ODEGBAMI on SE: "This Mu-mu Must STOP"

Next Super Eagles coach – This Mumu must stop, now
https://guardian.ng/sport/next-super-ea ... -stop-now/
By Segun Odegbami
27 November 2021 | 4:06 am

Forgive my seeming enragement in this piece.
The matter of Gernot Rohr, the German coach of Nigeria’s national football team, the Super Eagles, must have been finally rested. Most Nigerians are in an unwritten agreement that the man must just go. No football administrator dares to bring that subject back again in any guise or form.

Our collective mumu (stupidity) must stop.
We have been fooled and held down for too long by the colonial mentality that ‘anything White is better’. For too long also, that slavery-mentality has influenced the decisions we took on even the small issue of who to engage as national team coach for Nigeria. Football is a game for God’s sake, it is not going to the moon!

Lately, we even went to the shameful depth of paying a White coach who turns out to be clearly not better or more qualified than our own legion of Nigerians, humongous wages that could have been better deployed to grow football in its entirety in Nigeria through a well-planned intervention in the domestic game. The man did not physically do anything of substance to impact the game in the country, did not develop a single player, did not help a single club or academy, did not win any laurels, did not even stay in the country long enough to pretend to be working.

Yet, without blind-folding Nigerians and the lawyers that must have scrutinized and approved it, the NFF knotted the entire country into a paper-contract that could not be terminated no matter how poorly the man did the job he was hired to do. How did that happen in this 21st Century? It was the worst form of mumu imaginable.

And to imagine that that foolery went on for 6 years in a country that boasts some of the most intelligent and most educated homo sapiens, is simply unbelievable.

Nigerians have to wake up from that nightmarish dream because they are at that point again, faced with circumstances no different or better than those that made the country hire the German coach to start with, discussing how to get another ‘journeyman’ half-baked foreign coach again.

Nigerians are heading back to their immediate ‘vomit’.

Why are we falling for this mumu again?
What is in winning a silverware at the expense of wasting an entire generation of retired ex-football players that have paid their dues, sacrificed their lives serving the country, and are never treated decently and given the opportunity to better themselves, garner experience and succeed as coaches in the world?

There can be no gain without pain.
We can hope to get the respect we deserve until we end this physical and mental enslavement that has crippled us for over 500 years (and still counting). there must be a price to pay.

At the end of the day, this is all race and colour, unfortunately. And we must all wake up to that reality. The Black person must make the needed sacrifices, faltering and falling and getting up again each time to continue the battle that has moved silently from the fields of economics, politics, culture, and so on, and invaded his greatest passion and path to freedom and equality – sport!

This is the final frontier. Sport can be the Black man’s greatest weapon. If we surrender that which can change the world for better, we lose everything.

Hiring a foreign White man after our immediate past experiences may look trivial on the surface, but beneath the surface it is another subtle march towards enslaving a whole generation of deserving Nigerians (from the 1994 set of Eagles) that have earned the right to occupy that space (coaching) in our football structure, but are being denied through this open, unacceptable denigration by those in charge of Nigerian football.

The generation of Nigerian footballers from the 1990s will be wasted again if we do not wake up, shine our eyes to see clearly what lies ahead. That a few were once hired and ‘failed’ cannot be an excuse, because that’s what hiring another foreigner would tantamount to.

The evidence is all around, even in Western capitals, of the capacity of Nigerians to be the best. In virtually all fields of human endeavour, you find them working hard, and the facilities, becoming world leaders.

Even Nigeria’s trained engineers and doctors, products of educational institutions in Nigeria that we all acknowledge are decaying, are being sought after by foreign countries. They are leaving the country in droves for the greener pastures of the West and Middle East because their country would not give them the respect and treatment and facilities they need to excel.

Yet, the great South African leader, one of the most respected men in history, late Nelson Mandela, reminded us before his death:

“The world will not respect Africa until Nigeria earns that respect. The Black people of the world need Nigeria to be great, as a source of pride and confidence”.

That’s the burden of responsibility Nigerians, including those in Nigerian football, carry on their shoulder. Are we so blinded by selfish interests and personal gains that we cannot see the damage being done to the psyche of all Black players, particularly our huge army of young Nigerian youths, through helping to fuel the notion of the inferiority that we display in the simple choice that we make of hiring a coach for our national teams?

Once again, football is not rocket science.
That’s why every Nigerian is an ‘expert.’ Football is a simple art form.

