set Piece and crosses

Re: set Piece and crosses

fabio wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 9:46 am Corner kicks was also a problem under Rohr tenure or are we quick to forget?

The excuse for Rohr was the SE camp is not the place to learn such arts, players ought to have learnt corner kicks before getting to the SE. Now it's suddenly the fault of local coaches handling the SE. Please!
When is your selective memory going to self-correct?
How is it "suddenly" when everything happening now was also blamed on Rohr?
Did you ever raise your voice to ask how poor crossing was Rohr's fault?

It is NOT the responsibility of a NATIONAL coach to teach a player how to cross a ball.
Not now, not ever.

So why is it only now you are realising this?
Whoever is blaming Egu for it is not serious, just like those that blamed Rohr.
Simple.

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 9:51 am
fabio wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 9:46 am Corner kicks was also a problem under Rohr tenure or are we quick to forget?

The excuse for Rohr was the SE camp is not the place to learn such arts, players ought to have learnt corner kicks before getting to the SE. Now it's suddenly the fault of local coaches handling the SE. Please!
Is it the responsibility of the local coach or the NFF to provide training equipment for the national team?
If you know the answer to the question them you will know where the blame lies.
Dammy, it is not in the national camp that players will "learn" how to take free kicks or corner kicks.
All that will happen is that they will keep their core specialty skills up to scratch by practising.

If they couldn't cross at their clubs, it is not in the SE camp that they will learn how to do it.

Bell wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 1:42 am
Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 11:47 pm
Flex Swift wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:04 pm
NationsCup wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 8:33 pm So many corners and dead ball situations at major tournaments with zero end product.
Does the team practice? The reporters are more concerned with what the players ate rather than asking them footballing questions. All practice sessions shown have been running around the pitch & pigy in the middle. I haven’t seen any equipment used as a wall for dead ball specialist to practice free kicks
Thanks for your observation, when I mentioned this in a different thread, I was accused of being against local coaches. We had all these training equipment when Rohr was in charge, what happened to them. We are only training with cones, running around and playing Team A against Team B.

JUST ASKING...

...in the space of two weeks, did these players suddenly forget everything Rohr taught them over the last six years? Let's not forget that though this is an African setup, many of the Nigerian players either matured their game outside Africa or were actually born overseas. It's not helpful to simply echo here the mindless stereotypes some foreign commentators spew out.
Shocking. He is practically saying **** taught the SE how to score corners , defend them etc in 6 years, and since **** left , the Local coaches sold all the training materials and the SE became clueless on set pieces...nevermind his new oyinbo journey man will bring new training materials 4 days before the playoffs

Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 10:01 am
Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 9:51 am

Is it the responsibility of the local coach or the NFF to provide training equipment for the national team?
If you know the answer to the question them you will know where the blame lies.
Dammy, it is not in the national camp that players will "learn" how to take free kicks or corner kicks.
All that will happen is that they will keep their core specialty skills up to scratch by practising.

If they couldn't cross at their clubs, it is not in the SE camp that they will learn how to do it.
Bro, I agree with you totally. My point is that the NFF should provide the right equipment for the national team to train with. All the videos of the SE training since camp opened on 5 January does not show any training equipment except cones.
In a prior comment, I used free-kick expert, Ronald Koeman, as an example. He practiced EVERY DAY!!
it's 8 days now, even Nwakili will struggle with free-kicks when there's no equipment to train with. It's not a local coach v foreign coach issue like some are trying to make it up to be.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 9:52 am When is your selective memory going to self-correct?
How is it "suddenly" when everything happening now was also blamed on Rohr?
Did you ever raise your voice to ask how poor crossing was Rohr's fault?

It is NOT the responsibility of a NATIONAL coach to teach a player how to cross a ball.
Not now, not ever.

So why is it only now you are realising this?
Whoever is blaming Egu for it is not serious, just like those that blamed Rohr.
Simple.
I actually raised this issue in our first ever zoom call.

Using my selective memory, I remember being told... Paul Onuachu scored from a corner kick against Benin.

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 10:24 am Bro, I agree with you totally. My point is that the NFF should provide the right equipment for the national team to train with. All the videos of the SE training since camp opened on 5 January does not show any training equipment except cones.
In a prior comment, I used free-kick expert, Ronald Koeman, as an example. He practiced EVERY DAY!!
it's 8 days now, even Nwakili will struggle with free-kicks when there's no equipment to train with. It's not a local coach v foreign coach issue like some are trying to make it up to be.
David Beckham, Jonny Wilkinson, Michael Hussey etc these were individuals who took personal responsibilities to become better. Some used paid volunteers to help them out, other had the equipment.

Seriously, these are not things that national team or coaches focus a whole lot of time on. There us only so much time allocated for training. Coaches use that time to work on these but the time us never enough. Those who become po roficient spend I ndividual time honing the skill. Read Oliseh's book and learn how the proficient players work on this at their own time at club level.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 3:57 pm Seriously, these are not things that national team or coaches focus a whole lot of time on. There us only so much time allocated for training. Coaches use that time to work on these but the time us never enough. Those who become po roficient spend I ndividual time honing the skill. Read Oliseh's book and learn how the proficient players work on this at their own time at club level.
The England national team worked extensively on set-pieces in training and you saw the benefits of that at the last World Cup.

The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 4:09 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 3:57 pm Seriously, these are not things that national team or coaches focus a whole lot of time on. There us only so much time allocated for training. Coaches use that time to work on these but the time us never enough. Those who become po roficient spend I ndividual time honing the skill. Read Oliseh's book and learn how the proficient players work on this at their own time at club level.
The England national team worked extensively on set-pieces in training and you saw the benefits of that at the last World Cup.
Yeyeman

I bet you that the players who are directly involved spend far more time on it. The team just does not have enough time as required to work on such matters with the minute details and repetition necessary. Guys like Messi and Ronaldo who perfect those things do not do so in team drills but on individual drills for hours.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Jan 13, 2022 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 4:47 pm
Yerevan

I bet you that the players who are directly involved spend far more time on it. The team just does not have enough time as required to work on such matters with the munute details and repetition necessary. Guys like Messi and Ronaldo who perfect those things do not do so in team drills but on individual drills for hours.
Given the little amount of prep time the team has had for AFCON (plus a new coach) then they won't have a great amount of time to devote to set-piece routines. But I'd be very surprised and disappointed if they aren't doing defensive and attacking set-piece drills at all.

The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 5:23 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 4:47 pm
Yerevan

I bet you that the players who are directly involved spend far more time on it. The team just does not have enough time as required to work on such matters with the munute details and repetition necessary. Guys like Messi and Ronaldo who perfect those things do not do so in team drills but on individual drills for hours.
Given the little amount of prep time the team has had for AFCON (plus a new coach) then they won't have a great amount of time to devote to set-piece routines. But I'd be very surprised and disappointed if they aren't doing defensive and attacking set-piece drills at all.
Those are two different things though. In terms of team related set piece activities like taking and defending set-pieces as a team, sure they would work on those things. I am, however, referring to an individual becoming proficient in taking and converting set pieces. That requires individual training far and beyond the team.
sabb

Post by sabb »

Senior man, Nwakali and Moses Simon should continue practicing their set piece routine after hours, it will only get better
with the new setup, things will fall in place
we should be really assessing this team after the group stage
cmon SE, lets go
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli