Re: Probable route for Nigeria

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 12:38 am
by Molue Conductor
Tunisia i hope

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 6:51 am
by waka-man
Tbite wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 10:42 pm
waka-man wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 4:57 pm This is a hilarious thread.
I’d hate to see you all try and do a bit of calculus.
and how would you do the calculation with half information?

Based on the information that some of us had, the assumptions made sense. Even words such as 'theory' were used. But hey whatever gets you going.
Haba no vex. I found the thread funny. Me too was scratching my head on the combinations and permutations.
And for the record me too would struggle with calculus today.
Enjoy the forum.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:56 pm
by Molue Conductor
Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:07 pm
Synopsis wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:04 pm Hoping Tunisia wins their final game so we can avoid playing them so early.
You prefer Gambia to Tunisia? Hmmm
ideally i will take Tunisia + that referee in the game against Mali :D

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:17 pm
by Cito
Cafonline fixtures shows SE meeting Cameroon in the semis but every other site lists Cameroon on the opposite end. We can only meet them in the finals.

So who is right? Could BBC,Supersports and all reputable others be wrong?

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:15 pm
by joao
The die is yet to be cast. Calm down guys.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:53 pm
by Lolly
Cito wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:17 pm Cafonline fixtures shows SE meeting Cameroon in the semis but every other site lists Cameroon on the opposite end. We can only meet them in the finals.

Bros, abeg don't start o. That's how in France 1998 some of us were planning our trip to watch the SE play Brazil, forgetting that we had Denmark in front of us.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:24 pm
by vancity eagle
Cito wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:17 pm Cafonline fixtures shows SE meeting Cameroon in the semis but every other site lists Cameroon on the opposite end. We can only meet them in the finals.

I noticed this as well.

I even have a CAF attatchment from when the draw was made and it contradicts CAF's current website.

I think CAF has their own tournament wrong. Disgrace. :boo:

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:30 pm
by Undertaker
So who are we playing? Can we petition to play Ghana or Algeria in the round of 16? :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic:

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:40 pm
by waka-man
Undertaker wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:30 pm So who are we playing? Can we petition to play Ghana or Algeria in the round of 16? :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic:
Algeria with be playing Ghana at the airport, 5 A-side

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:50 pm
by Otitokoro
The draw is set. We play the team that loses in the Gambia v. Tunisia match.
If Tunisia win, we play Gambia. If they tie, we play Tunisia.

The scenario we have, per CAF AFCON regulations 75.4 (page 33) is 3rd place teams from groups A,B, C & F will make it to the playoff round.
So, the matchups will be 1A vs. 3C, 1B vs. 3A, 1C vs. 3B and 1D vs. 3F or (Cameroon vs. Comoros, Senegal vs. Cape Verde, Morocco vs. Malawi and Nigeria vs. Tunisia/Gambia).
Undertaker wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:30 pm So who are we playing? Can we petition to play Ghana or Algeria in the round of 16? :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic: :tic:

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:59 pm
by Undertaker
ok, lets go watch Yujam boys with their Juju and Tunisa with their acting skills

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:02 pm
by marutimon
Otitokoro wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:50 pm The draw is set. We play the team that loses in the Gambia v. Tunisia match.
If Tunisia win, we play Gambia. If they tie, we play Tunisia.

The scenario we have, per CAF AFCON regulations 75.4 (page 33) is 3rd place teams from groups A,B, C & F will make it to the playoff round.
So, the matchups will be 1A vs. 3C, 1B vs. 3A, 1C vs. 3B and 1D vs. 3F or (Cameroon vs. Comoros, Senegal vs. Cape Verde, Morocco vs. Malawi and Nigeria vs. Tunisia/Gambia).
To be clear there is a small chance it might be Mauretania or Mali, if Mali lose their game vs Mauretania. Not likely to happen, but still...

If wikipedia has it right, Nigeria has the much easier half: We have Senegal and probably Mali, while the other half has Egypt, Morocco, Cameroon and Cote d'Ivoire.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:12 pm
by Robbynice
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:24 pm

I noticed this as well.

I even have a CAF attatchment from when the draw was made and it contradicts CAF's current website.

I think CAF has their own tournament wrong. Disgrace. :boo:
I think so too and have a feeling it will be corrected AFT today.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:16 pm
by Undertaker
How can we play Tunisia or Gambia on Sunday btw with them having only two days rest? That doesn't seem fair!

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:25 pm
by KIZONZO
Watching Gambia v Tunisia and it's not an exciting game

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:35 pm
by Synopsis
Undertaker wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:16 pm How can we play Tunisia or Gambia on Sunday btw with them having only two days rest? That doesn't seem fair!
They should have finished 1st or 2nd in their group if they didn’t want 2 days rest.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:57 pm
by Cito
Lolly wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:53 pm

Bros, abeg don't start o. That's how in France 1998 some of us were planning our trip to watch the SE play Brazil, forgetting that we had Denmark in front of us.
What is wrong in pointing out mistakes in Cafonline brackets?

I guess I could have worded it differently.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:50 pm
by Goalgetter
Tunisia look dreadful..If we play them like we did Egypt they’ll be blown off the park.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:51 pm
by Benedict Iroha
Nigeria vs Tunisia is set!

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:54 pm
by Otitokoro
Tunisia it is for us - Gambia just scored.
Goalgetter wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:50 pm Tunisia look dreadful..If we play them like we did Egypt they’ll be blown off the park.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:56 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Tunisia it is.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:30 pm
by gurrano
Here is a link to how the rest of the tournament goes

https://www.sportingnews.com/us/soccer/ ... fozhz1ug2r

Basically naija route to the finals goes like this

1. RD16 - Nig vs Tunisia
2. QF - Winner of Nig/Tunisia vs Winner of Burkina/Gabon
3. SF - Winner of Nig/Tunisia/Burkina/Gabon vs winner of Senegal/Cape Verde/Mail/Eq Guinea

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 12:02 am
by oyek