AFCON & Omicron

Re: AFCON & Omicron

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 12:18 pm
Good. I won't need to find a dodgy stream on the internet.

Yeyeman posting strange updates. The Afcon should go on..it is not as if the games will have full fans in the stadiums..smh...we need this Afcon for the sake of our SE to fine tune themselves for the playoffs

I wonder if it is espn or beinsports down here

The statement by ECA is a marker on the ground to test the strength of CAF and African FAs.

Enough is enough. CAF has to stand its ground and fight. CAF has provided ways to protect players during the tournament and may do more but the last thing it should do is cancel the tournament. That has to be a DEAL BREAKER.

If these players are not released, CAF must call for penalties against European clubs especially if CAF shows that it has taken reasonable steps to ensure their safety. Think about this, in spite of Omicron these players are still playing in Europe and in crowded stadia etc and now ECA claims they cannot be safe in a tournament in Cameroon? Real BS!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Let dem cancel de tin jare. :roll:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 3:24 pm Let dem cancel de tin jare. :roll:
EMIR

If I am in CAF position, I will not cancel AFCON because of ECA. Never. I will stand my ground and fight. This a fight that will be a marker for decades to come and this is the time to roll up sleeves and FIGHT. ECA will not and should NOT dictate to CAF. In spite of these outbreaks, the leagues are going on in Europe as we speak and with huge crowds. Yet the AFCON should not take place because ECA says so? Ridiculous! AFCON should go on. If Europe does not release the players let the teams use whichever player is available. Then the next step is CAF should put its foot down that none of the selected players can play in Europe while AFCON is taking place. That should be insisted on. Let this clash happen now!!! That time has come. Enough is enough.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 3:17 pm The statement by ECA is a marker on the ground to test the strength of CAF and African FAs.

Enough is enough. CAF has to stand its ground and fight. CAF has provided ways to protect players during the tournament and may do more but the last thing it should do is cancel the tournament. That has to be a DEAL BREAKER.

If these players are not released, CAF must call for penalties against European clubs especially if CAF shows that it has taken reasonable steps to ensure their safety. Think about this, in spite of Omicron these players are still playing in Europe and in crowded stadia etc and now ECA claims they cannot be safe in a tournament in Cameroon? Real BS!

Its ultimately about the health authorities and the health situation esp in Cameroon, NOT CAF.

And the health situation esp includes the state of community transmission, not simply about players who are typically in a bubble.

I would cancel the tournament rather than play in empty stadia tbh

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Just play in Qatar for heavens sake.

Personally I have no qualms with a cancellation IF the tournament holding with put African countries at risk of COVID19 surge.

Peeps forget the Euros got moved by 1yr...

Some things are beyond football...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:06 pm Personally I have no qualms with a cancellation IF the tournament holding with put African countries at risk of COVID19 surge.

Why would u cancel a tournament for a strain of Covid that is MORE MILD than the previous one, when football has been going on worldwide without many hitches for over a year.

This is just an excuse for these euro clubs not to release players.

Fock them.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:12 pm
txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:06 pm Personally I have no qualms with a cancellation IF the tournament holding with put African countries at risk of COVID19 surge.

Why would u cancel a tournament for a strain of Covid that is MORE MILD than the previous one, when football has been going on worldwide without many hitches for over a year.

This is just an excuse for these euro clubs not to release players.

Fock them.

How do you know its more mild? Are u per chance a scientist?

Did u by any chance read the new peer reviewed study from SA on the potential impact of prior transmission/immunity on this?

Football has been going on for over a year without a hitch? Where pls?

African Cup of Nations postponement reports false - CAF

https://www.espn.com/soccer/caf-confede ... -false-caf

txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:48 pm African Cup of Nations postponement reports false - CAF

It was false from the get go. That was never in question. What is in question is the decision by Europe to preclude travel for players. CAF needs to stand firm and host the tournament. That should be non-negotiable given the current situation with Omicron and multiple options to negotiate. Even UK has lifted its earlier restrictions involving several African countries given newer reports on virility of the Omicron. In my view this is a test for CAF. We await to see if it passes the test and sends a necessary message.

CAF has to call Europe's bluff.
UK lifting COVID-19 travel restrictions on 11 African countries
BY MYCHAEL SCHNELL - 12/14/21 01:45 PM EST 52
https://thehill.com/policy/internationa ... -countries

The United Kingdom will lift COVID-19 travel restrictions on 11 countries on Wednesday after recognizing a high rate of community transmission of the omicron variant in Britain.

U.K. Health Secretary Sajid Javid told Parliament on Tuesday that Britain would be removing 11 African countries from its COVID-19 "red list" at 4 a.m. on Wednesday because of how widespread the omicron variant has become in Britain and around the globe.

“Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the U.K. and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad,” Javid said, according to Reuters.

“We will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4 a.m. tomorrow morning,” he added.

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe will all be removed from the red list, according to the news wire.

Travelers planning to enter the U.K., however, will still be required to take a PCR or rapid COVID-19 test within 48 hours of departing for the country, according to Reuters.

The U.K. announced last month that it would restrict travel from a handful of countries after the highly mutated omicron variant was first detected in South Africa.

The U.S., among other nations, implemented similar travel restrictions in an effort to curb the spread of the new strain. Despite those actions, the variant has been reported in dozens of countries and U.S. states in recent weeks.

CDC adds Italy to travel warning list
Miami airport sets record for Thanksgiving holiday travel
The U.K. has recorded more than 4,700 omicron coronavirus cases, according to Reuters, with 10 of the infected people being hospitalized. At least one person in the U.K. has died after contracting the variant, British Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced on Monday.

Johnson is now deploying an increased push to encourage Britons to get their booster shots ahead of a “tidal wave of omicron.” On Sunday he said two doses of existing vaccines are not enough to protect against the new strain but that scientists are confident that a third jab will “bring our level of protection back up," echoing preliminary studies from Pfizer and BioNTech.

The prime minister added that the U.K. is “facing an emergency in our battle with the new variant, omicron.”
Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:02 pm
txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:48 pm African Cup of Nations postponement reports false - CAF

It was false from the get go. That was never in question. What is in question is the decision by Europe to preclude travel for players. CAF needs to stand firm and host the tournament. That should be non-negotiable given the current situation with Omicron and multiple options to negotiate. Even UK has lifted its earlier restrictions involving several African countries given newer reports on virility of the Omicron. In my view this is a test for CAF. We await to see if it passes the test and sends a necessary message.

I don't see the pan-Africanist warfare u claim here.
Most of this is based on speculation. Just from listening to several pressers, the clubs expect to release players, but do not yet know the specific dates, because these are often based on case by case negotiations...

We do not as yet know the current situation with omicron as it is still unfolding...

txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:15 pm

I don't see the pan-Africanist warfare u claim here.
Most of this is based on speculation. Just from listening to several pressers, the clubs expect to release players, but do not yet know the specific dates, because these are often based on case by case negotiations...

We do not as yet know the current situation with omicron as it is still unfolding...
Good. I was not expecting you to sense it. The point is AFCON should take place. Omicron is already in Britain and the UK has recognized this by lifting its earlier ban on African countries. CAF should not be in the business of postponing it based on Europe's pressure as long as CAF takes measures to protect players. Moreover, EPL and the rest of them are still on in the midst of Omicron spread in Europe.

txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:15 pm We do not as yet know the current situation with omicron as it is still unfolding...

Neither does anyone have a grip on the original Covid-19.
What with 'experts' having no unified agreement on vaccines, transmission, or immunity?
That some 'experts' can label Omicron less debilitating than it's precursor, while some
also want to make believe that Africa should be shut out of everything just because South Africa
announced finding the variant, should be suspect. The west usually reserve its fear for diseases
when its origin is African, but would temper European and USA scourges as just a fact of life that
should be managed while business goes on.

Let's not deceive ourselves, AFCON must hold and with proper precautions. This, just to prove to
the world that Africa can also operate under adverse circumstances.

joao wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:50 pm
txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:15 pm We do not as yet know the current situation with omicron as it is still unfolding...

What with 'experts' having no unified agreement on vaccines, transmission, or immunity?
That some 'experts' can label Omicron less debilitating than it's precursor, while some
also want to make believe that Africa should be shut out of everything just because South Africa
announced finding the variant, should be suspect. The west usually reserve its fear for diseases
when its origin is African, but would temper European and USA scourges as just a fact of life that

Let's not deceive ourselves, AFCON must hold and with proper precautions. This, just to prove to

There's is unanimity among scientists on covid for the most part.We know what we know, and we know what we don't know...

What you see as discordant is merely standard scientific process playing itself out in full view.

The data on omicron is emerging even as we speak, and systems are required to adapt as necessary.

There's nothing new about the precautionary public health measures. Its same as it was with delta and will be for any other variant of concern...

txj wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 7:27 pm
joao wrote: Wed Dec 15, 2021 6:50 pm

There's is unanimity among scientists on covid for the most part.We know what we know, and we know what we don't know...

What you see as discordant is merely standard scientific process playing itself out in full view.

The data on omicron is emerging even as we speak, and systems are required to adapt as necessary.

There's nothing new about the precautionary public health measures. Its same as it was with delta and will be for any other variant of concern...
Thanks for the response. While I don't want to derail this thread arguing about Covid, its variants,
and how the medical 'business' interests are trying to dictate the narrative of the virus, I will let things
rest and take you up on that subject elsewhere.

I still believe AFCON should hold if social and health conditions do not get more serious than currently is.
Again, thanks.

My show today on the AFCON and OMICRON Wahala.. TV

...I fear they gonna bribe AFCON leadership and come up with some silly excuse to cancel.

Premier League COVID-19 crisis: Clubs push for shutdown until 2022 - sources
https://www.espn.com/soccer/english-pre ... 22-sources

txj wrote: Thu Dec 16, 2021 8:40 pm Premier League COVID-19 crisis: Clubs push for shutdown until 2022 - sources
https://www.espn.com/soccer/english-pre ... 22-sources
:clap: let's see that happen as it is in epidemic proportion in the UK.

UK lifting COVID-19 travel restrictions on 11 African countries
BY MYCHAEL SCHNELL - 12/14/21 01:45 PM EST 52
https://thehill.com/policy/internationa ... -countries

The United Kingdom will lift COVID-19 travel restrictions on 11 countries on Wednesday after recognizing a high rate of community transmission of the omicron variant in Britain.

U.K. Health Secretary Sajid Javid told Parliament on Tuesday that Britain would be removing 11 African countries from its COVID-19 "red list" at 4 a.m. on Wednesday because of how widespread the omicron variant has become in Britain and around the globe.

“Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the U.K. and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad,” Javid said, according to Reuters.

“We will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4 a.m. tomorrow morning,” he added.

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe will all be removed from the red list, according to the news wire.

Travelers planning to enter the U.K., however, will still be required to take a PCR or rapid COVID-19 test within 48 hours of departing for the country, according to Reuters.

The U.K. announced last month that it would restrict travel from a handful of countries after the highly mutated omicron variant was first detected in South Africa.

The U.S., among other nations, implemented similar travel restrictions in an effort to curb the spread of the new strain. Despite those actions, the variant has been reported in dozens of countries and U.S. states in recent weeks.

CDC adds Italy to travel warning list
Miami airport sets record for Thanksgiving holiday travel
The U.K. has recorded more than 4,700 omicron coronavirus cases, according to Reuters, with 10 of the infected people being hospitalized. At least one person in the U.K. has died after contracting the variant, British Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced on Monday.

Johnson is now deploying an increased push to encourage Britons to get their booster shots ahead of a “tidal wave of omicron.” On Sunday he said two doses of existing vaccines are not enough to protect against the new strain but that scientists are confident that a third jab will “bring our level of protection back up," echoing preliminary studies from Pfizer and BioNTech.

The prime minister added that the U.K. is “facing an emergency in our battle with the new variant, omicron.”

I understand that you have a professional advocacy interest in pan Africanism, but its important to always deal with facts.

The reversal is based on changing circumstances as dictated by community transmission. Its most certainly not false, unless to someone who does not understand how public health policy and mgt works..