Chief Tactician Eguavoen

Re: Chief Tactician Eguavoen

My favorite part of the video was his recognition of "inexperience" and "naïveté.' Been a huge killer for African countries.

Damunk wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:45 pm
highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:13 pm This is our articulate brother explaining Nigeria's tactics. It's criminal we even spent that money to the Oyimbo dinosaur.

Wow.
This was awesome.
I could watch it for hours.

S.I.T.
Speed. Intelligence. Technique.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Interesting, indeed. Explanation very well presented. :clap: :clap: :clap:

And yes, Ndidi is "holding back." Unfortunately, he has played with mostly coaches who are shortsighted and who are selfish. Ndidi is someone, if given the platform, can do so much more with the ball. He used to have fantastic long shots, but his coaches are afraid and do not want him to get out of position. Hopefully, now having a coach who believes he can do more, will help him.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 3:02 am And yes, Ndidi is "holding back." Unfortunately, he has played with mostly coaches who are shortsighted and who are selfish. Ndidi is someone, if given the platform, can do so much more with the ball. He used to have fantastic long shots, but his coaches are afraid and do not want him to get out of position. Hopefully, now having a coach who believes he can do more, will help him.
Dummy! Here you are again opening your a**hole for all to see how USELESS you are. It is said Ndidi is holding back, not only did you quickly agreed, but already knew his coaches are 'shortsighted and selfish?' Wow, Mr. 'Know it all.' :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: No wonder you know what is happening in the UK and in America :lol: :lol: :lol:

highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:38 pm
txj wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:50 pm
highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:13 pm This is our articulate brother explaining Nigeria's tactics. It's criminal we even spent that money to the Oyimbo dinosaur

He's not said anything really, except give a history of the SE from the 80s.

You do remember he's coached the NT in a tournament...
Typical bad mind person
:lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Chei!

Odas wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 3:18 am
danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 3:02 am And yes, Ndidi is "holding back." Unfortunately, he has played with mostly coaches who are shortsighted and who are selfish. Ndidi is someone, if given the platform, can do so much more with the ball. He used to have fantastic long shots, but his coaches are afraid and do not want him to get out of position. Hopefully, now having a coach who believes he can do more, will help him.
Dummy! Here you are again opening your a**hole for all to see how USELESS you are. It is said Ndidi is holding back, not only did you quickly agreed, but already knew his coaches are 'shortsighted and selfish?' Wow, Mr. 'Know it all.' :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: No wonder you know what is happening in the UK and in America :lol: :lol: :lol:
See finishing :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Wicked!

Beautiful stuff

I enjoyed that. Glad to see he is a fan of Ejuke and Chuks. I feel more confident about things now. The fact that he is working with Yusuf and has been technical director is good, because it's not like he is really starting from scratch. Can't wait to see the new SE.

Wow, best technical analysis I have heard from a Nigerian coach! So we have someone like this and we employed someone that took us to the world cup to learn about football from other players?Why not give this guy a longterm contract, he has a clear philosophy that doesn't contrast with the Nigerian style, unlike Rohr. The interesting thing is that we can even replicate this 94 strategy as we have similar players in almost every position.

Spot on! He needs to watch some highlights of Oliseh. He reminds me of Mikel at Chelsea, so talented but content with doing the very basic stuff.

gochino wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 8:58 am Wow, best technical analysis I have heard from a Nigerian coach! So we have someone like this and we employed someone that took us to the world cup to learn about football from other players?Why not give this guy a longterm contract, he has a clear philosophy that doesn't contrast with the Nigerian style, unlike Rohr. The interesting thing is that we can even replicate this 94 strategy as we have similar players in almost every position.
Like someone already said, the real test is how it translates onto the pitch.
Impressive as it is, I can already see how Nigerians could turn this beautiful presentation into a source of mockery should things not work out.
We pray it does not happen. Good luck Eguavon. :thumb:

Lovely film. The guy holds your attention. Enjoyable.
Definitely looks like Ejuke is in for a bigger role and Ndidi will be asked to do more.
And generally we’ll be a more attacking team.
Interesting times.

Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:08 am
gochino wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 8:58 am Wow, best technical analysis I have heard from a Nigerian coach! So we have someone like this and we employed someone that took us to the world cup to learn about football from other players?Why not give this guy a longterm contract, he has a clear philosophy that doesn't contrast with the Nigerian style, unlike Rohr. The interesting thing is that we can even replicate this 94 strategy as we have similar players in almost every position.
Impressive as it is, I can already see how Nigerians could turn this beautiful presentation into a source of mockery should things not work out.
Just like Lagerback and his powerpoint lol....We actually have a very talented squad and all that is required is the right soft skills to manage these guys, and from the presentation, I think he has this. For example, he actually criticized Chukwueze, Nacho and Ndidi without bringing them down and comparing them to better players like Mane, Salah or Mahrez (Remember Rohr's Interview?) also he indirectly insinuates that Ejuke could be an intergral part of his squad if he works hard.

gochino wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:49 am
Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:08 am
Just like Lagerback and his powerpoint lol....We actually have a very talented squad and all that is required is the right soft skills to manage these guys, and from the presentation, I think he has this. For example, he actually criticized Chukwueze, Nacho and Ndidi without bringing them down and comparing them to better players like Mane, Salah or Mahrez (Remember Rohr's Interview?) also he indirectly insinuates that Ejuke could be an intergral part of his squad if he works hard.
Exactly my thoughts! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

But seriously, it is very reassuring to hear him speak of the players the way he did.
I’ve got great belief in Ejuke and a few months ago I started a thread on him taking on a new SE role and responsibility:
Ejuke: That Thing You Dey Find Go Sokoto…

Coach Eguavon seems to be considering the same thing too. :thumb:

Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 1:52 am Are you being serious?
It was a history lesson and a rare insight from an insider into playing strategies of teams past.
It was a confession of the error he made in that heartbreaking Cannigia goal vs Argentina in ‘94.
It was a preview into his plans for the current SE and how he views some of our current players.
All this for the very first time.
And you call it rubbish.
Okay nah.
We await Yobo’s own. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
1naija wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 12:16 am This is a lot of bullshait.

Most of those teams he is mesmerizing us with on the draft board never qualified for the World cup. The ones that qualified only managed to get out of the first round only to crash out in the first game of the knockout stages. We've played in over 30 ANC tournaments with only 3 titles to show for all the superior tactics and quality we supposedly had. This is just nonsense.
highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:13 pm This is our articulate brother explaining Nigeria's tactics. It's criminal we even spent that money to the Oyimbo dinosaur.

Wow.
This was awesome.

S.I.T.

Its really nothing that has not been said here for years, that is being passed on as a rare tactical insight.

Its nothing new, but its not Egu's fault. It was up to the journo to ask the proper questions that would draw out his thinking of the game, HOW he has applied it, etc

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:38 pm
txj wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:50 pm
highbury wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:13 pm This is our articulate brother explaining Nigeria's tactics. It's criminal we even spent that money to the Oyimbo dinosaur

He's not said anything really, except give a history of the SE from the 80s.

You do remember he's coached the NT in a tournament...
Typical bad mind person

You don't know me personally. I just gave my views on what Egu said, which is nothing new and has been rehashed here over and over again for years...
Last edited by txj on Mon Dec 20, 2021 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
kendo
VIDEO:Eguavoen talks about Nigeria's Football Philosophy

Post by kendo »

Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.
Re: VIDEO:Eguavoen talks about Nigeria's Football Philosophy

This thread gives me de ja vu…
Re: VIDEO:Eguavoen talks about Nigeria's Football Philosophy

maceo4 wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 4:25 pm This thread gives me de ja vu…
OJI

Post by OJI »

There are a lot of things unspoken in Eguavoen's analysis.

He doesn't even refer to or analyse the 2010 team in which he was the coach. Selective amnesia?

His analysis is directly contradictory to what Rohr presented over the past 5+ years. Yet Eguavoen was part of the Technical review committee, and yet kept silent.

He analyses Westerhoff's WC 94 tactics, formation, and player selection. Obviously, he believes that was Nigeria's greatest assemblage of players at the right time for the right occasion. I have spoken to other players in that 94 squad, and they all know they narrowly missed creating history. "Bulgaria wey we beat reach semi final. Italy wey narrowly escape reach final! ".
Based on that belief, Eguavoen believes his/a team can reach, excel , and execute grand ambitions. All I am going to say is "e no go beta for Rohr".
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 1:52 am Are you being serious?
It was a history lesson and a rare insight from an insider into playing strategies of teams past.
It was a confession of the error he made in that heartbreaking Cannigia goal vs Argentina in ‘94.
It was a preview into his plans for the current SE and how he views some of our current players.
All this for the very first time.
And you call it rubbish.
Okay nah.
We await Yobo’s own. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
1naija wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 12:16 am This is a lot of bullshait.

Most of those teams he is mesmerizing us with on the draft board never qualified for the World cup. The ones that qualified only managed to get out of the first round only to crash out in the first game of the knockout stages. We've played in over 30 ANC tournaments with only 3 titles to show for all the superior tactics and quality we supposedly had. This is just nonsense.

Wow.
This was awesome.

S.I.T.
Who sai? You go wait tire. I no sure say dat man dey speak English.

One of the frustrating things about Rohr was his penchant for under- selling his own team and respecting the opponents too much even if they were CAR.

Obong wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 5:37 pm One of the frustrating things about Rohr was his penchant for under- selling his own team and respecting the opponents too much even if they were CAR.
"perhaps he would have won the AFCON!" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: