Bonfrere Jo officially applies for the SE job

Re: Bonfrere Jo officially applies for the SE job

He is a candida. Not a candidate.

Why not Bonfrere? He knows the football we like and has experience. Age is not on his side but he knows the system. He has likely been out of coaching awhile that thats a knock but if you want Oyinbo that will play Naija footy, its Bonfrere. The guy is younger than Biden and Buhari.

Yes and No...
The key to success is having a CLEAR vision as to what you want to accomplish and then LEARNING from your past mistakes by putting in controls to mitigate past failures. That is the key to modern day success, not having 'lots of failures' - which is highly ineffective and wasteful, in modern times.

The NFF and other stakeholders shared their vision with prospective candidates at the time. Rohr as one of the candidates, was vetted and that vision was shared with him. He was hired on the basis of being the best candidate to carry out that vision and did so without complaint from Nigerians (AFCON-Q and WCQ, with games to spare and beating out arguably the toughest WCQ in Nigeria's WCQ history).

His greatest faux-pas was he did not substitute Musa with Iwobi, in the WC game against Argentina (even though he himself confessed that he was in the process of doing that when the powers that be pushed back, stating the Argentines were scared of Musa because of his performance against them in Brazil). Secondly, we lost to an Algerian side, that pretty much was THE best team in the tournament, through a Mahrez free kick, after dominating the Algerians (especially in the second half of that semi-final). Everything else (including the results against Sierra Leone, CAR and Cape Verde) is just a smoke screen.

You talk about 'Bravado'. Is that not the same bravado exhibited by Rohr's team performances against Argentina (4-2), Brazil (1-1), Cameroon (3-2, who were defending AFCON Champions at the time), Poland (1-0) and Ukraine (2-2) on their home turf? Nigeria has and will always have that Bravado. It is engrained in us and is not a function of who the coach is.

Regarding thresholds, if you believe ANY Nigerian coach will break that threshold you talk about, you are living in a fools paradise. Even if the person was supposedly competent enough, he will NEVER be provided the enabling environment to succeed. Oliseh, who could have been that person, was vilified and eventually run out of town. Lack of on time payments, the Sports Ministry refusing to release appropriated subventions to the NFF due to politics and infighting, jealousy on the part of his peers, bring him down mentality, not 'respecting' his elders and a host of obstacles will be put in that person's path. It happened to Chukwu, Eguavoen, Amodu, Keshi, Siasia, Oliseh and will happen to whoever comes next. Nigerians are inherently horrible people and will gladly bring down anyone who advocates progress. That's why the country is in the state it is today.

Even Rohr himself, who is being vilified, believed in his project (in spite of insults from Nigerians, including that *kindperson* of a sports minister) and was willing to, not only take a pay cut, but be paid in the worthless Naira and continue working after not being paid for over 9 months (like most Nigerians). He pays the bulk of his support staff out of his own pocket. Yet, not once has he complained or made a report to FIFA (which he has every single right to do). He kept quiet and 'played the game', because he understood that the bigger picture was to win the AFCON and getting to the WC, where he could produce a stronger performance and redeem Nigeria's image with the generational players he has.

However, trust Nigerians to be myopic and screw everything up again. They have called him out of his name, insulted him, made false accusations (from saying he was corrupt, to him 'hating' local players, to having sex parties) and all sorts of despicable things, just because he was doing his job according to his contract terms. Well, what goes around comes around...

God is watching. There is a reason why the country has continued to fail in everything it does. You cannot keep treating people horribly and expect to be successful. From slaughtering innocent people, to not paying workers their hard earned salaries for months, to stealing from and taking advantage over the poor and then lauding it over them, to not providing basic necessities of life to people. Unfortunately, FAILURE is the curse upon Nigeria right now and this will be in line with that.

Sorry for my long winded response.
Cellular wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 6:57 pm
Uncle, the folks who succeed had a lot of failures. That is the key to succeeding... you can't fear to fail. But you MUST have a vision.

