REMO STARS - The privately run NPFL club shaking up the domestic scene

ukwala
Re: The privately run NPFL club on the verge of a major shakeup to the domestic scene and the SE - REMO STARS

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 12:57 pm
ukwala wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 12:26 pm
Sunset wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:25 pm They maintain their top position in the NPFL with a very tough away win in Bauchi vs Wikki Tourists. Andy Okpe (20) assisted both goals and is only second to Ishaq Rafiu (former Remo player) in goal contributions so far in the League.
I suppose this was the game they travelled by air to. While not concluding that the result was because of that, it helps to arrive the match venue well rested and in your best physical condition.
The effect of tough travel conditions in Nigeria has to be one of factors impacting results plus the quick turnaround between games given the long distance for travel.
EII,

Correct. Barca traveled to Milan by road during the ash cloud in Europe and claimed that was the reason they lost 1-3 to Inter. That made me realize the impact of road travel on performance.

The quick turn around is totally unnecessary and is due to poor planning. There are 40 weeks in a season and 12 weeks holiday. If the LMC and NFF can get their acts together and start the league on time, they can play one game per week (38 weeks) and still have 2 weeks plus few midweeks for the not so many cup games. They don’t even have to stop during international breaks!! Poor poor planning.

The EPL plays league games midweek because they have many cup games and the international breaks.
Re: The privately run NPFL club on the verge of a major shakeup to the domestic scene and the SE - REMO STARS

Bell wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 8:26 am WANT TO IMPROVE DOMESTIC SOCCER?

Start by privatizing all the clubs and then reduce the number down to about 18 - tell the govs, sorry, it's not about you. After improving the quality, consider subscription TV so people all over the country can watch various clubs.

I actualy have a radical idea. The Federal government should pass a law requiring government to stop owning clubs. It should community owned. Any one that leaves in the community or in the state can buy shares. Mandate the NTA to carry atleast 8 games a weeks. Launxh a NTA sports channel that people can pay for. Use the revenue to help fund the teams. Government should lease out sports facilities and provide security and help with the launch of the NTA sports channel for a 10 percent stake in the clubs. Also provide tax holiday for like 10 years.

Vandrezzer FC are another private club who are the best in the whole country wrt media coverage of the team and it's of a really high quality, the same can't be said of their football but it can only get better.

[tweet][/tweet]

Sunset wrote: Tue Jan 25, 2022 9:47 pm Vandrezzer FC are another private club who are the best in the whole country wrt media coverage of the team and it's of a really high quality, the same can't be said of their football but it can only get better.
Vandezzer and Remo football clubs are the future of Nigerian football. We will get there one day, if clubs can be privately run successfully in Kenya, Zambia, Sudan, Ethiopia, Angola, DR Congo, Cote D'Ivoire, Tanzania etc, there's no reason why it cannot be done in Nigeria.

[tweet][/tweet]

Sunset wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:32 pm :clap: :clap: :clap:
[tweet][/tweet]
Egu should be in Europe speaking to our players about his plans for the crucial WCQs against Ghana.

Dammy wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 8:56 pm
[tweet][/tweet]
Egu should be in Europe speaking to our players about his plans for the crucial WCQs against Ghana.
How do you know he's not on the phone with them in the pic :wink:

[tweet][/tweet]
Love it!! Do not be a stranger to football being played in the country. Kudos!!!!

As an aside, I wish more teams like Remo can emerge and we get rid of state owned teams that do little to improve the league.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Sunset, thanks for continuing to provide content like this on this forum. Well don sir.

metalalloy wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 1:09 am Sunset, thanks for continuing to provide content like this on this forum. Well don sir.

Cellular wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 1:17 am
metalalloy wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 1:09 am Sunset, thanks for continuing to provide content like this on this forum. Well don sir.
Thanks Guys :thumbs: I appreciate it

Their boys have scored 7 goals in a single match twice now in the private league

[tweet][/tweet]

Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Bell wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 8:26 am WANT TO IMPROVE DOMESTIC SOCCER?

Start by privatizing all the clubs and then reduce the number down to about 18 - tell the govs, sorry, it's not about you. After improving the quality, consider subscription TV so people all over the country can watch various clubs.
Oga, no be by declaration. Please state the "HOW" clearly. Everyone knows what needs to be done..
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

[tweet][/tweet]

After retaining their TCC League crown their U19's are competing in the NLO (3rd division) and the U19 Viareggio Cup simultaneously and doing quite well, I'm not sure why they go by ATFA but it includes a number of players on the fringes for the first team.

[tweet][/tweet]

They become the first Nigerian Reps to make it to the final of the Viareggio Cup (U19) :clap: :clap: :clap:

Sunset wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 12:37 am They become the first Nigerian Reps to make it to the final of the Viareggio Cup (U19) :clap: :clap: :clap:
Sunset,

Wow, great possessionsoccer by the Nigerian lads even under duress. I love it. Which Academy are these lads from and who coaches the kids? Really, really great possession football in the bit that i have watched thus far. :clap: :clap: :clap:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 1:05 am
Sunset wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 12:37 am They become the first Nigerian Reps to make it to the final of the Viareggio Cup (U19) :clap: :clap: :clap:
Sunset,

Wow, great possessionsoccer by the Nigerian lads even under duress. I love it. Which Academy are these lads from and who coaches the kids? Really, really great possession football in the bit that i have watched thus far. :clap: :clap: :clap:
They are all Remo Stars U19 (Beyond limits) players the majority playing in the TCC league while two of them have been training with the first team nut haven't gotten much playing time in the League

Sadly they lost in the finals on penalties
[tweet][/tweet]

https://www.viareggiocup.com/news-dal-t ... dividuali/
Ayomide Ogungbe - CM

Emmanuel Lekan Oyedele - CB/LB

Coach Johnson Ibe

I hear their U17 team will be in Dallas next weekend for Addidas Youth Cup. Will be doing everything in my power to catch a game or 2

Ugbowo wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 9:10 pm I hear their U17 team will be in Dallas next weekend for Addidas Youth Cup. Will be doing everything in my power to catch a game or 2

U17 BOYS
04/10/22 09:00am
Remo Stars Beyond Limits Football Academy V Colorado Rapids (Live on youtube)
04/11/22 03:00pm
Remo Stars Beyond Limits Football Academy V LA Galaxy
04/12/22 03:00pm
Toronto FC Academy V Remo Stars Beyond Limits Football Academy