Time to move on

Gents,

We won the game and got the three points but the reality is we haven't done anything other than put together a great 45 mins performance that we haven't seen in years (well the SLeone game had a great first half too).

We need to stop patting ourselves on the back and move on.

Sudan will be very tough and Guinea Bissau even harder. Now is not the time to rest on our laurels. Coach Egu already posted his celebration on IG. I would hope he too is not getting carried away.
Re: Time to move on

45 minutes ?

Come on. This match was dominant from start to finish, other than perhaps the last 10 minutes.

I have not seen us dominate an opponent of this quality for a long time. We manhandled them. Finishing and final decisions need to improve though.

On to the next match.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:28 pm 45 minutes ?

Come on. This match was dominant from start to finish, other than perhaps the last 10 minutes.

I have not seen us dominate an opponent of this quality for a long time. We manhandled them. Finishing and final decisions need to improve though.

On to the next match.
45 mins we hardly put a foot wrong and completely dominated. In the second half we gave up possession too easily with harried clearances and invited pressure. Egypt's formation and personnel changes threated us for a minute but not so much. The second half was not as crisp as the first. Great victory regardless but we need to shut it down and move on.

We didn't come to afcon just to beat Egypt.

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:24 pm Gents,

We won the game and got the three points but the reality is we haven't done anything other than put together a great 45 mins performance that we haven't seen in years (well the SLeone game had a great first half too).

Sudan will be very tough and Guinea Bissau even harder. Now is not the time to rest on our laurels. Coach Egu already posted his celebration on IG. I would hope he too is not getting carried away.
Abeg relax... We as fans are in high spirits over a well earned victory because WE ARE FANS and its what we do. That doesn't mean we over the moon about anything just yet, I believe the players and coaching staffs are professionals and know enough that the battle is far from been won as they gear up for the next challenge... we've been shite for so long that any silver-lining at this point is a much needed break for us

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:32 pm

Abeg relax... We as fans are in high spirits over a well earned victory because WE ARE FANS and its what we do. That doesn't mean we over the moon about anything just yet, I believe the players and coaching staffs are professionals and know enough that the battle is far from been won as they gear up for the next challenge
Sorry, it's coming from my coaching mind set. I've seen over celebrations derail teams. We need to act like this is business as usual.

Ok..so should we all start practicing free-kicks at home abi what do you suggest as we move on?
Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:35 pm

Abeg relax... We as fans are in high spirits over a well earned victory because WE ARE FANS and its what we do. That doesn't mean we over the moon about anything just yet, I believe the players and coaching staffs are professionals and know enough that the battle is far from been won as they gear up for the next challenge
Sorry, it's coming from my coaching mind set. I've seen over celebrations derail teams. We need to act like this is business as usual.

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:31 pm

On to the next match.
45 mins we hardly put a foot wrong and completely dominated. In the second half we gave up possession too easily with harried clearances and invited pressure. Egypt's formation and personnel changes threated us for a minute but not so much. The second half was not as crisp as the first. Great victory regardless but we need to shut it down and move on.

I agree with the bolded, but it wasn't the entire 2nd half. More like the last 15 minutes.

nanijoe wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:37 pm Ok..so should we all start practicing free-kicks at home abi what do you suggest as we move on?

LOL No. Let's move on to Sudan.

How should we line up? How are we shutting them down and attacking them?

Not the bunch of carpenters, bricklayers, plumbers, pure water sellers and night soil men that played today...

But I get your overall point though...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:38 pm
nanijoe wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:37 pm Ok..so should we all start practicing free-kicks at home abi what do you suggest as we move on?

LOL No. Let's move on to Sudan.

How should we line up? How are we shutting them down and attacking them?
I think we should have a zoom session to discuss the next games ahead... Meanwhile where's Enugu II when you need him? He usually organizes these zoom sessions.
sabb

Post by sabb »

:rotf: :rotf: ooh la la
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:41 pm

Not the bunch of carpenters, bricklayers, plumbers, pure water sellers and night soil men that played today...

Seems like we are forgetting CAR and Madagascar already.

Are you sure you watched the same game?

joao wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:51 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:41 pm

Seems like we are forgetting CAR and Madagascar already.

I forgot to add panel beaters and fuckinizers :rotf: :rotf:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Us? fans? or you mean the players? Because whatever we (fans) do. Whether we move on or we refuse to move on and continue to twerk from now till 2066, it will have ZERO EFFECT ON HOW THE TEAM PERFORMS! ZERO! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I Often wonder why people do not like fans to enjoy anything, when it has ABSOLUTELY NO EFFECT on the team's performance. So, we should move on? when are we to enjoy our team? Are we supposed to continue to postpone excitement and happiness?

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:35 pm Sorry, it's coming from my coaching mind set. I've seen over celebrations derail teams. We need to act like this is business as usual.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

On to the next match.

The 2hf was expected as we would not be expected to keep the same intensity, but could've and should've managed the game more efficiently.

Lots of opportunities with better control to have severely punished Egypt...

sabb wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:45 pm

:rotf: :rotf: ooh la la

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:03 pm

Us? fans? or you mean the players? Because whatever we (fans) do. Whether we move on or we refuse to move on and continue to twerk from now till 2066, it will have ZERO EFFECT ON HOW THE TEAM PERFORMS! ZERO! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I Often wonder why people do not like fans to enjoy anything, when it has ABSOLUTELY NO EFFECT on the team's performance. So, we should move on? when are we to enjoy our team? Are we supposed to continue to postpone excitement and happiness?
You forget the social media world that we are in today. Guys will be glued to their timelines reading all the endless praises they will be getting. Like i said i already saw Coachie posting a celebratory video on IG. Our excitement transmits to them definitely.

We just need to act like we have been here before and this is nothing new to us. Move on to the next game. Saturday soon come.

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:04 pm

On to the next match.

The 2hf was expected as we would not be expected to keep the same intensity, but could've and should've managed the game more efficiently.

A second goal would have killed them off and may have led to a third or fourth.

But the first half was job well done albeit helped by a cagey clueless at times, Egyptian team.

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:08 pm
danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:03 pm

You forget the social media world that we are in today. Guys will be glued to their timelines reading all the endless praises they will be getting. Like i said i already saw Coachie posting a celebratory video on IG. Our excitement transmits to them definitely.

We just need to act like we have been here before and this is nothing new to us. Move on to the next game. Saturday soon come.

Your point is well taken...Glad Egu spoke about taking things game by game...No sense in an early euphoria...

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:09 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:04 pm

On to the next match.

A second goal would have killed them off and may have led to a third or fourth.

But the first half was job well done albeit helped by a cagey clueless at times, Egyptian team.

It was not that Egypt was clueless. The reality is that they were outfoxed. In my view,. after watching Nigeria, Egypt did have a good plan but were definitely surprised. I believe with Salah's pace centrally against two central defenders that are challenged by pace, Egypt had a plan and it required getting the ball to Salah to run against the slow-footed central defenders. IT DID NOT WORK. It didn't work simply because not only did Nigerian attackers harass Egypt's back four preventing them from launching balls for Salah to run onto but also cut off the passing lanes by challenging every ball in the middle. Bottomline, Egypt had a plan but they were outfoxed.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics