Augustine Eguavoen has named Nigeria’s 28-man squad for 2021 AFCON tournament

Re: Augustine Eguavoen has named Nigeria’s 28-man squad for 2021 AFCON tournament

Uncle, yes, and then we will win the World cup.

Abeg, replacing one average player with another won't make a dent. I feel bad for Ebuehi because of the injury he suffered playing for us, but there is no huge difference between him and the other players selected for his position.
asabatex wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 12:44 am Eguaveon - Please drop the injured Ndah and call Ebuehi ASAP. Drop one of the useless goalies and call Akpoguma ASAP. :idea:
Re: Augustine Eguavoen has named Nigeria’s 28-man squad for 2021 AFCON tournament

asabatex wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 12:44 am Eguaveon - Please drop the injured Ndah and call Ebuehi ASAP. Drop one of the useless goalies and call Akpoguma ASAP. :idea:
The list has already been released by CAF, too late already, secondly we are not badly struggling in the positions you want Ndah dropped for! why don't you guys get it? if anything Eguavoen should have focused more on the midfield cause we're as usual thin there.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 9:03 pm
txj wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:55 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:24 pm
txj wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:21 pm
aruako1 wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:14 pm
txj wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:07 pm
aruako1 wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 6:55 pm

Evidence that Eguavoen is trying to sell Ndah? Of course not!

By itself it is not.

But it does raise questions about the invite, no?
Many invites raise questions. Walcott in 2006 was one such invite. I have always questioned certain invites by all SE coaches - fans do that everywhere. But the default should not be to make unsubstantiated corruption allegations.

Last I checked, Walcott is English...

Its a questionable call up. On top of that, he's injured atm...

You like to give managers the freedom to make their decisions, but this is questionable...

Same for Nwakali...
Txj

You keep stating he is injured. When was he injured? He was just injured last week and was playing in a game. Thus it is possible he was fit when list was drawn up. The question is then how serious is this injury and whether it is serious enough to discard him. This does not just apply to him, by the way. Any of these other players on the list can face the same issue now or tomorrow.

These are just lame and frankly silly justifications u are offering...

He has not played in the games following his half time withdrawal in the loss to Sundowns.

You say this does not just apply to him. Well who else does it apply to?

Yes injuries can happen in tournaments. That is precisely why it is questionable to take an injured or recoverng player to a tournament...
Which games? You claimed he was injured for a month. That is blatantly false. Can you provide support for that claim? This kid was injured a few weeks or less in December! We are still in December. How did you arrive at being injured for a month? The question really should be how did you arrive at your false claim that you have posted?

It is important that CE public are not deceived by such false claims. Can you post your source for tge claims that you have been making? It is important to not post thongs that are false.
He said NEARLY a month and that is somewhat true….

There isn’t a justifiable reason to call him up…..

You have not seen this guy play with the SE….even if he is Van dyke….it is a massive gamble esp when Balogun is still injured….

Eguavoen is taking 2 injured defenders….to the AFCON…that’s a crime and the sole reason why he cannot be the coach for the SE…..

Enyi wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 1:31 am
txj wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 8:07 pm

By itself it is not.

But it does raise questions about the invite, no?
Many invites raise questions. Walcott in 2006 was one such invite. I have always questioned certain invites by all SE coaches - fans do that everywhere. But the default should not be to make unsubstantiated corruption allegations.

You like to give managers the freedom to make their decisions, but this is questionable...

Same for Nwakali...
Txj

You keep stating he is injured. When was he injured? He was just injured last week and was playing in a game. Thus it is possible he was fit when list was drawn up. The question is then how serious is this injury and whether it is serious enough to discard him. This does not just apply to him, by the way. Any of these other players on the list can face the same issue now or tomorrow.

He has not played in the games following his half time withdrawal in the loss to Sundowns.

Yes injuries can happen in tournaments. That is precisely why it is questionable to take an injured or recoverng player to a tournament...
Which games? You claimed he was injured for a month. That is blatantly false. Can you provide support for that claim? This kid was injured a few weeks or less in December! We are still in December. How did you arrive at being injured for a month? The question really should be how did you arrive at your false claim that you have posted?

It is important that CE public are not deceived by such false claims. Can you post your source for tge claims that you have been making? It is important to not post thongs that are false.

You have not seen this guy play with the SE….even if he is Van dyke….it is a massive gamble esp when Balogun is still injured….

Eguavoen is taking 2 injured defenders….to the AFCON…that’s a crime and the sole reason why he cannot be the coach for the SE…..

First there is a big difference between a week and nearly a month. Big difference.

Now, on the injuries. They happen. The concern will be if the managers knowingly included an injured player. I think not in either case. In Balogun's case, he is actually back in training. In Ndah's case, I am not sure what expected return is. Do you know what it is?

Now, let us assume that Ndah is unable to return. The simple remedy is seek a replacement via an appeal to CAF. That is not a mystery, infact an injury replacement had affected Nigeria previously. Moreover with league games ongoing more injuries could yet occur.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

CAF may not allow Egu to add Ndah and Nwakili

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 4:24 am CAF may not allow Egu to add Ndah and Nwakili
Why?

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 3:23 am
Enyi wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 1:31 am

Same for Nwakali...
Txj

First there is a big difference between a week and nearly a month. Big difference.

Now, on the injuries. They happen. The concern will be if the managers knowingly included an injured player. I think not in either case. In Balogun's case, he is actually back in training. In Ndah's case, I am not sure what expected return is. Do you know what it is?

Now, let us assume that Ndah is unable to return. The simple remedy is seek a replacement via an appeal to CAF. That is not a mystery, infact an injury replacement had affected Nigeria previously. Moreover with league games ongoing more injuries could yet occur.
Ndah is still out, Balogun is just back in training with no match fitness, so his first game is against Egypt….

Come on man….we can’t be this stupid, why create a problem for your self? Why not drop Shehu and take Bassey…? Akpoguma is doing very well now….why not take him….just in case?

Remember that a player that just gets back from injury has 45% chance of re-injury in the first game…..

You leave yourself with Omeruo, Awaziem and Ekong as the only viable CB….THAT IS SUICIDE!!!

What is Ighalo doing or Musa….where is V. Moses? He is killing the Russian league or even Lookman?

Nwakali is still leaving on u-17 exploits….Ejaria is better at the moment

The thing with NIGERIAN local coaches IS TOO MUCH sentimentality….

Egu picked Nwakali because “he likes that boy” WTF

I can even defend Rohr picking his players….idiotic but I can see his point of view…..

Picking injured players for a tournament that will get squads reduced with Covid +ve tests is STUPID AND SUICIDE….

Egu is easily influenced and I think this is Salisu’s list not his…..

Shehu is currently injured

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 10:58 am Shehu is currently injured
Let's hope a dew more do not become injured as league games continue up until a week or so before start of AFCON.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Apparently Rohr submitted the 38 man listi n November. CAF will have to approve name subsistutions to the 38 man list that was orignally submitted. Nwakili and Ndah were not part of the original 38 man list. CAF currently allow replacement of injured players in the 28 final list from the pool of 38 man provisional list. So I don't understand why Egu had 4 GKs in the final 28 man list. If he had 3 Gk in the final 28 man list and one gets injured. He can call up a replacement from the 38 man provisional list. So he is wasting a spot that can go to a midfielder. Currently Shehu, Onauchu have injury concerns. We can replace Shehu using the pool of players in the 38 man provisional list. Injuries happen, players can get Covid, so depth will matter. We can;t be wasting valuable spots.

What Enyi is saying is 100% spot on.

Balogun is coming back from injury.

Ndah is injured currently.

Taking 2 injured defenders to afcon IS suicide.

These guys just cannot make sensible decisions. It's not like Ndah is some superstar or major part of the team (Balogun) that we can take him injured. Why not just take Akpoguma ?

To make matters worse why drop Ejaria when our midfield is thin ? Do we really need 6 or 7 strikers ? Who the hell is backup for Ndidi ? This midfield is bare bones. 4 actual midfielders in a squad of 28. And this isn't all on Rohr either.

Egu could have taken Ejaria and Bonke over all those Strikers.

Yes Bonke, even though I am not a fan, he was in the 40 man list and we need midfielders.

WE DO NOT NEED 6 STRIKERS.
OJI

Post by OJI »

We are splitting hairs here.

Eguavoen who was Technical Director during the Rohr era has unique, unpublished reports/insights into selected, and non selected players.

He appears to be on the way to reorient the mentality of the team given the default pool of players.

In the absence of friendlies, what we need to focus on is his game day management skills. Jan 11th against Egypt can't come fast enough. Will he be clueless as Rohr? Will he use the remaining 17 subs all in the 185th minute? :taunt:
Will he freeze, and start praying and fasting, hoping and wishing for the best?

He was brought in to replace Rohr. We know, and most importantly hope Eguavoen knows Rohr's deficiencies. The team list presumably had a lot of Rohr's input with (presumably) Eguavoen's appreciation/blessing. He was there over time to get the insights/motivations behind the player selections under Rohr.

Let us wait, and see his tactical game analysis, his decisions, his subs, his adjustments.

some people are focusing on his potential for self-dealing ventures.

If Eguavoen, after the Keshi era, after the Siasia saga, the Salisu saga, and with Pinnick's loathing of local based coaches, still doesn't get the memo, and go out of his way to be above such activities, then he fully deserves all that is coming to him.

It is put up or shut up time for Eguavoen. Immediate goal is simple. Join the exclusive club of people who have won the AFCON as a player, and coach.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 4:53 pm What Enyi is saying is 100% spot on.

Balogun is coming back from injury.

Ndah is injured currently.

Taking 2 injured defenders to afcon IS suicide.

These guys just cannot make sensible decisions. It's not like Ndah is some superstar or major part of the team (Balogun) that we can take him injured. Why not just take Akpoguma ?

To make matters worse why drop Ejaria when our midfield is thin ? Do we really need 6 or 7 strikers ? Who the hell is backup for Ndidi ? This midfield is bare bones. 4 actual midfielders in a squad of 28. And this isn't all on Rohr either.

Egu could have taken Ejaria and Bonke over all those Strikers.

Yes Bonke, even though I am not a fan, he was in the 40 man list and we need midfielders.

WE DO NOT NEED 6 STRIKERS.
If Ndah and Balogun are injured and deemed unfit, then that should be Eguavoen's cue to find thier replacements

OJI wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 4:59 pm We are splitting hairs here.

Eguavoen who was Technical Director during the Rohr era has unique, unpublished reports/insights into selected, and non selected players.

He appears to be on the way to reorient the mentality of the team given the default pool of players.

In the absence of friendlies, what we need to focus on is his game day management skills. Jan 11th against Egypt can't come fast enough. Will he be clueless as Rohr? Will he use the remaining 17 subs all in the 185th minute? :taunt:
Will he freeze, and start praying and fasting, hoping and wishing for the best?

He was brought in to replace Rohr. We know, and most importantly hope Eguavoen knows Rohr's deficiencies. The team list presumably had a lot of Rohr's input with (presumably) Eguavoen's appreciation/blessing. He was there over time to get the insights/motivations behind the player selections under Rohr.

Let us wait, and see his tactical game analysis, his decisions, his subs, his adjustments.

some people are focusing on his potential for self-dealing ventures.

If Eguavoen, after the Keshi era, after the Siasia saga, the Salisu saga, and with Pinnick's loathing of local based coaches, still doesn't get the memo, and go out of his way to be above such activities, then he fully deserves all that is coming to him.

It is put up or shut up time for Eguavoen. Immediate goal is simple. Join the exclusive club of people who have won the AFCON as a player, and coach.
KPOM. At the end, what should be considered primal is how Eguavoen will set up his team, what system (tactics, formation, in-game management) we'll see from him...will he hunker his team down like Rohr by playing the overly cautious and drab type of football like his predecessor? or will he be the same man from his 2006 AFCON coaching days when his team played traditional attacking football Nigeria is known for... January 11 will answer all the questions, I'm excited.
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

He has more experience than Ndah. Remember the way he locked down De Maria during the Nigeria- Argentina Match... :D
1naija wrote: Mon Dec 27, 2021 1:07 am Uncle, yes, and then we will win the World cup.

Abeg, replacing one average player with another won't make a dent. I feel bad for Ebuehi because of the injury he suffered playing for us, but there is no huge difference between him and the other players selected for his position.

Memories....

Lolly wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 11:46 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Dec 26, 2021 9:04 am Looks pretty decent to me.
Nothing to raise eyebrows about, especially as he worked under Eguavon in the national B team in prep for the Mexico game.
Did he play vs Mexico?

Ndah played against Mexico. I am sure the full match would be on YouTube somewhere.

I don’t have a problem with Egu calling up one or two players of his own but I expected to see more of his players in the midfield where we have been short. Ndah at this stage is like the 5th choice central defender. And even behind Ndidi if we find ourselves short of central defenders. He is surplus to requirement for this tournament.
We are consistent.

No need for these type of invites in areas where we have surplus. We should focus on areas where we need reinforcements- in goal, full backs, central midfield.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."