SE NEW MANAGER: Jose Peseiro......

Re: New SE coach officially announced

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Dec 29, 2021 8:32 pm I dont buy all these "fifa no clear them yet"

We've been hearing this for years.

Where Ejaria then ? Still not cleared ?
When did you see Ejaria play last and why do you think he deserves to be in this Afcon squad?
Re: SE NEW MANAGER: Jose Peseiro......

Don't know all scrutiny and hullabaloo about this appointment, Jose Mourinho recommended the coach. That's good enough for Pinnick, that should be good for you.

Let's forget Rohr was highly recommended by Wenger according to Pinnick.

The main issue, would Wenger and Mourinho recommend these coaches for France and Portugal national teams respectively?

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Dec 29, 2021 9:03 pm
naijaguy wrote: Wed Dec 29, 2021 8:56 pm So NFF sacked Rohr for this journeyman.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣..
Those of you who clamoured for Rohr's sack for this man should bury your heads in shame.
You sacked a coach who has never faulted in his contract, has the highest winning rate of any super eagle coach, still endured owing him; only for you to appoint a serial loser. Una well done oo.
In the battle of two shite journeymen, I'll take my chances with Jose Peseiro, at least his teams can actually play good and exciting football. Don't make it seem like Rohr was the second coming of Clemens Westerhoff, the man made a very talented Nigerian squad look like national team of Djibouti.
I'll assume you were joking by saying he plays exciting football.. go and watch Venezuelan matches when he coached..lol complete abysmal.
Go and watch and then compare Venezuela vs Brazil where they were thrashed by Brazil and then Nigeria vs Brazil coached by Rohr.

naijaguy wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 11:51 am
naijaguy wrote: Wed Dec 29, 2021 8:56 pm So NFF sacked Rohr for this journeyman.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣..
Those of you who clamoured for Rohr's sack for this man should bury your heads in shame.
You sacked a coach who has never faulted in his contract, has the highest winning rate of any super eagle coach, still endured owing him; only for you to appoint a serial loser. Una well done oo.
In the battle of two shite journeymen, I'll take my chances with Jose Peseiro, at least his teams can actually play good and exciting football. Don't make it seem like Rohr was the second coming of Clemens Westerhoff, the man made a very talented Nigerian squad look like national team of Djibouti.
I'll assume you were joking by saying he plays exciting football.. go and watch Venezuelan matches when he coached..lol complete abysmal.
Go and watch and then compare Venezuela vs Brazil where they were thrashed by Brazil and then Nigeria vs Brazil coached by Rohr.
Idonbilivit!
Are you attempting to give Rohr some credit here...or just pointing out that Peseiro is 'even worse'?
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

fabio wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 12:56 pm
God save Nigeria if he get time for us. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

fabio wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 10:55 am Don't know all scrutiny and hullabaloo about this appointment, Jose Mourinho recommended the coach. That's good enough for Pinnick, that should be good for you.

The main issue, would Wenger and Mourinho recommend these coaches for France and Portugal national teams respectively?
You hit the nail on the head. Wenger and Mourinho are just trying to help their compatriots to put food on the table. Their suitability to our needs is far, far down their list of concerns. That is why when you want something, YOU decide what you need and then YOU go look for it. Stop hanging on the word and recommendations of somebody else.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 5:18 pm
fabio wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 10:55 am Don't know all scrutiny and hullabaloo about this appointment, Jose Mourinho recommended the coach. That's good enough for Pinnick, that should be good for you.

You hit the nail on the head. Wenger and Mourinho are just trying to help their compatriots to put food on the table. Their suitability to our needs is far, far down their list of concerns. That is why when you want something, YOU decide what you need and then YOU go look for it. Stop hanging on the word and recommendations of somebody else.
Taking this further, Finidi & Bonfrere were right when they said NFF should first decide the type of football philosophy that best suits the National teams. Is it Total Football, Catenaccio, a sort of blend or a whole new style to be invented? After that, it becomes easy to know the type of coaches that can easily fit into the overall system. Personnel changes don't become much of a big deal anymore. Too much focus on the individual coach's skill sets doesn't usually work as well. Similar thing applies when sometimes a very good employee underperforms in an average company with poor systems. Likewise an average employee overperforms when they move into a good company.

Uncle Pinnick is full of Shait. He has a typical Nigerian politician mindset. So he was impressed because the man told him the strength of some of our players? That means he will hire ATF txj on the spot if he reads some of his nonsensical atf analysis.

Keyword: VENEZUELA, dude you do realize Venezuela (aside from having one of the worst run and most corrupt FA's in the world) is like the worst team in arguably the toughest regional tournament been the CONMEBOL right? even Pep and Klopp will struggle to qualify them from the South American qualifiers, if you want to be honest by putting things in perspective, then ask yourself the pertinent question - between Jose Peseiro and Rohr, who has won more trophies in their respective managerial stints?
Last edited by Tobi17 on Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Dec 29, 2021 7:23 pm
Why does Nigeria attract bad tings?

So we now have the wrong Jose :scared:

Who did this to us? :evil:

greg wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 5:46 pm

Taking this further, Finidi & Bonfrere were right when they said NFF should first decide the type of football philosophy that best suits the National teams. Is it Total Football, Catenaccio, a sort of blend or a whole new style to be invented? After that, it becomes easy to know the type of coaches that can easily fit into the overall system. Personnel changes don't become much of a big deal anymore. Too much focus on the individual coach's skill sets doesn't usually work as well. Similar thing applies when sometimes a very good employee underperforms in an average company with poor systems. Likewise an average employee overperforms when they move into a good company.
Exactly. Pigs will fly before such a sensible approach is taken by the NFF. Make we siddon dey look.

Is it the type Football Authority that decides what type of Football a nation plays?
Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:50 pm

Exactly. Pigs will fly before such a sensible approach is taken by the NFF. Make we siddon dey look.

Again, let the coach and those who appointed him enjoy themselves while we wait
for the product on the field to see if the choice was right. Until then, I'm just gonna
relax and activate the 'siddon look' mode. :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

Lolly wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 8:14 am A coach who has had 9 different jobs in 9 years does not have anything to offer the SE. He won’t be here long. We obviously don’t want to win anything. Just launder some oil money and let some key people build up their pension.

That really is not how u judge football managers.

How many coaching stints did Ranieri have before winning the EPL with Leicester?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Its very easy for anyone to sit in their basement, drink a few beers and summarily declare any coach a journeyman...

It requires zero intellectual effort beyond that needed to type on a keyboard...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

1naija wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:56 pm Is it the type Football Authority that decides what type of Football a nation plays?
Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:50 pm

Oga abeg I no fit understand dis ya okpokpo oyibo (big big grammar). Nak am for vernacular one time.
Last edited by Scipio Africanus on Thu Dec 30, 2021 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nigeria appoint Jose Peseiro as head coach after Africa Cup of Nations
https://africa.espn.com/football/nigeri ... of-nations
2:53 PM
Colin Udoh

Jose Peseiro will assume the role of Nigeria head coach after the Africa Cup of Nations next month. Buda Mendes/Getty Images
Nigeria have announced Jose Peseiro as their new coach following the sacking of Gernot Rohr last month.

The Portuguese coach has been handed an initial two-year contract and will begin work immediately, but only in an observer capacity. Interim coach Augustine Eguavoen will lead the team to the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon before returning to his role as the country's technical director after the tournament.

"The Executive Committee endorsed a proposal for the appointment of Jose Peseiro as the new Head Coach of the Super Eagles," a statement from the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) said on Wednesday.

"However... Augustine Eguavoen, named the interim Head Coach, will lead the Super Eagles to the AFCON 2021 in Cameroon with Peseiro only playing the role of observer."

Peseiro, 61, began his coaching career in 1991 as a player-coach with Union Santarem in the Portuguese fourth tier. His big break came in 2003 when he was named as an assistant to compatriot Carlos Queiroz at Real Madrid. After the pair were fired, Peseiro was appointed by Sporting, leading them to a third place league finish and the UEFA Cup Final, which they lost to CSKA Moscow.

During his 15-year career, Peseiro has coached clubs in Portugal, Spain, Saudi Arabia, Greece, Romania, United Arab Emirates and Egypt, in which he has won two titles -- the Egyptian Premier League with Al Ahly in 2016, and the Portuguese Cup with Braga in 2013.

At international level, he has coached Saudi Arabia and Venezuela. He failed to guide Saudi Arabia to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa and was dismissed after losing to Syria in the AFC Asian Cup.

He failed to get Venezuela past the group stages of the 2021 Copa America, tallying two draws and two losses.

NFF Vice President Shehu Dikko told ESPN that Peseiro's vast experience across multiple countries and continents, including Africa, gave him the edge among other candidates.

"He has coached across the world, in Asia, in Europe, South America, in Africa," Dikko said.

"He has worked with big coaches like (Jose) Mourinho and (Carlos) Queiroz, coached at a big club like Real Madrid, coached big players and small players, coached in the World Cup qualifiers, UEFA Cup, UEFA Champions League and so on. He is also well educated, with a masters degree in sports science.

"He might not have won anything, but we believe he will bring value to our team."

Dikko confirmed that the NFF did speak to Roma boss Jose Mourinho about Peseiro, but only because he was listed as a reference.

"Among the coaches who applied for the job, three of them listed Mourinho as their reference, including Peseiro and we spoke to him based on that and he gave a glowing reference."

Peseiro has also been set similar targets as Rohr, with the aim to qualify for and reach at least the quarterfinal of the World Cup and to qualify for and reach the final of the next Africa Cup of Nations.

"If he does not qualify us for this World Cup, we will review the situation objectively and make a decision based on that," Dikko said.

Nigeria are grouped with Egypt, Sudan and Guinea-Bissau and begin their Nations Cup campaign against Egypt on Jan. 11. They then face Sudan on Jan. 15 before rounding up the pool play against Guinea-Bissau on Jan. 19.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:33 pm
Keyword: VENEZUELA, dude you do realize Venezuela (aside from having one of the worst run and most corrupt FA's in the world) is like the worst team in arguably the toughest regional tournament been the CONMEBOL right? even Pep and Klopp will struggle to qualify them from the South American qualifiers, if you want to be honest by putting things in perspective, then ask yourself the pertinent question - between Jose Peseiro and Rohr, who has won more trophies in their respective managerial stints?
Why are you giving excuses for his failure with Venezuela? Was he employed as a coach to go and count bridges? Yes he won the CAF champions league with Al Ahly. And so what? Even my granny will win it with Al Ahly
He has just been employed so we could play fancy football. Right? Time will tell.

naijaguy wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 8:12 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:33 pm
Why are you giving excuses for his failure with Venezuela? Was he employed as a coach to go and count bridges? Yes he won the CAF champions league with Al Ahly. And so what? Even my granny will win it with Al Ahly
He has just been employed so we could play fancy football. Right? Time will tell.
So you expected him to win trophies in the toughest continental region in the world with a very average Venezuelan team that was not only ravaged by injuries and Covid-19 to its key players which made him play mostly a second string team in majority of their qualifiers, but we're also talking about a man that was been owed for months by the Venezuelan FA which led him to resign! Jose Peseiro has a FAR BETTER coaching resume than your Rohr for goodness sake and at least won trophies... which one has your Rohr won? Oh I remember now, golden bronze and first round world cup exit with arguably the most talented Nigerian team in a long time.

1naija wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:26 pm Uncle Pinnick is full of Shait. He has a typical Nigerian politician mindset. So he was impressed because the man told him the strength of some of our players? That means he will hire ATF txj on the spot if he reads some of his nonsensical atf analysis.
So the guy is not only coming to observe at AFCON. He is actually going to be working with the team? Unless I didn’t hear right.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

txj wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 7:08 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu Dec 30, 2021 8:14 am A coach who has had 9 different jobs in 9 years does not have anything to offer the SE. He won’t be here long. We obviously don’t want to win anything. Just launder some oil money and let some key people build up their pension.

That really is not how u judge football managers.

How many coaching stints did Ranieri have before winning the EPL with Leicester?
There are always exceptions and Ranieri is one of such. And he won at club level where he in interacting with his players on a daily basis. This guy won’t give us 5 years. Mark my words.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."