SE Coach Update

Re: SE Coach Update

Let's talk straight Rohr wont be coach of Nigeria today if he had same record and he was a black man Nigerian from Kano or Asa a or Ajengule. Let's stop given ourselves headache about Rohr. He is gone. There is no way he continues after been told to quit The players that don't like him already will have wings to missbehave. The fans will turn uo the pressure. The media circus. The opposition teams mocking Nigeria. Rohr is already gone. The NFf will question the motivation or decisions of a lame duck coach. Fans will question his decisions. Why would he want to stay on?. He is already guaranteed his money after the NFF Breachsd his contract. What sort of man won't step aside?

Cellular wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 5:21 pm
Purity wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 4:41 pm According to Shina Okeleji of the BBC:

NFF boss met Sports Minister to discuss Gernot Rohr's future. Rohr wants his money+4 months’ wages, WCQ2022 playoff & AFCON 2021Q bonus.

Ex-Serbia Mladen Krstajić - one of several options, according to a top official.

Jo Bonfrere, 75, HAS NOT applied.
Or else what?

He will continue to coach them for free while being owed?
The issue here that ppl like Emir does not understand is that anyone that wastes Nigeria’s money….wastes OUR money…..

Teach this bagas as if NFF belongs to the chairman and co…

It belongs to ALL OF US……

Second issue, why is Rohr so eager to coach for “free”….? This guy is owed still….he wants to continue to coach for free…..

Are we really this stupid?

danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 6:39 pm In America (and most civilized world), if you dont take your yearly vacation, they will issue a probe on your department to assess whether there is something you are hiding. Firms do this privately--i know this for a fact!

Here, you have a man who has been humiliated and fired and he is refusing to leave and the natives are clapping! :rotf: :rotf: instead of them to ask the vital questions, why are you holding on so tight?? what is so special about Nigeria that you do not want to leave. What are you hiding? They didnt have to tell Oliseh twice, he packed his bags and walked! That is a man with integrity. Here, this one is holding on and even threatening us that he will spend his own money to serve us for the rest of his life. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Are we not concerned that there is something this fellow does not want us to uncover, when he is gone???
When was he fired :dream: ...

The ball is squarely in the NFFs court and they know what they need to do. They are the ones that have turned this into a media circus by not taking decisive action and issuing a public statement clarifying their position. We have muppets running the FA, everyone just talking from the side of their mouths.

Bottomline, if the view is that Rohr is not up to the job, let him prosecute the nations cup and fire him if he doesn't make the finals (at least even Rohr will accept that). In the meantime, they can invite the replacement as a guest to sit and watch the SE during the ANC, who can then decide on wether to join if we don't make the finals. At least that way he gets a feel of the team and what to improve.

No Rohr shouldn't be allowed to coach another game for Nigeria. Nigeria need to use Afcon to prepare the team for world cup qualifiers.

kawawa wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:15 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 8:50 pm
kawawa wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 8:34 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Dec 03, 2021 6:39 pm In America (and most civilized world), if you dont take your yearly vacation, they will issue a probe on your department to assess whether there is something you are hiding. Firms do this privately--i know this for a fact!

Here, you have a man who has been humiliated and fired and he is refusing to leave and the natives are clapping! :rotf: :rotf: instead of them to ask the vital questions, why are you holding on so tight?? what is so special about Nigeria that you do not want to leave. What are you hiding? They didnt have to tell Oliseh twice, he packed his bags and walked! That is a man with integrity. Here, this one is holding on and even threatening us that he will spend his own money to serve us for the rest of his life. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Are we not concerned that there is something this fellow does not want us to uncover, when he is gone???
There is a bit of a spin your logic. They hired him and they can fire him true. They just can’t do it without paying what they owe him. No one in America can do that. I would not. Coaches are fired all the time most with severance packages but we are talking about work already done! Most here would not leave a penny on the table let alone the kind of money he is owed. The NFF is downright incompetent. They cannot get rid of someone because they could not meet the basic requirements of an employment. Pay for work done and people are talking of getting a world class coach. Would any of you work for these guys?
Bro, that is NOT how it works! They can fire him anytime they want to and in fact, if its true that they dont have money to pay him, then its actually in their best interest to fire him in order to limit the "damages." :rotf: :rotf: In the America you mentioned, this is how it will work! You fire the person and then reach an agreement with them on severance. You can pay them in installments. Afterall, in Europe thats how they do it. People rarely pay the coach completely! they pay them over a period of time.

in a place like Nigeria, its even easier! They can sack him and invite him to a negotiation which they can drag on for a long time. He has one of two recourse (1) the court of arbitration for sports -- with covid, his case will take a while to get called; and (2) a court in Nigeria -- since that is the jurisdiction that governs the employment relationship. And we know a court in Nigeria will not sit to hear his case for the next 1 year or so.

The honest truth which you guys are too afraid to contemplate and accept is that the NFF does NOT want to get rid of ****! :rotf: :rotf: They need him and they want him! He is the guy who does it for them! He is the reason they are able to reduce the Eagles to a sh1t worthless team and benefit financially from it. They cant take that chance! They cant take that chance to bring in a serious man like Oliseh who will not allow them to share agent fees on players heads! They cant take the chance to bring in a coach who will not allow them to schedule nonsense friendlies that line their pockets. Una never jam! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: When the elephant fight, it is us fans who will weep and be shamed with shameless performances. It is us, who will feel hurt, who will cry and who will be mocked by our opponents. The NFF will move on to their next pocket lining fiesta -- the world cup qualifiers! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Which America are you talking about. Have you ever owed anyone months of end of salary, who theoretical has met contractual obligations and then fire them. Sure you can ease then out and renegotiate terms but not this way. Rohr will go but obviously he has NFF over a barrel. A public humiliation that mounts by the day is added bonus to the money he will surely get. They need to pay him. I wonder where they get the money for the great new world class coach :biggrin: :biggrin:
...no mind this bolikaja driver.
In America one has to have committed an egregious offense, on his job or outside, to be fire any time.
Contracts are obey and followed.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:45 pm No Rohr shouldn't be allowed to coach another game for Nigeria. Nigeria need to use Afcon to prepare the team for world cup qualifiers.
...yep, they already dragged the old man thru their dirty mud, insulting whatever reputation he has as coach. If he coaches at AFCON I doubt he gives a damn if we win or not.

mcal wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:49 pm
In America one has to have committed an egregious offense, on his job or outside, to be fire any time.
Contracts are obey and followed.
You are continuing embarrassing your life. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: in your beloved "America" most employment is 'at will'. :lol: :lol: and where there is a contract, there are clauses for early termination, which exclude "egregious offense" --whatever the fook that is, since you have not defined it. And even where anyone is stupid enough to create an absolute contract, which rarely happens - you can break a contract and pay the contract penalty in installments, as they do in Europe all the time.

You want to be a lawyer, go to law school like your age mates. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I am smarter than you, not just on this subject matter, but in life. Continue embarrassing yourself. :lol:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Dec 04, 2021 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

There is a bit of a spin your logic. They hired him and they can fire him true. They just can’t do it without paying what they owe him. No one in America can do that. I would not. Coaches are fired all the time most with severance packages but we are talking about work already done! Most here would not leave a penny on the table let alone the kind of money he is owed. The NFF is downright incompetent. They cannot get rid of someone because they could not meet the basic requirements of an employment. Pay for work done and people are talking of getting a world class coach. Would any of you work for these guys?
Bro, that is NOT how it works! They can fire him anytime they want to and in fact, if its true that they dont have money to pay him, then its actually in their best interest to fire him in order to limit the "damages." :rotf: :rotf: In the America you mentioned, this is how it will work! You fire the person and then reach an agreement with them on severance. You can pay them in installments. Afterall, in Europe thats how they do it. People rarely pay the coach completely! they pay them over a period of time.

in a place like Nigeria, its even easier! They can sack him and invite him to a negotiation which they can drag on for a long time. He has one of two recourse (1) the court of arbitration for sports -- with covid, his case will take a while to get called; and (2) a court in Nigeria -- since that is the jurisdiction that governs the employment relationship. And we know a court in Nigeria will not sit to hear his case for the next 1 year or so.

The honest truth which you guys are too afraid to contemplate and accept is that the NFF does NOT want to get rid of ****! :rotf: :rotf: They need him and they want him! He is the guy who does it for them! He is the reason they are able to reduce the Eagles to a sh1t worthless team and benefit financially from it. They cant take that chance! They cant take that chance to bring in a serious man like Oliseh who will not allow them to share agent fees on players heads! They cant take the chance to bring in a coach who will not allow them to schedule nonsense friendlies that line their pockets. Una never jam! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: When the elephant fight, it is us fans who will weep and be shamed with shameless performances. It is us, who will feel hurt, who will cry and who will be mocked by our opponents. The NFF will move on to their next pocket lining fiesta -- the world cup qualifiers! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Which America are you talking about. Have you ever owed anyone months of end of salary, who theoretical has met contractual obligations and then fire them. Sure you can ease then out and renegotiate terms but not this way. Rohr will go but obviously he has NFF over a barrel. A public humiliation that mounts by the day is added bonus to the money he will surely get. They need to pay him. I wonder where they get the money for the great new world class coach :biggrin: :biggrin:
your comments do not make much sense and doesnt even relate to my own comments. I cant help you with a response. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Dec 04, 2021 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

He has yet to be officially terminated, so he is still the coach (at least, as of Dec 04, 2021).
If the Minister decides to stop him, that will be deemed governmental interference and Nigeria might be suspended.
Rohr has, in his capacity as the coach of the Nigerian MNT, has submitted his list of 40 players and is preparing to coach the team at AFCON.
The ball is in the court of the NFF.
ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:45 pm No Rohr shouldn't be allowed to coach another game for Nigeria. Nigeria need to use Afcon to prepare the team for world cup qualifiers.

Too many pretending to be in the know. Much posturing with no action taken. All bark, with no bite.

Drama!, ...Drama!!, ...Drama!!!

Look at another JJC! Who did you think asked him to sumbit his 40 man list? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Otitokoro wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 8:35 pm He has yet to be officially terminated, so he is still the coach (at least, as of Dec 04, 2021).
If the Minister decides to stop him, that will be deemed governmental interference and Nigeria might be suspended.
Rohr has, in his capacity as the coach of the Nigerian MNT, has submitted his list of 40 players and is preparing to coach the team at AFCON.

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 8:35 pm He has yet to be officially terminated, so he is still the coach (at least, as of Dec 04, 2021).
Abi o, na so we see am. On top of that they have his account number and phone number. A bank alert for the $ owed will solve this problem Kia Kia wit alacrity. He won't even have to take a covid test to return to Germany.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 7:57 pm

your comments doesnt make much sense and doesnt even relate to my own comments. I cant help you with a response. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Dude you are arguing from both sides of your mouth. Yes, employment is at “ will” but you don’t owe someone for months and then decide you will fire them at “ will”. Not in corporate America. You do that and it will cost you and your HR folks will tell you how financially painful it is if you don’t pay for months of work already done before that “at will” termination.
I am no lawyer but I have signed of on a few hefty contracts in my life.
No one is saying NFF cannot fire Rohr, I said so above but there is a reason why the NFF has not fired him ( to my knowledge). Despite this you are saying Rohr should just pack up and go and leave over 600k on the table. Would you? He actually has lawyers with a couple of brain cells who are hopefully negotiating an exit which should rightfully include what he is owed and what is breached. Imagine if you can get out of paying your employee more than half a year of owed salary by saying your employment is “ at will”, so just fire them. Isn’t this what you are proposing ? NFF may be incompetent but I would assume they know a bit more of employment law than you. Pay the man and then fire him.

TBH, I do not even think this is the crux of the issue.

Rohr can be fired now and damn the consequences.

There will be nothing like FIFA suspension on that. It has happened many times over and never a FIFA suspension as long as the NFF supports it. Is the NFF not in support of a sack?

Let's call a spade a spade. The hang up is about Pinnick himself and his calculation of his future in FIFA politics. He does not want to attract FIFA's ire. It is just that simple.

The reality is that all FIFA will do is be pissed off and then deduct Rohr's wages from Nigeria's WC earnings. That has been the process in previous cases in situations like this. The larger downside is that Pinnick's standing in FIFA politics will sustain a huge hit. That is the coco of the matter.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Dec 05, 2021 12:55 am, edited 3 times in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Rohr reports himself that the NFF asked him quit. Yet wine still think is still the head coach hanging onto technicalities :sneaky: i. lol.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 10:55 pm

There will be nothing like FIFA suspension on that. It has happened many times over and never a FIFA suspension as long as the NFF supports it. Is the NFF not in support of a sack?

Let's call a spade a spade. The hang up is about Pinnick himself and his calculation of his future in FIFA politics. He does not want to attract FIFA's ire. It is just that simple.

The reality is that all FIFA will do is be pissed off and then deduct Rohr's wages from Nigeria's WC earnings. That has been the process in previous cases in situations like this. The larger downside is that Pinnick's standing in FIFA politics will sustain a huge hit. That is the coco of the matter.

Prof, you are wrong. Nowadays you get suspended or thrown out of competitions. Check why Zimbabwe were disqualified from the 2018 World Cup qualifiers, it was because they fired their coach & couldn't pay him off. THIS IS THE MAIN REASON FOR THE CURRENT DEBACLE, not Pinnick's ambitions.

Adisboy wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 10:57 am
Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 10:55 pm

Prof, you are wrong. Nowadays you get suspended or thrown out of competitions. Check why Zimbabwe were disqualified from the 2018 World Cup qualifiers, it was because they fired their coach & couldn't pay him off. THIS IS THE MAIN REASON FOR THE CURRENT DEBACLE, not Pinnick's ambitions.

Please post the story to support your view.

As far as I am aware, you are citing an incidence that took place almost a decade ago and it took FIFA atleast 3 years after a judgment against ZIFA and ZiFA unable to act before FIFA used a last ditch solution.

In fact that issue, among others, is what has now led to FIFA deducting money from its subventons to FAs.

However, if you recall otherwise, it will be helpful to post a story supporting your view.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Is the meeting over yet? :laugh:

The question we have failed to ask is why is Rohr still keeping himself in a job?

This people have not paid you….

The players don’t like you

The supporters don’t want you….

The employers don’t want you……

…..what kind do a man with no shame will remain at the job …….?

Enyi wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 5:39 pm The question we have failed to ask is why is Rohr still keeping himself in a job?

To get his money! He's obviously dealing with an insolvent NFF with a long record of not paying when due and they have little integrity. He's in Germany chilling. They should pay him and its over.

Enyi wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 5:39 pm The question we have failed to ask is why is Rohr still keeping himself in a job?

One who honors a contract, abi is that a foreign concept in Naija? So he should live his life based on ‘feelings’? He is not in breach of his contract, NFF are by not paying him, if they want to terminate the contract they know what they need to do and haven’t so why should **** bear any blame here? I really don’t get this kind of mindset. He’s done nothing wrong as far as his contract dictates, if you want to get rid of him you follow the terms of your AGREEMENT!

maceo4 wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 7:42 pm

One who honors a contract, abi is that a foreign concept in Naija? So he should live his life based on ‘feelings’? He is not in breach of his contract, NFF are by not paying him, if they want to terminate the contract they know what they need to do and haven’t so why should **** bear any blame here? I really don’t get this kind of mindset. He’s done nothing wrong as far as his contract dictates, if you want to get rid of him you follow the terms of your AGREEMENT!
Exactly, I want Rohr gone as the guy next door as I believe the man is crap, but he has every right to demand every bit of what he is owed, I'm sure Rohr doesn't give a sh*t if he is liked by anyone or not...the man just wants his money so he can leave. This is business not a match-making dating app for catching feelings

maceo4 wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 7:42 pm

At least ONE anti-Rohr commentator completely gets it.
I have to appreciate you for laying out the situation here without bias, despite your personal feelings.

I really can't understand why grown intelligent men are allowing their hormones to dictate their perspective.
Rohr has now become "shameless", a fraudster "probably on the take" and everything else in-between simply because he hasn't stormed off in anger and gone crying to FIFA. :rotf:

Our people get problem.