CAF set to approve one round play off in Qatar

Re: CAF set to approve one round play off in Qatar

Bunch of. Selfish broke SOBs. African teams wil be denied home field advantage thats a guarantee for every other continent. This is ridiculous. Just come up with the $600k and lets be done with this. Africans never have a plan of their own, they always have to be in somebody else's..

Jokers

How many African fans can afford to go to Qatar?
Arab money is now running FIFA. First they got the world football federation to host it's
premier tournament in the fall, right in the middle of European football season. Now this?
Can't wait for some sellout CAF officials to inform on why having Africa's final qualification
round in Qatar is a great idea.

This is a joke right? Its April 1 right??

bret- hart wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:18 am This is a joke right? Its April 1 right??
It must be! :blink:

Tbh there are silver linings.

The fields will be top notch.

Teams cannot pull dirty tricks while hosting.

They will likely use VAR

No African ref wuru wuru.

Qatar is also supposedly going to host the Inter confederation playoffs, also one leg.

Issa Hayatou, we miss you.

Among the recommendations to be adopted at the upcoming Extraordinary General Assembly;

1. African WorldCup playoffs in a neutral venue (Qatar).
2. Endorsement of the CAF Super League.
3. Endorsement of the Biennial WorldCup proposal by Saudi Arabia.

This will benefit the Arab nations!

CAF is broke. Arab money is available to help CAF FUND. Qatar have money to burn.

This one go hard ooo....

Stinks of foul play!

Pure unadulterated foolishness!

I don't support this. We should stick to the original plan.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

...expect 99% of African football chiefs to support this, money dey am plenty.
,This time they will be careful how they move the or any bribe, money so the American FBI don't trail them.

I guess the advantage is:
Egypt
Tunisia
Morocco
Algeria
Token West African Country

Assuming this rumor is true, what I want to know is: What are the 10 qualified (affected) nations saying, or intend to do about this? Can they not protest, or refuse to go to Qatar?

fabio wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:41 am Issa Hayatou, we miss you
What would he have done, considering the amount of money they would have given him 'in private?'
Last edited by Odas on Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Odas wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 2:25 pm
fabio wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:41 am Issa Hayatou, we miss you
What would he have done, considering the amount if money they would have given him 'in private?'
When I compare wetin Ahmad Ahmed do in CAF. My own contribution be sey, Issa dey put Africa interest first.

This got me feeling some kinda way.

But I like it.

It is a win/win in a winner takes all type of knockout.
No shenanigans.
Top quality amenities.
Decrease in travel logistics nightmare.
CAF/FIFA will be there with the requisite technology and human capital.
The game will come down to the best teams and not due to home-field advantage.
It gives African countries a leg up on planning for the WC as they get to see the sites that might be suitable for camping.
Lastly, and most importantly, MOOLAR! Cold hard cash...

Your World Cup starts there and then.

I am really shocked at the response to this proposal, except from a few. Here, we are always complaining about funding for African competitions and poor grounds. Yet, when a move is made to address this, we grumble. So what gives?

First, if Qatar is doling out major sums to support the hosting of these games why should it really matter? Because it brings needed cash to the African games. That is why. It is the lack of funds that we persistently complain about.

Second, hosting continental competition outside the continent is not unique in this case. For those complaining, what do you think a few years ago when Europe brought a club competitive game to Libreville, Gabon a few years ago? I bet many of you will soon jump on the bandwagon when the European leagues begin to play more games all over the world and spreading its brand. Then you will suddenly realize it is a good thing. Of course, Africa cannot be expected to lead the bandwagon of these types of relationships because it is only acceptable when Eutrope leads. That is the mindset that we are all accustomed to.

What you are seeing is the future of football --- GLOBALLY. I am glad that Africa is doing this as long as there are massive funds attached.

BTW, we now have the American NFL hosting games annually in England and, at times, in Mexico. It is called spreading the BRAND. It is a worthwhile deal as long as SIGNIFICANT DOLLARS are attached. I applaud Ahmad for this if dollars come with it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics