Minister Shares His Views: Future of Nigerian Football, Coaches, and Local Content

What is in-between the lines?
Sports Minister Hopeful For Super Eagles’ Success At AFCON 2021, Wants More Local Content For Nigerian Football
https://www.completesports.com/sports-m ... -football/
20 November 22, 2021 4:07 pm
Sports Minister Hopeful For Super Eagles’ Success At AFCON 2021, Wants More Local Content For Nigerian Football

Youth and Sports Development Minister Sunday Dare is hopeful the Super Eagles can do well in Cameroon and possibly win their fourth (4th) Africa Cup of Nations title next year.

Nigeria finished in third (3rd) place at the last edition of the tournament in Egypt two years ago and the Minister believes they can go two notches higher when next year’s event gets underway in January 2022.

“I have created the mental picture of this golden(AFCON) trophy in my head and I will use it as a prayer point every morning,” Dare told journalists and officials of TotalEnergies, AFCON sponsors, at the press conference to herald the three day trophy tour of Lagos, Nigeria on Monday.

The Minister said Nigeria is the country with the most podium finishes in the history of the competition, winning a medal fifteen(15) times out of eighteen(18) appearances.

The Super Eagles have won the tournament thrice, finished as runners up (silver medalists) four times and won bronze eight (8) times.

Dare also insisted that the local content of Nigerian football needs to improve if the country wants to compete favourably at the global stage.

His words: “We have to do more for the local ecosystem of our game. We have to be deliberate with talent discovery, nurturing of the talents discovered and managing them to get to the top of the ladder in their careers and stay there till they retire.

“We have countless examples of how we got this system working in the past. We must do it again. There must be consistent focus on the grassroots, school sports, provision of facilities, equipment and training gears. Competitions organized will also toughen and sharpen the talents.

“Look at Henry Nwosu, the sixteen year old school boy that made the Green Eagles squad to the 1980 AFCON.

“Look also at ‘chairman’ Christian Chukwu, Kadiri Ikhana who became accomplished coaches after their 1980 exploits.

“We can also speak about Stephen Keshi(of blessed memory) and what he achieved as a coach and a player, others like Austin Eguavoen, Samson Siasia and Sunday Oliseh have all coached the Super Eagles and made their marks on the game.

“Clearly we have enough talents here, we just need to put in the hardwork to discover them.

“Let our former football stars and sports icons who have done Nigeria proud and who understand the DNA of Nigerian football be given the opportunity to help build a team. From the history of Nigeria’s performance at the AFCON, we have seen the impactful roles of indigenous handlers and former stars.”

The Sports Minister then commended the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for organizing a competition for schools sponsored by the foundation of the CAF president Dr Patrice Motsepe, while congratulating them for the successful organization of the just concluded CAF Champions League competition for women football clubs.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Minister Shares His Views About the Future of Nigerian Football

Pinnick una dey hear word?
His words: “We have to do more for the local ecosystem of our game. We have to be deliberate with talent discovery, nurturing of the talents discovered and managing them to get to the top of the ladder in their careers and stay there till they retire.
Stop only focusing on foreign made…

maceo4 wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:29 am Pinnick una dey hear word?
Stop only focusing on foreign made…
mace04,

But the Minister view here leads me to believe that we are headed towards a collision sooner than later. I now feel strongly about this. These feelers by the Minister are deliberate. He already fired the first salvo by noting that the NFF cannot taking any action on the NT Manager without first submitting a report to him. It is a power move to emphasize his supervisory powers. Now this statement may seem innocuous but BEWARE.

Do we need a fight with the AFCON around the corner?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Prof.,

This clown of a minister just insinuated that he WILL interfere in the NFF process and administrative decisions (just like his predecessors). This could then lead to a suspension of Nigeria from international football by FIFA, due to interference.

He talks about 'local content', not knowing what that means. Is he using coded language to state that 'Nigerian passport' carrying players, who happen to be of Nigerian descent but ply their trades overseas should be given less weight compared to those in the local leagues? Because if that's the case, he will be in violation of Nigerian law and he will be sued.
Or is he implying that local players must be in the National team (regardless of whether they merit it or not and at the expense of better players not in the local leagues), because that is discrimination and is also in violation of Nigerian law.

He talks about the NFF providing the right infrastructure to serve as a basis for local youths to develop, yet his ministry have repeatedly refused to release funds for that development. Or is it the NFF that should be repairing stadiums? Is the Ministry not supposed to provide funding to the NFF as part of the approved Sports budget? Yet this jackass sat on funds for months, pretty much handcuffing most key sports - basket ball and athletics included.

The country is in for a rough ride, because of intellectually bereft people like this Minister fellow. This is what happens when imbeciles are put in charge and run the show.
Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:40 am mace04,

But the Minister view here leads me to believe that we are headed towards a collision sooner than later. I now feel strongly about this. These feelers by the Minister are deliberate. He already fired the first salvo by noting that the NFF cannot taking any action on the NT Manager without first submitting a report to him. It is a power move to emphasize his supervisory powers. Now this statement may seem innocuous but BEWARE.

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 4:32 am Prof.,

This clown of a minister just insinuated that he WILL interfere in the NFF process and administrative decisions (just like his predecessors). This could then lead to a suspension of Nigeria from international football by FIFA, due to interference.

He talks about 'local content', not knowing what that means. Is he using coded language to state that 'Nigerian passport' carrying players, who happen to be of Nigerian descent but ply their trades overseas should be given less weight compared to those in the local leagues? Because if that's the case, he will be in violation of Nigerian law and he will be sued.
Or is he implying that local players must be in the National team (regardless of whether they merit it or not and at the expense of better players not in the local leagues), because that is discrimination and is also in violation of Nigerian law.

He talks about the NFF providing the right infrastructure to serve as a basis for local youths to develop, yet his ministry have repeatedly refused to release funds for that development. Or is it the NFF that should be repairing stadiums? Is the Ministry not supposed to provide funding to the NFF as part of the approved Sports budget? Yet this jackass sat on funds for months, pretty much handcuffing most key sports - basket ball and athletics included.

The country is in for a rough ride, because of intellectually bereft people like this Minister fellow. This is what happens when imbeciles are put in charge and run the show.
Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:40 am mace04,

I think that local content is indeterminate at this point. Make of it what you may. For instance, at the moment, the key issue might actually be the selection of coaches i.e. a Nigerian-born v a foreign hire. I think he alludes to that.

As for players? Local content does not necessarily refer to citizenship. My interpretation is that it refers to the grooming of players. If that is correct, he does have a point.

The reliance of players groomed outside the country may well produce dividends in terms of laurels. However, that is far from the case so far. Besides that issue, the focus on getting Nigerians groomed elsewhere may in fact lead to the ignoring of the importance of also of grooming talents in the country itself. In fact, that is happening now and the symptoms are all there with the diminishment of the cadet teams of Nigeria in the last few years, especially under the current NFF administration.

These ought to be concerning issues. The grooming of talent cannot and should not be outsourced to academies outside the country. Suddenly, has Nigeria become irrelevant as a country that produces footballing talents?