Pick your 4 strikers for the WC

If everyone is healthy, the available strikers for the WC as of today are:

1. Osimhen
2. Kelechi
3. Ighalo
4. Onuachu
5. Awoniyi
6. Sadiq
7. Onyekuru
8. Desser
9. Dennis
10. Olayinka.

This will put this discussion about Awoniyi in perspective. We all want our strikers to light it up everytime they step on the pitch, but that's not always the case for every player. Even Nacho has been in a funk in the past and was left off, so i dont understand why we are not being honest about Awoniyi so far.

The reality is that there is stiff competition at that position, so he going to need more than statistical comparison to make the top 4.

So if you were to pick your 4 for the WC, which 4 players would you pick?
Re: Pick your 4 strikers for the WC

Let's qualify first!

Osimhen
Awoniyi
Iheanacho
Sadiq

Same applies for the qualfiers.
Sunset wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 11:04 pm Let's qualify first!

Onku, You asked us to pick 4 but you list 10. Rhats a lot of time on ya hands.

Ad of today the 4 striker would be.

1, Osihmeb
2, Awoniyi
3, Nacho
4, Denis

2 big strikers and 2 support strikers.
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

1. Osimhen
2. Kelechi
5. Awoniyi
8. Desser
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

1. Osimhen
2. Kelechi
4. Onuachu
5. Awoniyi

Sunset wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 11:04 pm Let's qualify first!
You dey mind this yeye old man! He wants to jinx us! Please, go pick trips with your Uber car!

Thats the pool we have to pick from at the moment.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 11:51 pm Onku, You asked us to pick 4 but you list 10. Rhats a lot of time on ya hands.

1, Osihmeb
2, Awoniyi
3, Nacho
4, Denis

icee

Post by icee »

1. Kelechi - has more goals for Nigeria than other in consideration. I trust his boots
2. Osimehin
3.Onaochu
4. Awoniji (I'll still give him one more game). I don't like what i saw with Sadiq. Dude doesn't seem to fit the strong, fast, technical scheme

Let the tournament play out before drawing any firm conclusions on Awoniyi or Sadiq. This is their big opportunity to make a case for themselves.

1naija wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 11:00 pm If everyone is healthy, the available strikers for the WC as of today are:

1. Osimhen
2. Kelechi
3. Ighalo
4. Onuachu
5. Awoniyi
6. Sadiq
7. Onyekuru
8. Desser
9. Dennis
10. Olayinka.

This will put this discussion about Awoniyi in perspective. We all want our strikers to light it up everytime they step on the pitch, but that's not always the case for every player. Even Nacho has been in a funk in the past and was left off, so i dont understand why we are not being honest about Awoniyi so far.

The reality is that there is stiff competition at that position, so he going to need more than statistical comparison to make the top 4.

So if you were to pick your 4 for the WC, which 4 players would you pick?
1naija,

Which WC? I am not aware that Nigeria has qualified for the WC oooo.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

I think there will be 5 of those 10 at the WC, but I think Osimhen and Kelechi are in 100%. Then the battle is between Onuachu/Awoniyi/Sadiq (probably Onuachu) and one of the smaller more skillful strikers so Dennis/Ejuke/Onyekuru. I would say Dennis, but possibly because of his attitude it would be Ejuke. If a 5th, he would take Awoniyi.

All things being equal, and no injuries, the others have very little chance. Also don’t underestimate a return of Moffi if he regains his form.

Paveman wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:50 pm I think there will be 5 of those 10 at the WC, but I think Osimhen and Kelechi are in 100%. Then the battle is between Onuachu/Awoniyi/Sadiq (probably Onuachu) and one of the smaller more skillful strikers so Dennis/Ejuke/Onyekuru. I would say Dennis, but possibly because of his attitude it would be Ejuke. If a 5th, he would take Awoniyi.

All things being equal, and no injuries, the others have very little chance. Also don’t underestimate a return of Moffi if he regains his form.
How do you know Nigeria will be at the World Cup? Has Nigeria qualified?
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Jul 04, 2022 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:54 pm
Paveman wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:50 pm I think there will be 5 of those 10 at the WC, but I think Osimhen and Kelechi are in 100%. Then the battle is between Onuachu/Awoniyi/Sadiq (probably Onuachu) and one of the smaller more skillful strikers so Dennis/Ejuke/Onyekuru. I would say Dennis, but possibly because of his attitude it would be Ejuke. If a 5th, he would take Awoniyi.

How do you Nigeria will be at the World Cup? Has Nigeria qualified?
I’m just waiting for the draws, but the money to bribe the opponents is already in hand :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

If the question is about the qualifiers, a few things
We’ll have more than four strikers.
Osimhen and Iheanacho are set.
Awoniyi has done enough to play his way in.
I don’t think Dennis will get invited again any time soon.
So for the other two positions, I think you’ll have Ighalo and Sadiq.

My four at the moment: Osimhen, Iheanaco, Awoniyi, Onuachu

My 4

Osimehn
Iheanacho
Dennis
Awoniyi

How can someone possibly say that Dennis SE career should be over because NFF didn’t do their job?

Dennis will not go to the world cup. Go and mark it. No coach will tolerate a stubborn disrespectful player like him. He doesn't want to play his heart out for the SE, so let him be. Besides, it's not even like we need him. We have better performing strikers.

naijaguy wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:31 pm Dennis will not go to the world cup. Go and mark it. No coach will tolerate a stubborn disrespectful player like him. He doesn't want to play his heart out for the SE, so let him be. Besides, it's not even like we need him. We have better performing strikers.
The NFF are to be blamed not Dennis for his exclusion at this tournament. They had a simple job, “inform clubs on time” and they didn’t do their job. Why blame Dennis? On current form, DENNIS is SE best available winger/Forward and will be a starter on current form

You’re beating your chest, because you’re beating inferior team? My brother humble yourself we still have bigger teams to face

john12 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:27 pm My 4

Osimehn
Iheanacho
Dennis
Awoniyi

How can someone possibly say that Dennis SE career should be over because NFF didn’t do their job?
His career is not dead, but he isn't worth the headache abeg. Onuachu just won the golden boot in Belgium and he comes without diva issues. I would much prefer him in the mix for now. I also see Dennis as more competing with Simon, Chukwueze, Ejuke, Kalu than Osimhen.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 11:51 pm Onku, You asked us to pick 4 but you list 10. Rhats a lot of time on ya hands.

1, Osihmeb
2, Awoniyi
3, Nacho
4, Denis

Will Dennis show up❓🤔❗️