Is it time to QUESTION NFF's ability to hire the Right Guy?

Re: Is it time to QUESTION NFF's ability to hire the Right Guy?

Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 3:41 am
Orion wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:18 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 9:37 pm Oddity? Missing 2 Afcons is not an Oddity, it's a pattern..
Good point. But make that 3 in 4. We missed 3 AFCONs out of 4. A 25% success rate at qualifying during that period! Rohr has had a 100% success rate at qualifying.

Enugu II will ignore this pattern and harp on about the cup we won in 2013 (after 19 years) under an LC as if that justifies the high failure rate.
Okay if it is a pattern, please explain to me why the pattern was broken and Nigeria won the AFCON. Or was the win prior to 2011? If the pattern was of local coaches failing, how come a local coach then won within that period. Please explain. What really happened?
You can have a pattern of 25% success, or 75% failure. After all, even a broken clock can be right twice a day. Abi? :)

But to give Keshi credit, before the SE job, he had accumulated 7 years of experience and 4 coaching stints with other African national teams. He was well above the typical Nigerian LC. Amunike still has a long way to go to get to where Keshi was when he took the SE job - in case you want to bring his name up.

One blip of success does not mean we ignore the larger picture. The actual pattern is local coaches struggling to qualify for competitions (and relying on external results) or failing to qualify altogether.

CCC - 2006
Amodu - 2010 (we needed Tunisia to drop points in their last game. Our destiny was out of our hands)
Siasia - 2011
Keshi - 2015
Oliseh/Siasia 2017
Keshi had a successful stint between 2013 - 2014, and when we place it in the overall picture, that looks like the anomaly.

Contrast that to Rohr's tenure. We have never once required external results to go our way to qualify.

Orion wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:00 am
Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 3:41 am
Orion wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:18 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Nov 30, 2021 9:37 pm Oddity? Missing 2 Afcons is not an Oddity, it's a pattern..
Good point. But make that 3 in 4. We missed 3 AFCONs out of 4. A 25% success rate at qualifying during that period! Rohr has had a 100% success rate at qualifying.

Enugu II will ignore this pattern and harp on about the cup we won in 2013 (after 19 years) under an LC as if that justifies the high failure rate.
Okay if it is a pattern, please explain to me why the pattern was broken and Nigeria won the AFCON. Or was the win prior to 2011? If the pattern was of local coaches failing, how come a local coach then won within that period. Please explain. What really happened?
You can have a pattern of 25% success, or 75% failure. After all, even a broken clock can be right twice a day. Abi? :)

But to give Keshi credit, before the SE job, he had accumulated 7 years of experience and 4 coaching stints with other African national teams. He was well above the typical Nigerian LC. Amunike still has a long way to go to get to where Keshi was when he took the SE job - in case you want to bring his name up.

One blip of success does not mean we ignore the larger picture. The actual pattern is local coaches struggling to qualify for competitions (and relying on external results) or failing to qualify altogether.

CCC - 2006
Amodu - 2010 (we needed Tunisia to drop points in their last game. Our destiny was out of our hands)
Siasia - 2011
Keshi - 2015
Oliseh/Siasia 2017
Keshi had a successful stint between 2013 - 2014, and when we place it in the overall picture, that looks like the anomaly.

Contrast that to Rohr's tenure. We have never once required external results to go our way to qualify.
This is indisputably correct.
There still isn’t a Nigerian coach that has the kind of experience Keshi had. That cannot be taken away from him but it puts the onus on Nigerian coaches to step up their own credentials before aspiring to be SE coach.

No dog in the fight but just want to point out that based on the ANC qualification rules during ****’s tenure our previous failed qualifications would have been successful. The number of teams was increased and so best 2nd places would have also qualified. But I think context matters when trying to compare different qualifying series.

Orion wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:00 am Amodu - 2010 (we needed Tunisia to drop points in their last game. Our destiny was out of our hands)
WC qualification, YES. AfCon qualification, No.
The Confederation of African Football (CAF) section of the 2010 FIFA World Cup qualification saw teams compete for five berths in the final tournament in South Africa. The qualification stage doubled as the qualification stage for the 2010 African Cup of Nations, with fifteen teams qualifying for the finals held in Angola.

The 20 remaining sides were split into five groups of four. The draw for the groups took place on 22 October 2008 in Zürich, Switzerland.[15]

The five group winners qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, and were joined by the group runners-up and third-placed teams in qualifying for the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA ... tion_(CAF)