What is needed is a good plan to prepare retired superstar players, with all their invaluable experiences and laurels garnered from Europe, to take up their role as ‘teachers’ of the game they have mastered in Europe. In them Nigerian football has the basic ingredients to excel and gain respect in the world.

Nigeria must prepare them to become models of good coaching, to take them through the narrow path of practicing the abundant virtues that underline their own success – a level playing field, hard work, team spirit, endless practice, discipline, decency, not living with the virus of corruption that has eaten deep into the fabric of daily life in our country (how to succeed without embracing it), locking up their superstardom as players in the closet of their rooms, working diligently, shunning arrogance and ostentatious living, embracing the power of humility, and leading young Nigerian football players in clubs and the national teams down the similar path treaded by them to succeed.

That’s the way to go – with patriotic ex-Nigerian players well-prepared by the NFF to teach the art they mastered on the fields and classrooms of Europe to Nigerian kids. The administrators should identify those of them willing to walk down that path and guide them into becoming productive coaches for Nigerian football and future exports to the rest of the world.

But this must be a deliberate plan of action that will start from Nigeria’s own backyard, with Nigerian teams. It can never start from outside.

Finally, the revolution might as well start now, on the eve of AFCON 2022. The country has already lost much ground with Gernot Rohr, and with AFCON so close, the fear of failure should be banished.

Firing Rohr shall generate some consequences, but that small step could become a giant leap for Nigerian football. The decision to sink or swim with a Nigerian coach is one that requires courage by visionary leadership, not those seeking pyrrhic victories and short-term benefits. This is a decision for the long-distance runner with a simple plan, a clear vision and the determination and will to get to the finish line.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ODEGBAMI on SE: "This Mu-mu Must STOP"

...too long 'tory from Mathematical, just say pay the man and let him go, and we see Nigeria football nose dive with another journey man.

Can Odegbami and his fellow 'distractors' give any local coach the freedom to pick
his players, choose his lineup and tactics, plus the time to carry out his agenda? It is interference
from people like him that makes coaching the SE more difficult for any coach.
I guess our 'oga them' never heard of the saying that, if you hire a cook, you should
stay out of the kitchen.

I guess the main problem starts with the selection process for the coach. Seems like
the choice of the coach is all about who can be manipulated on player invitations, and
of course salary issues. We can recall how things ended for previous coaches, foreign or
local, trying to have a mind of his own.

Maybe Segun needs a reminder that Amaju Pinnick is still in charge. As long as that is the case, it will always be a foreign coach. The only way that does not happen is if there is hand wringing from the Federal Government via the Minister. But Amaju can use FIFA threat as a trump card. We await.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Nov 28, 2021 3:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Relic from the 70s. Mek e go siddon joor.

The slaves are out to denigrate another black man who dares speak against their massa. :rotf:

mcal wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 2:32 am ...too long 'tory from Mathematical, just say pay the man and let him go, and we see Nigeria football nose dive with another journey man.

Now your comments on the other thread makes sense :rotf: :rotf: Now I see why you were hurt that your massa will be nipped in Lagos if he does not pack his bags and evacuate the country. EU ko, EU ni! :lol: :lol: let him not heed the warning he has been given and he will learn a very painful lesson! tell that to your Massa. :oops:

mcal wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 2:32 am ...too long 'tory from Mathematical, just say pay the man and let him go, and we see Nigeria football nose dive with another journey man.
Yep! I agree the article is too long, yet didn't say much. As you (Mcal) said, just say pay the man off, hire some of our own and let's go from there.

Chief Odegbami is doing what he is supposed to do.

I really hate this black versus white stuff. Uncle Sege fall my hand on this one.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 5:49 pm I really hate this black versus white stuff. Uncle Sege fall my hand on this one.
We all hope to see a world not focused on black v white but we must recognize its existence first and fight it in order to win the war against it. The world that you exist in today is better but not yet uhuru. And it is better because people recognized tha r divide and fought ut. You do not fight it by acting as if it does not exist.

Lolly wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 5:49 pm I really hate this black versus white stuff. Uncle Sege fall my hand on this one.
You might hate it but that's the reality of the world.

2021 going to 2022, Pinnick would shudder at an ex-pat taking his job as a football administrator but has no qualms scavenging the globe to find a coach for the Eagles.

Truth be told, we need a foreign football administrator more than a foreign coach.