There are teams who don't mind being mediocre (average). They don't hide, based on the operational structure that they are not interested in winning.

There's something to be said about being a Naijarian... what is it that gives us our bravado despite our enormous challenges?

I have a belief that if Africa is to break that threshold in Senior Men's football, it will be us... but we can't do it with a coach like ****. He doesn't even share the same belief as us... the "Impossible is Nothing" belief.

oscar52 wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 7:55 pm Why not Bonfrere? He knows the football we like and has experience. Age is not on his side but he knows the system. He has likely been out of coaching awhile that thats a knock but if you want Oyinbo that will play Naija footy, its Bonfrere. The guy is younger than Biden and Buhari.
He is only 7 years older than Rohr.

mcal wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 6:54 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 1:18 pm
oluwaseye the 1st. wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 12:26 pm The man must be a clown

or he knows that most Nigerians are clowns :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
...including yours sincerely :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
EU! EU! EU! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: moron. :lol:

We might as well go and bring back Coach Westerholf (spelling). Heck, I am available to coach/manage the Super-eagles. Please hire me

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 6:41 pm Dude,

You're a lot smarter than this. Why do we Nigerians ALWAYS espouse to herd mentality? These kind of actions have happened twice before - Phillip Troussier and Amodu, with the same outcome. This is going to end up the same way - FAILURE. Is the key metric for contract performance based on 'results' or 'entertainment value'? Because if its results (as his contract seems to imply), has Rohr failed to meet ANY of his deliverables? If that is the case, then what exactly is the basis of firing him?

This is not about the 'fear of failing' - that's a part of the learning process in life and you're supposed to learn from your mistakes. This is about making intelligent decisions to ensure seamless transitions from lessons learnt from the past. That is certainly NOT the case here. Its been 2 weeks and counting since the Anti-Rohr mob took over and no cogent decision has been made. Meanwhile, Egypt just pulled a fast one on dumbass Nigerians regarding FIFA rankings, just because they knew we are in disarray due to a needless fight over Rohr.
That is the issue here!
Cellular wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 5:55 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 5:51 pm But isn't that what the Anti-Rohr brigade wanted?
So, what's the complaint?
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 5:06 pm According to Collins Udoh his application is even been considered by the NFF and he might even be shortlisted, that's the scary part :shock:
SMDH!

Who did this to you people?

Seriously, why are we cursed with people who love settling... and the fear of failing makes them hold onto something that has no future?
Uncle, the folks who succeed had a lot of failures. That is the key to succeeding... you can't fear to fail. But you MUST have a vision.

There are teams who don't mind being mediocre (average). They don't hide, based on the operational structure that they are not interested in winning.

There's something to be said about being a Naijarian... what is it that gives us our bravado despite our enormous challenges?

I have a belief that if Africa is to break that threshold in Senior Men's football, it will be us... but we can't do it with a coach like ****. He doesn't even share the same belief as us... the "Impossible is Nothing" belief.
I agree with you totally. Rohr does not share the same belief that has made us break barriers in world football before. The most successful foreign coaches that we had, Westerhoff and Bonfrere shared that belief. We don't neccessarily have to have the best players playing in the best teams to succeed.
Our mentality and will to win have always seen us surmount odds but when a coach always has ready made excuses like Rohr i.e. Our players don't play in the big teams but a player like Dennis or Iheanacho can destroy big teams like Manchester United. He kills the desire of the team to break out and keeps them within mediocre confines.

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 5:06 pm According to Collins Udoh his application is even been considered by the NFF and he might even be shortlisted, that's the scary part :shock
Bonfere's application can be considered all they want, he will NOT be hired for the job. Even Bon Joe know and will agree to what I said

Dammy wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:52 pm I agree with you totally. Rohr does not share the same belief that has made us break barriers in world football before. The most successful foreign coaches that we had, Westerhoff and Bonfrere shared that belief. We don't neccessarily have to have the best players playing in the best teams to succeed.
Our mentality and will to win have always seen us surmount odds but when a coach always has ready made excuses like Rohr i.e. Our players don't play in the big teams but a player like Dennis or Iheanacho can destroy big teams like Manchester United. He kills the desire of the team to break out and keeps them within mediocre confines.
Dammy, Dammy, na wa ooooo. You have abandoned Rohr. Seems the wind of change in the SE coach is confirmed.

In all honestly, wetin happen?
shaq

Post by shaq »

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:01 pm Yes and No...
The key to success is having a CLEAR vision as to what you want to accomplish and then LEARNING from your past mistakes by putting in controls to mitigate past failures. That is the key to modern day success, not having 'lots of failures' - which is highly ineffective and wasteful, in modern times.

The NFF and other stakeholders shared their vision with prospective candidates at the time. Rohr as one of the candidates, was vetted and that vision was shared with him. He was hired on the basis of being the best candidate to carry out that vision and did so without complaint from Nigerians (AFCON-Q and WCQ, with games to spare and beating out arguably the toughest WCQ in Nigeria's WCQ history).

His greatest faux-pas was he did not substitute Musa with Iwobi, in the WC game against Argentina (even though he himself confessed that he was in the process of doing that when the powers that be pushed back, stating the Argentines were scared of Musa because of his performance against them in Brazil). Secondly, we lost to an Algerian side, that pretty much was THE best team in the tournament, through a Mahrez free kick, after dominating the Algerians (especially in the second half of that semi-final). Everything else (including the results against Sierra Leone, CAR and Cape Verde) is just a smoke screen.

You talk about 'Bravado'. Is that not the same bravado exhibited by Rohr's team performances against Argentina (4-2), Brazil (1-1), Cameroon (3-2, who were defending AFCON Champions at the time), Poland (1-0) and Ukraine (2-2) on their home turf? Nigeria has and will always have that Bravado. It is engrained in us and is not a function of who the coach is.

Regarding thresholds, if you believe ANY Nigerian coach will break that threshold you talk about, you are living in a fools paradise. Even if the person was supposedly competent enough, he will NEVER be provided the enabling environment to succeed. Oliseh, who could have been that person, was vilified and eventually run out of town. Lack of on time payments, the Sports Ministry refusing to release appropriated subventions to the NFF due to politics and infighting, jealousy on the part of his peers, bring him down mentality, not 'respecting' his elders and a host of obstacles will be put in that person's path. It happened to Chukwu, Eguavoen, Amodu, Keshi, Siasia, Oliseh and will happen to whoever comes next. Nigerians are inherently horrible people and will gladly bring down anyone who advocates progress. That's why the country is in the state it is today.

Even Rohr himself, who is being vilified, believed in his project (in spite of insults from Nigerians, including that *kindperson* of a sports minister) and was willing to, not only take a pay cut, but be paid in the worthless Naira and continue working after not being paid for over 9 months (like most Nigerians). He pays the bulk of his support staff out of his own pocket. Yet, not once has he complained or made a report to FIFA (which he has every single right to do). He kept quiet and 'played the game', because he understood that the bigger picture was to win the AFCON and getting to the WC, where he could produce a stronger performance and redeem Nigeria's image with the generational players he has.

However, trust Nigerians to be myopic and screw everything up again. They have called him out of his name, insulted him, made false accusations (from saying he was corrupt, to him 'hating' local players, to having sex parties) and all sorts of despicable things, just because he was doing his job according to his contract terms. Well, what goes around comes around...

God is watching. There is a reason why the country has continued to fail in everything it does. You cannot keep treating people horribly and expect to be successful. From slaughtering innocent people, to not paying workers their hard earned salaries for months, to stealing from and taking advantage over the poor and then lauding it over them, to not providing basic necessities of life to people. Unfortunately, FAILURE is the curse upon Nigeria right now and this will be in line with that.

