REMO STARS - The privately run NPFL club shaking up the domestic scene

Re: The privately run NPFL club shaking up the domestic scene - REMO STARS

[tweet][/tweet]

Sunset wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 1:19 am [tweet][/tweet]

Are there any promising academy guys likely to be promoted to the main squad? Also, are there promising players signed for upcoming continental contests?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 3:49 am
Sunset wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 1:19 am [tweet][/tweet]

Are there any promising academy guys likely to be promoted to the main squad? Also, are there promising players signed for upcoming continental contests?
Yup, that's if they don't get signed by clubs abroad, but my bet is on CM Ayomide Ogungbe, who won Player of the tournament in the Viareggio Cup.
[tweet][/tweet]

They've added two big attacking talents to their ranks for the upcoming season as well as a decent backup GK in Vincent Edafe
[tweet][/tweet]

Sunset wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 11:11 pm
1-1 FT .. now on to the 2nd leg.. great results

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 11:15 pm
Sunset wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 11:11 pm
1-1 FT .. now on to the 2nd leg.. great results
:clap: :clap: :clap: Great result! A very important one.....
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Im thinking of inducting Bankole into my Neo Nueves Hart Foundation. 1Naija and BigP what do you think?

Remo Stars doing the right things. You can see the structure that has been set now we are seeing the results. The current coach was sent to Portugal for a year as an understudy. Also they have a well structured youth academy. This is how clubs should be run in Nigeria

Adisboy wrote: Mon Sep 12, 2022 9:47 am Remo Stars doing the right things. You can see the structure that has been set now we are seeing the results. The current coach was sent to Portugal for a year as an understudy. Also they have a well structured youth academy. This is how clubs should be run in Nigeria
Agreed.... This is specifically why the state should get out.... With the state, there is no incentive for long run growth of any of the clubs.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:08 am
Adisboy wrote: Mon Sep 12, 2022 9:47 am Remo Stars doing the right things. You can see the structure that has been set now we are seeing the results. The current coach was sent to Portugal for a year as an understudy. Also they have a well structured youth academy. This is how clubs should be run in Nigeria
Agreed.... This is specifically why the state should get out.... With the state, there is no incentive for long run growth of any of the clubs.
That is the first major hurdle.

Sunset wrote: Mon Sep 12, 2022 11:41 pm

They should put a hold on the celebrations until after the 2nd leg. We tend to over celebrate.

They need to focus o. They are talking as if the tie is won.

So.what, let them celebrate. this was their first ever continental experience

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 10:31 pm So.what, let them celebrate. this was their first ever continental experience
Celebrate what? Let them finish the job and qualify for the next round then they can celebrate.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 11:58 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 10:31 pm So.what, let them celebrate. this was their first ever continental experience
Celebrate what? Let them finish the job and qualify for the next round then they can celebrate.
Celebrate their first "ever" appearance on the continent where over half their squad only have one full season of top-flight experience to date, and against a side from the toughest league in the continent? That alone is quite the achievement for a club that was founded 12 years ago. For me they have already outdone any expectations had for this game.

Sunset wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 12:41 am
Celebrate their first "ever" appearance on the continent where over half their squad only have one full season of top-flight experience to date, and against a side from the toughest league in the continent? That alone is quite the achievement for a club that was founded 12 years ago. For me they have already outdone any expectations had for this game.
....agreed but they have an opportunity to move on and they must focus on making that happen.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 12:58 am
Sunset wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 12:41 am
....agreed but they have an opportunity to move on and they must focus on making that happen.
I agree with that as well, hopefully they'll have the services of Andy Okpe (top goalscorer last season) for this second leg, with his sheer presence as well as aerial prowess, we might have seen a bigger scoreline in Remos favour.

Bigpokey in the middle...

Sunset wrote: Fri Sep 16, 2022 5:33 am
So, it’s no longer Porto…