Page 1 of 2

Pinnick HT speech v Egypt

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 9:39 am
I don't know about you but I find the nature of this soeech disgusting. Is HT the time and place to talk about monetary rewards? No wonder we fell off a bit in the 2nd Half.

Re: Pinnick HT speech v Egypt

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:15 am
by ANC
Nigerians are just weird. Now i know why the team slacks off sometimes; too many damn cooks in the kitchen!

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:17 am
by fabio
Westerhoff Warned from experience
He advised Eguavoen, who is on interim capacity, to avoid distractions from government officials and ensure complete discipline in the team.

Former Super Eagles coach, Clemens Westerhof
“He must be the policeman of the team. He should police them well, no beer, no women, no distractions. Then he must protect them from government officials. Now Nigeria may want to send delegations. Some may even come when they are training and they will stop training because the minister wants to talk with them.

“No way; that must not happen. Government officials can pass their message through the federation, they must leave the players now to concentrate. They must not be in the same hotel with the players. The most difficult job now is how to hold them together as a family and protect them from many officials who may cause unnecessary distractions.”
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=307088

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:15 pm
by theDunamis
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 9:39 am I don't know about you but I find the nature of this soeech disgusting. Is HT the time and place to talk about monetary rewards? No wonder we fell off a bit in the 2nd Half.
At half time???!!??? Completely ridiculous.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:21 pm
by sabb
fabio wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:17 am Westerhoff Warned from experience
He advised Eguavoen, who is on interim capacity, to avoid distractions from government officials and ensure complete discipline in the team.

Former Super Eagles coach, Clemens Westerhof
“He must be the policeman of the team. He should police them well, no beer, no women, no distractions. Then he must protect them from government officials. Now Nigeria may want to send delegations. Some may even come when they are training and they will stop training because the minister wants to talk with them.

“No way; that must not happen. Government officials can pass their message through the federation, they must leave the players now to concentrate. They must not be in the same hotel with the players. The most difficult job now is how to hold them together as a family and protect them from many officials who may cause unnecessary distractions.”
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=307088
I thot it was exaggeration but just wow mehn, instead of leaving the coach to complete his drill to the boys, they come in to disturb and he went on to say out of his busy schedule, wot busy schedule, nonsense

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:30 pm
by Zelex
theDunamis wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:15 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 9:39 am I don't know about you but I find the nature of this soeech disgusting. Is HT the time and place to talk about monetary rewards? No wonder we fell off a bit in the 2nd Half.
At half time???!!??? Completely ridiculous.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:24 pm
There's nobody to stop this since the NFF chair is the one initiating this action. Pinnick should resign.

Can u imagine? Talking about money and donations at HT?

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:43 pm
by mcal
...there is no oversight on these guys. No one holds them to account, instead journalists suck up to them for crumbs and access.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:51 pm
by ANC
the last time Oliseh tried to stop this nonsense, the SE was disbanded

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:56 pm
by Enugu II
What is baffling is the persistent urge of officials to do things like this. So what time does the manager have to speak with the boys? Will they ask the ref for additional time? LOL. Ridiculous. This type of speech can be made a day or 2 before the game and not in the midst of the game.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:23 pm
by Abbey
That’s why Keshi won’t allow any government officials near his team in 2013. He was said to lock the dressing room to focus on his message to the team.
Second half retrospection in the dressing room is generally to assess players’ performance in the first half and drill in anynew adjustments for the second half. Definitely not a place for political speech.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:32 pm
by Undertaker
ANC wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:15 am Nigerians are just weird. Now i know why the team slacks off sometimes; too many damn cooks in the kitchen!
For real! These two clowns have no business addressing the team at half time! That 15 min break is for the players to focus and the coach to correct things he saw wrong in the game! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:33 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
See this goat who can’t afford to pay his coaches is promising millions for goals❗️

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:34 pm
by ANC
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:33 pm See this goat who can’t afford to pay his coaches is promising millions for goals❗️

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:37 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Politicians are attention seekers. What's new? This is the mentality that Sunny Oliseh was fighting against.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:05 pm
by Ugbowo
I was livid when I saw this video and still am looking at it right now.

This is just disgusting from all involved. And the captains can't speak up????? I know the coach is a coward because he probably thinks Amaju is doing him a favor letting him coach but we need some ruthlessness from the players.

Emeka Ezeugo told us in a whatsapp group that the late Alex Akinyele tried to do this to the SE during a WCQ and he was the one who stopped him from coming in. Ekong should have said something because Musa won't.

Half time is part of the game. These nincompoops had no business in there. Mumu ppl.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:19 pm
by txj
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:05 pm I was livid when I saw this video and still am looking at it right now.

This is just disgusting from all involved. And the captains can't speak up????? I know the coach is a coward because he probably thinks Amaju is doing him a favor letting him coach but we need some ruthlessness from the players.

Emeka Ezeugo told us in a whatsapp group that the late Alex Akinyele tried to do this to the SE during a WCQ and he was the one who stopped him from coming in. Ekong should have said something because Musa won't.

Half time is part of the game. These nincompoops had no business in there. Mumu ppl.

TBF that was Westerhof.
You cannot expect a player to do that...

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:22 pm
by Ugbowo
txj wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:19 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:05 pm I was livid when I saw this video and still am looking at it right now.

TBF that was Westerhof.
Emeka told us it was him o. LOL

Said he threatened to break chair on ppl's head etc. Sid we can ask his teammates and they'll confirm.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:40 pm
by txj
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:22 pm

TBF that was Westerhof.

Said he threatened to break chair on ppl's head etc. Sid we can ask his teammates and they'll confirm.

Westerhof claims to have been the one in a few interviews. And press reports back then attributed it to him.

Plus Akinyele tried to punish him for it, but for the then 2nd in command at Aso Rock Forgot his name now...

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:51 pm
by wanaj0
txj wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:40 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:22 pm

TBF that was Westerhof.

Westerhof claims to have been the one in a few interviews. And press reports back then attributed it to him.

Plus Akinyele tried to punish him for it, but for the then 2nd in command at Aso Rock Forgot his name now...
Westerhoff was reporting directly to Aikhomu that's why he was not sacked.

I doubt even Westerhoff would have being able to stop Aikhomu from addressing the players :taunt:

The behaviour stems from

1) The belief that MONEY is the major thing that motivates Nigerians
2) Every Nigerian is a COACH who has something to say to ensure victory of the team. Many think they know more than the coach. Westerhoff said Nigeria has 120m coaches for the national team :taunt:

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:25 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Nigeria is full of clowns, why couldn’t he speak to them in the hotel after the game?

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:04 pm
by deanotito
Pinnick is a silly person mostly interested in self promotion/politics. So he uses the NFF/eagles as a platform.

How an NFF chairman shouldn't know that this is wholly inappropriate for half time is beyond me. But if you understand the self promotion angle, it all makes sense.

He should be a gatekeeper for the team. Instead, he's the open doorway for all kinds of characters to be interfering with match prep. Eguavoen can't/won't do squat about it. He does not have the actual/perceived influence to stop Pinnick.

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:12 pm
by airwolex
This is too funny. Lmao