

“It was not a shock trauma, but compression: the kinetic force generated by the crushing of Osimhen’s face against Skriniar’s created devastating damage.”

“It is still too early to talk about recovery times because the surgery was really complex: the conditions of the player’s face were very bad but I guarantee that the surgery was perfectly successful,” he added.

Napoli have already announced that Osimhen would be out for three months, which rules him out of Nigeria’s squad for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The surgeon who operated on Victor Osimhen’s facial fractures reveals the Napoli and Nigeria striker required ‘six plaques and 18 screws’ to repair the ‘devastating’ damage.

It was an accidental clash of heads at San Siro with Inter defender Milan Skriniar, but one that did an extraordinary amount of damage to the centre-forward’s face.

It was immediately clear from the swelling that he had fractured his cheekbone, although tests later showed the extent of the injury resulted in multiple fractures to the cheekbone and orbital bone.

He will be out of action for circa 90 days – three months – ruling him out of the Africa Cup of Nations.

“Osimhen’s injury was not just a simple fracture to the cheekbone, as it involved many other bones in his face,” explained surgeon Gianpaolo Tartaro to 1 Stadion Radio.

“It wasn’t an impact injury, it was one of compression. The kinetic force generated by the crushing of Osimhen’s face against the back of Skriniar’s head did devastating damage.

“In order to repair the fractures, I had to insert six plaques and up to 18 screws.”

Although the figure given for a full recovery is 90 days, Osimhen’s surgeon warns it is still too early to tell the full effects of this injury.

“It really was a complex operation. The condition of his face was really bad, but I can guarantee the surgery was a complete success.”

Osimhen had scored five Serie A goals and four in the Europa League so far this season, easily the most prolific player for Napoli, and was also set to lead Nigeria out in the Africa Cup of Nations before this sudden setback.
This is a horrendous injury and we just thank God that there has been no mention of injury to his actual eyeball.
That would have been catastrophic.

Get well soon soldier.
The whole country is praying for you.

Get well soon Victor.. The world cup is bigger..

Purity wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:59 am Get well soon Victor.. The world cup is bigger..
ANC is just a tiny tournament anyways

Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:02 am
Enugu II wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:54 am

This is a horrendous injury and we just thank God that there has been no mention of injury to his actual eyeball.
That would have been catastrophic.

Get well soon soldier.
The whole country is praying for you.
Thank God that he was in a place with top-level medical system.

I hope he heals completely and doesn't have residual psychological issues from the trauma.

When you catch studs to the face or break a leg or even tear ligaments, the wounds heal but it takes a while to trust your body completely.

I hope they add counseling to his PT.

Osimhen will be a big miss if he doesn't go to Afccon. Nigeria currently don't have a repacement playing at the same level. He should look for a 2nd opinion. Maybe other treatments that can speed up his return. Afcon is like 2 months away. Nigeria should still take him if there is a chance he can play at the later stages of the tournament.

No leave Osimehn to heal properly abeg.

Nigeria has PLENTY of strikers, we are just not calling them up or using them properly.

This is all Rohrs fault. I told you all it is a disaster to rely so much on one player and not find an adequate replacement.

We've made our bed, now we lie in it.

A capable coach can still win afcon without Osimehn.

We will be better off in the long run for getting through this without him.

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:27 pm Osimhen will be a big miss if he doesn't go to Afccon. Nigeria currently don't have a repacement playing at the same level. He should look for a 2nd opinion. Maybe other treatments that can speed up his return. Afcon is like 2 months away. Nigeria should still take him if there is a chance he can play at the later stages of the tournament.
AFCON should be the LEAST of his concern :taunt:

wanaj0 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 5:27 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:27 pm Osimhen will be a big miss if he doesn't go to Afccon. Nigeria currently don't have a repacement playing at the same level. He should look for a 2nd opinion. Maybe other treatments that can speed up his return. Afcon is like 2 months away. Nigeria should still take him if there is a chance he can play at the later stages of the tournament.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

What the hell are you talking about?
MUST YOU TALK?
:roll:

wanaj0 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 5:27 pm
You dey mind am? :oops:

Just heard the commentator of the Inter champions league game say Oshimen will be out for 3 months . Choi

I still think Osimhhen should seek another docter opinion. There are specialists inthe US that probably have more expereicne creating the mask he needs. I bet you if Napoli really wanted to rush him back, they would send him to more specialists.

they cant stop him, so they decided to break his bones? :-(
Wishing him well.

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:52 am I still think Osimhhen should seek another docter opinion. There are specialists inthe US that probably have more expereicne creating the mask he needs. I bet you if Napoli really wanted to rush him back, they would send him to more specialists.
But why do you assume they don’t want him back ASAP after spending all that money to get him? I don’t think they would jeopardize their season by slowing down his recovery, even if that means he misses a few weeks for the ANC. I don’t think there is some great plot to keep him from playing that tournament.

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:52 am I still think Osimhhen should seek another docter opinion. There are specialists inthe US that probably have more expereicne creating the mask he needs. I bet you if Napoli really wanted to rush him back, they would send him to more specialists.
Na wa for you.

You stayed on the internet and already DIAGNOSED and PRESCRIBED what should be done! You have not done any test, have no insight into his medical records YET you want Osimhen to listen to you and not to medical doctors who have relevant information on his past and current medical condition!

based on reports. The doctor himself said normally Osimhen will be back sooner but they have develo a new mask. Some doctors are like people. They are arrogant and have big egos refusing to consult with other doctors to look for another treatment plan. Doesn't hurt to look for a 2nz opinion.