Cellular wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 6:22 pm

2021 going to 2022, Pinnick would shudder at an ex-pat taking his job as a football administrator but has no qualms scavenging the globe to find a coach for the Eagles.

Truth be told, we need a foreign football administrator more than a foreign coach.
Bros, you have quickly forgotten that we went a few years without a foreign coach and only brought in one when our local coaches could not deliver. We had Keshi, Oliseh and Siasia fumble through two failed AFCON qualifications. Don’t blame Amaju.

Let just get the best we can get, white or black. Many of us here don’t have any problem working for a white man, most in the white mans land. Ans they welcome us with open hands. So why is it an issue for the white man to come to our country for employment opportunities?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 8:10 pm

Bros, you have quickly forgotten that we went a few years without a foreign coach and only brought in one when our local coaches could not deliver. We had Keshi, Oliseh and Siasia fumble through two failed AFCON qualifications. Don’t blame Amaju.

Let just get the best we can get, white or black. Many of us here don’t have any problem working for a white man, most in the white mans land. Ans they welcome us with open hands. So why is it an issue for the white man to come to our country for employment opportunities?

That is history without context.

Amaju came in with a decided goal of replacing Keshi with foreign coach. You forget that his first attempt failed because the Presidency intervened.

He then worked on destabilizing Keshi with hired protesters at the Sudan game. It will not be forgotten. Then they used the invitation of an Abuja club player to fire Keshi.

Amaju was persuaded to hire Oliseh. He wanted an European. Because of the subversion of keshi we found ourselves in unusual position to fight for one qualification berth with EGYPT!!

How soon we forget!!

Enugu II wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 2:07 am
Next Super Eagles coach – This Mumu must stop, now
https://guardian.ng/sport/next-super-ea ... -stop-now/
By Segun Odegbami
27 November 2021 | 4:06 am

Forgive my seeming enragement in this piece.
The matter of Gernot Rohr, the German coach of Nigeria’s national football team, the Super Eagles, must have been finally rested. Most Nigerians are in an unwritten agreement that the man must just go. No football administrator dares to bring that subject back again in any guise or form.

Our collective mumu (stupidity) must stop.
We have been fooled and held down for too long by the colonial mentality that ‘anything White is better’. For too long also, that slavery-mentality has influenced the decisions we took on even the small issue of who to engage as national team coach for Nigeria. Football is a game for God’s sake, it is not going to the moon!

Lately, we even went to the shameful depth of paying a White coach who turns out to be clearly not better or more qualified than our own legion of Nigerians, humongous wages that could have been better deployed to grow football in its entirety in Nigeria through a well-planned intervention in the domestic game. The man did not physically do anything of substance to impact the game in the country, did not develop a single player, did not help a single club or academy, did not win any laurels, did not even stay in the country long enough to pretend to be working.

Yet, without blind-folding Nigerians and the lawyers that must have scrutinized and approved it, the NFF knotted the entire country into a paper-contract that could not be terminated no matter how poorly the man did the job he was hired to do. How did that happen in this 21st Century? It was the worst form of mumu imaginable.

And to imagine that that foolery went on for 6 years in a country that boasts some of the most intelligent and most educated homo sapiens, is simply unbelievable.

Nigerians have to wake up from that nightmarish dream because they are at that point again, faced with circumstances no different or better than those that made the country hire the German coach to start with, discussing how to get another ‘journeyman’ half-baked foreign coach again.

Nigerians are heading back to their immediate ‘vomit’.

Why are we falling for this mumu again?
What is in winning a silverware at the expense of wasting an entire generation of retired ex-football players that have paid their dues, sacrificed their lives serving the country, and are never treated decently and given the opportunity to better themselves, garner experience and succeed as coaches in the world?

There can be no gain without pain.
We can hope to get the respect we deserve until we end this physical and mental enslavement that has crippled us for over 500 years (and still counting). there must be a price to pay.

At the end of the day, this is all race and colour, unfortunately. And we must all wake up to that reality. The Black person must make the needed sacrifices, faltering and falling and getting up again each time to continue the battle that has moved silently from the fields of economics, politics, culture, and so on, and invaded his greatest passion and path to freedom and equality – sport!

This is the final frontier. Sport can be the Black man’s greatest weapon. If we surrender that which can change the world for better, we lose everything.

Sorry, there are far, far more important things in the world than football, which is STILL an entertainment sport. The greatest weapon for the black man is in the intellect and the innovation to break new grounds, not kick a round object about...

Hiring a foreign White man after our immediate past experiences may look trivial on the surface, but beneath the surface it is another subtle march towards enslaving a whole generation of deserving Nigerians (from the 1994 set of Eagles) that have earned the right to occupy that space (coaching) in our football structure, but are being denied through this open, unacceptable denigration by those in charge of Nigerian football.

The generation of Nigerian footballers from the 1990s will be wasted again if we do not wake up, shine our eyes to see clearly what lies ahead. That a few were once hired and ‘failed’ cannot be an excuse, because that’s what hiring another foreigner would tantamount to.

The evidence is all around, even in Western capitals, of the capacity of Nigerians to be the best. In virtually all fields of human endeavour, you find them working hard, and the facilities, becoming world leaders.

Even Nigeria’s trained engineers and doctors, products of educational institutions in Nigeria that we all acknowledge are decaying, are being sought after by foreign countries. They are leaving the country in droves for the greener pastures of the West and Middle East because their country would not give them the respect and treatment and facilities they need to excel.

Yet, the great South African leader, one of the most respected men in history, late Nelson Mandela, reminded us before his death:

“The world will not respect Africa until Nigeria earns that respect. The Black people of the world need Nigeria to be great, as a source of pride and confidence”.

That’s the burden of responsibility Nigerians, including those in Nigerian football, carry on their shoulder. Are we so blinded by selfish interests and personal gains that we cannot see the damage being done to the psyche of all Black players, particularly our huge army of young Nigerian youths, through helping to fuel the notion of the inferiority that we display in the simple choice that we make of hiring a coach for our national teams?

Once again, football is not rocket science.
That’s why every Nigerian is an ‘expert.’ Football is a simple art form.

What is needed is a good plan to prepare retired superstar players, with all their invaluable experiences and laurels garnered from Europe, to take up their role as ‘teachers’ of the game they have mastered in Europe. In them Nigerian football has the basic ingredients to excel and gain respect in the world.

This is the fallacy of old school peeps like SO. Why do our own retired players need govt to develop themselves?

Why can they not use the resources of their former European clubs to develop themselves like their ex colleagues?

Why does it always have to come down to what the govt can do for you?

Nigeria must prepare them to become models of good coaching, to take them through the narrow path of practicing the abundant virtues that underline their own success – a level playing field, hard work, team spirit, endless practice, discipline, decency, not living with the virus of corruption that has eaten deep into the fabric of daily life in our country (how to succeed without embracing it), locking up their superstardom as players in the closet of their rooms, working diligently, shunning arrogance and ostentatious living, embracing the power of humility, and leading young Nigerian football players in clubs and the national teams down the similar path treaded by them to succeed.

That’s the way to go – with patriotic ex-Nigerian players well-prepared by the NFF to teach the art they mastered on the fields and classrooms of Europe to Nigerian kids. The administrators should identify those of them willing to walk down that path and guide them into becoming productive coaches for Nigerian football and future exports to the rest of the world.

But this must be a deliberate plan of action that will start from Nigeria’s own backyard, with Nigerian teams. It can never start from outside.

Finally, the revolution might as well start now, on the eve of AFCON 2022. The country has already lost much ground with Gernot Rohr, and with AFCON so close, the fear of failure should be banished.

Firing Rohr shall generate some consequences, but that small step could become a giant leap for Nigerian football. The decision to sink or swim with a Nigerian coach is one that requires courage by visionary leadership, not those seeking pyrrhic victories and short-term benefits. This is a decision for the long-distance runner with a simple plan, a clear vision and the determination and will to get to the finish line.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Enugu II wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 8:23 pm

Amaju came in with a decided goal of replacing Keshi with foreign coach. You forget that his first attempt failed because the Presidency intervened.

He then worked on destabilizing Keshi with hired protesters at the Sudan game. It will not be forgotten. Then they used the invitation of an Abuja club player to fire Keshi.

Amaju was persuaded to hire Oliseh. He wanted an European. Because of the subversion of keshi we found ourselves in unusual position to fight for one qualification berth with EGYPT!!

How soon we forget!!
That is why I despise Pinnick. A man who really cares about his pockets and
his desire to climb up the ladder in FIFA/ CAF positions.
When you listen to the likes of Van City, he actually sounds like Pinnick. I wouldn't be surprised the Fraud Pinnick has an account on CE. He prides himself of being a season Arsenal ticket holder. Imagine that line of thinking from a supposed Nigerian Football leader. Shouldn't he be promoting Nigeria? Fraud!!

How soon we forget!!
The fact is we failed to qualify for back to back AFCONs with local coaches. Hiring local coaches should not be forced on the NFF chairman. Let him live and die with his decisions. We’ve had 2 white men deliver us 2 AFCON titles and one local coach deliver the 3rd. I don’t go about checking the colour of the coach before I celebrate our victories. Uncle Sege should know better and not join people who always pitch foreign against local. It is very wrong.

How soon we forget!!
E11, this your narrative is so biased and full of falsehood! Pinnick did not hire any protesters against Keshi, I watched the match live and the shouts of "Keshi Out" was spontaneous and reverberated all over the stadium. The only way your assertion is possible is if Pinnick hired the entire stadium!
My friend, Sunday Ajayi, was a member of the NFF Executive committee that "tried" Keshi and he told me that the said player had no NFF player registration either amateur or professional! In essence,he was not registered with any club, so where was he scouted and invited to the SE? The coach was using the national team to market players and helping his agent friends! This same player was managed by the agent of Michael Babatunde, a controversial selection for the 2014 WC. If you don't see anything wrong with that then there's something wrong with your moral compass!

Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:20 pm

How soon we forget!!
E11, this your narrative is so biased and full of falsehood! Pinnick did not hire any protesters against Keshi, I watched the match live and the shouts of "Keshi Out" was spontaneous and reverberated all over the stadium. The only way your assertion is possible is if Pinnick hired the entire stadium!
My friend, Sunday Ajayi, was a member of the NFF Executive committee that "tried" Keshi and he told me that the said player had no NFF player registration either amateur or professional! In essence,he was not registered with any club, so where was he scouted and invited to the SE? The coach was using the national team to market players and helping his agent friends! This same player was managed by the agent of Michael Babatunde, a controversial selection for the 2014 WC. If you don't see anything wrong with that then there's something wrong with your moral compass!

The NFF need not hire the entire stadium. All it needs to do is hire a few. That can then generate the rest. A riot need to hire everyone that eventually participates in a riot. The theory of of a riot requires a simple number if a few to get the rest to act.

Was the player mentioned not a member of an Abuja club. Are you then stating that the NFF was spreading falsehood by stating that he was a member of a low level Abuja club? These things were part of statements made by the NFF in its public case against Keshi. They are not my statement but part of public statement issued by the NFF following Green's investigation.

Dammy, if you have forgotten so soo may you please rewad below the piece by Colin Udoh at the time and was posted here. All you need do is do a search.

Now, Dammy, will you be willing to accuse Colin Udoh of falsehood?
Despite protestations to the contrary, last weekend's events have very clearly illustrated that the seemingly calm relationship between Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi and his employers at the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) was just the prelude to a storm.

Things bubbled over on Friday when the NFF found Keshi's name on a shortlist published by the Ivory Coast FA. According to the Ivorians, the listed coaches had "indicated their intentions" to replace manager Herve Renard, who left last month to take up coaching duties with Ligue 1 club Lille.

It was not to be an entirely amusing discovery. A flurry of phone calls followed, in which Ivorian FA officials confirmed to their Nigerian counterparts that Keshi had indeed applied for the position.

A disciplinary committee hearing was scheduled for Tuesday, at which Keshi was expected to state his own side of the case. Keshi's agent Emmanuel Ado released a statement via Facebook that was intended to clarify issues but only served to muddy the waters.

Rather than categorically deny that Keshi applied to the Ivory Coast, the majority of Ado's statement obfuscated and ended with accusations directed at "enemies of peace" for trying to cause "distractions".

Two days later, it was full-blown warfare as Ado released another Facebook post. This time, the gloves were off, and it put into words what had been an open secret since Keshi signed his new contract: that all was not well between the two parties.

There is a widespread belief that the NFF only re-signed Keshi under pressure from the very top of the Nigerian government and can't wait to be rid of him. Ado's furious post all but confirmed that. He pointedly accused certain unnamed people, presumably members of the NFF executive committee, of trying to get Keshi sacked with claims that the coach was behind the arrest of former NFF president Aminu Maigari and ExCo member Chris Green last year.

Even more stunning, Ado claimed that these people prayed for the Super Eagles to lose against Chad in order to make it easier to fire Keshi. In the buildup to this month's African Nations Cup qualifier against Chad, Keshi was at his diplomatic best as he deflected questions of any lingering conflict with the NFF.

These extraordinary allegations from Ado speak to a simmering undercurrent of deep distrust between coach and federation. Lending credibility to this state of affairs is the NFF's decision to strip Keshi of the sole responsibility for player selection.

This action was apparently triggered by three puzzling selection decisions.

The first, during his first term, was Stephen Morah, a player from the National Youth Service Corps who had never played for any club side. Morah failed to make the grade and has not been heard of since.

Last month Keshi called up amateur player Joe Omale of Dekina Dragons into the squad to face Chad. Two days into training camp, the player was unceremoniously axed for not being good enough.

What seemed to prove the final straw was the call-up of another non-league player, Okechukwu Gabriel, a forward from Water FC. NFF bosses were particularly irked, not only by Keshi's decision to give a place to a player who failed to make the final cut for the Under-20 World Cup squad, but to hand him the senior team's revered No. 10 shirt.

While this may look bad at first glance, Keshi has always been known to favour building from the ground up by blooding unknown talent.

Sunday Mba, unknown to all but the keenest followers of Nigerian league football, emerged as the hero of the 2013 Nations Cup triumph.

Babatunde Michael raised eyebrows when he was picked for the World Cup. When he suffered a broken arm during group play, Nigerians wailed in despair. Many point to his absence as a key reason the Super Eagles failed to go beyond the round of 16.

And then there is China-based Aaron Samuel, whose heroics as a substitute came so close to rescuing the Super Eagles' bacon in their ultimately unsuccessful quest to reach the 2015 African Nations Cup finals. More recently, against Chad, Kingsley Madu, Anderson Esiti and William Troost-Ekong continued that shining tradition.

The only difference, perhaps, is that these are professional players, not amateurs.

Still, Keshi's personal defence has not closed the coaching issue. Green, chairman of the NFF's disciplinary committee and one of those widely believed to be among Ado's targets, says the investigation will continue, with a letter to the Ivorian FA to establish how they came to shortlist Keshi in the first place.

For now, this storm may have abated somewhat, but if the past is anything to go by, brace for more in the coming months.

That the manager is able to operate in such an atmosphere is something of a modern marvel. As Ado pointed out in a radio interview, "Keshi is not a quitter and will continue to do his job like a professional."

This no longer has the look of a marriage of convenience. Divorce, of the fractious variety, is an option that remains permanently on the table.

Colin Udoh is the editor of KickOffNigeria.com and African football correspondent for ESPN FC. Follow him on Twitter @ColinUdoh.
While at it, you may also do well to check this. As it appears you may be the one attempting to hoist FALSEHOOD on CE. However, the Internet does not sleep nor does it forget either.
Gabriel Okechukwu: From sacking Stephen Keshi to saving Salisu Yusuf
https://www.aclsports.com/gabriel-okech ... isu-yusuf/
Gabriel Okechukwu: From sacking Stephen Keshi to saving Salisu Yusuf
Fisayo DairoJanuary 29, 2018News2 Comments

The stage was the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on a sunny and peppy Saturday afternoon of June 13, 2015 when Nigeria’s Super Eagles began their 2017 AFCON qualification campaign against Chad.

It was a much changed Nigerian side filled with youthfulness and players earmarked for the future. A certain Odion Ighalo came off the bench in that game to devastating effect while a youngster, Gabriel Okechukwu – 19 at that time – was named among the substitutes.

Not only was Okechukwu registered as an academy player, he was also assigned the Number 10 jersey, famously worn by the magisterial Jay-Jay Okocha and up to that time, the enigmatic John Mikel Obi.

Okechukwu did not get to taste action on that day but that singular ‘audacity’ (as the top hierarchy of Nigeria’s Football Federation called it) by the late Stephen Keshi served as the perfect springboard for the NFF who had been looking for every possibility to disengage with Keshi.

That decision by Keshi started a series of events including query and a possible breach of contract by nursing interest in another (Coted’voire) job. These culminated in Keshi’s dismissal the following month and the player who was with an Abuja academy at that time Water FC made for all sort of banters across social media.

Fast forward two and half years later, Okechukwu had been toted to Ukraine for an unsuccessful stint but promptly returned home to join high-flying Nigeria Professional Football League side Akwa United midway through the 2017 season.

It turned a smart decision as the 6ft 7′ striker earned a recall to the national team, albeit the home based Super Eagles and then won Nigeria’s cup competition with Akwa United, scoring the decisive penalty in their shootout victory over Niger Tornadoes in Lagos.

He was part of the home based Super Eagles side which lost in the final of the WAFU Cup to Ghana in September but kept his place for January’s African Nations Championships despite not doing anything out of the ordinary in Ghana or in months after.

Okechukwu sat out Nigeria’s first two games in Morocco and had to wait until the third game against Equatorial Guinea was safely won before he was handed his competition debut. He barely touched the ball in his six-minute cameo but not to worry, his day of reckoning was beckoning.

That day came in Nigeria’s next game – a quarter final game in Tangier – against Angola. The Eagles missed a number of scoring opportunities and were heading out of the competition when an injury to wonderkid Sunday Faleye prompted Salisu Yusuf to call on Okechukwu with about thirty minutes left to play.

He made his presence felt in the attack and although he missed a glorious chance to pull Nigeria level on 77 minutes, his strike partner Anthony Okpotu redeemed himself with a late equaliser, sending the game to extra-time.

Cometh the hour, Cometh the Man! After a goalless first half of extra time where both teams looked jaded and seemingly settling for shootouts, Okechukwu took his destiny in his own hand. Picking up a loose ball after Dayo Ojo’s free kick appeal was waved away, he decisioned one, two, Angolan defenders before shooting from the edge of the penalty box.

The luck that has trailed Okechukwu all his career also followed the ball as it took a deflection off Angolan defender Wilson and beyond his goalkeeper Landu Mavanga.

Typically, the Nigerian social media sphere at that point had been filled with hues, blames, swear words and sometimes curses towards the players and the technical crew. Many, even after the win have questioned the tactical nous of the coaches and an exit at that point will most definitely mean a significant low in the coaching profile of Salisu Yusuf.

However, Okechukwu’s goal made the difference. It brought joy, not only to millions of Nigerians back home but to Nigerian journalists who froze away in the cold of Tangier watching these boys (including yours sincerely).

His namesake Okechukwu Keshi was the last and only Nigerian coach to get this far in the competition but was dismissed starting from the decision to name him in his Match Day squad in mid-2015.

Keshi is no more, but Gabriel Okechukwu has returned the favour by saving the job and perhaps life of another national team coach, Salisu Yusuf.

Cover image credit: NG Super Eagles Twitter

I have not seen any job in the United Kingdom where British nationals are barred from the job ahead of locals. Or where mediocre foreigners are chosen ahead of British nationals. We cannot pretend that "black or white" is not a huge element of Nigerian coaching decisions. I wish it wasn't so, but it is.

For now it is clear that Pinnicks preference is for white coaches. My preference among the shortlisted is Pizzi.

:clap: :clap:
aruako1 wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 11:39 pm

I have not seen any job in the United Kingdom where British nationals are barred from the job ahead of locals. Or where mediocre foreigners are chosen ahead of British nationals. We cannot pretend that "black or white" is not a huge element of Nigerian coaching decisions. I wish it wasn't so, but it is.

For now it is clear that Pinnicks preference is for white coaches. My preference among the shortlisted is Pizzi.
:clap:

That is precisely the point. Lolly writes as if everyone actually is considered for the position. Thanks for making the issue very clear.

BTW, I do not remember how many of you who realize that Odegbami is a late convert to this idea. He used to be solidly a pro-foreign coach but his witness to what it has meant and the fact that foreign coaches have not ever shown to be better hires either. THE Rohr for instance, many local Nigerian coaches have matched or bettered his accomplishment with SE.

How soon we forget!!
Dude seriously shut up !

When Keshi failed spectacularly , he was "sabotaged" ? According to you?

Yet Rohr is fully to blame for everything.

You are so transparent and you cannot offer anything outside of your "black man being downtrodden" narrative.

It's really old and pathetic.

Nigerians and Africans are not the only ones who hire foreign coaches.

Usually you try and get the best you can. Not the blackest.

Many countries who are better than us have gone for foreign coaches.

We've had 3 home based coaches in a row fail to qualify us for a common afcon, all engaging in blatant corruption and wuru wuru. Forgive us for not wanting to jump to the next unqualified former international. Especially one who finished DEAD LAST of 24 teams at the last afcon.

No thanks.

Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:20 pm

How soon we forget!!
According to EII

The coach can be corrupt and fail to meet his objectives, so long as he is Nigerian.