REPORTS: SE LINEUP vs GUINEA-BISSAU

https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... 8-changes/
https://www.completesports.com/sadiq-le ... uke-start/
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/new-super-e ... ehi-start/

Super Eagles Line-Up Vs Guinea-Bissau

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

Happy that Eguavoen rang so many changes...
Although I would have rested Ndidi (and perhaps even Iheanacho).

Re: REPORTS: SE LINEUP vs GUINEA-BISSAU

Gotti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:20 pm https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... 8-changes/

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

Wow, tells a lot about his rating of Onyeka, one would think.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:47 pm
Gotti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:20 pm https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... 8-changes/

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

Interesting…hopefully he gets some PT…

Egu wants to keep the spine of the team intact

highbury wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:51 pm Egu wants to keep the spine of the team intact
True word.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

highbury wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:51 pm Egu wants to keep the spine of the team intact
He might not always have that option, would be good to see if there is a viable plan B

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

I don't think so. In one interview, when asked about Nwakali, he mentioned that Nwakali was doing ok, and that he wasnt playing Nwakali as much because Nwakali and Ndidi have not played a lot together. This to me is an effort to give the Nwakali- Ndidi partnership more time to develop in an actual game setting.

Start at min 3.09 of this video.
Last edited by metalalloy on Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

maceo4 wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:53 pm
He might not always have that option, would be good to see if there is a viable plan B
Mace,

I can only believe that guys like Ndidi, Iheanacho and one of the centre backs will be replaced at halftime along with the GK if we lead going into the second period.

Very good line-up …… no excuses, it is time for the subs to prove themselves and this is the perfect opportunity. Good luck !!!!

Further proof of Egu’s spine theory?
Ekong - Ndidi - Iheanacho

If this line up is accurate then I'm looking fwd to seeing how Ebuehi, Nwakali, Ajayi, and Sadiq do. Guinea Bissau will be a good test even for our first XI.

The "spine" of the team would include the GK and CF (Okoye and Awoniyi)...
My guess is that it is difficult to replace Ndidi and yet retain the same general formation and tactics.

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

I once thought that.

Then i figured maybe it says a lot about how HIGH he rates Nwakali as opposed to how low he rates Onyeka? I think he sees onyeka as like for like with Ndidi and that may be the change made.

And i think this line up is more 4-4-2 than 4-3-3.

Ihenacho is playing upfront with Sadiq.

Iwobi on the right and Ejuke on the left or vice versa.

Gotti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:03 pm
The "spine" of the team would include the GK and CF (Okoye and Awoniyi)...
My guess is that it is difficult to replace Ndidi and yet retain the same general formation and tactics.
In “the video” :curse: he only lists three players as “the spine”….

It’s all mumbo jumbo anyway.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:57 pmMace,

I can only believe that guys like Ndidi, Iheanacho and one of the centre backs will be replaced at halftime along with the GK if we lead going into the second period.
I certainly hope that Ndidi will be replaced at HT...
He's the one player that we cannot really risk, as there's no like-for-like backup for him.

Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Eight changes from the last two games regular starters. This is a statement lineup. It says a lot about Eguavoen's mindset and the willingness to make inordinate decisions NOT based on feelings. You have to give the coach props for this. Hopefully, it works.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Ugbowo wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:04 pm

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

I once thought that.

Then i figured maybe it says a lot about how HIGH he rates Nwakali as opposed to how low he rates Onyeka? I think he sees onyeka as like for like with Ndidi and that may be the change made.
Agreed. I, however, I share the view that Onyeka is the replacement for Ndidi whenever Etebo is not around which is the case here. However, the idea of keeping the spine together atleast for a half is a plausible explanation for Onyeka not starting ahead of Ndidi for this game. But that is really nitpicking and eyepopping because we see changes along the spine including goalkeeper and then Ajayi. This makes you wonder how he really feels about Onyeka.

With this line-up the sharpness down the wings will be blunted in my opinion. We shall see.
Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

waka-man wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:02 pm Further proof of Egu’s spine theory?
Ekong - Ndidi - Iheanacho
Does it also indicate he doesn't have much confidence in Maduka?

Does anybody know the list of the subs? Just in case things go a bit pear shaped it would be nice to name a strong bench :taunt:

Ugbowo wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:04 pm

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

I once thought that.

Make I laugh small :lol:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Abbey wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:11 pm Eight changes from the last two games regular starters. This is a statement lineup. It says a lot about Eguavoen's mindset and the willingness to make inordinate decisions NOT based on feelings. You have to give the coach props for this. Hopefully, it works.
Or simply a chance to give other players on the team who have not seen playing time a chance to play in a competitive game and see what he has in those players...