Page 1 of 2

Striker problem

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:40 pm
by ohenhen1
Hopefully Awoniyi and Sadiq improve next game. But if they continue to struggle, we need to look at trialing out either Olayinka or Onyekuru as a false 9.

Re: Striker problem

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:51 pm
:roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:55 pm
by YemiBrazil
Ohenhen you don start??

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:03 pm
by 1naija
You are right, especially for Awoniyi whom this was his second game. I said the same thing on another thread. He is strong on the ball, but with Osimhen and Onuachu coming back, he and Sadiq need to start scoring or they will have a hard time making the world cup squad if we qualify. Especially if Dennis continues with his form and he eventually makes peace with the team.
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:40 pm Hopefully Awoniyi and Sadiq improve next game. But if they continue to struggle, we need to look at trialing out either Olayinka or Onyekuru as a false 9.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:06 pm
by Flex Swift
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:40 pm Hopefully Awoniyi and Sadiq improve next game. But if they continue to struggle, we need to look at trialing out either Olayinka or Onyekuru as a false 9.
I would not use the term Striker ‘problem’ I would use the term ‘opportunity’ because this tournament is their chance to prove themselves and unseat the automatic choices. They have to score in the next two games or have a cracker.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:15 pm
by YemiBrazil
Matchday 1 versus Egypt, striker problem? In a tournament where the defending champions are yet to find the net, even the host country Cameroon only got on the scoresheet via penalty kicks, scoring machine Mo Sallah... blank, Senegal's Mane... penalty... we may have striker problem but we don't have a pattern yet to justify such conclusion, and we should be glad we got capable replacements with our preferred choices out.

With that said I would turn to Egypt, Senegal, Algeria and Cameroon's Ohenhen by saying, hopefully Mo Sallah, Sadio Mane, Mahrez and Abubakar improve next game or we 'trial' other options.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:18 pm
by airwolex
YemiBrazil wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:15 pm Matchday 1 versus Egypt, striker problem? In a tournament where the defending champions are yet to find the net, even the host country Cameroon only got on the scoresheet via penalty kicks, scoring machine Mo Sallah... blank, Senegal's Mane... penalty... we may have striker problem but we don't have a pattern yet to justify such conclusion, and we should be glad we got capable replacements with our preferred choices out.

With that said I would turn to Egypt, Senegal, Algeria and Cameroon's Ohenhen by saying, hopefully Mo Sallah, Sadio Mane, Mahrez and Abubakar improve next game or we 'trial' other options.
1Naija said Awoniyi is under pressure because he hasn't scored in 2 games. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:19 pm
by waka-man
Awoniyi did well. Ran the channels, smart movement in the box, combined with Nacho, pressured the ball, kept the defence on their toes.

Umar looked a bit lost but that’s understandable first game. And after Nacho left the game Umar was isolated.

Nothing I would consider a problem.

by Tobi17
YemiBrazil wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:15 pm Matchday 1 versus Egypt, striker problem? In a tournament where the defending champions are yet to find the net, even the host country Cameroon only got in the scoresheet via penalty kicks, scoring machine Mo Sallah... blank, Senegal's Mane... penalty... we may have striker problem but we don't have a pattern yet to justify such conclusion, and we should be glad we got capable replacements with our preferred choices out.

Na you get time sef... The reasoning of these people baffles me. Awoniyi just made his AFCON debut yesterday and you were expecting bangers from him? smh

by airwolex
1Naija said Awoniyi is under pressure because he hasn't scored in 2 games. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Naija can put pressure on people sha

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:22 pm
by Enugu II
Sadiq, particularly, was out of sorts. He needs to be better. Although, he may claim that he had little service during the period that he was on.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:31 pm
by 1naija
I am not the one putting pressure on Awoniyi, the situation is. Or maybe you would like him to be the next Onyekuru that is only considered when all else fails.

The fact is, the proven strikers for Nigeria so far are:

Osimhen
Nacho
Onuachu
Ighalo ( whether we like it or not ... unless he retires completely)

Awoniyi will have to displace one of them to make it to the WC. And don't forget he will have Onyekuru, Olayinka, Sadiq, and Dennis to contend with as well. This is fact, not feelings! If he doesn't start scoring soon, it won't be 1naija that will keep him out.
airwolex wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:19 pm 1Naija said Awoniyi is under pressure because he hasn't scored in 2 games. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:39 pm
by airwolex
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:31 pm I am not the one putting pressure on Awoniyi, the situation is. Or maybe you would like him to be the next Onyekuru that is only considered when all else fails.

The fact is, the proven strikers for Nigeria so far are:

Osimhen
Nacho
Onuachu
Ighalo ( whether we like it or not ... unless he retires completely)

Awoniyi will have to displace one of them to make it to the WC. And don't forget he will have Onyekuru, Olayinka, Sadiq, and Dennis to contend with as well. This is fact, not feelings! If he doesn't start scoring soon, it won't be 1naija that will keep him out.
airwolex wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:19 pm 1Naija said Awoniyi is under pressure because he hasn't scored in 2 games. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Yes, I am sure Awoniyi knows this, however, his performance yesterday, despite the fact that e didn't score, was encouraging.

If it were just pure hustle and bustle, then it's one thing, but he had a few good attempts at goal.

Let's see how he gets on in this competition.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:41 pm
by aruako1
YemiBrazil wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:15 pm Matchday 1 versus Egypt, striker problem? In a tournament where the defending champions are yet to find the net, even the host country Cameroon only got on the scoresheet via penalty kicks, scoring machine Mo Sallah... blank, Senegal's Mane... penalty... we may have striker problem but we don't have a pattern yet to justify such conclusion, and we should be glad we got capable replacements with our preferred choices out.

Please stop it! Logic and sound reasoning are not allowed on this thread!

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 4:36 pm
by fabio
Let's put things in perspective, the two strikers have a combined number of 3 international caps. They played against a very good defence.

Awoniyi, needs to score a goal, and he would be fine, and Sadiq needs more playing time (they remember of Mario Mandžukić) somewhat awkward to defend against.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:25 pm
by Sunset
fabio wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 4:36 pm
Let's put things in perspective, the two strikers have a combined number of 3 international caps. They played against a very good defence.

Awoniyi, needs to score a goal, and he would be fine, and Sadiq needs more playing time (they remember of Mario Mandžukić) somewhat awkward to defend against.
:agree: and none of them were friendlies! Egypt might have been poor but they're still not pushovers, but I expect more when we come up against Sudan and Guinea-Bissau

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:31 pm
by vancity eagle
Striker problem ?

Yet our main winger (who everybody was hyperbolically hyping as the 2nd comming of Messi) did not have ONE SINGLE KEY PASS all game.

In fact Awoniyi would have scored an easy tap in if Simon wasn't so pigheadedly selfish and shot from an impossible angle instead of simply squaring the ball to Taiwo.

Despite all the hype how many actual chances did Simon create ?

We had plenty of attacking opportunities where we could have killed Egypt, but our wingers were mostly selfish or lacked the final ball.

No we dont have a striker problem until our strikers start missing chances. They simply aren't getting any.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:53 pm
by joao
We don't have individual striker problem, but combined attack discipline issues.
For those who can, please watch the match again and try seeing how many wrong passing options
were made in the final third. Also we should not omit the fact of players shooting instead of passing
the ball to a teammate better positioned to take a shot at goal.
With players getting selfish, mishandle a first touch in the box, or cannot choose the better positioned
teammate to pass the ball to, these are why we could not extend our lead against Egypt.
Attacking players need to be more focused and posses better emotional control in these situations,
to enable better team cohesion in the attacking final third.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:59 pm
by Lolly
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:22 pm Sadiq, particularly, was out of sorts. He needs to be better. Although, he may claim that he had little service during the period that he was on.
That is Sadiq for you. I have never rated him. And to make matters worse, he is so laid back. Similar problem Nwakali has.

Let's see what he will do next time he plays.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:59 pm
by 1naija
You all are in denial. The fact that Ighalo was recalled should tell you something.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 6:01 pm
by vancity eagle
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:59 pm You all are in denial. The fact that Ighalo was recalled should tell you something.
It told us that our coach was clueless.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 6:07 pm
by olu
We don't have a striker problem. Iheanacho scored and Awoniyi will eventually score if he continues to get chances and do the good things he's doing (running the channels, chasing down defenders, and making intelligent runs). Umar only played 20 minutes so I won't say he struggled.

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2022 6:15 pm
by Damunk
Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:59 pm
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 3:22 pm Sadiq, particularly, was out of sorts. He needs to be better. Although, he may claim that he had little service during the period that he was on.
That is Sadiq for you. I have never rated him. And to make matters worse, he is so laid back. Similar problem Nwakali has.

Let's see what he will do next time he plays.
Guy, you’ve been watching football long enough to know that tall and long-legged footballers all appear to be laid back.
Especially strikers.
It’s their long stride and higher center of gravity. They are also said to be slow but that’s because of their long strides - meaning they cover a fixed distance with less strides.
Sadiq is exceptionally skillful for someone of that height. He just needs to, uhm…. get into his stride. :idea: