2022 Nigerian Professional Football League

Toxicarrow
2022 Nigerian Professional Football League

Post by Toxicarrow »

Oluyole Warriors are back.....Picked up valuable away point in far away home of Gombe United. It was 0-0 goalless draw:) :D :D :D . Next week at Lekan Salami Stadium, it shall be Akwa united that shall be taught serious soccer lesson by Oluyole Warriors.

Btw: Comrade Ukwala, big congrats ! I heard your yeye team did "410" Kastina United on the road.... :taunt: :taunt:
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Toxicarrow
Re: Nigerian Professional Football League 2021

Post by Toxicarrow »

Week 1 results

MFM FC 0-2 Remo Stars
Katsina Utd 1-2 Rangers
Heartland 3-3 Nasarawa Utd
Lobi Stars 1-1 Rivers Utd
Gombe Utd 0-0 3SC
Akwa Utd 3-0 Kano Pillars
Enyimba 2-1 Abia Warriors
Kwara Utd 3-0 Dakkada
Niger Tornadoes 1-0 Plateau Utd
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Toxicarrow wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 6:26 pm Oluyole Warriors are back.....Picked up valuable away point in far away home of Gombe United. It was 0-0 goalless draw:) :D :D :D . Next week at Lekan Salami Stadium, it shall be Akwa united that shall be taught serious soccer lesson by Oluyole Warriors.

Btw: Comrade Ukwala, big congrats ! I heard your yeye team did "410" Kastina United on the road.... :taunt: :taunt:
:D :lol: . Yes, we mean business this season :thumb: :thumb:
And congrats to you too comrade Toxic, getting an away draw with 10 men is no mean feat. This season promises to be very exciting.

ukwala wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 6:43 pm
Toxicarrow wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 6:26 pm Oluyole Warriors are back.....Picked up valuable away point in far away home of Gombe United. It was 0-0 goalless draw:) :D :D :D . Next week at Lekan Salami Stadium, it shall be Akwa united that shall be taught serious soccer lesson by Oluyole Warriors.

And congrats to you too comrade Toxic, getting an away draw with 10 men is no mean feat. This season promises to be very exciting.
Ukwala

TBH, Rangers has to be respected this year. Their new manager may be the best manager in the entire league. That has to be respected.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:37 pm

Ukwala

TBH, Rangers has to be respected this year. Their new manager may be the best manager in the entire league. That has to be respected.
I concur...The man seems to know his "trade" well.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Agoye blames 3SC draw on fatigue
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Shooting Stars coach, Edith Agoye, has blamed his team’s performance against fellow newly promoted Gombe United on fatigue.

The gaffer stated that the fatigue was caused by days of transit to their match venue a situation that saw them hold their host to a goalless draw.

“It was a very difficult game for us. It was tough for us considering the fact that it took us a long journey, almost two-and-a-half days before we got here,” Agoye told reporters in Gombe.

“The players are tired from the long journey from Ibadan, and we came here to meet a Gombe United team that is very good, technically and solid.

“We are very happy with what the players were able to put up despite the difficulties they encountered. We thank God that at the end of the day we were able to get a point.”

Gombe United coach, Zubairu Aliyu, lauded his side’s performance, saying it was unfortunate they didn’t get the maximum points.

He identified anxiety as a major challenge his side suffered from while the match lasted.

“It is an unfortunate scenario after we did everything possible. We dominated the game but we lost too many chances,” Aliyu said.

Copyright PUNCH
https://punchng.com/agoye-blames-3sc-draw-on-fatigue/

Toxicarrow wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 2:03 am Agoye blames 3SC draw on fatigue
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Shooting Stars coach, Edith Agoye, has blamed his team’s performance against fellow newly promoted Gombe United on fatigue.

The gaffer stated that the fatigue was caused by days of transit to their match venue a situation that saw them hold their host to a goalless draw.

“It was a very difficult game for us. It was tough for us considering the fact that it took us a long journey, almost two-and-a-half days before we got here,” Agoye told reporters in Gombe.

“The players are tired from the long journey from Ibadan, and we came here to meet a Gombe United team that is very good, technically and solid.

“We are very happy with what the players were able to put up despite the difficulties they encountered. We thank God that at the end of the day we were able to get a point.”

Gombe United coach, Zubairu Aliyu, lauded his side’s performance, saying it was unfortunate they didn’t get the maximum points.

He identified anxiety as a major challenge his side suffered from while the match lasted.

“It is an unfortunate scenario after we did everything possible. We dominated the game but we lost too many chances,” Aliyu said.

Copyright PUNCH
Did they trek to Gombe?

Toxicarrow wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 2:02 am

Ukwala

I concur...The man seems to know his "trade" well.

Toxicarrow wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 6:28 pm Week 1 results

MFM FC 0-2 Remo Stars
Katsina Utd 1-2 Rangers
Heartland 3-3 Nasarawa Utd
Lobi Stars 1-1 Rivers Utd
Gombe Utd 0-0 3SC
Akwa Utd 3-0 Kano Pillars
Enyimba 2-1 Abia Warriors
Kwara Utd 3-0 Dakkada
Niger Tornadoes 1-0 Plateau Utd
Gombe Utd escaped defeat but we are ok with the point. Katsina effed up big time.

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 3:30 pm
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Copyright PUNCH
Did they trek to Gombe?
Cell

The distances that teams in NPFL travel are ridiculous and multiple times longer than the farthest time traveled by an EPL team for example. This is why the call for midweek games in the NPFL in order to emulate EPL can be misguided. Further these NPFL travel are done via road and bad roads to state the least. The effects can be staggering on physical readiness.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Ukwala

EII,
Correct, Abdul Maikaba is a proven NPFL coach and he has started very well with the away win. He has wetted our appetite and now we expect a top 3 finish this season :lol:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 6:24 pm
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Copyright PUNCH
Did they trek to Gombe?
Cell

The distances that teams in NPFL travel are ridiculous and multiple times longer than the farthest time traveled by an EPL team for example. This is why the call for midweek games in the NPFL in order to emulate EPL can be misguided. Further these NPFL travel are done via road and bad roads to state the least. The effects can be staggering on physical readiness.
EII,
Spot on. Fatigue remains the major factor militating against away wins in the NPFL. This is not to say that the blank shooters and their ‘tactical’ don’t contribute ( :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: ) but teams travel on bad roads close to match time to save cost and thereby put the fitness of their players at risk.

ukwala wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:40 pm
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Copyright PUNCH
Did they trek to Gombe?
Cell

EII,
Spot on. Fatigue remains the major factor militating against away wins in the NPFL. This is not to say that the blank shooters and their ‘tactical’ don’t contribute ( :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: ) but teams travel on bad roads close to match time to save cost and thereby put the fitness of their players at risk.
Ukwala

I think with Makaiba in charge the expectation should be top 3 and a place in the continent.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:44 pm
Kindly share this story:

Chima Azubuike
20 December 2021

Copyright PUNCH
Did they trek to Gombe?
Cell

EII,
Ukwala

I think with Makaiba in charge the expectation should be top 3 and a place in the continent.
EII,
Agree.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 3:30 pm Did they trek to Gombe?
Cell

EII,
I was going to point out that while Nigeria is large compared to England, we are "small" compared to lots of places where teams in various sports travel longer distances. Like Mexico, where the top football division has hosted teams as distant from each other as Chiapas and Tijuana. I would then have said that the issue in Nigeria is finance, logistics, and ease of travel, and not the "distance" per se ....

.... but I see you acknowledge the points I would have tried to make by associating the fatigue with .... (a) traveling on bad roads .... (b) close to match time ..... (c) to save costs.

This is the problem, not the "distance" in and of itself. If the league was .... "better" (for lack of a better way of putting it), "distance" wouldn't be an issue. I suppose if Nigeria itself was broadly "better", in all sectors, then the league would just be one of several sectors benefiting. As it stands, the clubs will probably continue making the kind of choices that are part of the reason (but not all of the reason) away teams struggle to win.

PS: I hope in the planning for team travel the administrators are keeping an eye on the fact that parts of the country are (and have been) insecure to a significant degree
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 1:51 am
Cell

EII,
I was going to point out that while Nigeria is large compared to England, we are "small" compared to lots of places where teams in various sports travel longer distances. Like Mexico, where the top football division has hosted teams as distant from each other as Chiapas and Tijuana. I would then have said that the issue in Nigeria is finance, logistics, and ease of travel, and not the "distance" per se ....

.... but I see you acknowledge the points I would have tried to make by associating the fatigue with .... (a) traveling on bad roads .... (b) close to match time ..... (c) to save costs.

This is the problem, not the "distance" in and of itself. If the league was .... "better" (for lack of a better way of putting it), "distance" wouldn't be an issue. I suppose if Nigeria itself was broadly "better", in all sectors, then the league would just be one of several sectors benefiting. As it stands, the clubs will probably continue making the kind of choices that are part of the reason (but not all of the reason) away teams struggle to win.

PS: I hope in the planning for team travel the administrators are keeping an eye on the fact that parts of the country are (and have been) insecure to a significant degree
The Eagle

The distances themselves matter. Try googling the distance for MFM to travel from Lagos to play against Gombe United (775.9 miles), Kano Pillars (620 miles), Rivers United (384.6 miles), Katsina United (593.3 miles), Wikki Tourists (679.4 miles).

Newscastle to London (276.2 miles). Longest distance of travel in EPL most years.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Enugu II wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 2:26 am
Cell

EII,

The Eagle

The distances themselves matter. Try googling the distance for MFM to travel from Lagos to play against Gombe United (775.9 miles), Kano Pillars (620 miles), Rivers United (384.6 miles), Katsina United (593.3 miles), Wikki Tourists (679.4 miles).

Newscastle to London (276.2 miles). Longest distance of travel in EPL most years.
Prof .... I am not sure why you keep citing England as though it were somehow definitive. It is a small place, smaller than France or Germany, and does not even comprise all of the United Kingdom. Why are distances in England the standard?

I gave the example of Mexico where teams travel between Chiapas and Tijuana (2,232 miles). There are teams in South Africa that travel between Polokwane and Cape Town (1,065 miles). There are countries bigger than the two I just cited, where clubs travel even further. When making travel plans for the season, they plan for the size of the country they are in .... and not for the size of England. :)
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 3:53 am
Enugu II wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 2:26 am
Cell

EII,

The Eagle

Prof .... I am not sure why you keep citing England as though it were somehow definitive. It is a small place, smaller than France or Germany, and does not even comprise all of the United Kingdom. Why are distances in England the standard?

I gave the example of Mexico where teams travel between Chiapas and Tijuana (2,232 miles). There are teams in South Africa that travel between Polokwane and Cape Town (1,065 miles). There are countries bigger than the two I just cited, where clubs travel even further. When making travel plans for the season, they plan for the size of the country they are in .... and not for the size of England. :)
Citing in England is deliberate because I figure that most Nigerians (CE audience) watch the EPL and pay close attention to it. The EPL is often used as an example for Nigeria sand my piece is deliberate designed to challenge that very assumption of similarity. I am also mostly irked by the examples given of EPL clubs, with large squads(to boot!!!), playing midweek games and why the same should be the case in Nigeria. My objective is to point out that those similarities are misplaced.
ukwala
Re: 2022 Nigerian Professional Football League

Post by ukwala »

Also I want to believe that teams in richer countries travel by air and are well rested by match time.
I recollect Barcelona having to travel to Milan by road during the volcanic ash cloud in Europe some years back and cited the road trip as the reason for their loss. The road trip from Barcelona to Milan may be longer than the longest road trip in Nigeria but may not be faster because of the bad roads, multiple check points, rickety (almost) buses and general insecurity in Nigeria. Road trips do take their toll on players, fact.

ukwala wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 11:44 am Also I want to believe that teams in richer countries travel by air and are well rested by match time.
I recollect Barcelona having to travel to Milan by road during the volcanic ash cloud in Europe some years back and cited the road trip as the reason for their loss. The road trip from Barcelona to Milan may be longer than the longest road trip in Nigeria but may not be faster because of the bad roads, multiple check points, rickety (almost) buses and general insecurity in Nigeria. Road trips do take their toll on players, fact.
:clap: :clap:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

ukwala wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 11:44 am Also I want to believe that teams in richer countries travel by air and are well rested by match time.
Sorry, but may be faster, in fact is faster and more comfortable. Our teams travel in ‘Toyota Coaster’ type buses (mini-buses) and not in proper coaches popularly called Luxurious buses.

ukwala wrote: Sat Dec 25, 2021 3:36 am
Sorry, but may be faster, in fact is faster and more comfortable. Our teams travel in ‘Toyota Coaster’ type buses (mini-buses) and not in proper coaches popularly called Luxurious buses.
Good 👉 point. It is indeed grueling. For comparison, take a look at the example of trips made by MFM that I mentioned earlier. All but one are longer than the Barcelona trip that you mentioned!

This reminds me of one revelation that most of us fail to realize - forget the political drawing of the globe and maps that we use which make Europe appear larger than it actually is and Africa smaller than it is. Although, this delves into the African continent but I use it to point out that merely looking at Nigeria on a map is deceptive. It is HUGE compared to England! In any case, the for the imagination of the size of the African continent please see Okonjo Iweala's recent mention of this. You can fit the whole of Europe into West Africa! Africa is a huge huge continent and political considerations lead to poor representations on maps drawn but take a look at actual measurement of continent sizes.

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 25, 2021 4:29 am
ukwala wrote: Sat Dec 25, 2021 3:36 am
Good 👉 point. It is indeed grueling. For comparison, take a look at the example of trips made by MFM that I mentioned earlier. All but one are longer than the Barcelona trip that you mentioned!

This reminds me of one revelation that most of us fail to realize - forget the political drawing of the globe and maps that we use which make Europe appear larger than it actually is and Africa smaller than it is. Although, this delves into the African continent but I use it to point out that merely looking at Nigeria on a map is deceptive. It is HUGE compared to England! In any case, the for the imagination of the size of the African continent please see Okonjo Iweala's recent mention of this. You can fit the whole of Europe into West Africa! Africa is a huge huge continent and political considerations lead to poor representations on maps drawn but take a look at actual measurement of continent sizes.

Quite revealing.