Carlos Queiroz: We only started playing in the second-half against Nigeria

Egypt national team manager, Carlos Queiroz, spoke about his team’s disappointing performance during their loss to Nigeria in the AFCON.

Egypt couldn’t have asked for a worse start to the their 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) campaign in terms of both result and performance.

The Pharaohs fell to a 1-0 defeat against Nigeria, thanks to a goal from Kelechi Iheanacho late in the first-half. The Super Eagles were by far the more dangerous side for the entirety of the encounter and could’ve increased the gap if it wasn’t for Mohamed El-Shennawy’s heroic performance.

The game marked Egypt’s first AFCON opener defeat since 2002 when they lost to Senegal 1-0 and their first group-stage defeat when they fell against Algeria in Tunisia.

Egypt now need to beat their remaining Group D opponents, Sudan and Guinea-Bissau, in order to book their spot in the round of 16.

Queiroz admitted that they produced a very weak display and were inferior to Nigeria, but says they need to focus on their upcoming clashes.

“The performance in the first-half was very poor, and that’s the truth, we weren’t on the pitch,” Queiroz told beIN Sport TV after the game.

“We only started playing in the second-half. There’s no clear reason behind this failure and defeat against Nigeria.

“We lost this match but there are still six points up for grabs against Sudan and Guinea-Bissau in order to qualify from the group,” he concluded.

With this win Nigeria sit on top of Group D as they wait to see the final result between Sudan and Guinea-Bissau tonight.

Egypt have no other choice but to win against Guinea-Bissau next Saturday, before facing Sudan in the final round four days later.

https://www.kingfut.com/2022/01/11/quei ... eria-loss/
Re: Carlos Queiroz: We only started playing in the second-half against Nigeria

The setup by Queiroz it has to be said was beyond garbage and not a credit to his supposed experience in the game.

Even in the 2hf when he claims they started playing, I would counter that the lack of composure at key moments by Nigeria saved them from some severe punishment...

Absolute rubbish...

But they should still qualify...
Last edited by txj on Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

'Even my grandmother would have blown for penalty' - Egypt coach blasts referees

Egypt's Portuguese head coach Carlos Queiroz has questioned the use of video assistant referee after his side were allegedly denied a penalty during their 1-0 loss to Nigeria in Tuesday's Group D clash at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

Ten minutes to the end of the game, the Egyptian players pressurized Bakary Gassama to award a penalty after Moses Simon slipped and brought down Zizo but the Gambian official disagreed, ruling that the foul was committed by the Zamalek winger.

The video assistant referee reviewed the incident and agreed with the decision of the onfield official.

Queiroz blasted the VAR decision that potentially cost the North Africans a draw, adding that his granny would have spotted the foul and awarded a penalty.

In quotes relayed by Africa Foot United, Queiroz said : "In the second half, there was a penalty very clear for us that the referee did not whistle, and the VAR did not intervene.

"Maybe at that time the VAR was not working. There was clearly a penalty. It was not our day, it was also not a good day for refereeing.

"Even my grandmother would have blown for this penalty on the fault on our player. It's a disaster because there are referees from VAR.

"This is unacceptable. Watch the action yourself. It's amazing that with all these referees, no one indicated the fault".

With their toughest game in the group out of the way, Nigeria can now shift attention to facing Sudan this coming Saturday, with a win guaranteeing them a spot in the knockout round.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=42199

Excuses galore!

The foul was committed outside the box. It would have been a free kick at the edge of the box.
iworo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:49 pm 'Even my grandmother would have blown for penalty' - Egypt coach blasts referees

Egypt's Portuguese head coach Carlos Queiroz has questioned the use of video assistant referee after his side were allegedly denied a penalty during their 1-0 loss to Nigeria in Tuesday's Group D clash at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

Ten minutes to the end of the game, the Egyptian players pressurized Bakary Gassama to award a penalty after Moses Simon slipped and brought down Zizo but the Gambian official disagreed, ruling that the foul was committed by the Zamalek winger.

The video assistant referee reviewed the incident and agreed with the decision of the onfield official.

Queiroz blasted the VAR decision that potentially cost the North Africans a draw, adding that his granny would have spotted the foul and awarded a penalty.

In quotes relayed by Africa Foot United, Queiroz said : "In the second half, there was a penalty very clear for us that the referee did not whistle, and the VAR did not intervene.

"Maybe at that time the VAR was not working. There was clearly a penalty. It was not our day, it was also not a good day for refereeing.

"Even my grandmother would have blown for this penalty on the fault on our player. It's a disaster because there are referees from VAR.

"This is unacceptable. Watch the action yourself. It's amazing that with all these referees, no one indicated the fault".

With their toughest game in the group out of the way, Nigeria can now shift attention to facing Sudan this coming Saturday, with a win guaranteeing them a spot in the knockout round.

Excuses galore!

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah given new role as Egypt need instant response

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah played his first game at AFCON 2021 and we run the rule over his performance in Egypt's 1-0 defeat to Nigeria in Group D.

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah struggled in Egypt's Africa Cup of Nations 2021 opener as they were defeated by Nigeria.

Leicester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho scored the only goal of the game when he buried a half volley into the top corner in the first-half.

Salah had a decent chance to level the score in the second-half, but the Liverpool forward was unable to take it and Nigeria held on for a deserved victory.

We kept a close eye on proceedings at the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Cameroon and here's how Salah's afternoon went.

Where did he play?

Egypt manager and former Manchester United assistant Carlos Queiroz deployed a peculiar-looking '5-5-0' formation in which Salah was given a free role.

The Reds superstar moved from a central position out to the right-wing in the opening 45 minutes but Egypt struggled to move the ball from defence to attack.

He would continue to switch positions throughout the game in comparison to what we are used to seeing from him in Liverpool's structured attack.

Interestingly, Salah was always willing to drop in deep to gather possession - possibly because of the difficult Egypt had in breaking Nigeria down.

He looked to get on the ball and make things happen linking midfield to attack, but whenever he dropped into those positions, Leicester midfielder Wilfried Ndidi, along with centre-backs Will Troost-Ekong and Kenneth Omeruo, were quick to triple up on him. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

How did he play?

Salah fell short of replicating Reds teammate Sadio Mane's heroics for Senegal on Monday with Egypt, in truth, making it difficult for him to shine.

Playing five at the back with a flat midfield, Salah was so isolated that few of his teammates even got near him for long periods of the game.

Arsenal midfielder Mohamed Elneny offered little-to-nothing in midfield, with Egypt struggling to mount any sort of build-up play throughout.

This left Salah to come short for the ball. But when he did, he was often swarmed.

Salah won't be pleased with his performance - he strives for success in every match - but Nigeria's dominance meant he was starved of chances.

He had a few moments in front of goal - the 29-year-old was able to roll a defender before having his shot stopped and then saw a goal-bound volley blocked - but nothing to shout about until the final stages of the match.

His biggest opportunity was a chance in the 72nd minute.

Egypt substitute Zizo, who was able to link up with Salah after coming on, played a nice chipped ball through to the Liverpool attacker who then went one-on-one with the goalkeeper. But making the attempt when off balance, Salah's shot was saved.

It's the kind of situation from which we've seen Salah score for Liverpool countless times.

Whatever the intended system was, it did not work too well for the Pharaohs with Salah left isolated.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/f ... t-22718796

olu wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:56 pm The foul was committed outside the box. It would have been a free kick at the edge of the box.
iworo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:49 pm 'Even my grandmother would have blown for penalty' - Egypt coach blasts referees

Excuses galore!
I thought it should have been a free kick against us but it was clearly outside the box. Queiroz must have been dreaming when answering that question.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The free kick was given for us because the Egyptian winger caused Simon to slip by putting his hand on Simon's face.

Accept ur L and move on.
fledy

Post by fledy »

This dude is a master complainant!! Your team lost & you were lucky with the score line. It could have 3-0 just like that. Why don't you do the honorable thing by congratulating your opponent and admit that you were out coached and out talented :):)

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:40 pm The free kick was given for us because the Egyptian winger caused Simon to slip by putting his hand on Simon's face.

Accept ur L and move on
That's what I saw when the video was replayed, else I had thought it was penalty at first.

Your grandmother would have had to be incredibly dumb to blow for a penalty when it was the Egyptian player who initiated the incidental collision by tripping the defender and then proceeded to throw himself on the turf. He really ought to have been cautioned for diving❗️

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 11:40 pm The free kick was given for us because the Egyptian winger caused Simon to slip by putting his hand on Simon's face.

Accept ur L and move on.
The attacker deliberately stopped rather than chase after the dropping ball so that Moses would run into him with the ball so far away there is no way you can call that a foul on Moses, clear obstruction by the attacker and it was checked (twice in fact) by VAR, but they know Picnic go cause problems if they called that lol.

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:49 pm The setup by Queiroz it has to be said was beyond garbage and not a credit to his supposed experience in the game.

Even in the 2hf when he claims they started playing, I would counter that the lack of composure at key moments by Nigeria saved them from some severe punishment...

Absolute rubbish...

But they should still qualify...
Agreed!

The man is toking because we didn't bury our chances.

Na di kin tin I dey dislike... Pesin catab you and you begin tok, "if only I played like dis bifor."

Simon's atrocious crosses. Kelechi's bad touches, selfish none squaring passes by Ejuke and the man won't be opening his stinking mouth.