Who should lead the attack at AFCON?

They say " the more things change, the more they stay the same". The negotiation has the forum paralyzed but we must move on and start to discuss the issues affecting SE on the grass that's green while we wait on the green that's cash. We've lost Osihmen to injury, a major blow to our attack.

The SE attack as we know it today no longer exists with Osihmen's injury, winning AFCON is likely out the door at this point. Bronze is the new gold.
Who do you think should replace Osihmen as No 9? Nacho, Awoniyi,Sadiq,Moffi, Ighalo or Onuachu? Assuming we play a 433.... discuss.
Re: Who should lead the attack at AFCON?

New coach + star injury = New opportunities.
Enter Awoniyi, Sadiq, Moffi
Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho.

Damunk wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:44 am New coach + star injury = New opportunities.
Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho.
I'd go with Awoniyi Denis , sadiq.and Onuachu. Camp is open to fight for shirts once again. Coach Rohr has tough decisions to make.

What happened to Onyekuru? The few times I watched him in the Turkey league, he played very well. Why is he not being mentioned, or invited?

Damunk wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:44 am New coach + star injury = New opportunities.
Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho
I agree on the highlighted names. Those two should go.

Odas wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:14 am What happened to Onyekuru? The few times I watched him in the Turkey league, he played very well. Why is he not being mentioned, or invited?
Onyekuru has dropped down the pecking order IMHO.
Not that he is “useless”.
It’s just that there are too many others performing better.
Denis still dey.
Desserts sef.
But Dennis has played as a winger before I seem to recall.
Any attacker now has to up his game.
Gone are the days of the ‘no options’ strike force.

If only our defence could be same.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:09 am
Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho.
I'd go with Awoniyi Denis , sadiq.and Onuachu. Camp is open to fight for shirts once again. Coach Rohr has tough decisions to make.
I don’t think there’s any advantage in having both Onuachu and Sadiq.
I honestly believe whatever Onuachu brings to the table, Sadiq can bring a little more.
Just my preference from watching them play.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Damunk wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:33 am
Odas wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:14 am What happened to Onyekuru? The few times I watched him in the Turkey league, he played very well. Why is he not being mentioned, or invited?
Onyekuru has dropped down the pecking order IMHO.
Not that he is “useless”.
It’s just that there are too many others performing better.
Denis still dey.
Desserts sef.
But Dennis has played as a winger before I seem to recall.
Any attacker now has to up his game.
Gone are the days of the ‘no options’ strike force.

If only our defence could be same.
The highlighted is my main concern. It should give our coaches sleepless nights going into AFCON. I can still see Ekong and Balogun lazily passing the ball to each other in the back like they are playing hot potato. The moment an opponent breathes on Ekong he is overcome with fear and aimlessly hoofs the ball downfield. I dream of an attack buildup from the back with quick passes to the holding midfielder(s) and then spread around to the attackers on a consistent basis. We need defenders with good ball handling skills and confidence. We need to focus on earthing these defenders quickly. I like Aina and Zaidu as full backs with Awaziem and Akpoguna as central defenders in a 4-3-3 alignment. These guys are adequate for now. Their collective ball handling is much more adequate than Ekong <-> Balogun. My only concern is Akpoguna. He hasn't played much in the central defense with the SE. We need to bring him up to speed quickly.
My midfield trio will be Aribo-Ndidi-Iwobi. Up front I will give nods to Chukwueze-Sadiq-Dennis.
I have confidence in this lineup. Good midfields, solid attackers, and adequate defense. This will be my starting 11...
Last edited by Abbey on Fri Nov 26, 2021 1:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Whoever is the coach by then should just not make the mistake of having any of Ighalo, Musa or Onuachu leading the line as our #9... I think Awoniyi and Nacho can both get the job done, then Sadiq, Dennis and Moffi can be options off the bench.

Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho.

That id1ot of a clueless Coach is fired!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Not inspiring options. Osimhen is the perfect striker for Nigeria. The perfect striker. A combination of pace and hold up play. He will be missed. But if I have to choose a replacement, it will have to be moffi with Iheanacho as a support striker. Hopefully a return of Chukwuze to form can mitigate the loss of Osimhen in the attack. Awoniyi and Sadiq can provide depth. ONauchu and Ighalo should be dropped.

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 6:25 pm Not inspiring options. Osimhen is the perfect striker for Nigeria. The perfect striker. A combination of pace and hold up play. He will be missed. But if I have to choose a replacement, it will have to be moffi with Iheanacho as a support striker. Hopefully a return of Chukwuze to form can mitigate the loss of Osimhen in the attack. Awoniyi and Sadiq can provide depth. ONauchu and Ighalo should be dropped.
Moffi hasn't scored in 3 months. He's fallen into bad form of late. No thanks.

Awoniyi is one of the better strikers in Europe this season.

Awoniyi is okay,but he is not Osimhen The thing pain me no be small. Moffi scored in Septemeber, the last time I watched him play, that was 2 months ago. He looks like a good striker when he is in form.

Dessers Awoniyi Dennis Sadiq and Okoronwo. Senior man Moffi and Onuachu get to miss out. They have not been good enough for Club and country

bret- hart wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 8:45 pm Dessers Awoniyi Dennis Sadiq and Okoronwo. Senior man Moffi and Onuachu get to miss out. They have not been good enough for Club and country
:thumb:

Undertaker wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 4:00 pm
Exit Onuachu, Ighalo
Remain Nacho.

That id1ot of a clueless Coach is fired!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Well, so far all we are hearing is rumor. We don't know if coach Rohr is gone, or is still our coach. However, if he is going to be fired and I think he should, he better be fired quickly.

Dessers scored in the last minute to secure a point for his team, dude is on serious form despite coming off the bench in recent games, currently Dessers, Awoniyi and Sadiq are our key strikers in the absence of Osimhen.

Heck I'm even forgetting David Okereke

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:06 pm Dessers scored in the last minute to secure a point for his team, dude is on serious form despite coming off the bench in recent games, currently Dessers, Awoniyi and Sadiq are our key strikers in the absence of Osimhen.

Dennis nko? :rotf:

Awoniyi is a good player. My concern is he lacks the pace and hold up skills i want in a strker. Now Terrim Moffi is uneraated. Maybe because not many people watch ligue one . He reminds me of Antonio.

Onuachu is now chopping bench for Ugbo.

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 11:23 pm Awoniyi is a good player. My concern is he lacks the pace and hold up skills i want in a strker. Now Terrim Moffi is uneraated. Maybe because not many people watch ligue one . He reminds me of Antonio.

I read that Awoniyi is the fastest player at his club.

But I agree that he doesn't really strike me as a skillfull striker.

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:06 pm Dessers scored in the last minute to secure a point for his team, dude is on serious form despite coming off the bench in recent games, currently Dessers, Awoniyi and Sadiq are our key strikers in the absence of Osimhen.

Okereke not Okonkwo.