2022 Nigerian Professional Football League

Re: 2022 Nigerian Professional Football League

Sunset wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:06 pm
Cellular wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 3:27 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:49 am
Cellular wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:33 am Sunset, I like the work you have been doing promoting the NPFL.

There's got to be a concerted effort to promote the league.

In Business school, there was a case study about NBA vs NFL marketing... The NBA went the route of marketing players, the NFL went with marketing the league. Each with its pros and cons.

Wonder what will work for Naijaria?
This should be easy given the Nigerian circumstance. Marketing the league would be preferred given that players leave the league often to go overseas and thus all the investment in marketing them will not become a loss. With marketing teams, the teams are more long lasting and you can get fans attached to the team and shirt instead of specific players.
Prof., I go back to when Osaze was playing for Insurance. He was always a huge draw.
I believe when Musa came back to play he too was a huge draw.

I think we generally gravitate to stars or the new buzz in town.

There's got to be some stars to build around and just keep the conveyor belt going.

I am surprised there are no "Acada" player they can market...
The thing about stars is what happens to the team when they eventually leave for greener pastures like most cases?

Though we can look at someone like Rabiu Ali who's arguably the most popular player in the North, from his exploits in the early 2000's to playing a part in knocking out that legendary Al Ahly team, winning the NPFL 3 times in a row, as well as a Bronze & silver Chan medals he's a special case as any other player with his ability would've left the country a long time ago, now at the age of 41, the fact he's still a regular for Kano Pillars shows the clubs decline.

But the fans really love him, he's probably more popular than Sunday Mba.

Though the media did kinda leverage things when Musa had his short stint, having a one to one interview with him, etc but that was it, simply them getting the big fish, not knowing there are a lot more stories to be told by the veterans like Aiyenugba (who's expecting his son to be his replacement @Kwara UTD when he retires) or ones for the future like Emmanuel Ayaosi. Things are a lot better than they were 10 years ago but there's still so much to improve on from the media.
So, what are your thoughts?

Market Players, Team or League?

Cellular wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:25 pm
Sunset wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:06 pm
Cellular wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 3:27 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:49 am
Cellular wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:33 am Sunset, I like the work you have been doing promoting the NPFL.

There's got to be a concerted effort to promote the league.

In Business school, there was a case study about NBA vs NFL marketing... The NBA went the route of marketing players, the NFL went with marketing the league. Each with its pros and cons.

Wonder what will work for Naijaria?
This should be easy given the Nigerian circumstance. Marketing the league would be preferred given that players leave the league often to go overseas and thus all the investment in marketing them will not become a loss. With marketing teams, the teams are more long lasting and you can get fans attached to the team and shirt instead of specific players.
Prof., I go back to when Osaze was playing for Insurance. He was always a huge draw.
I believe when Musa came back to play he too was a huge draw.

I think we generally gravitate to stars or the new buzz in town.

There's got to be some stars to build around and just keep the conveyor belt going.

I am surprised there are no "Acada" player they can market...
The thing about stars is what happens to the team when they eventually leave for greener pastures like most cases?

Though we can look at someone like Rabiu Ali who's arguably the most popular player in the North, from his exploits in the early 2000's to playing a part in knocking out that legendary Al Ahly team, winning the NPFL 3 times in a row, as well as a Bronze & silver Chan medals he's a special case as any other player with his ability would've left the country a long time ago, now at the age of 41, the fact he's still a regular for Kano Pillars shows the clubs decline.

But the fans really love him, he's probably more popular than Sunday Mba.

Though the media did kinda leverage things when Musa had his short stint, having a one to one interview with him, etc but that was it, simply them getting the big fish, not knowing there are a lot more stories to be told by the veterans like Aiyenugba (who's expecting his son to be his replacement @Kwara UTD when he retires) or ones for the future like Emmanuel Ayaosi. Things are a lot better than they were 10 years ago but there's still so much to improve on from the media.
So, what are your thoughts?

Market Players, Team or League?
If I had to pick, it would be the league as teams come and go, as well as players, so the league is the ecosystem that sets the standards and everything else follows suit, I'm sure if marketed properly it would also entice potential club owners & investors.

Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 8:37 pm Image
Nice one. They should put the team names there instead of the team logo.

Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

https://www.premiumtimesng.com/sports/f ... ement.html

Shooting Stars terminated the contracts of 17 players for under-performance but rescinded the decision for contravening LMC regulations.
by
Oluwaferanmi Omoniyi
March 11, 2022
2 min read

The Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan, known as the Oluyole Warriors, rescinded its earlier decision, taken on Thursday, March 10, to terminate the contracts of 17 players.

The Ibadan-based club announced they had disengaged 17 players over poor performances, as stated by the Media Officer of the club, Tosin Omojola. Most of the players are new recruits for the 2021/2022 season after the club earned top-flight promotion after four years in the Nigeria National League.

“Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan have dropped seventeen (17) players, as the club aims to strengthen its squad for improved results.

After a review of the performance of the Oluyole Warriors in the 18 week old 2021/22 season of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL), the management of the team has decided to release the said players.

The affected players were released after the technical crew painstakingly reviewed their performances, which showed the affected players fell short of expectations.

Four of the players, goalkeeper Tambe Charles, Anas Mohammed, Abubakar Adeyemi, and Anene Francis, have been with the team for more than two seasons, while the remaining players are among those recruited before the commencement of the ongoing season.

Below is the full list of the players

1. Tambe Charles

2. Egorde Oghenetega

3. Ebenezer Odeyemi

4. Wasiu Alalade

5. kola Daniel

6. Yusuf Habeeb

7. Anas Mohammed

8. Olunide Henry

9. Abubakre Adeyemi

10. Anene Francis

11. Kehinde Adedipe

12. Olasunkanmi Quadry

13. Amusan Taiye

14. Adelani Seun

15. Onwubuche Chimankpa

16. Wellington Ehiabhi

17. Meshack Amos

However, Omojola, the media officer, on Friday morning informed the public of the club’s decision to retract its previous statement in communication that read: “Good morning sir/ma. Please, the management has decided to take another look into the issue of players to be dropped from the team.

“Please, I want to appeal to you to please, step down the story. There are some things we want to correct before the final decision is taken.

Thanks so much for your understanding”.

PREMIUM TIMES was able to get a copy of the League Management Company’s, (LMC) stand on the termination of player contracts which actually negated Shooting Stars’ earlier decision.

According to the LMC rule; “A player’s contract must be for a minimum period of 3 years, except for players who have played for at least 10 years below 18 years of age (Article B9.40)…

“Where a club and a player mutually agree to terminate the player contract, they shall immediately notify the LMC to that effect (Article 89.52).

“Other than termination of mutual agreement, a club may unilaterally terminate a player’s contract only if the player is guilty of gross misconduct, fails to heed any final witness warning, or is convicted of a criminal offence punishable with an imprisonment of 3 months or more ( Article B9.59).”

The Thursday announcement from 3SC did not state any offense committed by the 17 players apart from stating that they had fallen short of expectations.

Shooting Stars welcomed Kano Pillars to the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasigba, on Sunday, for a matchday 18 fixture with Stars in 13th position with 20 points while Pillars are just a place and a point better off.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Toxicarrow wrote: Fri Mar 11, 2022 2:50 pm https://www.premiumtimesng.com/sports/f ... ement.html

Shooting Stars terminated the contracts of 17 players for under-performance but rescinded the decision for contravening LMC regulations.
by
Oluwaferanmi Omoniyi
March 11, 2022
2 min read

The Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan, known as the Oluyole Warriors, rescinded its earlier decision, taken on Thursday, March 10, to terminate the contracts of 17 players.

The Ibadan-based club announced they had disengaged 17 players over poor performances, as stated by the Media Officer of the club, Tosin Omojola. Most of the players are new recruits for the 2021/2022 season after the club earned top-flight promotion after four years in the Nigeria National League.

“Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan have dropped seventeen (17) players, as the club aims to strengthen its squad for improved results.

