Re: Nwakali

Re: Re: Nwakali

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:32 pm
naijaguy wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:26 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 11:39 am
naijaguy wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 11:36 am Even Eguavoen said that Nwakali is too slow and that when he came on, he didn't do exactly what he was asked to do. Yet some people think he's the next Maradona. Someone here is even downplaying Aribo :lol: .
Nwakali may start against Guinea Bissau cos we've already qualified, but no right thinking coach anywhere in the world will pick him over Aribo.
Anyways, Agents are out to make money. :lol: :lol:
I thought that was Sadiq he was referring to?
He was referring to the two
Pretty sure he was referring to Sadiq but didn’t mention names, but did say Nwakali played well.
He said Nwakali didn't play badly....

Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:13 pm The journalist in the post match presser asked Egu a question attacking Nwakali. She said Egu's subs have not had any impact and mentioned Nwakali by name. I thought it was a terrible question because it was the wrong analysis of the game and seemed to be asked by a novice analyzer but maybe a seasoned journalist.

What i did not expect, nor did i like it, was Egu's response. He defended himself instead of protecting his player. He sounded like he was agreeing with the journalist but then said Nwakali lacks game rhythm and Sadiq did not do what he was told. It was not a good answer.
That has been the theme with Parrot Eguavoen and it's not professional at all :oops:! Sadiq today Nwakali tomorrow. He wants the boys to have a son and father relationship with him, but he's everywhere divulging/leaking the private conversations the boys had with him to the media with the slightest probe from reporters. I was really shocked when he made the below statement about Umar Sadiq :shock:.
"He gave me some few excuses after the game but it's something psychological so we have to talk to him and address it in future games."
I felt bad for the boy (Sadiq)......I'm not sure how he's helping the players' confident by exposing their vulnerabilities to opponents or others to see. Let's face it, this kind of behavior will prevent the players from sharing their views and opinions with him. His constant need to prove himself is looking more like an inner insecurity which compelled him to need to prove himself whenever he's questioned. He really needs to cut out that part of him, because he's doing a good job so far :clap:.

They believe in me at Almeria' - Sadiq admits difficulties adapting to Super Eagles

Almeria striker Umar Sadiq has admitted that he is having difficulties adapting to his Super Eagles teammates, being his first time with the senior national team.

The 2016 Olympics bronze medalist has been openly criticized by interim manager Augustine Eguavoen after his first two matches off the bench at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations - first for not being on the same level as Taiwo Awoniyi and recently for not playing to instructions.

Sadiq arrived the Super Eagles camp full of confidence with a goal involvement of sixteen (9 goals, 7 assists) in 21 matches for Almeria so far this season, but his self-esteem is diminishing as he does not have the trust of his national team coach.

"Over there at Almeria it is different, they give you confidence, they believe in you, they let you do what you want but here for me is a new environment so I need to adapt. Let us see what will happen," Sadiq said to allnigeriasoccer.com at the end of training on Monday night.

Sadiq wants the Super Eagles to finish the group stage on a high note, by beating Guinea-Bissau on Wednesday.

Without giving the early team news away, it remains to be seen if the Almeria goal poacher would be Eguavoen's preferred choice to lead the attack.

"I hope we can pick nine points because it is not easy to top the table with maximum points so if we do that that's a good example, I hope we can do it," Sadiq concluded.

The 24-year-old Sadiq was Nigeria's joint top scorer at the 2016 Olympic Games with four goals to his name, along with Stoke City loanee Oghenekaro Etebo.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=42266
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:22 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:13 pm The journalist in the post match presser asked Egu a question attacking Nwakali. She said Egu's subs have not had any impact and mentioned Nwakali by name. I thought it was a terrible question because it was the wrong analysis of the game and seemed to be asked by a novice analyzer but maybe a seasoned journalist.

What i did not expect, nor did i like it, was Egu's response. He defended himself instead of protecting his player. He sounded like he was agreeing with the journalist but then said Nwakali lacks game rhythm and Sadiq did not do what he was told. It was not a good answer.
That has been the theme with Parrot Eguavoen and it's not professional at all :oops:! Sadiq today Nwakali tomorrow. He wants the boys to have a son and father relationship with him, but he's everywhere divulging/leaking the private conversations the boys had with him to the media with the slightest probe from reporters. I was really shocked when he made the below statement about Umar Sadiq :shock:.
"He gave me some few excuses after the game but it's something psychological so we have to talk to him and address it in future games."
I felt bad for the boy (Sadiq)......I'm not sure how he's helping the players' confident by exposing their vulnerabilities to opponents or others to see. Let's face it, this kind of behavior will prevent the players from sharing their views and opinions with him. His constant need to prove himself is looking more like an inner insecurity which compelled him to need to prove himself whenever he's questioned. He really needs to cut out that part of him, because he's doing a good job so far :clap:.
100%
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:51 pm They believe in me at Almeria' - Sadiq admits difficulties adapting to Super Eagles

Almeria striker Umar Sadiq has admitted that he is having difficulties adapting to his Super Eagles teammates, being his first time with the senior national team.

The 2016 Olympics bronze medalist has been openly criticized by interim manager Augustine Eguavoen after his first two matches off the bench at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations - first for not being on the same level as Taiwo Awoniyi and recently for not playing to instructions.

Sadiq arrived the Super Eagles camp full of confidence with a goal involvement of sixteen (9 goals, 7 assists) in 21 matches for Almeria so far this season, but his self-esteem is diminishing as he does not have the trust of his national team coach.

"Over there at Almeria it is different, they give you confidence, they believe in you, they let you do what you want but here for me is a new environment so I need to adapt. Let us see what will happen," Sadiq said to allnigeriasoccer.com at the end of training on Monday night.

Sadiq wants the Super Eagles to finish the group stage on a high note, by beating Guinea-Bissau on Wednesday.

Without giving the early team news away, it remains to be seen if the Almeria goal poacher would be Eguavoen's preferred choice to lead the attack.

"I hope we can pick nine points because it is not easy to top the table with maximum points so if we do that that's a good example, I hope we can do it," Sadiq concluded.

The 24-year-old Sadiq was Nigeria's joint top scorer at the 2016 Olympic Games with four goals to his name, along with Stoke City loanee Oghenekaro Etebo.

Sounds like a gentle dig at the coach. Egu needs to leave all this talk. The press is already looking for how to sensationalise every comment and he keeps giving them ammo. Man needs to know that the battles he faces are not all on the pitch... a lot of folks can't wait for him to fail. Who knows him should advise him, from where he is right now, the only way is down unfortunately
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:51 pm They believe in me at Almeria' - Sadiq admits difficulties adapting to Super Eagles

Hmmmm.
AllNaijasoccer don come again.
Hmmm….
return2k2

Post by return2k2 »

Freekick and Penalty kick from Kelechi Nwakali in AFCON training camp :woot:

At least now we will all have the opportunity to assess him over 90 minutes against decent opposition...
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

The guy clearly has a solid technique and knows how to strike the ball beautifully.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 4:42 pm The guy clearly has a solid technique and knows how to strike the ball beautifully.

Nwakali did very well. Great first half, somewhat quiet second.

He likes to play deep though and thus, creates space for Iwobi to come to the center (and abandon the right). Aribo is still the starter, but Nwakali is a VERY ABLE deputy. He’s really good
Last edited by deanotito on Wed Jan 19, 2022 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:22 pm That has been the theme with Parrot Eguavoen and it's not professional at all :oops:! Sadiq today Nwakali tomorrow. He wants the boys to have a son and father relationship with him, but he's everywhere divulging/leaking the private conversations the boys had with him to the media with the slightest probe from reporters. I was really shocked when he made the below statement about Umar Sadiq :shock:.
Parrot? Let it go dude...
Even Herr Rohr has moved on!

BigMuze wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:40 am Sounds like a gentle dig at the coach. Egu needs to leave all this talk. The press is already looking for how to sensationalise every comment and he keeps giving them ammo. Man needs to know that the battles he faces are not all on the pitch... a lot of folks can't wait for him to fail. Who knows him should advise him, from where he is right now, the only way is down unfortunately
Sounds more like a not-so-gentle dig at the click-baiting 'media'... :lol:

Egu's pressers are online (on YouTube)...
He didn't criticize Sadiq (or Nwakali), but rather sought to EXPLAIN their play (see also linked piece).

https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... -to-adapt/

deanotito wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 11:13 pmNwakali did Elbert well. Great first half, somewhat quiet second.

He likes to play deep though and thus, creates space for Iwobi to come to the center (and abandon the right). Aribo is still the starter, but Nwakali is a VERY ABLE deputy. He’s really good
Nwakali had an excellent game tonight...

He was the primary ball-carrier in midfield tonight...
Pity Sadiq didn't successfully round the GK after that incisive run-and-pass.

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

For the first time in a very very long time, all our corner-kicks and free kicks were serious goal threats - ALL OF THEM. Incredible - thanks to Nwakali’s excellent deliveries.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:48 am For the first time in a very very long time, all our corner-kicks and free kicks were serious goal threats - ALL OF THEM. Incredible - thanks to Nwakali’s excellent deliveries.
Yup. Nwakali brings a lot to the table and I personally believe we are still far from seeing the depth of his talent and ability.

I guess you are beginning to understand why he won the darned golden ball in the 2015 U17 World Cup. His club travails not withstanding, he’s very talented and I hope he keeps getting the opportunities to display his skills❗️

icee

Post by icee »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 12:51 pm This was just his 2nd ever SE game..I know for a fact Nwa is a dead ball specialist, can shoot from distance and can control the tempo of a game. No one said he is the next Mikel....I said the way he came in yesterday was similar to Mikel calming the game
Today Nwakali won me over. Especially on the highlighted in bold. All his crosses, free kicks were very purposeful. I see and observe that he almost points his hand and shapes his body in the direction he wants the dead ball to float. When Simon came on and took the corners,,,big difference. I remembered this post.

Egu says team is practicing penalties. I will bet he is one penned for penalties. Something tells me he is not yet shown us his top drawer talent. He is still keeping somewhat safe so as to at least cement himself into the team.

Nwakali balled.

Those who claimed he did not deserve to be called now have egg on their face.

Imagine when EJaria comes into the fold. Another player we were told is a "div 2 player"

Ejaria is playing at a higher level of div 2 than Nwakali and has been more succesful as well.

If SE can make room for both Nwakali and EJaria that would be great.

Nwakali did work, he hustled and was not afraid to get dirty, but still something he can improve.

He really reminded me of Mikel. He got confidence too.

Baller.

AGENTS!!!! AGENTS!!!! Gadddamn AGENTS AGAIN! Wetin carry Ejaria name enter this convo?!

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 6:12 am Nwakali balled.

Those who claimed he did not deserve to be called now have egg on their face.

Imagine when EJaria comes into the fold. Another player we were told is a "div 2 player"

Ejaria is playing at a higher level of div 2 than Nwakali and has been more succesful as well.

If SE can make room for both Nwakali and EJaria that would be great.

Nwakali did work, he hustled and was not afraid to get dirty, but still something he can improve.

He really reminded me of Mikel. He got confidence too.

Baller.
You tend to express opinions without thinking them through. Regarding the highlighted, you appear to be implying that the Championship is at a higher level than the Segunda division so, on what exactly is your opinion based❓❗️

Goalgetter wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:48 am For the first time in a very very long time, all our corner-kicks and free kicks were serious goal threats - ALL OF THEM. Incredible - thanks to Nwakali’s excellent deliveries.
I agree. He's by far the best crosser of the ball on that team. If Simon and Samu can cross like that they'd be much more deadly

A very noticeable and welcome development. :thumb: