Eguavoen's record in competitive games with Nigeria

megapro
Eguavoen's record in competitive games with Nigeria

Post by megapro »

Augustine Eguavoen

Eguavoen's record in competitive games with Nigeria (Senior team)

1. Algeria 5:2
2. Zimbabwe 5:1
3. Ghana 1:0
4. Zimbabwe 2:1
5. Senegal 2:1
6. Tunisia 1:1 * (6:5)
7. CIV 0:1
8. Senegal 1:0
9. Niger 2:0
10. Lesotho 1:0
11. Madagascar 2:0
12. Guinea 0:1

P12 W9 D1 L2
* = PK win

Country Hounours
2006 ANC Bronze

Club Honours
2009 (Ngr) FA cup: Enyimba

(Age grade games with Nigeria (U17)

1. Cameroon 1:0
2. Gambia 1:0
3. Ethiopia 4:0
4. Sierra Leone 0:1
5. Cameroon 3:1
6. Costa Rica 1:1
7. Australia 2:1
8. Argentina 0:2

P8 W5 D1 L2

(Age grade games with Nigeria (U23)

1. Equatorial Guinea 5:0
2. Equatorial Guinea 4:1
3. Liberia 1:1
4. Liberia 6:1
5. Tanzania 0:1
6. Tanzania 3:0
7. Ghana 3:1
8. Ghana 0:2
9. Morocco 0:1
10. Senegal 1:2
11. Algeria 4:1

P11 W6 D1 L4

Total: P31 W20 D3 L8

megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
megapro
Re: Eguavoen's record in competitive games with Nigeria

Post by megapro »

https://www.megapro24.wordpress.com/

Amuneke's turn will come so experienced Eguavoen was a logical choice
Taking it would have been a banana peel

In Salisu (CHAN silver) and Aigbogum (AAG Silver) we have choices

Right from his first two (Friendliee) Libya 1:0 (JMO's debut) and Benin 6:0 he attacked

We expect eguavoen to get something out of this team

Will it be enough?
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold

News coming out is showing that Eguavon may actually not lead the SE to Cameroon.
megapro

Post by megapro »

naijaguy wrote: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:22 pm News coming out is showing that Eguavon may actually not lead the SE to Cameroon.
It is not news
megapro 2012:

megapro wrote: Thu Dec 23, 2021 1:07 pm
naijaguy wrote: Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:22 pm News coming out is showing that Eguavon may actually not lead the SE to Cameroon.
It is not news

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
megapro

Post by megapro »

Eguavoen's record in competitive matches for Nigeria

13. Egypt 1:0
14. Sudan
15. Guinea Bissau

P13 W10 D1 L2
* = PK win

He has left the pitch victorious 11 out of 13 matches

www.megaoro24.wordoress.com
<
megapro 2012:
megapro

Post by megapro »

I came to CE this morning and read that since Eguavoen broke the 15 match threshold/benchmark and retained his 75% win record in competitive matches I refused to update the stats

Here they are

14. Sudan 3:1
15. Guinea Bissau 2:0

P16 W12 D1 L3
* = PK win
megapro 2012:

megapro wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 10:14 am :D

I came to CE this morning and read that since Eguavoen broke the 15 match threshold/benchmark and retained his 75% win record in competitive matches I refused to update the stats

Here they are

16. Tunisia 0:1

P16 W12 D1 L3
* = PK win
Shouldn’t that be 13 wins? You left out recent AFCON game against Tunisia.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
megapro

Post by megapro »

Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 10:17 am
megapro wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 10:14 am :D

Here they are

16. Tunisia 0:1

P16 W12 D1 L3
* = PK win
Shouldn’t that be 13 wins? You left out recent AFCON game against Tunisia.
Thanks
it escaped
still 12 wins from 16
the PK win from 2006 is a statistical draw
Last edited by megapro on Fri Feb 11, 2022 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
megapro 2012:
megapro

Post by megapro »

To be clear
the stats are just stats

When Rohr was listed as having the best winning record
it did not make him Nigerias best coach ever

The Three Nigeria NT coaches that won AFCON are all under 60%

We can look for several other things from the stats
Style? Philosophy? Opponents?

Eguavoen has the best record in Africa after 16 games AT 75%. That is remarkable
Even two unlikely losses against leaves him top at 67

After 16 games Amodu was unbeaten
After 16 games Keshi was unbeaten
Eguavoen's 3 losses in 16 cost us two AFCON and led to a third absence

Just one draw
that should show a direct approach while Amodu and Keshi are more pragmatic

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22
megapro 2012:

megapro wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 10:49 am To be clear
the stats are just stats

Eguavoen has the best record in Africa after 16 games AT 75%. That is remarkable

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22
And people claim Keshi was our best coach ever? Hmmm.

Eguavoen’s record is impressive, though I still don’t rate him. But he can win me over if he beats Ghana and qualifiers for the World Cup.

Eguavoen's winning record is massively good.

Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 11:11 am
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

Eguavoen’s record is impressive, though I still don’t rate him. But he can win me over if he beats Ghana and qualifiers for the World Cup.
Did or has Egu won a trophy? Bros, Keshi won AFCON and that is why he is celebrated. The likes of Egu, Rohr, etc can win as many games as they like it will mean diddly without a trophy.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 1:12 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

Did or has Egu won a trophy? Bros, Keshi won AFCON and that is why he is celebrated. The likes of Egu, Rohr, etc can win as many games as they like it will mean diddly without a trophy.
Prof, does that make Roberto Di Matteo Chelsea's greatest ever manager? :idea:
Everything has to be taken in context.

Keshi being Nigeria's "greatest ever manager" because of a gold AFCON medal (and a 50% win ratio) by simple logic also means that Eguavon is one of the worst ever with a R16 exit (and despite a 75% win ratio.)
That is the irrational argument that goes in this place and which some of us are forever challenging when they say Rohr is "one of the worst" SE managers with his 'golden bronze'.
It is an argument allowed free reign and challenged only by those said to be WOWOs. :lol:

But I am sure you will agree that everything has to be seen and interpreted in the right context. But the norm here is to pick and choose when to do so.

Damunk wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 1:56 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

Keshi being Nigeria's "greatest ever manager" because of a gold AFCON medal (and a 50% win ratio) by simple logic also means that Eguavon is one of the worst ever with a R16 exit (and despite a 75% win ratio.)
That is the irrational argument that goes in this place and which some of us are forever challenging when they say Rohr is "one of the worst" SE managers with his 'golden bronze'.
It is an argument allowed free reign and challenged only by those said to be WOWOs. :lol:

But I am sure you will agree that everything has to be seen and interpreted in the right context. But the norm here is to pick and choose when to do so.

Possibly Egu could be except that I doubt it. Why? He has finished third at AFCON and I remember we had numerous coaches including Berti Vogts, Eto Amaechina, etc that did worse.

Would Egu be ranked among Nugeria's best? I don't see how. He never won an AFCON and so should not be in that category.

What is your rationality, may I ask? Do you rank Egu and Rohr among Nigeria's best managers? I am interested in knowing and the logic behind it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 2:18 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

Possibly Egu could be except that I doubt it. Why? He has finished third at AFCON and I remember we had numerous coaches including Berti Vogts, Eto Amaechina, etc that did worse.

Would Egu be ranked among Nugeria's best? I don't see how. He never won an AFCON and so should not be in that category.

What is your rationality, may I ask? Do you rank Egu and Rohr among Nigeria's best managers? I am interested in knowing and the logic behind it.
I would rank him quite highly right now but 15 games is a little too early to reach a final conclusion.
This is why from the get-go my benchmark was 30 games which I felt was fair. There are only 4 such SE coaches with traceable records and those were the four I analysed: Rohr, Westerhoff, Amodu and Keshi.

Like you have seen from megapro's records, Keshi and Amodu were unbeaten after 16 games, YET Keshi ended up with only a 50% win ratio.
Does that now mean that had he not won the AFCON (even if losing in the final on penalties for instance) he would now be ranked as one of the worst?
The argument is just too simplistic, even illogical.

Egu is doing well, but he needs to build on that.
Megapro did not "hide' the Egu stats as dubiously claimed by The Usual Suspects. The stats were provided last year as can be seen from this thread.

I have repeatedly said that the debate is not an honest one and never has been - and the dishonesty and disrespect (not to mention the insults, overt and covert) is coming predominantly from those that argued to get rid of Rohr by any means necessary.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22
You are trying your best to discredit Eguavoen's coaching prowess and poo-poo his record. Any neutral observer can see what you are up to. Just respect the man and be done with it!!
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Abbey wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 2:50 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22
You are trying your best to discredit Eguavoen's coaching prowess and poo-poo his record. Any neutral observer can see what you are up to. Just respect the man and be done with it!!
How on earth is he doing that?
What are you seeing that we are not seeing?
I see Eguavon at the top of all the charts but somehow, it is an attempt to rubbish him?
I am truly baffled.

the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

You don start to dey twist words? I said people claim he was the best ever, not just celebrated.

Meanwhile, he is not the only coach to have won a trophy. What makes him better that the others? What makes him the best ever?

Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 3:11 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

You don start to dey twist words? I said people claim he was the best ever, not just celebrated.

Meanwhile, he is not the only coach to have won a trophy. What makes him better that the others? What makes him the best ever?
Personally, I do not think he is the best ever manager without checking additional stats but Keshi is certainly among the best. No one, bar Westerhoff, should be considered above Keshi.

Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 3:29 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

Personally, I do not think he is the best ever manager without checking additional stats but Keshi is certainly among the best. No one, bar Westerhoff, should be considered above Keshi.
But you are wrong with the highlighted. What’s the criteria used to exclude all the others that have a better record than him? Amodu for example never had the chance to coach during any AFCON but he has a much better winning record that Keshi. You can’t say Keshi is a better coach than him. The stats say otherwise.

Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 3:50 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 3:29 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

But you are wrong with the highlighted. What’s the criteria used to exclude all the others that have a better record than him? Amodu for example never had the chance to coach during any AFCON but he has a much better winning record that Keshi. You can’t say Keshi is a better coach than him. The stats say otherwise.

It is obvious that you are unacquainted with Amodu's record. He never coached at an AFCON? Really?
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Damunk wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 2:35 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 11, 2022 2:18 pm
the stats are just stats

Just one draw

Eguavoen 75
Rohr 66
Amodu 65
Westerhof 57
Chukwu 56
Keshi 50
Gloria 42
Tiko 33
Onigbinde 22

I would rank him quite highly right now but 15 games is a little too early to reach a final conclusion.
This is why from the get-go my benchmark was 30 games which I felt was fair. There are only 4 such SE coaches with traceable records and those were the four I analysed: Rohr, Westerhoff, Amodu and Keshi.

Like you have seen from megapro's records, Keshi and Amodu were unbeaten after 16 games, YET Keshi ended up with only a 50% win ratio.
Does that now mean that had he not won the AFCON (even if losing in the final on penalties for instance) he would now be ranked as one of the worst?
The argument is just too simplistic, even illogical.

Egu is doing well, but he needs to build on that.
Megapro did not "hide' the Egu stats as dubiously claimed by The Usual Suspects. The stats were provided last year as can be seen from this thread.

I have repeatedly said that the debate is not an honest one and never has been - and the dishonesty and disrespect (not to mention the insults, overt and covert) is coming predominantly from those that argued to get rid of Rohr by any means necessary.
Abeg. megapro manufactured a 15 game threshold when Egu was under 15 games, and after the man hit 15 games, he didn't update the stats till I hounded him :taunt:
NIGERIAN BADBOY!