You forgot the "His safety is not guaranteed" part :taunt:

In jest or not, that is your people sir. I bow :scared:
OJI

Post by OJI »

This damage control, and spin won't work.

Every coach in the modern era had an issue with the NFF. It is part of the Pinnick/Rohr hiring scam with Rohr knowing he had punched above his weight class in securing the SuperEagles' coaching position. Keep quiet when the NFF supposedly owes him money, and yet had multiple options for recourse? We don't want a coach doing us a favor by covering up the NFF's ineptitude. Nigerians did NOT sign up for a superhero. All four pillars for a successful outcome - players, coaches, administrators, support staff - must have aligned interest to execute shared vision. Go review the German 2014 World Cup pre- and during tournament conduct, belief, and vision. We don't want to rehash the Nigerian 1994 World Cup pre- and during tournament adventure.

We want a coach who after 5+ years on the job does NOT recall a certain Mr. Ighalo to the team. Who does not have a template for winning but dependence on individual brilliance. Should I go on?

Pinnick/Rohr have provided an emergent insight. Elevate Rohr to being Pinnick's chief administrative assistant. He would excel in what he has always done. Check the grass is well cut, the boys have extra jerseys, the food is tasty, and well prepared. The masseuse is on time, hotels rooms are secured, luggages not missing, etc.

:?
OJI wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 5:20 am

Every coach in the modern era had an issue with the NFF. It is part of the Pinnick/Rohr hiring scam with Rohr knowing he had punched above his weight class in securing the SuperEagles' coaching position. Keep quiet when the NFF supposedly owes him money, and yet had multiple options for recourse? We don't want a coach doing us a favor by covering up the NFF's ineptitude. Nigerians did NOT sign up for a superhero. All four pillars for a successful outcome - players, coaches, administrators, support staff - must have aligned interest to execute shared vision. Go review the German 2014 World Cup pre- and during tournament conduct, belief, and vision. We don't want to rehash the Nigerian 1994 World Cup pre- and during tournament adventure.

We want a coach who after 5+ years on the job does NOT recall a certain Mr. Ighalo to the team. Who does not have a template for winning but dependence on individual brilliance. Should I go on?

Pinnick/Rohr have provided an emergent insight. Elevate Rohr to being Pinnick's chief administrative assistant. He would excel in what he has always done. Check the grass is well cut, the boys have extra jerseys, the food is tasty, and well prepared. The masseuse is on time, hotels rooms are secured, luggages not missing, etc.
The highlighted might not be far from the truth. When you check Rohr's performance at his stints coaching three other African teams it may explain why. He won barely in one place and had losing records in two places, which led to quick hooks. Thus, arriving at a talent-rich Nigeria he must have felt it was his first opportunity to attach a trophy to his name. Thus, he was in a weak position to pushback hard on Nigeria and with an initially good record in Nigeria he felt that he could win something eventually. That may explain the way the contract renewal went.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:01 pm The NFF and other stakeholders shared their vision with prospective candidates at the time. Rohr as one of the candidates, was vetted and that vision was shared with him. He was hired on the basis of being the best candidate to carry out that vision and did so without complaint from Nigerians (AFCON-Q and WCQ, with games to spare and beating out arguably the toughest WCQ in Nigeria's WCQ history).
Only if you were party to the interview and vetting process. Pinnick, said the reason he employed Rohr was:

1) He wanted a father figure for the players.
2) He wanted someone who could talk some European languages: French and German.
2a) He wanted someone who could French to Arsene and German to Klopp.
3)He wanted someone to played for a top club in Europe, so when he met (SE club coaches) Rohr would say I played in Bayern, where did you play?

If you need video evidence of the above, I will post it.

In my own opinion, the toughest World Cup qualifying Nigeria had was USA'94 final round which involved Algeria, Nigeria and Ivory Coast. Russia WC qualifying was tough, not the toughest.

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:01 pm Even Rohr himself, who is being vilified, believed in his project (in spite of insults from Nigerians, including that *kindperson* of a sports minister) and was willing to, not only take a pay cut, but be paid in the worthless Naira and continue working after not being paid for over 9 months (like most Nigerians). He pays the bulk of his support staff out of his own pocket. Yet, not once has he complained or made a report to FIFA (which he has every single right to do). He kept quiet and 'played the game', because he understood that the bigger picture was to win the AFCON and getting to the WC, where he could produce a stronger performance and redeem Nigeria's image with the generational players he has.
If Rohr was unhappy with the working condition, why didn't he quit?

We were told to believe that only Nigerian coaches would accept such horrible working condition, because they are profiteering from players management via agents.

The question is: why did Rohr continue to work in such condition was highlighted in your post.

Damunk wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 3:48 pm Jo Bon-who? :shock:
God. Naija don suffer!
Now every TD&H dey apply.

Sebi na we say we musto sack coach, “NOW!!!”
As dem teach us (or at least some of us), ‘failure to plan is a plan to fail’.
There are good available coaches. It is not a choice between inept Rohr and no coaching. The NFF knows what to do. And with Rohr's performances we are not in a worse place.

aruako1 wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 8:29 am
God. Naija don suffer!

There are good available coaches. It is not a choice between inept Rohr and no coaching. The NFF knows what to do. And with Rohr's performances we are not in a worse place.
Maybe you should name a few of these coaches.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 9:34 am
God. Naija don suffer!

Juan Antonio Pizzi
Pitso Mosimane
Emmanuel Amuneke

updated the list. Thanks aruako1

fabio wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 11:16 am
God. Naija don suffer!

Juan Antonio Pizzi
I have named Amuneke as well. And why can't we try to get Pitso Mosimane and tempt him with a place in the WC. He has done everything there is to be done with Al Ahly. It is a myth that we have not suggested candidates. It us up to the NFF to get it right.

Let him apply jare. Make sure he submits a Powerpoint presentation. :taunt:

fabio wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 8:24 am
Otitokoro wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:01 pm Even Rohr himself, who is being vilified, believed in his project (in spite of insults from Nigerians, including that *kindperson* of a sports minister) and was willing to, not only take a pay cut, but be paid in the worthless Naira and continue working after not being paid for over 9 months (like most Nigerians). He pays the bulk of his support staff out of his own pocket. Yet, not once has he complained or made a report to FIFA (which he has every single right to do). He kept quiet and 'played the game', because he understood that the bigger picture was to win the AFCON and getting to the WC, where he could produce a stronger performance and redeem Nigeria's image with the generational players he has.
If Rohr was unhappy with the working condition, why didn't he quit?

We were told to believe that only Nigerian coaches would accept such horrible working condition, because they are profiteering from players management via agents.

The question is: why did Rohr continue to work in such condition was highlighted in your post.
...because he figured how dumb the people he work for are.
If a thief come rob your house every day when you are away, the question becomes, why is he coming every day when he could have collected everything in one day?
Answer: because you the home owner is dumb enough to replacing the items, (with shiny and better ones), and living your door unlocked.

Look at all the journey men applying to coach your team, did they say they love the conditions on the ground, in Nigeria, except of course the free and easy money you agree, to and must pay them.

Oga, you can't win anything with **** unless Certificate of Participation is all you seek.

I do applaud **** for one thing though, his ability to get Naijarians to accept that they are mediocre.

OJI wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 5:20 am

Pinnick should seriously consider promoting **** to such a position.

God. Naija don suffer!

It is NOT his job to name the coaches. The NFF should hire a consultant to find them a coach that meets their requirements. I DO NOT trust Pinnick's judgement in picking coaches. And he should know the limits of his expertise. Too arrogant and ignorant to not know what he doesn't know...

HIRE SOMEONE TO HELP YOU FIND TALENT!