N'KONO: Cameroon was Mentally Tougher than Nigeria

Exclusive: Cameroon mentally tougher than Nigeria - N'Kono
https://www.pulse.ng/sports/football/ex ... no/4mzpdqs
Solace Chukwu
November 19, 2021 10:00 PM

Thomas Nkono believes Nigeria suffered for their relative lack of mental strength in epic Cameroon encounters
Former Cameroon goalkeeper Thomas N’Kono has put the Indomitable Lions’ hold over Nigeria in Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Finals down to superior mental preparation.

While at international level Nigeria has a strong head-to-head record against their neighbouring rivals, things are skewed in the favour of the five-time African champions when meetings at the continental showpiece are taken into account.

Cameroon have memorably pipped Nigeria to AFCON success on three different occasions at the Final stage, boasting wins in 1984, 1988 and 2000, the latter of which came at the National Stadium in Surulere.

N’Kono was a part of the 80s playing squads, and was also in Pierre Lechantre’s technical staff for the penalty shoot-out triumph in Lagos. He believes it was the Lions’ greater psychological fortitude that gave them the edge in crunch meetings with Nigeria.

“I’ve been very fortunate to play against Nigeria,” the Espanyol legend said. “We won great Finals against great players in the African Cup, playing against Nigeria. It’s true that it was many years ago.

“I was also fortunate to accompany the new generation of players who won the African Cup in Nigeria (in 2000). Obviously, these can be tense moments. We’re talking about a neighbouring country that also wants to win. It’s like a derby for us, and you know the atmosphere is tremendous.

“But it’s all about mentality. Each player has to use the best of their skills to win the match. Fortunately for us, we had very strong players in terms of their mindset, their mentality. Because these things can get to your head, they can really affect your mind. Mental preparation is very important, and if you are well prepared in that respect you can play against anyone and beat them anywhere in the world.”

Since his retirement in the late 1990s. N’Kono has been a goalkeeping coach at Espanyol, the club for whom he first played in Europe and with whom he amassed close to 300 La Liga appearances.

His time in Spain has taken in football’s last great evolution, as the Iberian nation has been at the forefront of tactical development in Europe and the world. La Roja won three straight international tournaments between 2008 and 2012, with their possession-based style greatly influencing the direction of football in the last two decades.

Amidst all of this, African football has found itself largely left behind internationally. Since Cameroon thrilled and danced their way to the quarter final at the 1990 World Cup, there has been no quantum leap forward for the continent, despite Senegal and Ghana reaching the same stage in 2002 and 2010 respectively.

Having been in a unique position to witness it all, the 65-year-old believes there is one hurdle the continent must overcome in order to remain relevant at the highest level of football.

“I think there is one very important aspect that we have to highlight, and that is organisation,” N’Kono said. “Until Africa is able to organise football better, it’s going to be difficult.

“In my opinion, there are certain shortcomings in terms of organisation, particularly travel, the provision of hotel accommodation. Young players don't benefit from the same organisation in Africa as they do when they come to Europe, and that is a very important handicap in my opinion.

“Then we can also question and consider the preparation for each match in training. If Africa wants to develop further and try to win, or get close to winning a title, very similar to what Cameroon did in the team I played in, then we really need that organisation, there is no other option. Because otherwise Africa will always be behind.”

There has been a groundswell of criticism against the shortlist for the FIFA Ballon D’Or following the exclusion of Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy.

The Senegal international was instrumental to the Blues’ run to Champions League glory in 2020/21, keeping a record number of clean sheets (nine) to usher Thomas Tuchel’s side to glory.

His exclusion follows a general theme of underappreciation around goalkeepers in football, and has led to calls for a separate award for the net-minders going forward.

It is an opinion to which N’Kono is sympathetic. “Unfortunately, it’s always been the case that goalkeepers have largely been ignored,” he said. “But I think people are becoming more and more aware of the importance of goalkeepers and their role.

“We have to remember that, in my opinion, the most demanding position on the pitch today is that of a goalkeeper. I'm sure that organisations like FIFA that arrange these kinds of awards will probably create one to compensate goalkeepers and recognise their performance, to acknowledge the best goalkeeper.

“We always end up just recognising strikers, the ones who score goals. What about the ones who prevent goals being scored, which is perhaps more important in being able to win a match?”

N’Kono’s Espanyol will, this weekend, come up against city rivals Barcelona in La Liga action at Camp Nou.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: N'KONO: Cameroon was Mentally Tougher than Nigeria

Do Uncle Sege writing rubbish now was out to lunch in his hey days v Cameroun. :laugh:

Stupid to suggest the 2000 team wasn't mentally tough, didn't they comeback from two goals down to send the game into extra time?

...mental toughness to the end, including the pk shootouts.
It ain't over until the fat lady sings.
So he's right.

How about their Dad Hayatou pulling strings?

mcal wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 6:36 am ...mental toughness to the end, including the pk shootouts.
It ain't over until the fat lady sings.
So he's right.
Absolutely.
Nothing better illustrates this than the England vs Germany penalty shoot-outs.
England lose virtually every time.

You guys seem to forget the disallowed Ikpeba goal actually happened. People have very short memories

DIMKA76 wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:38 am You guys seem to forget the disallowed Ikpeba goal actually happened. People have very short memories
Thank you! Also, remember the clear goal that was disallowed for no reason in the 88 Afcon .

gochino wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 11:23 am
DIMKA76 wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:38 am You guys seem to forget the disallowed Ikpeba goal actually happened. People have very short memories
Thank you! Also, remember the clear goal that was disallowed for no reason in the 88 Afcon .
...of course before VAR many clear goals were disallowed. Granted the lineman standing there was not doing his job, could have seen it was a goal.

That one was even worse because Cameron were outplayed.

DIMKA76 wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 8:18 am How about their Dad Hayatou pulling strings?
You hit the nail on the head. Mental ko mental ni :mad:.

Issa Hayatou

DIMKA76 wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 8:18 am How about their Dad Hayatou pulling strings?
It seems the Cameroonians, and indeed some people here forgot about the 'Hayatou influence.'

Hayotou influence was the biggest myth ever in Afcon; Cameroon being tougher isn’t all that far fetched. Are Mexicans not tougher than Americans ?
When you come from a relatively hash environment than your opponent you better be tough

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

mcal wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:14 pm
...of course before VAR many clear goals were disallowed. Granted the lineman standing there was not doing his job, could have seen it was a goal.
By the way the penalty Ikeba(sp) missed was not a clear penalty. Even from Victor's reaction, you could tell it was not clear. From all the other players reaction, you could tell it was not clear. It wasn't until people saw the replay before they knew it was the ball actually went in.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Most Nigerian teams of the past and definitely the team of today are mentally weak! This is a fact! Look at many games we lost in the 90s and 2000s and it was due to complete mental breakdown. The last time I can say we were actually mentally strong as a team was in Atlanta 96.

There are several ways to build mental toughness. There are 3 ways Nigeria has lacked. One of them is the physical and emotional preparation for games. For years, we hear that our players go out at night and fook every thing that moves. They are doig sex parties and going to drink here and there. You also have players who leave camp to go to village to visit their family and attend village meetings. You have players who come to Nigeria and their first stop is glover court to buy suya nand they order nkwobi to their rooms. compare that to Cristiano Ronaldo! A man who knows that his body is his temple and does not permit anything into his body. His nutrition is top priority, his sun bathing, his afternoon naps, what he drinks, where he goes.. etc etc and then you realize why such a man can have such ridiculous mental strength.

Second way is physical fitness. Most of our players are not fit. Look at Bayern players for example! guys like Lewandowski, Davies and Goretszka. These guys built their physical shape up and became machines! through their physical transformation, they transformed mentally and go into games believing that there was no competition. Here, we have players like Iwobi who cannot last longer than 60 minutes-- which means that for every game Iwobi starts for Nigeria, we lose one substitution. You know that there are multiple players on the pitch who cannot last the full game, which already affects your mental preparation-- because in essence you are admitting that there are players who cannot compete with the opponent until the end of the game.

More importantly, over the last 5 years we have had a coach who has specifically told the team that they cannot win and they need to continue to learn forever, and you think you can build mental toughness like that?? We have seen our team morph into Arsenal and Tottenham and people are here still supporting that cretin of a coach? :curse: :curse:
Last edited by danfo driver on Fri Dec 03, 2021 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

And then you have Nigerians with their weak loser mentality who would rather look outward, than look within. Look at this thread and see people still spouting that fabu about "Hayatou" this and that! And people still thinking about "penalty!' Rather than look inward and look at where you had gaps and how you can fill those gaps to improve. SMH! :oops:

danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 4:57 pm Most Nigerian teams of the past and definitely the team of today are mentally weak! This is a fact! Look at many games we lost in the 90s and 2000s and it was due to complete mental breakdown. The last time I can say we were actually mentally strong as a team was in Atlanta 96.

There are several ways to build mental toughness. There are 3 ways Nigeria has lacked. One of them is the physical and emotional preparation for games. For years, we hear that our players go out at night and fook every thing that moves. They are doig sex parties and going to drink here and there. You also have players who leave camp to go to village to visit their family and attend village meetings. You have players who come to Nigeria and their first stop is glover court to buy suya nand they order nkwobi to their rooms. compare that to Cristiano Ronaldo! A man who knows that his body is his temple and does not permit anything into his body. His nutrition is top priority, his sun bathing, his afternoon naps, what he drinks, where he goes.. etc etc and then you realize why such a man can have such ridiculous mental strength.

Second way is physical fitness. Most of our players are not fit. Look at Bayern players for example! guys like Lewandowski, Davies and Goretszka. These guys built their physical shape up and became machines! through their physical transformation, they transformed mentally and go into games believing that there was no competition. Here, we have players like Iwobi who cannot last longer than 60 minutes-- which means that for every game Iwobi starts for Nigeria, we lose one substitution. You know that there are multiple players on the pitch who cannot last the full game, which already affects your mental preparation-- because in essence you are admitting that there are players who cannot compete with the opponent until the end of the game.

More importantly, over the last 5 years we have had a coach who has specifically told the team that they cannot win and they need to continue to learn forever, and you think you can build mental toughness like that?? We have seen our team morph into Arsenal and Tottenham and people are here still supporting that cretin of a coach? :curse: :curse:
:clap: :clap: :clap: Keep preaching bro... keep preaching.
The natives can't continue to use ignorance as an excuse.

It is from following American Football that I realized that winning is not accidental. Everyone wants to win... but few put in the work and the sacrifice to make their 'want' a reality.

The discipline required is on another level.

At that level, everyone has 'talent' so to speak.

It was only of recent that the EPL that people love watching and rooting for begone to see that you have to put in the work. It came from introducing coaches who didn't want any of that. The boozing, careless eating, womanizing, reckless lifestyle doesn't lend itself to competing at a high level for a long time.

bamenda boy wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 4:42 pm
By the way the penalty Ikeba(sp) missed was not a clear penalty. Even from Victor's reaction, you could tell it was not clear. From all the other players reaction, you could tell it was not clear. It wasn't until people saw the replay before they knew it was the ball actually went in.
...of course it was not clear to him and the players on the field that ball crossed the line, at that time until they saw the replay like many of us.
The only person on the field charged with watching is the line man, he failed at that.

mcal wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 7:23 pm
...of course it was not clear to him and the players on the field that ball crossed the line, at that time until they saw the replay like many of us.
The only person on the field charged with watching is the line man, he failed at that.
Have you considered the fact that may be the linesman missed it like everyone else?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 4:26 am
Have you considered the fact that may be the linesman missed it like everyone else?
...yes he missed it because he was not doing the job he was positioned on the line to do.

bamenda boy wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 4:26 am
But he is not everyone else. Instead, everyone else relied on him.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

If you asked the Nigerian players of the 80s who they don’t fancy playing against, majority will say Cameroon. They were tough to beat and almost physically stronger than our players. I believe Oloye said something similar in the past.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."