Will EGU empty Bench? ... Uzoho, Ebuehi, & Ndah ... Get ready!

NationsCup
Re: Will EGU empty Bench? ... Uzoho, Ebuehi, & Ndah ... Get ready!

Post by NationsCup »

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:00 am As I understand it, head to head is used as the tie breaker for this AFCON...If correct, Nigeria has finished first in the group with a game to spare!

Given the above, shouldn't Egu get it over with an empty the bench?.....See you soon Uzoho (Akpeyi), Ndah, Onekuru, Onyeka, Ebuehi, and Olayinka.

I was actually expecting him to use 5 suba againat audab
NationsCup

Post by NationsCup »

Sudan

I want Ejuke and Iwobi to start. I also want to see Uzoho, not convinced with Okoye.

Maybe something like this to start the game.
Uzoho
Ebuehi, Ekong, Omeruo, Sanusi
Nwakili, Onyeka
Chukwuze, Awoniyi, Iheanacho, M Simon

Still need to work on gelling the attack.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:03 am No, the team still has a lot to work on. I will go with unchanged line up. Maybe Ebuehi for Aina that is on a yellow,
Aribo is on a yellow.

donadoni wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:31 am Aribo is on a yellow too so maybe Frank O can start
More likely to be Nwakali for Aribo.

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:55 pm
donadoni wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:31 am Aribo is on a yellow too so maybe Frank O can start
We shouldn’t overwork Ndidi he should rest at least 45 mins or whole game.

Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 6:31 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:58 am Can someone actually verify the tiebreaker rules that I have posted. It is from an older rule and may have possibly changed.
This is what I found:
In the Africa Cup of Nations, the following tiebreakers are applied as per (Regulations Article 14):

1. Points in head-to-head matches among tied teams

2. Goal difference in head-to-head matches among tied teams

3. Goals scored in head-to-head matches among tied teams

4. Away goals scored in head-to-head matches among tied teams

5. If more than two teams are tied, and after applying all head-to-head criteria above, a subset of teams were still tied, all head-to-head criteria above were reapplied exclusively to this subset of teams

6. Goal difference in all group matches

7. Goals scored in all group matches

8. Away goals scored in all group matches

9. Drawing of lots
There is no reason to believe Article 14 has been changed.

You can check Chapter 7 of this CAF document for article 14.
https://images.cafonline.com/image/uplo ... riri5s.pdf
Heaven knows what is meant by away goals in the finals of a tournament....

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:57 pm
KPOM

He is really the one player we cannot replace at this tournament.

Let him sit out and give time to Onyeka.

He balled against Sudan by the way, acted like a true midfield general, did his share on actually joining the attack.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:57 pm
Sure. I'm not saying Onyeka shouldn't play. He's just not a like for like replacement for Aribo.

ogasir

Post by ogasir »

I wanna see ebuehi and Nwakali start the next game
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:00 am As I understand it, head to head is used as the tie breaker for this AFCON...If correct, Nigeria has finished first in the group with a game to spare!

Given the above, shouldn't Egu get it over with an empty the bench?.....See you soon Uzoho (Akpeyi), Ndah, Onekuru, Onyeka, Ebuehi, and Olayinka.

I think the likes of Simon, Aribo (yellow), Iheanacho, Aina and Awoniyi in particular deserve at least a rest for this third game so there's no risk of missing them for the knockout stages as I feel they have more than cemented their spots in the starting XI. While those on the bench now have a lot to prove to stake a claim for a spot in the starting XI

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:03 am No, the team still has a lot to work on. I will go with unchanged line up. Maybe Ebuehi for Aina that is on a yellow,
The "team" is actually more than just the starting lineup...

Best to have as many backup players as possible game ready as well for when/if called upon, and nothing could simulate real-life competitive game conditions than using this dead rubber game. Conversely, imagine the self-inflicted horror if someone very crucial to the team like Ndidi gets hurt playing in an essentially meaningless game like this.
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

Gotti wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:04 am

Best to have backup players game ready when/if called upon, and nothing could be better simulation of real-life competitive game conditions than using this dead rubber game. Meanwhile, imagine the horror if someone like Ndidi gets hurt playing in an essentially meaningless game like this.
Yep, I’d definitely go for safety first…

maceo4 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:09 am

Best to have backup players game ready when/if called upon, and nothing could be better simulation of real-life competitive game conditions than using this dead rubber game. Meanwhile, imagine the horror if someone like Ndidi gets hurt playing in an essentially meaningless game like this.
Problem here is, should things go wrong, we no go hear word again.
Everybody will forget how they said “rest this player; rest that player” and “the result is secondary” etc. :rotf:

Madagascar still haunts.
I’m sure the pre-game discussion thread is identical to this.
Now that game is an albatross around the coach’s neck forever.

Damunk wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:32 am

Everybody will forget how they said “rest this player; rest that player” and “the result is secondary” etc. :rotf:

Madagascar still haunts.
But difference is this game doesn’t affect our position in the group unlike cartoon country. And if I remember it was more so how we lost, without a single shot on target…Kai that’s embarrassing

maceo4 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:36 am

Madagascar still haunts.
But difference is this game doesn’t affect our position in the group unlike cartoon country. And if I remember it was more so how we lost, without a single shot on target…Kai that’s embarrassing
The Madagascar game wasn’t going to and didn’t affect our position either.
The manner we lost was simply by dominating the game but not converting chances.
See?
Your memory is not entirely accurate .
That’s how over time, the narrative changes and ‘alternative’ facts become the norm and many are none the wiser.

Damunk wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:01 am

Madagascar still haunts.
The manner we lost was simply by dominating the game but not converting chances.
See?
That’s how over time, the narrative changes and ‘alternative’ facts become the norm and many are none the wiser.
I’m not following, didn’t they win the group because of that match hence we had to move the team from our comfortable location to play a ‘potentially’ tougher team? There’s nothing at stake in this game as far as I understand we would still win the group with a loss and stay in Garoua for our next match.

https://www.google.com/search?q=afcon+2 ... zn;st;fp;1;;

And these were the stats, 1 shot on target while they had 3 and two goals…embarrassing

https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1CDGO ... 2zOc_wAAAA

And where are the chance after chance that you are talking about? Abeg don’t try to rewrite history

Madagascar still haunts.
See?

Please check the record. The Madagascar game knocked us down to second place in the group I believe. That is the difference.

Nevertheless you have a point that can be used by critics if SE then loses in next round. But also note that if you use starters and someone gets carded or is injured and it impacts subsequent games it is also fodder for critics.

In my view, I would prefer to rest starters in a meaningless game and have them work next day in training. That to me is an issue of the lesser evil.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Of course it was embarrassing.
Not in dispute.
My bad on the positioning. That hasn’t been on the debate menu in the two years since - it’s been the embarrassing loss to the ‘minnows’ of Madagascar.That’s probably why it slipped my mind.

My point though is that no one really objected to resting players at the time, just like now.
So the anger is the shame of losing to Madagascar, not the loss of position. After all, we overcame that.

On the game itself, though I didn’t exactly claim or even imply that we had “chance after chance”, I did say we dominated the game and didn’t take our chances. The stats you dig up on a closer look kind of suggest it?

And the two goals from three shots on target were quite fortuitous - one from a catastrophic “slip” by Balogun, the other a ‘brilliant’ deflection by Etebo over the head of Ezenwa.

So yes, the manner of loss was very frustrating.
It still came down to what makes the game so attractive - its unpredictability… something fans can be very unforgiving of when it doesn’t go their way.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:13 am

Madagascar still haunts.
See?

Please check the record. The Madagascar game knocked us down to second place in the group I believe. That is the difference.

In my view, I would prefer to rest starters in a meaningless game and have them work next day in training. That to me is an issue of the lesser evil.
Yes, I’ve acknowledged that in my response to maceo4’s correction.
See above.
Nevertheless you have a point that can be used by critics if SE then loses in next round. But also note that if you use starters and someone gets carded or is injured and it impacts subsequent games it is also fodder for critics.
Yup. A classical case of damned if you do, damned if you don’t.
Personally, I wouldn’t be condemning Egu if it goes wrong after making what I consider to be the right decision to rest key players.
But we know our people…

truetalk wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:54 am We've topped the group (We beat Egypt and they are the only one that can get 6 points), so I think the coach should clear the bench.

The dropoff should not be too much, and we should be able to beat Guinea Bissau's first team regardless.
What if we lose and Egypt wins the final game by a wide margin?

gochino wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:50 am
truetalk wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:54 am We've topped the group (We beat Egypt and they are the only one that can get 6 points), so I think the coach should clear the bench.

The dropoff should not be too much, and we should be able to beat Guinea Bissau's first team regardless.
What if we lose and Egypt wins the final game by a wide margin?
Apparently the first tie breaker is now head to head not goal difference…