After a review of the performance of the Oluyole Warriors in the 18 week old 2021/22 season of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL), the management of the team has decided to release the said players.

The affected players were released after the technical crew painstakingly reviewed their performances, which showed the affected players fell short of expectations.

Four of the players, goalkeeper Tambe Charles, Anas Mohammed, Abubakar Adeyemi, and Anene Francis, have been with the team for more than two seasons, while the remaining players are among those recruited before the commencement of the ongoing season.

Below is the full list of the players

1. Tambe Charles

2. Egorde Oghenetega

3. Ebenezer Odeyemi

4. Wasiu Alalade

5. kola Daniel

6. Yusuf Habeeb

7. Anas Mohammed

8. Olunide Henry

9. Abubakre Adeyemi

10. Anene Francis

11. Kehinde Adedipe

12. Olasunkanmi Quadry

13. Amusan Taiye

14. Adelani Seun

15. Onwubuche Chimankpa

16. Wellington Ehiabhi

17. Meshack Amos

However, Omojola, the media officer, on Friday morning informed the public of the club’s decision to retract its previous statement in communication that read: “Good morning sir/ma. Please, the management has decided to take another look into the issue of players to be dropped from the team.

“Please, I want to appeal to you to please, step down the story. There are some things we want to correct before the final decision is taken.

Thanks so much for your understanding”.

PREMIUM TIMES was able to get a copy of the League Management Company’s, (LMC) stand on the termination of player contracts which actually negated Shooting Stars’ earlier decision.

According to the LMC rule; “A player’s contract must be for a minimum period of 3 years, except for players who have played for at least 10 years below 18 years of age (Article B9.40)…

“Where a club and a player mutually agree to terminate the player contract, they shall immediately notify the LMC to that effect (Article 89.52).

“Other than termination of mutual agreement, a club may unilaterally terminate a player’s contract only if the player is guilty of gross misconduct, fails to heed any final witness warning, or is convicted of a criminal offence punishable with an imprisonment of 3 months or more ( Article B9.59).”

The Thursday announcement from 3SC did not state any offense committed by the 17 players apart from stating that they had fallen short of expectations.

Shooting Stars welcomed Kano Pillars to the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasigba, on Sunday, for a matchday 18 fixture with Stars in 13th position with 20 points while Pillars are just a place and a point better off.
If you sack 17 players in week 17, how many are left to prosecute the remaining 21 league games, plus cup games?
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Great result for the Coal City boys :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Lobi Stars 1-2 Abia Warriors
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Sunshine Stars 2-1 Dakkada
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki
Tornadoes 1-0 Remo Stars.

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.

3SC VS Pillars live

Toxicarrow wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 6:47 pm Great result for the Coal City boys :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.
Akwa United really disgraced themselves at home. Are they supposed to be competing for a place in Africa? Just asking?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 7:24 pm 3SC VS Pillars live

Thanks! Wish the camera could be at a much higher spot.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Mar 13, 2022 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 8:13 pm
Toxicarrow wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 6:47 pm Great result for the Coal City boys :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.
Akwa United really disgraced themselves at home. Are they supposed to be competing for a place in Africa? Just asking?
EII,

Have mercy, they met a far superior opponent. Nothing they could do.

ukwala wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 8:20 pm

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.
EII,

ukwala,

I knew you will come out smoking. If Rangers are that hot, why have they not proven it all year? I salute them today but this does not prove much ooo.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 8:21 pm

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.
EII,

ukwala,

I knew you will come out smoking. If Rangers are that hot, why have they not proven it all year? I salute them today but this does not prove much ooo.
EII,

3rd on the table means they are doing something good, ahead of your much heralded Remo Stars! Our good friends and former rivals from Ibadan (log time ago :taunt: ) will give an arm and a leg to be anywhere near us :taunt: :taunt:
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Match 18 last game
3SC 1 vs Kano Pillars 0

Seriously, why is Remo Stars experiencing a bad patch? They started so well. I feel something has gone wrong seriously..... But what was it that went wrong?

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:32 pm Seriously, why is Remo Stars experiencing a bad patch? They started so well. I feel something has gone wrong seriously..... But what was it that went wrong?
I wouldn't call it a bad patch to be fair, IMO it was expected after the great start they had, the NPFL isn't a pushover as they're still lacking experience wise in their squad as well as firepower in the attack. If they can qualify for the continent that would be a plus but if they can keep a decent number of the team intact going into next season, I would have them as title contenders similar to MFM's 2nd season in the league.

Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 12:41 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:32 pm Seriously, why is Remo Stars experiencing a bad patch? They started so well. I feel something has gone wrong seriously..... But what was it that went wrong?
I wouldn't call it a bad patch to be fair, IMO it was expected after the great start they had, the NPFL isn't a pushover as they're still lacking experience wise in their squad as well as firepower in the attack. If they can qualify for the continent that would be a plus but if they can keep a decent number of the team intact going into next season, I would have them as title contenders similar to MFM's 2nd season in the league.
Sunset,

Your explanation is persuasive. I really like them because I believe they are the future of Nigerian football. They are doing exactly wghat all NPFL clubs should be doing i.e. have legitimate academies. I weant them to succeed at all costs and for them to exemplifyu the future. I see in them wehast Senegal has now with Generation Foot and Diambarrs.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 1:07 am
Sunset,

Your explanation is persuasive. I really like them because I believe they are the future of Nigerian football. They are doing exactly wghat all NPFL clubs should be doing i.e. have legitimate academies. I weant them to succeed at all costs and for them to exemplifyu the future. I see in them wehast Senegal has now with Generation Foot and Diambarrs.
I'd say they're a very necessary member to the ecosystem of club football in the country and unlike those who tried the same before them, they're on an upward trajectory in terms of what they could achieve in the long term. This is at least based on how they've found "creative" ways to maneuver past the many hurdles put up against them by those running football in the country, as most NPFL feeder teams play in the 3rd/NLO division (but little is known about how often they play or if they do at all), they have their U19's competing in a private league of a similar calibre and are destroying them. Their network of youth products is already very similar to the one Chelsea have in that a lot of them either on loan or are playing for other sides in the league & abroad.

Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 5:49 am
Sunset,

I'd say they're a very necessary member to the ecosystem of club football in the country and unlike those who tried the same before them, they're on an upward trajectory in terms of what they could achieve in the long term. This is at least based on how they've found "creative" ways to maneuver past the many hurdles put up against them by those running football in the country, as most NPFL feeder teams play in the 3rd/NLO division (but little is known about how often they play or if they do at all), they have their U19's competing in a private league of a similar calibre and are destroying them. Their network of youth products is already very similar to the one Chelsea have in that a lot of them either on loan or are playing for other sides in the league & abroad.

I believe Remo is the future of Nigerian football but it really has a lot of fights ahead. It is similar to issues encountered by Ahly and Zamalek in Egypt. I just hope Remo will overcome much faster than what those two hope to do in Egypt.

In fact, it is because of this that I support the proposed African league that hopefully shuts the gate against state sponsored clubs.

MD18 Results 👇

Akwa Utd 0-3 Rangers
Gombe Utd 0-0 Rivers Utd
Nasarawa Utd 1-1 MFM
Enyimba 1-1 Plateau Utd
Kwara Utd 2-1 Heartland
Katsina Utd 1-0 Wikki

3SC vs Pillars at 7pm.
EII,

Entertaining game, but HB players need lessons in shooting…haba! :lol:

Enugu II wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 11:29 am
Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 5:49 am
Sunset,

I believe Remo is the future of Nigerian football but it really has a lot of fights ahead. It is similar to issues encountered by Ahly and Zamalek in Egypt. I just hope Remo will overcome much faster than what those two hope to do in Egypt.

In fact, it is because of this that I support the proposed African league that hopefully shuts the gate against state sponsored clubs.
Those are two clubs with over 200 years of existence between them and seeing how the criteria for membership to the Super league has to do with relevance and pedigree on the continent & domestic league I don't think it would shut the gate on state sponsored clubs.

Seems like this was the matchday for GOLAZO'S this season :scared: